View Full Version : Agnes / 1770 M & G 2009. Dates are up.

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

25-03-2009, 11:00 PM
OK folks we have some info for you to ponder.

Qld school holidays are from Sept 19 to Oct 4.

NSW school holidays are from Oct 5 to Oct 16.

Closed season CRFF, if they decide to do it will be Oct 15 to Oct 24.

Statistically and historically September is the ' calmest ' month, wind wise.

Have a read here :-

http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/averag...w_039314.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/averages/tables/cw_039314.shtml)

What are your thoughts on a September trip this year ?

best dates are :-

5th Sept to 13th..... Full moon....5th

12th Sept to 20th.. New moon 19th.

Moon Phases.

Moon by day....fish by day

Moon by night....fish by night.

There are a couple of variables here this year.8-)

Seems the school holidays have given us curry and the non-announcement from the DPI&F regarding CRFF Seasonal Closures. >:(

The PBA are going from the 3rd til the 10th...... Smack bang in the middle of school holiday season. That's why there is / will be a shortage of houses for rent, AND the rent will be " peak period " rates.

I'll make the call now. http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif

If a majority disagrees, say so and we'll work on it. 8-)

I hereby declare, in the name of " Joy ". The Agnes / 1770 Ausfish Annual M & G be held from Saturday 12th September until Friday 18th September.

You may wish to extend your time there as I intend to do and stay until the Sunday 20th. Let's not forget that QLD school hols start the 19th, so check with your R/E agent about rates......

The Moon phases tell me that day fishing will be best, and certainly the morning bite will be a cracker. ;D

Although the PBA guys will be hitting 1770 later, the PBA Vs Ausfish Fish-Off is still on.

Be nice to see a show of hands now and get this thing happening. Best to sort out accom / houses mates / crew / deckies etc now.

.><> ><> ><> Go Team Sunlover ;D ;D

The information below is a copy of a post made by Mr_Bean ( Darren ) and is FYI.

Ok, maybe it is time to put a bit more emphasis on the fishing that this Meet and Greet provides.

For those members that haven't fished this area before Agnes Water / 1770 offers a very good variety of estuary, inshore and offshore fishing. Boats of all sizes can enjoy productive fishing grounds with the help of members attending the meet and greet.

By far the best attraction (to me anyway) is the ability to safely travel far offshore in a trailer boat to enjoy some magnificent reef fishing. The safety the meet and greet offers is the travel in numbers and the collective experience in the group.

For anyone contemplating the trip out (in my opinion should be anyone in a seaworthy boat around 5.5 metres and over) stable weather is the driving factor, hence moving this years dates in pursuit of the most stable wind conditions.

For me this year will be my 4th year attending and it is a trip that my teenage son and I look forward to for the entire year, it usually goes something like this:

Arrive in Agnes around lunchtime on the Saturday and the four in our group settle into a rented house (about $500-800 for the week), the houses are usually well set up for fisherman with bait freezers, boat parking and bbq's etc. Once settled we check the latest weather and the planning starts from there. Boat is packed for a planned 2 or 3 day trip. Food, water, bedding, clothes, additional fuel all have to be stored in a manner that allows safe operation and meaningful fishing.

Fuel should not be underestimated, we fill the tank and then load additional plastic jerry cans to maximise our ability to travel around the reef whilst out there, last year we took 4 jerry cans and this year we will pack additional ones if the weather looks supportive of a longer session.

The Saturday night then turns our attention to the traditional BBQ get together and infamous cook-off. This is a chance to get together at one house and meet the other attendees and welcome the newcomers. It is also a chance to plan and agree on areas to be fished and where the overnight stays will be planned for.

The reef fishing provides 3 main overnight locations, Fitzroy Reef which provides a safe lagoon to anchor, Lady Musgrave Island which also offers a safe lagoon, or out on the water either chasing the night fish or anchoring outside a lagoon to fish into the night.

At the end of the cook-of and after much bravado you will pretty much understand who is there to fish and who is there to capitalise on the social elements of the week, and it does provide well for both markets.

Weather permitting our team will aim to be on the water early Sunday morning and head straight out the 50 or so kilometers to the relatively safe waters that abound the reef, as mentioned earlier the boat will be packed for an overnighter and hoping for a three day trip if the weather forecast safely supports it.

Typically there are later starters on the Sunday depending on the hour that they finished the night before and which stage they played up on. Last year the group split and some spent the first night in an estuary up the coast before their trip to the reef. Last year we had some initial weather that was forecast to clear so we head out into the rough knowing it would get better by both the forecast and the calmer waters once you get out amongst the reef.

The remainder of the week is punctuated by weather, exhaustion, bait and ice supplies and bag limits. Some prefer to kick back and enjoy some golf, others use the social times to exchange fishing knowledge andtechniques. Its actually a bit wonky when you get back on land after a couple of days in a trailer boat, the shower feels magnificent and the counter tea at the pub is to die for.

At the end of the week we usually get together and tally up peoples success, share this year's stories and toast yet another meet and greet gone by. Planning the next year's strategies usually begins the next morning from what you picked up from the others experiences the night before.

So if you would like to come join us then don't be put off by our banter you see here, that is just our way of dealing with the wait.

If you think you might be interested then come forward with your questions.

Most of all, if you think you would like to join a like minded bunch that get go out fishing together then get your group organised and join in.

- Darren
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/infraction.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/infraction.php?do=report&p=1008347) http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/report.php?p=1008347) http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/ip.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/postings.php?do=getip&p=1008347) http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/post_thanks.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/post_thanks.php?do=post_thanks_add&p=1008347) http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/progress.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/edit.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/editpost.php?do=editpost&p=1008347)

26-03-2009, 05:53 AM
Am I in Team Wave, or did I just have a guest spot?

If not I've had a very lucrative offer from a competitor!;D;D;D

I'd rather do Wave if I can sleep in either my own room or share with a non (or light) snorer!!!

Geez, I could also sleep in the boat if it's on the flat. Probably where I'll end up anyway if I fart too much...

I'm entirely desperate to see Tangles trying to cast that 500 kg line off the balcony... ZZZZT, SPOOLED...:o:o:o damn...

murf
26-03-2009, 07:21 AM
sounds good to me, might even get Rob Tranter in with those dates as the Birdsville Races are on the 4/ and 5th ;D

if not I will get there one way or another, even if I have to smell TimiBoy's farts all the way :P

cheers Murf

Mr__Bean
26-03-2009, 09:54 AM
Our usual house was already booked :-/ .

This year we will be at STARFISH, one of the www.beachesof1770.com.au houses.

This morning they still had the following houses available for the week:
BALI HOUSE
JABOULA
SEASCAPE
PALM ISLES

Good luck.

- Darren

rob tranter
26-03-2009, 01:32 PM
Have a good time you lot.

I hope the Fishing is Good and the Drinking better;D

No Murf, I can't make those dates as the Birdsville trip is for Two weeks and we expect to be home on the 12th, and an extra week would be pushing it.

That should answer your question re House organising, andI have let Stu and Damo know.

Rob T8-)

murf
26-03-2009, 02:51 PM
Have a good time you lot.

I hope the Fishing is Good and the Drinking better;D

No Murf, I can't make those dates as the Birdsville trip is for Two weeks and we expect to be home on the 12th, and an extra week would be pushing it.

That should answer your question re House organising, andI have let Stu and Damo know.

Rob T8-)

:( :( :( :( :(

any one from NSW going to take up the slack left by Tranter? big boots to fill ;D

Okay who wants an annoying (are we there yet) passenger/room mate/deckie?

cheers Murf

trymyluck
26-03-2009, 04:42 PM
I was wanting to have a go at this one last year but lack of spine(crook back) had me sidelined for a while. So this year I'm there, maybe with a decky or maybe not, havn't checked with him yet. If someone wants to share a house, let me know otherwise with just 2 of us then we will try and camp somewhere.

gofishin
26-03-2009, 05:30 PM
Our usual house was already booked :-/ .

This year we will be at STARFISH, one of the www.beachesof1770.com.au (http://www.beachesof1770.com.au) houses.

This morning they still had the following houses available for the week:
BALI HOUSE
JABOULA
SEASCAPE
PALM ISLES

Good luck.

- Darren Darren, before i left last year (with the boat hooked on) i checked out a few other places, including Starfish. I assume your rig will have similar ground clearance/overhang as mine, but the driveway at Starfish looked out of the question (mountable curb, I think, plus a bit of a slope up, with a hump) and i tried backing up onto the grass, which looked achievable, but the trailer bottomed even with the best approach angle available. Your rig might need to be on the street unless you have better ground clearance. Although couple of planks might help!

To others; I stayed at Palm Isles, nice house but not the best area (neighbouring houses were mostly vacant and trashed - there seemed to be a lot of kids/teenagers around and not at school:-X ). However, we didn't have any trouble over the week - save for a local dog who stole one of my crocs -but recovered it from his collection;D. Skinny one-way streets, but managable, and with a boat hitched you have to exit out the 'In' street. Steepish descent down Palm Isles Ct, to the house, but OK. Cheap rent!
Brendon

27-03-2009, 11:05 PM
Am I in Team Wave, or did I just have a guest spot?

If not I've had a very lucrative offer from a competitor!;D;D;D

I'd rather do Wave if I can sleep in either my own room or share with a non (or light) snorer!!!

Geez, I could also sleep in the boat if it's on the flat. Probably where I'll end up anyway if I fart too much...

I'm entirely desperate to see Tangles trying to cast that 500 kg line off the balcony... ZZZZT, SPOOLED...:o:o:o damn...

I hope it's available :( ;) 8-)

If/when Wave is locked in Skippers will get a room to the ownsies :P ;D

The main bedroom (complete with private spacious ensuite) will be on offer to the highest bidder ! ;D (Will take bribes of bottles of rum before a decision is made;D)

Damo.

rob tranter
28-03-2009, 12:41 AM
I hope it's available :( ;) 8-)

If/when Wave is locked in Skippers will get a room to the ownsies :P ;D

The main bedroom (complete with private spacious ensuite) will be on offer to the highest bidder ! ;D (Will take bribes of bottles of rum before a decision is made;D)

Damo.

Cheap Bitch

28-03-2009, 06:01 AM
So who's organising the booking, Team Wave?

I'm ready to go!!! Gear's packed, trailer's been checked, tractor's being serviced next week!

peterbo3
01-04-2009, 10:42 AM
Phill,
You are going to have to "include me out" this year. Heading to the US on 4 Sept.

NEWBY
01-04-2009, 04:05 PM
Ahhhh yes September. What a wonderfull Idea Phil. Your a genius coming up with September as the new M&G month. Why didnt I think of it????? ENOUGH SAID.

I AM IN. As always. This time I can stay for the week cause its in SEPTEMBER. Your a bloody legend Phil. What would we do without you eh mate???

Now to you all, onto another and much more touchy subject that needs reconcilliation NOW. The cookoff. Yes I am already on the bandwagon because I was ripped off. A bloody car salesman that has been ripped off is not a good thing. However, it needs to be made quite clear that NEWBY won last years cookoff and if our distinguished judges could bloody count, I would have the trophy at my house now. I happen to have, in my posession, the vote count and it is clear that NEWBY was, once again, the winner of the cookoff. Dont believe me????? ASK PHIL. yes it is true. I WON.

Now that I have that off my chest, I will also add that as the REAL winner, I will not be participating this year as I think it only fair to let someone else win for a change. I am truly unbeatable and I have fined tuned my recipes and skills even further over this summer so it really would be unfair for me to participate.

WELL What a year its been eh?
World credit crisis...How the hell does a whole world run out of money????

Labor voted back in in QLD...Goes without saying really...and what was the competition... A real case of better the devil you know. We didnt really want the INDY CAR wrecker back in power.

Morton bay closures...... Greenies get one step closer to NO MORE FISHING IN AUSTRALIA. Yes they will win because nobody does enough to protect our lifestyles.

Mining companies selling out to the chinese......Remember the 70' with the Japanese buying the gold coast..

And through it all, we, the fishers of Australia have said "FU*$K THE WORLD, were going to Agnes. Were going to drink lots of p!$$ and were going to have a great time. As always. As usual.
Recession?????? What recession????? So despite KRUDD and SWANN's best efforts to stuff this country up, were still going to Agnes. We still have our meet and greet.
Thank F*%CK for Ausfish.
OH last but not least. This year see's a NEW IMPROVED newby who is OFF THE SMOKES.
6 1/2 weeks without craving or temper tantrum.

P.S. I hope that everyone who got the government handout spent it on fishing tackle. Hopefully Australian made stuff too.

Thats newby's word for now.
Off to Vanuatu on Tuesday for a few weeks.
Take care all of you (Yes even you deckie)
How many sleeps to go?????

LMFAO;D ;D ;D

murf
01-04-2009, 04:24 PM
Ahhhh yes September. What a wonderfull Idea Phil. Your a genius coming up with September as the new M&G month. Why didnt I think of it????? ENOUGH SAID.

I told Phil Sep would be better :P

I AM IN. As always. This time I can stay for the week cause its in SEPTEMBER. Your a bloody legend Phil. What would we do without you eh mate???

Now to you all, onto another and much more touchy subject that needs reconcilliation NOW. The cookoff. Yes I am already on the bandwagon because I was ripped off. A bloody car salesman that has been ripped off is not a good thing. However, it needs to be made quite clear that NEWBY won last years cookoff and if our distinguished judges could bloody count, I would have the trophy at my house now. I happen to have, in my posession, the vote count and it is clear that NEWBY was, once again, the winner of the cookoff. Dont believe me????? ASK PHIL. yes it is true. I WON.

Okay Okay who finally let the cat out of the bag :-X Oh and I voted for you mate (suck suck)

Now that I have that off my chest, I will also add that as the REAL winner, I will not be participating this year as I think it only fair to let someone else win for a change. I am truly unbeatable and I have fined tuned my recipes and skills even further over this summer so it really would be unfair for me to participate.

Thank F*%CK for Ausfish.
OH last but not least. This year see's a NEW IMPROVED newby who is OFF THE SMOKES.
6 1/2 weeks without craving or temper tantrum.

OMFG :o :o :o :o :o without a smoke what do you have in your hand all the time then?

LMFAO;D ;D ;D

catch you soon big fella

Cheers Murf

01-04-2009, 05:05 PM
Newbs,
You big sook;D , I have the trophy mate, I wasnt going to enter this year either to give you a chance to reign at the cook-off.

mike

01-04-2009, 05:20 PM
I think you should both enter, because I wanted to vote for both of you.

suck suck suck ;D;D;D

Chris Ryan
01-04-2009, 08:06 PM
Pending work commitments; I am penciling in this week.........I think i deserve the break.

01-04-2009, 08:17 PM
Pending work commitments; I am penciling in this week.........I think i deserve the break.

Ah, top news. Looking forward to having a "joy" or two with you. There will be several brands available.

I PROPOSE A "JOY OFF"

Home brews to be judged on all sorts of things. I'm thinking I might even donate a trophy, if I still have any money by then!

Cheech, Chong, Murf? Any other punters for the grand prize????

murf
01-04-2009, 08:21 PM
Ah, top news. Looking forward to having a "joy" or two with you. There will be several brands available.

I PROPOSE A "JOY OFF"

Home brews to be judged on all sorts of things. I'm thinking I might even donate a trophy, if I still have any money by then!

Cheech, Chong, Murf? Any other punters for the grand prize????

last year they threw my rum bottle off the top balcony :o they recon it was rough as

so now I follow the master brewer Chong and use his secret methods ;) but I do a few more little things than him and believe my moonshine is better now

cheers Murf

01-04-2009, 08:25 PM
Well, Mike and Newby are pulling the pin on the cook-off. ( must have heard about my Seafood Curry Surprize... ;D )

OK, I will put my hand up for a place in the 4 person cook-off comp. Better nominate yourselves asap, first in best dressed.

If Newb's isn't in the show, then I nominate him to be the JUDGE....:o or at least in charge of ' judging ". That should shut you up.... :-X :P

This year is going to be different from previous years as we ARE going to FISH and FISH properly. No more of this nancy pancy gentlemens hours, we ARE going to fish dawn and dusk and into the night. I am not leaving Agnes until a RED smashes into my esky.8-) 8-)

I now have some marks that are proven red, trout grounds and will be utilizing these to make the PBA boys dispondant prior to their arrival at Agnes a few weeks after us. If the weather is unsuitable for fishing, then certainly, the social activities will take place.

There is some interesting news that needs to be confirmed, and it will be known to all as soon as I know. ;) :-/ :-X

Time to get those houses booked etc ferets......:)

DALEPRICE
01-04-2009, 08:40 PM
seems to be a bad week for booking a house phill.

everything is full already

Apollo
01-04-2009, 08:42 PM
I was wanting to have a go at this one last year but lack of spine(crook back) had me sidelined for a while. So this year I'm there, maybe with a decky or maybe not, havn't checked with him yet. If someone wants to share a house, let me know otherwise with just 2 of us then we will try and camp somewhere.

Whohoo Mark.

Deb has given the green light, so I am in. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

01-04-2009, 09:00 PM
Really Dale... wonder why. way outside school hols....

I'll have a dig around.

Phill.

01-04-2009, 09:11 PM
http://www.raywhiteagneswater1770.com.au/holiday_rent.html

http://www.stayz.com.au/accommodation/qld/gladstone-region/agnes-water

http://www.beachesof1770.com.au/php/rentalSearchResults.php

http://www.prdnationwide.com.au/site/page.cfm?t=propertysearchresults&s=franchisesearch&c=25

http://www.1770reefhouse.com/

http://agneswater1770.harcourts.com.au/ext.aspx?t=s&br=R&bc=QAR&pmn=&pmx=&typ=+

http://www.realholidays.com.au/holidays/agent/coldwell+banker+discovery+coast+realty+agnes+water/qtexxc/holiday+accommodation

digging done. Let me know how you get on.

trymyluck
02-04-2009, 04:11 PM
Whohoo Mark.

Deb has given the green light, so I am in. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

No worries mate, just gotta decide where to bunk I guess.

Chong
02-04-2009, 09:32 PM
Well here it starts again, so far...

Wave is Gone:'(

Have new house, thanks Damo8-)

New house has deck and view;)

The HB lads make the master pleased:-X :P

Newby, out of the cook off:-[

Chong has new cooking weapon and suprise food;)

Tim has an each way bet:-/ soft......

RT is out at the races:(

Phill is in cook offfffffff::) i was been nice at your party:P

its all looking a bit......but i like the timing, weather should be better, not sure if i can make 7 days, but will be there, only 2.5 hrs from home;) might do a couple of over nighters

03-04-2009, 07:25 AM
OK. News just to hand.

For those of you that know, I have always had use of but never owned, ReBait. A 6.2 mtr Pacific Sportfish Centre Cab Super Vee with a 130Honda on her bum.

NEWS. I have bought this boat and own her outright now.

That driveway will have to wait Chong ;D 8-)

The boat will get a tidy up and a couple of minor issues seen to and all is good.

Here is a pic for ID. That is the old XH Falcon Ute towing her.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/ReBait1.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/ReBait-closer.jpg

phill

murf
03-04-2009, 07:29 AM
OK. News just to hand.

For those of you that know, I have always had use of but never owned, ReBait. A 6.2 mtr Pacific Sportfish Centre Cab Super Vee with a 130Honda on her bum.

NEWS. I have bought this boat and own her outright now.

That driveway will have to wait Chong ;D 8-)

The boat will get a tidy up and a couple of minor issues seen to and all is good.

Here is a pic for ID. That is the old XH Falcon Ute towing her.

phill

top stuff mate :)

now get your paint brush out and get to work so you can buy more toys for her :P

cheers Murf

03-04-2009, 07:51 AM
Yes murf, I should. After all, my new motto is

" I'll spend my way out of the recession ! ". :o :) 8-) ;) ;)

Chris Ryan
03-04-2009, 07:58 AM
Holy Moly...........top stuff Phill. More incentive for 1770 now!!..........makes the little 15'6" runabout I just got look like its tender. :)

Congrats.

Chong
03-04-2009, 09:01 AM
Belated birthday present Phill :bdaycake: …or mid life crisis :hammer: ….been a big year, home, boat, what’s next Russian mail order Bride?:gorgeous: :love:

NEWBY
03-04-2009, 09:42 AM
Newbs,
You big sook;D , I have the trophy mate, I wasnt going to enter this year either to give you a chance to reign at the cook-off.

mike
Who's the SOOK????
Mate, I have in my posession, the original vote count. Not my fault your undercooked chook wings didnt get enough votes or the fact that whover the MORON, YES MORON was that counted the votes, couldnt read and read out the wrong numbers. Yes its true. I have known for months.
Sorry mate. Speak to Phil, I beat ya fair and square as would have been expected anyway.
You have the trophy by default same as Roz had it the year before that. BY DEFAULT.
Its so hard being so damn good....Everyone want to be like me and always trying to be betternme'
Guys its great to set high goals for yourselves but hey, make them realistic eh? After all, a goal without a plan or possible achievement is nothing but a dream.

Enough said. Enough points PROVEN. Lets get on to the real issues here.
FISHING...Yes FISHING.
We need a better plan this year as 7 boats hanging off 1 anchor in the lagoon interupted my sleep last year.
I could make a suggestion but I think its time you all started to think for yourselves.

Mr__Bean
03-04-2009, 11:35 AM
We need a better plan this year as 7 boats hanging off 1 anchor in the lagoon interupted my sleep last year.
I could make a suggestion but I think its time you all started to think for yourselves.

Wasn't there a mooring left out there one other year, might only need a float attached.

- Darren

NEWBY
03-04-2009, 11:48 AM
Wasn't there a mooring left out there one other year, might only need a float attached.

- Darren
Yes there was mate. An expensive one at that but it was in 45mtrs of water and outside the lagoon. My son is still paying it off. (not really)
Enough of that and before anyone sayd "Newby, there wasnt 7 boats hangin off "carnelpys" there was only 5", I can promise you that it looked like a lot more through my eyes by midnight. Bloody Jack Daniels

Shall I start?????

Why NOT......

161 sleeps to go.....

rob tranter
03-04-2009, 03:16 PM
I was going to remain silent, seeing as how you won't be honourd with my presence this year, but I can't

I shoul say, I hope it blow's like a bastard, but I won't.:-X
I should say, I hope it pisses down rain, but I won't. :-X
I should say, I hope all the fish are away on holiday, but I won't:-X
I should say, I hope the Tavern run's dry, but I won't:-X

I will say, I thought that Deckie won. Newb's, you lost.:P
I will say, Murf, your moon shine is crook.:P
I will say, No Team wave, saaad.:(

And

I will say, Have a good time you lot, I hope the time change works a treat, and the RED"S show up in very large numbers.:D
I would have been there except for previous plan's, you get that.:-/

And
Black-Rat, GO THE MIGHTY BLUE"S;D

And Murf, put me down for a shirt, XL, I might not be there in body, but I will be there in mind.

Rob The Blue T8-)

Chris Ryan
03-04-2009, 07:53 PM
Hey Rob, mate if I get there I will wear my blues jacket with pride.

murf
04-04-2009, 08:42 AM
Hey Rob, mate if I get there I will wear my blues jacket with pride.

so that is three votes for light blue shirts this year ;D

cheers Murf

rob tranter
04-04-2009, 09:08 AM
Good on ya Chris,

Where it with PRIDE, and rub it in.:)

Last year some dope:o (Deiter/Damo or Chicksloveit/Stu), put up a tiney little Moron flag in the Garden of our house.

Soooooo

I put up a somewhat larger Blues Flag hanging on the verandah, got the pic's to;)
You have to look very very close in the garden to see the poor little Moron flag:-[

Just be careful that someone like the Rat doesn't try and rip it off your back, and watch him if you have a bet with him, it could cost ya.;D

Good on ya Murf, do I get a say even though I'm not going?:-/

Go the Blue's

Rob The Blue T8-)

04-04-2009, 03:42 PM
Mr ( I don't have a clue ) Tranter.

I see you are casting aspersions at some fellow AF's regarding the Small Maroon Flag.

I can tell you with absolute authority, it was NONE of the persons you mentioned in the above post. And get ya spelling right.......

MAROON

Having a larger flag... was that a " compensation " thing or an " envy " thing ?? ;D ;D :P :P

I have left the shirts in Murf's capable hands and he WILL do the right thing............ won't you Paul ?? huh ???? :-/

rob tranter
05-04-2009, 02:13 AM
No Phill, the larger flag was just what I had in the car at the time, it just happened to be LARGER than the teeeeeennnny thing that was put up in the garden.::)

As to ASPERATIONS?????????

You may have put that tiney little fag there and I appologise to the guy's,(although I don't think they'd be to cut up about what I called them, we've called each other worse), but I thought they did it as they pointed it out to me, and it would be something they would do.

But I must say they weren't overly happy staying in the House with such a wonderful flag emblazened on the verandah;D

As to Spelling, welllll

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ZZZZZZ
come in spinner
reel them in
to easy to catch;)

much easier then REDS:o :o :o

Clue?
What clue?;)

And have no fear, Murf will do the right thing, shit would it really matter what colour the shirts are?, don't get so defensive over such trivial stuff?
God some of you Q/landers are so touchy.
Must come from a deep guilt of the fact that Queensland was originally part of.

NSW
THE FIRST STATE;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Rob The Forever Blue T8-)
Edited at 10.04a.m. so that some people wouldn't get there noses out of joint:P

05-04-2009, 12:08 PM
And you think Qld'ers bite quick....... :o ;D ;D ;D :P

.,. ><> ><> ><<>

05-04-2009, 01:45 PM
I don't know what all the fuss is about anyway. It's a known fact that a Rugby League star can only play for two years before he needs brain implants to be able to walk and breathe at the same time.

Hell, most of 'em START their career with a six word vocabulary! Watching ranks of mental midgets staggering towards each other like lines of gorillas and treating each other with a profound lack of respect gets tedious by half time!

I love the post match interviews "Yeah Nah we got 'em good we did. Yeah Nah we giveded 110 percents, we did. Gronk Gronk". All in an Oodnadatta accent!

THAT'LL PUT PUT THE CAT AMONG THE PIGEONS!!!:P:P:P

Oh God I need to go fishing...

Chris Ryan
05-04-2009, 02:54 PM
Sorry Tim.........anything has got to be better than........

"Kick it to me, so I can kick it away again"
"Can't tackle, can only hug"
"I get points for not being accurate?"

.....in my opinion.

05-04-2009, 02:58 PM

.....in my opinion.

HAH! Since when did your opinion matter?

;D;D;D

rob tranter
05-04-2009, 05:12 PM
Not even S.O.O time yet, how good is it;)

Gotta love the bagging,

Come on Rat, you're quiet?:( Phill's having a go, where are you?;D

Rob T8-)

Chong
05-04-2009, 08:52 PM
See you guys are missing the point this year, its about fishing..

not mate againts mate, state againts state....

its about fish..... its about bait...its about catching them with your mate....on bait..

But QLD is better:-X 8-) ;)

05-04-2009, 09:18 PM
Apparently, Chongers..... there are only 2 States to be in ? ;)

phill

05-04-2009, 09:21 PM
Not even S.O.O time yet, how good is it;)

Gotta love the bagging,

Come on Rat, you're quiet?:( Phill's having a go, where are you?;D

Rob T8-)

Been offline due to work commitments in Townsville and the work puter has bloked AF :(

Have jumped onto work colleages lap top for my fix ;D ;D ;D

You want to loose another bottle of rum Trantra ;D

QUEENSLANDER !!!

Damo.

Chris Ryan
06-04-2009, 08:46 AM
HAH! Since when did your opinion matter?

;D;D;D

It doesn't, but I know a bandwagon when I see one :)

06-04-2009, 09:17 AM
It doesn't, but I know a bandwagon when I see one :)

:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P

rob tranter
06-04-2009, 09:21 AM
Righto Chong, it's about fishing, but with me not going:'( I've got to get something out of it.::)

Yeh Phill your right.

Rat I would love nothing more than to retrieve half of last years loss, but seeing as I won't be at Agnes this year, you have no way of getting it to me;D ;D

Rob T8-)

NEWBY
06-04-2009, 09:40 AM

.....in my opinion.
Mate, I gotta agree with you even though I dont mind the odd game of GAY FL. Go the West Coasters. It is 1 of only 2 games in the world that if you miss, you get a consolation prize. Now the other one is GAYLICK football. A F$%*cked up IRISH game similar to GAY FL. Enough said.

Newby

06-04-2009, 10:42 AM
That's all right fellas.

I'm happy to wear all of your sniping, secure in the unshakeable knowledge that because you have obviously played too much Rugby League (or drunk too much grog watching it), I need to place you in the "accept what they say, smile and nod knowingly, because they just aren't capable of understanding the truth about Football" group.

I'll just say,
"OK Guys, Aussie Rules is gay and stupid. Rugby League is obviously a better game."
pat you on the head and walk away, smiling at your distinct lack of culture, and my obvious superiority!

Feel patronised yet? You bloody well should!::)::)::)

Cheers Low Lifes!

Chris Ryan
06-04-2009, 11:21 AM
Ease up, I played Rugby UNION mate as a front rower. The intellegent part of the team as we call it (check with Damo he will agree).

Yes I have drunk quantities of grog watching both Rugby codes. Never watched a game of AFL on telly, seen one game live which I was that bored I tried to pick a fight with the entire collingwood supporters group at a swans game at the SCG.......

;D

rob tranter
06-04-2009, 01:12 PM
Like the Yank's>:(

The Mexican's, acca Victorian's, had to invent a game that no other intelligent being's played.

Then they would alway's be the Best at it.::)

To find an "International" opposision, they have had to Bastardise there own game to play who?

The Bloody Irish?:o

I think enough has been said.

Rob T8-)

Chris Ryan
06-04-2009, 01:39 PM
Thank you Brother Tranter.

Here endeth the lesson.

AMEN

06-04-2009, 03:12 PM
I'm still walking...

;D;D;D

DALEPRICE
06-04-2009, 03:52 PM
Well, wont be attending this years M and G men,
Sounds like its not the red emporer who need to be scared but the agnes waters
bottle shop.

hope all have a safe trip.
cheers dale and terry

murf
06-04-2009, 04:57 PM
bottle shop.

cheers dale and terry

what's the go Dale? :( is Pete coming up?

you will be missed

cheers Murf

Mr__Bean
06-04-2009, 05:14 PM
bottle shop.

cheers dale and terry

:( :( :(
-Darren

trymyluck
06-04-2009, 08:31 PM
"Sounds like its not the red emporer who need to be scared but the agnes waters
bottle shop. "
mmmmmmmmmmmm beer?........Reds?.........Beer?........Reds?:idea :..........Beer & Reds..

Searaider 2
06-04-2009, 10:10 PM
Geday Gang,
As well as Dales previous advise .
Unfortunately I won't be comming up this year either .
Have a safe M & G with heaps fish & partying .
I'm looking forward to the reports & photos .

08-04-2009, 09:45 AM
No worries, Dale, Terry and Peter... does that mean Big Brian is absent too ?

As I said earlier, this year will be different for a number of reasons.

Firstly,

The fishing will take priority. A number of fishing excursions will take place both offshore, inshore and landbased.

Secondly,

The Cook-Off will still be held and will double as an " organisation " event. The evening will be used to discuss all fishing excursions, safety issues, inform everyone as to each others accommodation whereabouts etc.

Thirdly,

No PBA Vs AF Fish-Off presentation night is planned. The PBA boys will be arriving at Agnes Water a couple of weeks later than us. That still means we have to take pics and record weights of our fish. The Trophy is still up for grabs.

Fourthlee ;D

murf is again organising commemorative shirts, so please advise him of numbers of shirts, sizes and of course PAY HIM asap. He done a top job last year and thanks again for the efforts.

Fiverly :-/

Let's now have a show of hands and I will add to list below of folks that are attending. Make known your intentions, whether fully commited or maybe's .

LIST OF M & G STARTERS:-

Team Sunlover:-

Lucky_Phill................. Definate
thedeckie.................. work and weather related 75/25 NFI. !!
Chris Ryan................... out due to surgery on old broken down knees. !
roz.............................. work dependant highly unlikely
murf............................. Definate.
wags_on_the_water.... out due to work commitments.... !!

Cheech and Chong Charters:-

chong........... maybe, weather dependent
cheech......... maybe, weather dependent
Aigutso......... Definate

Team Bubi
Timiboy....... Definate
Black_Rat.... Definate
Tropicrows........Definate

Team Bad-Eye:-

Mr Bean........... Definate
Alan.............. Definate
Chris............. Definate
Dave............ Definate

Team Leggless !

Trymyluck........... Definate
Apollo............... Definate
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/team-leggless.jpg

Team Kitty-Cat

kitty_cat........ Definate

NEWBY........................... definate

Team Spooner

Dieter...................Definate
chicksloveit............Definate
Wardy................. Definate
Rob_Tranter.........definate

Team banditt

banditt..................... definate
wife.........................definate
mates x 2 .................maybe......

Cheers phill
><> ><> ><>

tropicrows
08-04-2009, 11:57 AM
Count me in Timiboy, this sounds to good to miss. Dates are in my diary, and I'll sleep in the dog kennel if that all that is available

DALEPRICE
08-04-2009, 04:36 PM
good luck guys and may you soundly flog the pba boys.

murf, i am moving house when the m and g is on this year ..
phill, i havent forgotten your " stash " that you will need ...!

cheers dale

trymyluck
08-04-2009, 05:22 PM
[quote=Lucky_Phill;998599]No worries, Dale, Terry and Peter... does that mean Big Brian is absent too ?

As I said earlier, this year will be different for a number of reasons.

Firstly,

The fishing will take priority. A number of fishing excursions will take place both offshore, inshore and landbased.

Secondly,

The Cook-Off will still be held and will double as an " organisation " event. The evening will be used to discuss all fishing excursions, safety issues, inform everyone as to each others accommodation whereabouts etc.

Thirdly,

No PBA Vs AF Fish-Off presentation night is planned. The PBA boys will be arriving at Agnes Water a couple of weeks later than us. That still means we have to take pics and record weights of our fish. The Trophy is still up for grabs.

Fourthlee ;D

murf is again organising commemorative shirts, so please advise him of numbers of shirts, sizes and of course PAY HIM asap. He done a top job last year and thanks again for the efforts.

Fiverly :-/

Let's now have a show of hands and I will add to list below of folks that are attending. Make known your intentions, whether fully commited or maybe's .

LIST OF M & G STARTERS:-

Team Sunlover:-

Lucky_Phill.....
thedeckie........
Chris Ryan.......
roz.................. work dependant / maybe
murf...............

chong...........
cheech.........
Timiboy.......
Black_Rat....
Aigutso.........
Tropicrows....

Team Bad-Eye:-

Darren...........
Alan..............

Team Lucky:-

Trymyluck...........
Apollo...............

Team #$!*% NEWBY:-

NEWBY...........................

Cheers phill
><> ><> ><>

Team Lucky???? Not sure about that but we'll be there with Rum and Beer.;D;D We will be calling in at Mondy on the way up for a crack at a few barra so i'm guessing we will end up camping unless one of the other Teams wants to share a house.

OK, Mark, what's ya team name ????????..... Phill ???

mowerman
08-04-2009, 07:28 PM
Hi Apollo.

Hows it goin Steve.

Would love to join team lucky but school holidays take precedence at the moment( and for the next 6 years).

But....

If you feel up to it, me and the Haines will be at Tin Can from 19/9 to 27/9.

Feelin lucky,,Lucky.

Rod.

09-04-2009, 03:02 PM
Guys, I'm worried about the shirts. I actually think both Maroon and NSW Blue are awful colours for a shirt.

I would like to propose Yellow (Aussie Gold), Black or Red. Much better colours. Or of course dark blue again, but you can't really repeat it straight up.

I am considering sponsoring them, but I WON'T if it's either of those two colours!

murf
09-04-2009, 03:23 PM
Guys, I'm worried about the shirts. I actually think both Maroon and NSW Blue are awful colours for a shirt.

I would like to propose Yellow (Aussie Gold), Black or Red. Much better colours. Or of course dark blue again, but you can't really repeat it straight up.

I am considering sponsoring them, but I WON'T if it's either of those two colours!

hahahaha

I am thinking a grey :-/ preferably not a dark colour, they are too bloody hot to fish in :P

cheers Murf

rob tranter
09-04-2009, 03:32 PM

Unlucky Tim

Murf has One Blue eye, and the other one is Blue, you can't count his Brown one:P

Last years were Navy Blue because it was the closest he would go to Sky Blue without being band.:-X

Previous years were Black, because, as Henry Ford said, you can have any colour as long as it is Black;D

Personally, even tho I won't be there, I think the dark colours get to Hot, but Murf will look after those incharge, and get what ever colour he thinks appropriate. I don't think State colours were ever on the cards, I just like to stir the pot;)

Rob T8-)

tropicrows
09-04-2009, 04:01 PM
Tim, I've been told you look good in pink. Not sure that I want to fish out of the same boat if that's the case mate.

Go the crows !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

09-04-2009, 04:05 PM
I don't fish in my Ausfish shirts. I wear them in public - they're a good conversation point! I have crappy, worn out old rags I fish in. They suit the people who usually fish with me, don't they Bruce?

Please not black though!

Apollo
09-04-2009, 07:24 PM
Hi Apollo.

Hows it goin Steve.

Would love to join team lucky but school holidays take precedence at the moment( and for the next 6 years).

But....

If you feel up to it, me and the Haines will be at Tin Can from 19/9 to 27/9.

Feelin lucky,,Lucky.

Rod.

I with Mark on this one re the lucky bit, but we will take all that we can get. Perhaps next time for 1770!

Are you staying at the same place at Tin Can? Either way I will be up for a fish, bbq, beer or a chat for sure. Will talk a bit closer.

Chris Ryan
09-04-2009, 07:43 PM
I reckon a sea green for the shirts. Not too dark for the heat not too light for the dirt...........plus show a mob of fisho's wearing green might have a subliminal effect.

I knew there was something great about Murf........blue eyes.......like my own!

Apollo
10-04-2009, 06:44 AM
OK, Mark, what's ya team name ????????..... Phill ???[/quote]

Phill,
Mark is away so, I get to give us bad name that he will have to live with - works for me!;D

Was thinking of Team Grasshopper as we are both trying to work out the fishing up here or Team Fluffy Pink Bunny Slippers (don't ask), but at the recent Borumba Bash we were TEAM LEGLESS n FISHLESS, so we should stay the same.

What we lack in talent, we make up in ???Ummmm????, presence!!!! Who am I kiddin', we can't make up in anything - sigh!!!

Team :drunk: :beer: n :huh2: :huh2:

RAGINGBULL
10-04-2009, 08:22 AM
Hi Phil

We have already booked 11th to the 19th 2 houses,
There are 16 of us going so far, most are not Ausfishers
I also know that there are a few from Redlands bay boat club that are heading up the week before school holidays and the week during 11th to the 27th

10-04-2009, 08:46 AM
Thanks Mark.

I am sure we'll run into each other up there.

Most of us have Ausfish stickers on our boats and will be running red flags on VHF antennas.

10-04-2009, 10:37 AM

chong...........
cheech.........
Timiboy....... Definate
Black_Rat.... Definate
Aigutso.........
Tropicrows........Definate

C&C Charters will be heading up if the weather is good for a few days.

Team Bubi is the new contender this year ! ;D And what a weapon she is !

Not sure what Mike is doing at this stage :-/

Mr__Bean
10-04-2009, 12:38 PM
At this stage we are the same crew as last year.

Alan

Murf, we'll get you on somewhere if you can't get spot on another boat.:-*

- Darren

murf
10-04-2009, 01:10 PM
At this stage we are the same crew as last year.

Alan

Murf, we'll get you on somewhere if you can't get spot on another boat.:-*

- Darren

haha I think I just insulted TimiBoy calling his toyota landcruiser a soft roader :P apparently he wants to drag me up there with a rope rather than being in one of his soft seats ;D

I will stow away somewhere don't worry about that ;)

cheers Murf

trymyluck
13-04-2009, 08:43 AM
"Team Fluffy Pink Bunny Slippers"

No Steve, Please explain??????????????

13-04-2009, 10:38 AM
Sorry guys.... Team FPB Slippers it is.

better go back to page 5 and have a look ;D 8-) :P

phill

trymyluck
13-04-2009, 12:55 PM

phill

:speechless::speechless::speechless::-[:P>:(>:(>:(>:(

Apollo
13-04-2009, 02:34 PM

phill

Noooooooooooooooooooooooo - you are evil!

catfishkid
17-04-2009, 11:55 AM
I could well be a late starter here,do any teams need another member/crew.If so could you please advise rough share of costs and I will go with hat in hand to see the minister for war and finance to get a leave pass;D.

Cheers Craig

17-04-2009, 01:12 PM
I could well be a late starter here,do any teams need another member/crew.If so could you please advise rough share of costs and I will go with hat in hand to see the minister for war and finance to get a leave pass;D.

Cheers Craig

Hey you can come, but you get charged double if you bring that crappy car of yours!!!

;D;D;D

Chris Ryan
17-04-2009, 05:17 PM
I better stock up on kwells...............and XXXX gold and bundy.

I have a nice reef rod I bought for last years which I didn't get to use, just need a reel for it.

catfishkid
17-04-2009, 06:46 PM
Hey you can come, but you get charged double if you bring that crappy car of yours!!!

;D;D;D

Be carefull tim,you may need that crappy car to help recover that toorak tractor of yours again;D;D.

17-04-2009, 06:56 PM
I better stock up on kwells...............and XXXX gold and bundy.

I have a nice reef rod I bought for last years which I didn't get to use, just need a reel for it.

Chris,

Bundy??? put your order in with Chong, Cheech or Murf for some JOY... it wont matter what fish you catch lol and you wont need kewls, Joy cures all, even headaches

Reels?? apparently those new softcruisers do everything, Id wait till Timiboy gets his winch and use that as a reel?? and use a floater from the headland;D

17-04-2009, 08:38 PM
Chris,

Bundy??? put your order in with Chong, Cheech or Murf for some JOY... it wont matter what fish you catch lol and you wont need kewls, Joy cures all, even headaches

Reels?? apparently those new softcruisers do everything, Id wait till Timiboy gets his winch and use that as a reel?? and use a floater from the headland;D

Load it up with 500 lb braid eh Tangles? Zt! Spooled... I still laugh about that...

I saw a Sahara done up to the nines, lifted and wearing muddies today. Suuuppppeeeerrrrb! I have a woody!

Chris Ryan
17-04-2009, 08:46 PM
Chris,

I thought the joy required induction into a special club!

...well I have the hilux......will that do if I can get a winch on her?

rob tranter
18-04-2009, 08:26 AM
"JOY"

They only call it that:

1: It's Free, or near to it, (it should be if it's not):P

2: That was the name of the shiela they all talked to when they got on it;) ;) ;) ;)

No Club, just a mob of cheap drunks ;D ;D

Rob T8-)

18-04-2009, 05:21 PM
Tantra is week as piss !

As is NSW :o

QLD will prevail !

Blind you are ! ;D ;D ;D

rob tranter
18-04-2009, 05:40 PM
Tantra is week as piss !

As is NSW :o

QLD will prevail !

Blind you are ! ;D ;D ;D

Your sounding a bit like Yoda off Star wars there big fella, is that all you've got;D

18-04-2009, 06:07 PM
I am afraid we have History and numerous S.O.O titles to back us up. ;D

How many years in a row is it now......??? OOHHH That many :P;D ;)

18-04-2009, 06:10 PM
And just in case you are interested, here is the seabreeze outlook for this week at 1770.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/grg.png

Bugga !

vertico
18-04-2009, 06:51 PM
yerh dont show me phill i wish i was up there now

18-04-2009, 08:39 PM
Sorry Sean, I know, I know..... I am stuck atm. If that weather pattern is like that next week, I reckon I can wrangle a quickie. But most likely, the week after.

rob tranter
19-04-2009, 09:35 AM
And just in case you are interested, here is the seabreeze outlook for this week at 1770.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/grg.png

Bugga !

Getting off the frivolity for a moment.

I have never known how to read one of these, so the wave height, is the green leafy looking wavey thing, what is the wind speed?

Rob T8-)

Searaider 2
19-04-2009, 10:13 AM
Geday Rob ,
The Arrows show the wind speed & direction .

This is from the Seabreeze`site .
Its originally set up for Surfers & so they like the swell .:-/

You take the swell height of the left hand side & the wind speed of the right hand side of the graph .

NOTE - There is an option of changing the colours for the Arrows , so some you see posted may differ to the standard settings on Seabreeze .

Table of wind speeds

SymbolTermKnotskm/hBeauforthttp://www.seabreeze.com.au/images/misc/RedArrow.gif Light0 to 10 knots0-19 km/hForce 3 or lesshttp://www.seabreeze.com.au/images/misc/YellowArrow.gif Moderate11 to 16 knots20-29 km/hForce 4http://www.seabreeze.com.au/images/misc/GreenArrow.gif Fresh17+ knots30+ km/hForce 5 and above

The Middle of the arrow is where you should read the wind speed from the scale at the sides. Picture the arrow as being like a compass needle, where it rotates around a central point of balance.

http://www.seabreeze.com.au/images/help/demoarrow.gif

How to read the Wind & Wave Forecast graph

Unlike the live graphs which represent part of a single day, the forecast graphs cover 7 days.
Each "forecast" arrow is three hours apart from the previous arrow, representing a forecast wind speed/direction and swell every 3 hours of the day for 7 days in advance.

http://www.seabreeze.com.au/images/help/demoforecast.gif

19-04-2009, 04:39 PM
Thanks Pete.

I am sure Rob now almost understands.

I changed my arrows to Green for "GO". as per my pic. Red means Stop or No Go.

Here ya go Rob:-

http://www.seabreeze.com.au/graphs/nsw3.asp

save this as a bookmark, favourite.

19-04-2009, 06:34 PM
yes, no,yes,no
As you can see I am still have not decided. It will depend on finaces.
Reason beng in July I am off to Perth and then heading back to Kalgoollie, Great central Rd to Alice, from Alice going down to Mt Dare and accross the simpson desert to Birdsville, then down the track to the Barrossa Valley, then on to Melbourne and Home. This is a 4 week trip without income (self employed) so as much as I want to come up it will depend on finaces. Odds at the moment are 50-50
hope to see ya there
Will make a desision end of August

19-04-2009, 07:32 PM
Thanks Robbie.

That trip sounds like a beauty. Hope to hear some good news in August then.

thedeckie is looking forward to cooking up the ASH-eggs, ASH-bacon and ASH-toast breakfast's.

cheers Phill

mowerman
20-04-2009, 08:58 PM
For the blokes who are bunking with Timiboy.

He's well trained.

murf
20-04-2009, 10:59 PM
For the blokes who are bunking with Timiboy.

He's well trained.

we are laughing then ;D we have a :-X

cheers Murf

rob tranter
20-04-2009, 11:55 PM
Thanks Pete

Clear as Mud:D

Your map (to me) shows low sea's when your Red arrows say don't go?:-/

Any way, you lot , have a ball

Blaze, mate you should be in Birdsville for the races when I'm there, First Friday of September, otherwise I would be going to Agnes/1770

I hate you lot that voted to have the M&G in September>:( >:(

Mowerman, I have met Tim and there is NO way he is House trained;)

I have marked that site and will endeavour to study it:)

By the way

For those that are having trouble ith Housing?
I have e-mailed PRD, and they have said, (as of today 20th April), that most of the Rentals they have are available for the dates of the M&G so give them a ring

Rob T8-)

21-04-2009, 05:35 AM
we are laughing then ;D we have a :-X

cheers Murf

Oh, just for you, Murf, just for you!

NOT!!!!

tropicrows
21-04-2009, 08:48 AM
Hey Tim mate, all you need now is an apron with flowers on it, and fluffy slippers. Seriously though, it will be good to bunk in with someone who is domesticated.

Chris Ryan
21-04-2009, 10:17 AM
domesticated - you make him sound like a puppy who can poo on the newspaper in the right corner and not on the carpet!.........

21-04-2009, 10:18 AM
domesticated - you make him sound like a puppy who can poo on the newspaper in the right corner and not on the carpet!.........

Yep, just don't check under your pillow or in your letter box...

Tim the pooshark.

trymyluck
21-04-2009, 07:10 PM
So.....I think we better have another roll call with the real TEAM NAMES>:(>:(. NO we are not going to be TEAM FPB SLIPPERS.:P:P We are TEAM LEGGLESS And we better have our declared colours in there as well. As both Steve and I come from the the Main State of Aus(Hey Bob T sorry your not gunna grace us with your company as we could have used the back up) Steve comes from Lake Macquarie and I'm from Maitland in the Hunter Valley,so its safe to say that we'll declare ourselves as LBS's(Loyal Blues supporters);D;D;D and as good sports we gave you morons the last 3 years you can all weep and cry this year.;D;D:D.

And if Steve comes up with any more of his suggestions then he'll not be just "leggless".

murf
21-04-2009, 07:25 PM
So.....I think we better have another roll call with the real TEAM NAMES>:(>:(. NO we are not going to be TEAM FPB SLIPPERS.:P:P We are TEAM LEGGLESS And we better have our declared colours in there as well. As both Steve and I come from the the Main State of Aus(Hey Bob T sorry your not gunna grace us with your company as we could have used the back up) Steve comes from Lake Macquarie and I'm from Maitland in the Hunter Valley,so its safe to say that we'll declare ourselves as LBS's(Loyal Blues supporters);D;D;D and as good sports we gave you morons the last 3 years you can all weep and cry this year.;D;D:D.

And if Steve comes up with any more of his suggestions then he'll not be just "leggless".

so how many votes are we up to now for light blue shirts this year :P

I am originally a Toronto/ Wangi Wangi boy ;)

cheers Murf

kitty_cat
21-04-2009, 07:29 PM
ok thought we should weigh in as team kitty cat
we will be fishing the best four days on the ausfish week as prior comitments when the pba turn up to 1770
besides i cant sit and read all the reports on ausfish and be stuck in brisbane

we will see about leaving boat up there and fish the best weekend on the pba week as they are there over 2 weekends with the plan to collect boat to bring back to brissy
(i have a place i can store the boat up there for the few weeks)

so are we ausfish or pba ?

cant wait again this is the best trip off the year so bring on the reds

team kitty cat

trymyluck
21-04-2009, 08:29 PM

So you and Steve would have been in the same area pretty well, I think he grew up around Wangi Wangi.

I'd say we'll be down for a couple of those shirts thanks.;D

Mr__Bean
21-04-2009, 08:58 PM
For the record, I still prefer my (small) collection of black shirts (2006 and 2007).

All this moaning about too hot........

PFFFFFFT.

Never actually used them to fish in, they are to good for that.

- Darren

21-04-2009, 09:06 PM
I like the black ones too

22-04-2009, 06:08 AM
I say again, if those shirts turn up in "wet p!ssy sky blue" or "putrid p!ssy maroon", they will wind up as rags on Bubi.

Both terrible colours for shirts. Murf, you shapin' on a long walk Mate?;D;D;D

kitty_cat
22-04-2009, 07:23 AM
do you guys talk about fishing or just worry about the color of shirts i think red for reds

rob tranter
22-04-2009, 08:37 AM
Keep it up Murf and Phill will sack you from the job of T Shirt Supplier.

Robbie and Darren
Black show's up the dandruff to much;D

Haven't heard fom Dieter or Chickslovit, are they going?

Kitty cat you better be Ausfish this year, seeing as how your PBA mates won't be around until October, (when we should be there):'(

Timiboy Timiboy Timiboy, enough of your childish ranting about shirt's and rag's, you will take what is given, and as kitty cat said, you are there to catch Red's;)

trymyluck
Maitland and Lake Macquarie, have lived in/near both, Warners Bay(Lake Macquarie) and Vacy (near Maitland) as long as your not dragged the distance.:D

Rob T8-)

murf
22-04-2009, 08:42 AM
ok a RED question haha do I get a hard or subtle leader for reds?

cheers Murf

tropicrows
22-04-2009, 09:03 AM
All this makes exceptional reading I just wish I knew what you are all taking, so I can get some.

Chris Ryan
22-04-2009, 09:23 AM
I am a Northern Rivers boy and had a cousin play for the mighty blues so I am all in for the blue of the first state of this great country.

PS - Got my leave pass approved for a couple of days. Now just have to tell work! :) Agnes/1770 here I come!

22-04-2009, 09:50 AM
What about red, white and blue? Flag colours?

Chong
22-04-2009, 10:12 AM
I thought the joy required induction into a special club!
Yes Chris it does, and your invited ::) ;) you will need to be able to do the following for acceptance into the club:
Have a big cup
Like to drink Joy
Talk S%$t
Pack scrum on deck
swear a lot
pay out on RT
Get up and go fishing the next am:-X

"JOY"

They only call it that:

1: It's Free, or near to it, (it should be if it's not):P

2: That was the name of the shiela they all talked to when they got on it;) ;) ;) ;)

No Club, just a mob of cheap drunks ;D ;D

Rob T8-)

Rob,
you know deep down that you have never found a better drink and your pissed cause you cant make it:P

Can someone pass this to the deckie, he needs to be trained in his own house...or is he staying with us this year:o Hope we have a house with an out house;) ::) :-X

Mr__Bean
22-04-2009, 12:56 PM
do you guys talk about fishing or just worry about the color of shirts.......

I think some go there for the fishing and some use the fishing for the reason to go. :-/

- Darren

kitty_cat
22-04-2009, 06:22 PM
murf jinki is leader of choice 150 pd for me jay uses 200pd(over kill)but i have been busted up on 150 quite a few times (hate losing fish)
reason for jinki still tieable in heavy leader

wayne

Scaredy Cat
22-04-2009, 08:25 PM
ok thought we should weigh in as team kitty cat
we will be fishing the best four days on the ausfish week as prior comitments when the pba turn up to 1770
besides i cant sit and read all the reports on ausfish and be stuck in brisbane

we will see about leaving boat up there and fish the best weekend on the pba week as they are there over 2 weekends with the plan to collect boat to bring back to brissy
(i have a place i can store the boat up there for the few weeks)

so are we ausfish or pba ?

cant wait again this is the best trip off the year so bring on the reds

team kitty cat

Great idea Kitty cat, We can fish one week and back up for the second bit of the cherry!::)
Might even get shirts with removable name patch

22-04-2009, 08:28 PM
Guys,

Deiter, ( Little Damo ), chicksloveit ( Stuie ) and Wardy are definates. They'll be in the 575 Outsider.

They haven't booked a house yet.

Is anyone looking for housemates ?

Send me a pm as they don't visit Ausfish that often, and I'll put you in touch with them.

OH,

Team Leggless...... you have a new pic on page 5. :-/8-)

Shirts.........mmmmm any colour as long as it is Black. ;) :P

ReBait is nearly ready.... just need to get the new springs etc and I am set.

phill

murf
22-04-2009, 09:25 PM
Guys,

ReBait is nearly ready....

nothing like being prepared ;) how many sleeps haha

thanks for the tip kitty_cat I will look at upgrading as I usually use 80lb, what is the reason for the heavy stuff? is it abrasion resistance on the bottom? and would you get less bites on the heavier leader? (Fraser Is in two and a bit weeks :) )

was big Damo offering accommodation to little Damo and Stuie?

cheers Murf

Deiter
22-04-2009, 09:32 PM
hey buggers :)
yes, i have been a bit quiet, but u get that.

ANYWAY...... yes, i need to have a chat with Bookend 1 (Blackrat) re accom first, so Damo, if u read this, pm me ur no and i'll be in touch.

p.s. my back has not been the same since february.

trymyluck
22-04-2009, 09:52 PM
OH,

Team Leggless...... you have a new pic on page 5. :-/8-)

This is just not fair,mmmmm paybacks a bitch ya know.;D;D;D

rob tranter
22-04-2009, 10:47 PM
ANYWAY...... Yes, i need to have a chat with Bookend 1 (Blackrat) re accom first, so Damo, if u read this, pm me ur no and i'll be in touch.

Be carefull Rat, you will get sore bit's from mothering this Two;D

Rob T8-)

Chong
22-04-2009, 10:53 PM
ANYWAY...... Yes, i need to have a chat with Bookend 1 (Blackrat) re accom first, so Damo, if u read this, pm me ur no and i'll be in touch.

Be carefull Rat, you will get sore bit's from mothering this Two;D

Rob T8-)
Thats only cause you have big t%ts RT:P :P :P :P
suckle...suckle...suckle...

let me take you to the dark side of BLUE::) :-X

rob tranter
24-04-2009, 12:23 PM
I Have some bad news for you all

ROB T8-)

WILL

BE THERE

YEH,YEH,YEH

HAVE BOOKED SUNDANCE,

HAVE RANG CHICKSLOVEIT, HE AND HIS DECKIE'S WILL HELP PAY THE RENT

MURF IS THINKING ABOUT IT

THE HUG'S AND KISSES HAS GIVEN THE GREEN LIGHT.

ALL IS GOOD

ROB THE BLUE T8-)

24-04-2009, 12:44 PM
Sigh... There goes the neighbourhood!

:P

Mr__Bean
24-04-2009, 03:47 PM

ROB T8-)

WILL

BE THERE

YEH,YEH,YEH

Phill,

Are we locked in on those dates?

Maybe we could pick another more difficult date.

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff148/Quatsch1/SCHLITZIE_LAFFS_.gif

- Darren

kitty_cat
24-04-2009, 04:03 PM
hey murf reef is definatly the main factor with the heavy leader double thumb the spool and pull the bigger fish of the reef ,after making some ground you can wear the fish out mid water letting them run abit with out fear of the reef busting you up.
also we hit the odd patch of big ajs and they will just bite you off with the lighter leader costing you plenty of gear (we have found the big reds and ajs will often be in the same area)
wayne
ps good luck at fraser we will be up just for looks not fishing just cheacking out the comp since it is the last

murf
24-04-2009, 04:28 PM

ROB T8-)

WILL

BE THERE

YEH,YEH,YEH

HAVE BOOKED SUNDANCE,

HAVE RANG CHICKSLOVEIT, HE AND HIS DECKIE'S WILL HELP PAY THE RENT

MURF IS THINKING ABOUT IT

THE HUG'S AND KISSES HAS GIVEN THE GREEN LIGHT.

ALL IS GOOD

ROB THE BLUE T8-)

woooooo hoooooo :laola:

look out you morons now haha Rob T is back

hey Tim stick ya big soft Toyota I am going in a real 4WD :P but a ride in the boat will still be good ;) haha ;D

cheers Murf

rob tranter
24-04-2009, 04:38 PM
Phill,

Are we locked in on those dates?

Maybe we could pick another more difficult date.

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff148/Quatsch1/SCHLITZIE_LAFFS_.gif

- Darren

Sh!t Darren
are you bringing your Twin sister with you this year;D

Mr__Bean
24-04-2009, 07:00 PM
Hey hey hey.....

Ease up, that's the good lady!!

- Darren

rob tranter
25-04-2009, 02:26 AM
Hey hey hey.....

Ease up, that's the good lady!!

- Darren

OUT STANDING lololololololol

Rob T8-)

DALEPRICE
25-04-2009, 03:46 PM
pmsl,

thats down right scary men.............................lol

cheers dale

25-04-2009, 08:56 PM
Righto ladies back on air after a week away from AF ;D

Rob i'll make room on the shelf at "Verandahs of Agnes" for my litre of Rum after the Origin ! ;D but will take 2 x 700ml bottles of Joy in lieu ! (cheaper for you !)

Don't care what colour the shirts are as long as there not Blue !>:(

Bought a new baitcaster combo for chasing Barra/Jacks today thanks to Mr Rudd ;D for up in Townsville from the local tackle shop. Shimano Curado 300DSV, 5ft 8 Graphite rod and 30lb braid :-X

Smell ya's later !

Damo.

Apollo
25-04-2009, 11:50 PM

cheers Murf

Murf

I am born and bred in Wangi Wangi - lived there for 28yrs. In fact I have just driven 13 hrs back from there aftwer visiting family.

rob tranter
26-04-2009, 09:45 AM
Rob i'll make room on the shelf at "Verandahs of Agnes" for my litre of Rum after the Origin ! ;D but will take 2 x 700ml bottles of Joy in lieu ! (cheaper for you !)

Good to see you back big fella

Due to the State of the Economy, caused by the world wide Economic Crises.
The bet will have to be on the Outcome of the S.O.O Series, and I will be more than happy to Take a 1.125mm bottle of Genuine Bundaberg rum from you;)

Go the Blue's.

Now that is enough on drinkling, because if you go back a few pages, you will see where Phill has said that this will be a serious fishing M&G.
I thought it was always like that, you just can't help the weather;D

Nice reel, have one miself, how come your mate Mr Dudd, has forked out for you and not me:-/,must be a Queerlander thing;D .

Rob the Blue T8-)

Mr__Bean
28-04-2009, 01:37 AM
Ok, maybe it is time to put a bit more emphasis on the fishing that this Meet and Greet provides.

For those members that haven't fished this area before Agnes Water / 1770 offers a very good variety of estuary, inshore and offshore fishing. Boats of all sizes can enjoy productive fishing grounds with the help of members attending the meet and greet.

By far the best attraction (to me anyway) is the ability to safely travel far offshore in a trailer boat to enjoy some magnificent reef fishing. The safety the meet and greet offers is the travel in numbers and the collective experience in the group.

For anyone contemplating the trip out (in my opinion should be anyone in a seaworthy boat around 5.5 metres and over) stable weather is the driving factor, hence moving this years dates in pursuit of the most stable wind conditions.

For me this year will be my 4th year attending and it is a trip that my teenage son and I look forward to for the entire year, it usually goes something like this:

Arrive in Agnes around lunchtime on the Saturday and the four in our group settle into a rented house (about $500-800 for the week), the houses are usually well set up for fisherman with bait freezers, boat parking and bbq's etc. Once settled we check the latest weather and the planning starts from there. Boat is packed for a planned 2 or 3 day trip. Food, water, bedding, clothes, additional fuel all have to be stored in a manner that allows safe operation and meaningful fishing.

Fuel should not be underestimated, we fill the tank and then load additional plastic jerry cans to maximise our ability to travel around the reef whilst out there, last year we took 4 jerry cans and this year we will pack additional ones if the weather looks supportive of a longer session.

The Saturday night then turns our attention to the traditional BBQ get together and infamous cook-off. This is a chance to get together at one house and meet the other attendees and welcome the newcomers. It is also a chance to plan and agree on areas to be fished and where the overnight stays will be planned for.

The reef fishing provides 3 main overnight locations, Fitzroy Reef which provides a safe lagoon to anchor, Lady Musgrave Island which also offers a safe lagoon, or out on the water either chasing the night fish or anchoring outside a lagoon to fish into the night.

At the end of the cook-of and after much bravado you will pretty much understand who is there to fish and who is there to capitalise on the social elements of the week, and it does provide well for both markets.

Weather permitting our team will aim to be on the water early Sunday morning and head straight out the 50 or so kilometers to the relatively safe waters that abound the reef, as mentioned earlier the boat will be packed for an overnighter and hoping for a three day trip if the weather forecast safely supports it.

Typically there are later starters on the Sunday depending on the hour that they finished the night before and which stage they played up on. Last year the group split and some spent the first night in an estuary up the coast before their trip to the reef. Last year we had some initial weather that was forecast to clear so we head out into the rough knowing it would get better by both the forecast and the calmer waters once you get out amongst the reef.

The remainder of the week is punctuated by weather, exhaustion, bait and ice supplies and bag limits. Some prefer to kick back and enjoy some golf, others use the social times to exchange fishing knowledge andtechniques. Its actually a bit wonky when you get back on land after a couple of days in a trailer boat, the shower feels magnificent and the counter tea at the pub is to die for.

At the end of the week we usually get together and tally up peoples success, share this year's stories and toast yet another meet and greet gone by. Planning the next year's strategies usually begins the next morning from what you picked up from the others experiences the night before.

So if you would like to come join us then don't be put off by our banter you see here, that is just our way of dealing with the wait.

If you think you might be interested then come forward with your questions.

Most of all, if you think you would like to join a like minded bunch that get go out fishing together then get your group organised and join in.

- Darren

murf
28-04-2009, 08:31 AM
top post Darren :) you really summed it up. I think Phill should put it up on the first page

please mother nature bring on favourable weather and some RED colour for Darren's young fella, a nice 10kg red will have him dreaming for another twelve months of catching a bigger one ;D

As soon as I get back from the Fraser Is comp I will call for shirt orders to commemorate this years famous M&G, if anyone wants to have their business on the shirts then send me a PM

cheers Murf

rob tranter
28-04-2009, 08:45 AM
For anyone contemplating the trip out (in my opinion should be anyone in a seaworthy boat around 5.5 metres and over) stable weather is the driving factor, hence moving this years dates in pursuit of the most stable wind conditions

As Murf said,

Darren great post, but I might be trying it in my 4.75, as you said, safety in numbers, and it will have to be flat.;D

I've been pestering my treasurer for funds for a new boat but so far:'(

Rob T8-)

catfishkid
28-04-2009, 11:44 AM

Cheers Craig

I would prefer if possible to join another crew for my first trip up there.
I am not sure my boat would have the fuel capacity for the distances involved up there,I only have 80l underfloor and generally carry three jerrys when I go out down here.
Please refer to my question above,would an estimate of $600ish in shared costs(Accomodation and fuel) plus food,bait etc... be close??
If any group wants another crew member please let me know.

Cheers Craig

Chris Ryan
28-04-2009, 01:48 PM
I am joining another crew whilst up there - my 5m is a little on the small side for offshore and I have no offshore capt experience yet. PLUS I am a 1770 newbie.

28-04-2009, 09:36 PM
FYI.

until recently, my offshore / island excursions at 1770 were in a 17ft Nova.

Craig and Rob and Chris.

You should know you fuel capacity / economy of your boats.

If you decide to do a day trip to the islands, allow to travel 150 -180 kilometers. Work out ya fuel and take it from there. The day trip is an easy one because you will know what the weather is doing for at least 12 hours.,

The overnighters... 2 - 3 day trips can be interesting. Hopefully, the history of consecutive fine days run true for September.

rob tranter
29-04-2009, 09:56 AM
They way I figure it, is I've got about4 months until I shoot through to Birdsville and then straight up to Agnes, so hopefully I can where the Minster for finances down;) , and turn up with a boat that will have no problems with slightly bigger sea's:)

Rob T8-)

murf
29-04-2009, 04:04 PM
They way I figure it, is I've got about4 months until I shoot through to Birdsville and then straight up to Agnes, so hopefully I can where the Minster for finances down;) , and turn up with a boat that will have no problems with slightly bigger sea's:)

Rob T8-)

:o

what are we thinking of Rob? make sure it has two beds as I don't want to top and tail with you :P

cheers Murf

29-04-2009, 07:31 PM
I think the boats name is " Spooner ". :o :o :o

rob tranter
29-04-2009, 10:23 PM
[quote=Lucky_Phill;1009248]I think the boats name is " Spooner ". :o :o :o

No that would be the name of a Queerlander boat;D :P ;D :P

Don't worry murf, if I get one you will be the third person to know, along with everyone on ausfish, maybe the fourth, as the bank manager would be the third:-/

So far the little Allycraft is safe, and looking sfare by the minute:'(

Rob T8-)

NEWBY
30-04-2009, 07:43 AM
Hi Phil

We have already booked 11th to the 19th 2 houses,
There are 16 of us going so far, most are not Ausfishers
I also know that there are a few from Redlands bay boat club that are heading up the week before school holidays and the week during 11th to the 27th

Best they join then eh?????:-/
More the merrier...:D

NEWBY'S BACK.>:(

More on my trip to Vanuatu with pics later.
I just logged on to see what garbage you lot have been crapping on about in my absence.
I will say one thing now though, I am only a 50/50 of attending this year as I am a good chance of sailing the good ship Carnelpya to Vanuatu and take up permanent residence there withing the next 2 months.;)

WHY I hear ya ask????
Well, cause I can....;D

NEWBY

NEWBY
30-04-2009, 07:51 AM
For the record, I still prefer my (small) collection of black shirts (2006 and 2007).

All this moaning about too hot........

PFFFFFFT.

Never actually used them to fish in, they are to good for that.

- Darren
I am with you mate. BLACK shirts.....
I have the same collection.
Dont want to bugger it up with homo blue or gay marone.

NEWBY

Chong
30-04-2009, 09:29 AM

I just logged on to see what garbage you lot have been crapping on about in my absence.
I will say one thing now though, I am only a 50/50 of attending this year as I am a good chance of sailing the good ship Carnelpya to Vanuatu and take up permanent residence there withing the next 2 months.;)

WHY I hear ya ask????
Well, cause I can....;D

NEWBY

Doing a Mr.Skase trick Newby????:P ::)
Watch out, Denton will be after you;D

rob tranter
30-04-2009, 09:41 AM

WHY I hear ya ask????
Well, cause I can....;D

NEWBY

CAR YARD GOING CHEAP;D

Rob T8-)

30-04-2009, 09:02 PM
Are you saying a M & G will be held at " Hotel De La Newby " of Espiritu Santo (http://www.google.com.au/url?q=http://www.vanuatutourism.com/vanuatu/cms/en/islands/espiritu_santo.html&ei=RYX5SeafBM2IkAWK-KHRBA&sa=X&oi=smap&resnum=1&ct=result&cd=8&usg=AFQjCNFeftKObJ_hMoH2eYZsVL_1UiilwQ).

FYI:-

A Brief History
An hours flight by light aircraft north, this largest island of Vanuatu (4,010 km2) was named by De Quiros in the 17th Century when he made a navigational error of some thousands of miles in a vain attempt to find Australia.
Despite the passing of three centuries, Santo's majestic beauty is little changed. World War II (http://www.vanuatutourism.com/vanuatu/export/sites/VTO/en/history/world_war2.html) had the first profound impact. It is perhaps best known as the inspiration for James A. Michener's classic "Tales of the South Pacific".
During the course of the war, over 100,000 allied troops and support staff were stationed here. Amid the thick jungle there are remnants of crashed B17 bombers, deserted Dakotas and Quonset huts. Many of the buildings in the only town, Luganville, are old Quonset huts,with fences of upright Marsden matting rusting away under a deluge of decorative vines.
Beneath the waves at Million Dollar Point, divers can view the legacy of military evacuation, where the U.S. forces dumped thousands of tons of war surplus prior to returning home.
For SCUBA divers, Espiritu Santo is the Mecca of the South Pacific. It is the final resting place of the 22,000 ton liner turned troopship SS "President Coolidge" (http://www.vanuatutourism.com/vanuatu/export/sites/VTO/en/history/president_coolidge.html) and the destroyer USS "Tucker", both victims of US placed mines.

For travellers, the beauty of Santo is unmatched. Stunning jewel-like islands lay just a few hundred metres from coconut fringed beaches lined with powdery white sand. Amazing blue water swimming holes are connected by underground caverns and majestic mountains stretching from one end of the island to the other. Awesome ravines shrouded in magnificent tropical rainforest are home to jungle birds and beautiful orchids.
Inyeug is periodically visited by several hundred tourists arriving on cruise ships, for it is the famous "Mystery Island" , reached by launch from cruise ships anchoring inside the magnificent turquoise waters between Inyeug and the mainland.
Huge Kauri trees still grow in the southwest mountain forests. In the north, Big Bay conservation area, Vanuatu's first National Park is the first step to ensure this beautiful island will remain pristine.

rob tranter
01-05-2009, 01:17 AM
What NO PUB'S

The Attraction IS?:D

Newb's

What pay's the Bills?, doesn't sound like you can sell Motor vehicles there.;)

Go with the flow

Rob T8-)

banditt
02-05-2009, 02:16 PM
phil i am planning on joining you this year, bringing the wife along and have booked into the mantra where she and mates wife will be pretty comfy, which will allow us to fish as much as possible, weather permiting. am arriving 9/9/2009 and will leave on 21/9. also arriving a little bit earlier will allow us to spend a bit of time with the girls. i have a couple of other mates who are talking about coming up so will probably be fishing 4 up. none of us have fished their before so are really looking forward to the trip. bloody long way to tow the boat though.

02-05-2009, 03:12 PM
Welcome aboard banditt.

Send me a pm with your email address and I'll send you some starter GPS marks for bait grounds, local wrecks, reefs and other things. Include your mobile phone number, boat description etc.

FYI, I painted the Mantra when it was being built a couple of years ago.

Well, it's not that far to travel really for us, but just saw where you are coming from..... :o :o.

02-05-2009, 09:09 PM
Just a heads up:-

We have 22 definate starters with 8 maybe's and of those all are better than 50/50.

Maybe time to put our heads together regarding things like bait.

Is anyone able to secure Mullet fillets or whole mullet at reasonable prices ?

I figure that 10kgs of fillets ( per boat ) for an overnighter is needed. ( that is a minimum ). WE obviously take other baits and catch livies, but mullet is a pretty good allround bait.

We should also look at a small ID flag for each boat. The PBA guys use orange from memory, we could use another colour ? Maybe blue and white..;) 8-)

anything else ???????????????

murf
02-05-2009, 09:16 PM
J

I figure that 10kgs of fillets ( per boat ) for an overnighter is needed. ( that is a minimum ). WE obviously take other baits and catch livies, but mullet is a pretty good allround bait.

We should also look at a small ID flag for each boat. The PBA guys use orange from memory, we could use another colour ? Maybe blue and white..;) 8-)

are you going diving with that coloured flag?

mmm bait, might bring up 50 (because thats all I am allowed in NSW) slimies, unless Rob and his mate are there then I can bring 150 ;D

hey Banditt, drop in for a cuppa on ya way past ;) or better still do you have a spare seat, can't wait to get there haha

cheers Murf

trymyluck
03-05-2009, 08:12 AM
Hi All

I'll have a talk to Steve regarding the mullet as he may be able to get hold of some for a reasonable price. I'll be back.;D;D

Apollo
03-05-2009, 08:16 AM
Just a heads up:-

We have 22 definate starters with 8 maybe's and of those all are better than 50/50.

Phil

I might be able to assist with the mullet for bait. I deal with a few commercial fishos and one of the them should be able to supply whole mullet at the right price. If I can get a total kgs or fish needed, I will hit him up for a great price. As Mark and I will be heading to mondy on the way up, I might need someone to take them up from the Gympie area (unless there is somewhere in the Gin Gin area we can leave them to remain frozen for a couple of days).

Anyway, if i can get an approx kg needed, I will see what I can do.

Team Legless

banditt
03-05-2009, 12:14 PM
hey murf where is corindi beach? will have to get the atlas out. might just call in for that cuppa, although will probably want to get as many miles up the track as quick as possible. anyway murf will undoubtedly catch up with you up their, regards

03-05-2009, 04:51 PM
Thanks guys.

To give you an idea, I recieved ( last year ) 40kgs of fresh ( 8 hours old ) whole mullet for $3.00/kg. It was a good thing I was passing the area I picked them up from otherwise it was a bit of a drive and would have ended up costing about $1.50kg more.

The size ranged from 25cms to 40cms.

Before this ( about 3 years ago ) I used to regularly get " bruised " mullet fillet ( that is cut wrong and not ideal for public sale / display ) from a northside co-op for $1.00kg, it then went up to $2/kg.

For some reason mullet is getting dearer... a lot dearer. ????

Having said that, around Brisbane during the mullet run you can source it for $10/ 3kg.....fillets. I would be happy to pay that.

personally I want / need 20 -30 kg of fillets. :o ;D

Timing is everything as the mullet run is over by the time the M & G comes around. Plan ahead ;)

Team Sunlover.

Mr__Bean
03-05-2009, 06:57 PM
We should also look at a small ID flag for each boat. The PBA guys use orange from memory, we could use another colour ? Maybe blue and white...

I have been thinking about this as well, the flag makes it so much easier to identify a group boat. Last year we saw a boat and motored over to it thinking it was one of ours, only to be met by snarls and glaring looks of those on board which I am sure were thinking that we were trying to ping their spot on the GPS.

In the abscence of any better ideas maybe we should use a small Aussie flag on the aerial, there are cheap plastic flags available (somewhere??) that would easily tape to the aerial without much effort or risk to the aerial.

I too would be interested in a large order for relatively fresh and well handled bait, not sure if or how I could assist but yeah, count me in please.

- Darren

03-05-2009, 09:11 PM
Done deal Darren.

All Ausfish boats attending the M & G will display Aussie Flags.

Crazy Clarks, Sams, The Warehouse, Dollars and Sense and any other cheap charlie place will stock these.

04-05-2009, 07:22 AM
Shouldn't we fly Red Ensigns? They are, after all, the correct flag to be flown by Australian Registered ships.

May be harder to get, I don't know... Probably best to stick with good old red white and blue.

For those of you who are likely to get enthusiastic, it is VERY POOR FORM to fly both the Red Ensign and the Australian Flag on the same ship.

Mr__Bean
04-05-2009, 12:20 PM
Shouldn't we fly Red Ensigns? They are, after all, the correct flag to be flown by Australian Registered ships

How far offshore you planning to go, you leaving Australian Waters?

That Cruisecraft must be a bigger boat than I thought to carry around those balls!!!

- Darren

;D ;D ;D :P

vertico
04-05-2009, 05:24 PM
phill i just got 20kg of whole mullets for $40

04-05-2009, 07:21 PM
Timi..................

The Red Ensign or "Red Duster" is a flag (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flag) that originated in the early 17th century as a British ensign (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_ensign) flown by the Royal Navy (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_Navy) and later specifically by British merchantmen. The precise date of its first appearance is not known, but surviving receipts indicate that the Navy was paying to have such flags sewn during the 1620s. It is currently used as the civil ensign (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Civil_ensign) of the United Kingdom (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_Kingdom).

Now Timi, I know you are an educated man but do really think we are part of the United Kingdom ?

FYI....The United Kingdom is a unitary state (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unitary_state) consisting of four countries (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Countries_of_the_United_Kingdom): England (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England), Northern Ireland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Ireland), Scotland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scotland) and Wales (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wales).

All IMO.....8-)

Now the history lesson is over, you WILL fly the Aussie flag upon your vessel at the 2009 AF Agnes / 1770 M & G. Or yeh shall be keel hauled 'til ya bare bones plough the underbelly of said cruisecraft. :P :P ;) ;D ;D

Sean......... that mullet sounds like the deal.

I plan to get mine asap, fillet it, salt it down and Cryovac in kilo pkts. There may be a ' reckie ' on very soon :-X ;) 8-) 8-)

Phill.

..><> ><> ><> ><>

04-05-2009, 08:16 PM
Now Philly Willy, sorry to "correct" you, but Australia actually has a Red Ensign as well.

http://www.anbg.gov.au/oz/flag.html

"
The Australian Red Ensign - Merchant Navy, as for the Australian flag, but with a red field with white stars. Proclaimed in the Flags Act 1953. Covers Australian registered ships under section 30 of the Shipping Registration Act 1981.
The Australian White Ensign - Royal Australian Navy - as for the Australian flag but with a white field and dark blue stars. Gazetted in 1967.
The Sky-blue Ensign - Royal Australian Air Force - as for the Australian flag but with a pale blue field, the southern cross rotated clockwise c. 20 degrees and the blue roundel with white inner and red kangaroo of the Royal Australian Air Force in the lower fly. Gazetted in 1982."

Big poo poo to you!;D;D;D;D

Damn I love being right! You will never hear the end of this one!

04-05-2009, 08:50 PM
Right FFFTTTTT !!!!!

Australia has a Red Ensign ( apparently, according to a webpage sponsored by a garden !! ?? ::) ), true, but not The Red Ensign. :P

Further, under the Act a ship can fly the Red Ensign, thing is a Ship less than 12 meters is a " Small Craft ", therefore negating the option of certain vessels from flying the Red Ensign.

Am I right......... ? Is it a matter of interpretation ? Is the glass half full ?

At the end of the day, you will fly the current Australian National Flag...:P

.><> ><> ><>

04-05-2009, 11:03 PM
Ladies it's not about flags and history ::)

The M&G is about drinking piss and fishing !!!!:-X ;D ;D ;D

Give youselves a collective uppercut ! :P ;D

Damo.

PS: back online in a week to see some weak arse replies ! :P

05-05-2009, 05:15 AM
Australia has a Red Ensign

HA!

Apology accepted, MR Willy!

:P:P:P

Mr__Bean
05-05-2009, 09:11 AM
HA!

Apology accepted, MR Willy!

:P:P:P

Surely you are not infering that a Red Ensign should be displayed on land!!

These are trailer boats that we are speaking of.

- Darren

:P :-*

05-05-2009, 09:24 AM
Surely you are not infering that a Red Ensign should be displayed on land!!

These are trailer boats that we are speaking of.

- Darren

:P :-*

Not for a second. My first mention of the Red Ensign was a smart a$$ way to argue without arguing about putting the Aussie Flag on our boats. Pure entertainment! But it's not illegal to run the Red Ensign on our boats, not sure about while they're off the water...

But then Phill said that there was no such thing as an Australian Red Ensign! WELL, I never! Phill was wrong diddy wrong diddy wrong diddy wrong wrong wrong wrong wrong!!!!!

Wooohoooo!!!;D;D;D

Chris Ryan
06-05-2009, 04:30 PM
Gee, um thanks for the Lesson Mr Flanders.........aye carumba.

06-05-2009, 04:48 PM
As the Feret left in charge of you mob, I hereby declare we should have a pre-meet.......meet.

I was thinking some time in June / July.

The Brisvegas guys could get together, disperse with the drivel and get down to serious tactics.

Items which could be discussed is:-

Bait

Terminal tackle ( bulk buying ) or making... I can make all sinkers required but would need a hand on the day.

Hooks are expensive.......

radio protocol

any other ideas.....( Flags )

If we get an agreement and at least 4 - 6 people ( or more :o ) I will sort it.

No history lessons............:P ;)

><> ><> ><>

06-05-2009, 05:49 PM
Jolly good idea. I'm in!

Chris, don't call me Flanders, or I shall be forced to kill you, until you are dead.

Tim.

trymyluck
06-05-2009, 07:06 PM
Great idea............ Phil.................Rooneys would be great;D;D;D :'(:'( if i had the boat back together. Oh well.

Chris Ryan
07-05-2009, 02:59 PM
Sorry Tim.

Count me in too Phill....

Mr__Bean
07-05-2009, 09:50 PM
I'm in.

- Darren

Chong
08-05-2009, 08:40 AM
Great idea............ Phil.................Rooneys would be great;D;D;D :'(:'( if i had the boat back together. Oh well.

I second this motion8-)

thedeckie
08-05-2009, 01:41 PM
I second this motion8-)

I third the first and second motions and any motions carried after these motions....lets get the wheels in motion!!!!;D

tropicrows
08-05-2009, 02:46 PM
A team meeting, great ideas that's what managers do to make themselves look inportant. In this case however it's a good idea I'm in as well Phill.

With the amounts of bait & gear etc, buying in bulk makes sence and should get us some big savings.

08-05-2009, 04:10 PM
With all the motions being passed around the place I... wait... what's that smell???

Chris Ryan
08-05-2009, 04:26 PM
oh Tim.........phew..........did ya have ta?

*cough*

Chong
08-05-2009, 04:30 PM
Motion put forward..........
Queens birthday weekend, is also the worlds greatest pub crawl here in swinging down town Maryborough.
Friday Saturday Roonies
Sunday pub crawl- 5000 people 13 pubs 7 hrs to do the lot, costume required.
Monday rest recovery go home

Just a motion::)

08-05-2009, 10:53 PM
don't forget to send details to those that are attending the Greatest Pub Crawl, of the dress regulations / uniform / costume...

rob tranter
09-05-2009, 03:27 AM
Wo up Wo up

I thought this was all about fishing.

You Lot organise a little get together and the most important people, THE NSWELSHMAN, aren't invited.

We have Blues supporters from Newcastle to Grafton attending the Agnes Water M&G, and you organise a get together for those in Brisbane, to discuss Bait and Tackle? yet main topic of discussion is a Pub Crawl in Maryborough?

Well you had bloody well make sure you give me plenty of notice so that I am a chance of attending;D (although it's higly unlikely, but I couldn't resist)

Rob the forever blue T8-)

09-05-2009, 06:31 AM
Motion put forward..........
Queens birthday weekend, is also the worlds greatest pub crawl here in swinging down town Maryborough.
Friday Saturday Roonies
Sunday pub crawl- 5000 people 13 pubs 7 hrs to do the lot, costume required.
Monday rest recovery go home

Just a motion::)

Can we drink tooooooooooo much Joy, abuse the host and fight ! :-[

If so I'm in ! :-[ ;) ;D ;D

trymyluck
09-05-2009, 02:49 PM
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh I can just see it now.

PUB CRAWL TEAM - AUSFISH

Who is driving and who's boat are we all going to be hanging out of between pubs.;D;D Better make sure there's no green zones.:P

10-05-2009, 07:59 AM
I have made a folder with all attendees email address's in. I have pm'd some of you that I have no address for.

Once I recieve these, I will email you with certain stuff regarding 1770.

First up will be Hooks ?

I am about to bulk purchase hooks and would like to get numbers off anyone that requires ( certain ) styles. I will email you with details soon.

I know most of you can sort ya own stuff and usually do.

Chris Ryan
11-05-2009, 06:33 PM
I am all new to the fishing offshore thing so any assistance will help.......rigs, line, hooks, sinkers, rods, reels........... might have a chance to spend some KevKa$h

11-05-2009, 07:28 PM
We're all fishing size 10 circles, correct? I'll be in on the bulk deal, I haven't any...

I'll need plenty if Wags is on Bubi. all those tangles!

11-05-2009, 09:37 PM
I'll talk to you on Wednesday night about ' stuff ' Chris.

and the rest I will email shortly.

Mr__Bean
11-05-2009, 10:32 PM
Thanks guys.

To give you an idea, I recieved ( last year ) 40kgs of fresh ( 8 hours old ) whole mullet for $3.00/kg. It was a good thing I was passing the area I picked them up from otherwise it was a bit of a drive and would have ended up costing about $1.50kg more.

The size ranged from 25cms to 40cms.

Before this ( about 3 years ago ) I used to regularly get " bruised " mullet fillet ( that is cut wrong and not ideal for public sale / display ) from a northside co-op for $1.00kg, it then went up to $2/kg.

For some reason mullet is getting dearer... a lot dearer. ????

Having said that, around Brisbane during the mullet run you can source it for $10/ 3kg.....fillets. I would be happy to pay that.

personally I want / need 20 -30 kg of fillets. :o ;D

Timing is everything as the mullet run is over by the time the M & G comes around. Plan ahead ;)

Team Sunlover.

For interest, the local paper had a seafood ad for Mothers Day Specials at Out Of The Blue Seafood at Caboolture (behind the Sundowner Hotel)

Amongst other thing Whole Sea Mullet was advertised at $1.99 kg.

How does that compare to expectations?

- Darren

11-05-2009, 10:43 PM
I would grab some of that now Darren. Fillet, salt and pack in freezer.

Thing is, you can wait to get better prices, but like last year, nearly missed out.

I think I have some sorted, but am awaiting confirmation. Price is similar.

NEWBY
12-05-2009, 10:57 AM
CAR YARD GOING CHEAP;D

Rob T8-)
Nah mate, why bugger up a good earner just casue I am going overseas eh?

NEWBY
12-05-2009, 11:11 AM
Done deal Darren.

All Ausfish boats attending the M & G will display Aussie Flags.

Crazy Clarks, Sams, The Warehouse, Dollars and Sense and any other cheap charlie place will stock these.

Does the boxing kangaroo count? Thats Australian

12-05-2009, 10:31 PM
As long as the flag is not Made in China...... the Boxing Skippy will do ;D :P

Well, I'm ready.................... how many more sleeps ?????

phill

Mr__Bean
12-05-2009, 10:58 PM
Prolly hear the doof doof before you get to see the flag anyway.

- Darren

13-05-2009, 05:59 AM
As long as the flag is not Made in China...... the Boxing Skippy will do ;D :P

Well, I'm ready.................... how many more sleeps ?????

phill

OK, if that dumb kangaroo is OK, SO IS THE RED ENSIGN!!!

kitty_cat
13-05-2009, 07:10 AM
tim 9/0 and 10/0 owners circles are our hook of choice mainly because they will fit the bigger leader through the eyelets with the panonosta rig but reef king?(greg) uses 9/0 ish gang style hooks (good ones just cant remember which ones but i know he has posted it on this site) so a few options there for hook choice, just make sure they are quality reds and big ajs will just kill them other wise

wayne

Chris Ryan
18-05-2009, 11:33 AM
How many sleeps now?

18-05-2009, 09:25 PM

But who's counting..... ? ;) 8-)

rob tranter
19-05-2009, 12:19 AM
:D :) :-* ::) ;) ;D :o :P 8-) :D

19-05-2009, 07:49 PM
My week at Sunlover may not go ahead yet. My return to work has been put on hold due to lack of work. Possible start early July, so I may be working during the week of the M&G. I may however attend on my days off.

Wags

19-05-2009, 08:23 PM
Do I then edit you as a 50 /50 Mike ??? ;D ;) :P

20-05-2009, 05:49 AM
50/50 ....can I phone a friend??

Just don't poke me in the eye again...........:'( :'(

Chris Ryan
24-05-2009, 08:17 AM
110 Sleeps to go.

YIPPEE

murf
28-05-2009, 08:38 PM
I am back from the Fraser comp and almost awake :)

now onto the M&G shirts

WHO WANTS AN AGNES WATER M&G SHIRT

I am getting embroidered BLACK polo shirts for this years M&G, they will be $25 each, they will be sporting a few business names on the sleeves

so for this years great memorabilia of Agnes Water / 1770 send me a PM with your sizes and #'s and I will PM back payment details

rob tranter
29-05-2009, 12:27 AM
Welcome back Paul

Now where is your Report.:P

Rob (Your chauffeur) T8-)

insideout
29-05-2009, 07:45 PM
ok... i would love to meet you lot and i love agnes water, but i will be travelling alone and would like to know if anybody needs a +1 in there camp, i can bring a boat that can go offshore + barra busting impoundments like awonga dam ect, i am easygoing, like a drink and fish hard and housebroken... Damm if my wife saw me saying this ,she would think im putting a advert in for the singles column...;D ;D ;D

murf
29-05-2009, 08:42 PM
ok... i would love to meet you lot and i love agnes water, but i will be travelling alone and would like to know if anybody needs a +1 in there camp, i can bring a boat that can go offshore + barra busting impoundments like awonga dam ect, i am easygoing, like a drink and fish hard and housebroken... Damm if my wife saw me saying this ,she would think im putting a advert in for the singles column...;D ;D ;D

I am sure there will be a bed somewhere so book it in ;)

so do you want a shirt hahahahaha

cheers Murf

30-05-2009, 01:29 AM
I am back from the Fraser comp and almost awake :)

now onto the M&G shirts

WHO WANTS AN AGNES WATER M&G SHIRT

I am getting embroidered BLACK polo shirts for this years M&G, they will be $25 each, they will be sporting a few business names on the sleeves

so for this years great memorabilia of Agnes Water / 1770 send me a PM with your sizes and #'s and I will PM back payment details

Put me down for a medium size Murf ;D

Damo.

30-05-2009, 06:55 AM
You'll need 2 medium shirts Damo....

1 for each arm :o :o :o ;)

NEWBY
30-05-2009, 07:24 AM
Prolly hear the doof doof before you get to see the flag anyway.

- Darren
Your right of course.
Having said that I can always put some of that great redneck music on for you and chong can join in with the spoons eh?
From doof doof to deliverance theme. "QUEENSANDER";)

NEWBY
30-05-2009, 07:33 AM
Well I am 100% now.
Vanuatu move next March/April.
So Eddie, I am locked in.
Are we having another "raftup" at Musgrave or Fitzroy this year??? (weather permitting of course)
The re-fit of Carnelpya is almost compete.
Canopy gone to a shorty now. Outriggers fully refurbished. ANOTHER clean out of the inside accomodation. More refrigeration changes. etc etc AND, WAIT FOR IT.....................................

Game Chair Re-fitted. Newby is going chasing Marlin this year. I will keep you all up to date on that one.

Bring on September

murf
30-05-2009, 07:48 AM
Put me down for a medium size Murf ;D

Damo.

:o :o :o where are you going to put a medium shirt????

cheers Murf

murf
30-05-2009, 07:50 AM
Well I am 100% now.
Vanuatu move next March/April.
So Eddie, I am locked in.
Are we having another "raftup" at Musgrave or Fitzroy this year??? (weather permitting of course)
The re-fit of Carnelpya is almost compete.
Canopy gone to a shorty now. Outriggers fully refurbished. ANOTHER clean out of the inside accomodation. More refrigeration changes. etc etc AND, WAIT FOR IT.....................................

Game Chair Re-fitted. Newby is going chasing Marlin this year. I will keep you all up to date on that one.

Bring on September

welcome back Newb's it wouldn't be the Agnes Water M&G without ya haha

cheers Murf

kitty_cat
30-05-2009, 04:50 PM
newbs you of all people should know a referb is never nearly finished iam sure you said the same thing this time last year , good to see back on board for another year wouldnt be the same without you in the pre agnes banta

wayne

murf
30-05-2009, 06:29 PM
newbs you of all people should know a referb is never nearly finished iam sure you said the same thing this time last year , good to see back on board for another year wouldnt be the same without you in the pre agnes banta

wayne

haha he said the same the year before too :P

cheers Murf

NEWBY
01-06-2009, 07:48 AM

wayne
Ahhh yes my little petals but this year is a refit of the refit. Let me explain for the hard of hearing, the blind and imbicilic ones among you all.;)
The good ship "Carnelpya" was converted from a fishing boat to a more family style boat over the last 3 years. Well I chanaged my mind and I am now making it back into a fishing boat.;D
A few accomodation changes, rod and gear storage facilities increased. Freezer gone form back deck (done). fighting chair to be reinstalled. Outrigger poles to be completely refurbished (done) Flowscans (done) Hydrogen Generator fitted for longer distances (done) 20% fuel saving there. Lose the full canopy on back deck and put shorty up so skipper,thats me, can see anglers fighting.(done) window shades to be fitted (done) and 6 x Shimano Tiagara 50w loaded 2x15kg 2 x 24 kg and 2x37kg + sxshimano tiagara 80s loaded with 67k. All these fitted to Newby Custom Spec, Gary Howard Built full roller rods.
Install ALL new heavy duty rod holders (done).
Beef up sound system (no I am not joking)
All new terminal tackle for trolling. (Done)
Newby is getting serious this year.:P
1 more thing, unblock the dunny >:( (done yesterday) shitty job but someone had to do it. Oh and replace 2 more float switches in the many bilge compartments I have (8 pumps in total) Also done yesterday. Apparently they help to stop the boat from sinking.:o
I am sure there is more and will probably fit a new BBQ for this year as well. Need one with a hood so I can keep fishing while my dinner cooks....;D
I hope that explains it all for you????
If not, too bad.
Seeya at Agnes.....

02-06-2009, 09:08 PM
It looks like me and at least one of my brothers will make an appearance at this one:) . We will be checking out accommodation options and confirm pretty soon:D

Chong
02-06-2009, 09:12 PM
It looks like me and at least one of my brothers will make an appearance at this one:) . We will be checking out accommodation options and confirm pretty soon:D

be great to have you up there Neil, you will love it;) ::) :-X 8-)

murf
02-06-2009, 09:44 PM

top stuff :)

will be good to catch up again

cheers Murf

NEWBY
03-06-2009, 07:08 AM
Rumour has it that Cory and clan will be there too. He will probably go for the week.
Caught up with him last week.

03-06-2009, 06:22 PM
Neil, sounds like ya not bringing the " Mother Ship " ????

Do you think Corey's kids have gotten over the ' dacking ' ?????

phill

NEWBY
04-06-2009, 07:28 AM
Do you think Corey's kids have gotten over the ' dacking ' ?????

phill
Yeah mate the Cory kids are ok. 2 years of intense therapy has sorted them but Cory will be sending you the account for causing said trauma.

It would be appreciated if "Wilbur" could stay in my pants this year Phil.

05-06-2009, 03:38 PM
98 sleeps..........................

but who's counting !! ????

.,. ><> ><> >>>:::<>>>>>>

Chris Ryan
05-06-2009, 04:02 PM
98 sleeps
98 sleeps
98 sleeps
98 sleeps
98 sleeps
98 sleeps
98 sleeps
98 sleeps
98 sleeps

yippee!

05-06-2009, 08:29 PM
I can taste the Bundy now Trantra ! ;D ;D ;D

05-06-2009, 08:32 PM
Damo,
you back yet from up north?

mike

rob tranter
06-06-2009, 09:40 AM
I can taste the Bundy now Trantra ! ;D ;D ;D

Taste them,

Sh!t after your call on wednesday night I think you've got in early, jumped the gun and started to Drink them;D ;D

Mate don't count your Rums to early, the fat lady hasn't sung just yet.

Rob T8-)

Apollo
06-06-2009, 12:02 PM
98 sleeps (well 97 now). It is certainly racing up on us. We better pull our finger out as Mark's boat is still in many pieces and I am certainly not wanting to take mine up. Starting to get a bit toey for this trip - bring on flats seas, warm days, lots of laughs, hungry fish and cold beer.

Need to start thinking a bit more about tackle and rigs, now where is the bank card?

Team Legless

murf
06-06-2009, 06:11 PM
hahahaha

this is all part of fishing/angling as per Lucky_Phill's post else where

bring it on ;D

the antisipation

the rekindled mateship

the new mates (male or female ;) )

the getting everything ready

have we remembered everything and thought of all outcomes from the week

life's good, lets do it instead of talking about it :)

cheers Murf

PS one bottle of moonshine rum say's I catch the biggest red :P

trymyluck
06-06-2009, 06:22 PM
Hi All
Well boat is painted bar a couple of bits of rework I'll do later, (one day)

"PS one bottle of moonshine rum say's I catch the biggest red"

Let me see, if someone catches a bigger red they get a bottle of "Quality Rum"

It won't do you any good offering us bribes to let you win, ;D;D;D

Mark..........Team Legless

murf
06-06-2009, 06:30 PM
Hi All
Well boat is painted bar a couple of bits of rework I'll do later, (one day)

"PS one bottle of moonshine rum say's I catch the biggest red"

Let me see, if someone catches a bigger red they get a bottle of "Quality Rum"

hahaha

bring it on :P ;D

cheers Murf

Apollo
06-06-2009, 07:04 PM

Hang on just a sec, don't be hasty. If Murf want to offer a bribe, the least we can do is listen to the man!;)

Please Murf, continue.:)

Team Legless

06-06-2009, 07:07 PM
Damo,
you back yet from up north?

mike

Na, back end of June still yet to catch a Barra in the wild so the jobs taking a little longer to finish ;D

Apollo
07-06-2009, 08:44 PM
A plea for some help - don't laugh.

Mark & I were having a chat today and amoungst many other problems, we see that fish identification is our biggest problem when fishing offshore up here. Yep, being both from NSW originally, there are plenty of fish to be caught off 1770, that we won't have a clue on. This causes us obvious issues in that if we can't work out what it is, then it makes the whole what to keep to eat, what is not so good, what can make our wives widows, what should be given to the mother in law, what is the size limit, bag limit, etc thing become difficult.

We have caught a few since being up here, so we should be right with identifying
Coral Trout
Coronation Trout
Hussar
Red Emperor
Spanish Mac
Mac Tuna
Spangle Emperor
Maori Cod
Tomato Cod
Golden Spot Cod
Trevs - GT, Golden, Silver
Parrot fish
Grassy Sweetlips
Tuskies
Snapper
Pearlies
Iodine Bream
Slatey Bream
Sharks - whaler, reef, etc
Turtles - don't ask

Think that is about it.

My request is - what else can we expect to catch up there (good, bad & dangerous) that we need to do some research on before we head up to save us some potential grief (health, $ fine or otherwise)? Sure we will be taking up a guidebook, but a little homework by us on what is likely to be caught will hopefully save us some time.

07-06-2009, 09:25 PM
Na, back end of June still yet to catch a Barra in the wild so the jobs taking a little longer to finish ;D

try trolling with beers, they might jump in??

07-06-2009, 09:28 PM
A plea for some help - don't laugh.

My request is - whatelse can we expect to catch up there (good, bad & dangerous) that we need to do some research on before we head up to save us some potential grief (health, fine or otherwise)?

The S@#ts from the cook off?:-X

murf
08-06-2009, 08:39 AM
Hey Steve

I hope you have a few university degree's under your belt and are a barrister because finding and learning all the rules in diff parts of QLD is a challenge at the very least :P ;D and finding a way to identify a fish with good colour pics is another challenge.

good local knowledge is the best ;) I have thrown heaps of great fish back over the side because I couldn't quickly ID them. Then back at the ramp you see someone cleaning some smaller versions of what you have been throwing back all day haha

the amount of people that have bought back a feed of leather jackets only to be told they are trigger fish and laughing with them as they try to cut them up :)

now is the gold spot cod diff to the gold spot wrasse?

red ears

yellow tails (not the bait type)

cods of all sorts that can only be positively identified by gill raker counts and spine counts

my advise is make sure you know what your not allowed to keep or eat

have fun

cheers Murf