View Full Version : Agnes / 1770 M & G 2009. Dates are up.
NEWBY
28-07-2009, 07:07 AM
sounds like you boys sure no how to go on a bender, but you gotta keep your eye on the prize as i am worried about the fishing???????
darren you may have to get allan to show these men how it's done??
cheers dale
may your rods bend and bring home the bacon
good luck
I have not heard much lately about the fishing up this way. I was out last weekend (July 18th) at Masthead. Bounced my NEVER MISS red throat spot and got nothing but hussar and a couple of bat fish. Camped out Masthead overnight. Chummed up, burleyed up, baited, lured etc etc. NOT A BITE.
September will see the warmer currents start to run up this way and as usual, the crossover between winter and summer fishing. Winds are NORMALLY at their calmest at this time of year. (september)
We will see in about 46 sleeps eh?
Dont worry, fishing is awsome up here. Just watch your sounder. That tells all.
Chris Ryan
29-07-2009, 11:09 PM
Well there is a potential hiccup in my plans to get away......I'm off to see trhe surgeon about my shot knees on the 19th August. If he wants to put me under the knife the week of the M&G then I'm there.....would love to walk without pain again......geez by the sound of that you'd think I was older than 37.
30-07-2009, 06:35 PM
Well there is a potential hiccup in my plans to get away......I'm off to see trhe surgeon about my shot knees on the 19th August. If he wants to put me under the knife the week of the M&G then I'm there.....would love to walk without pain again......geez by the sound of that you'd think I was older than 37.
Mate, as much as I'm sure you want your knees fixed, I think it is a typical Blues supporter copout. You're just scared you can't cut it up there with the lads!
I, and I'm sure many others, am looking forward to sharing a shandi with you while watching the Sun go down and preparing for bed.
Tell your Surgeon to %$^& off, and come fishing, you twit. I reckon you need it.
30-07-2009, 07:06 PM
Chris,
when the ankles go your in trouble.. harden up.
30-07-2009, 09:30 PM
Chris,
Ya better let me know asap as I have 4,329,097 people on the waiting list to get a bed at Sunlover ;D :P ;)
.><> >><> ><<>
NEWBY
30-07-2009, 09:34 PM
Mate, Chris, I hate to say this but I agree with Mike. First time for everything I spose. I have blown out both ankles, right knee and a calf (actually split calf in half. Show you in Agnes) And I am still going at 45. Not only that, I am also still stupid enough to keep playing basketball. All that last season by the way.
NOW lets get real.
Dont be macho. Dont listen to the peanut gallery. (IE Mike and Timi) Get it done while you can mate.
If they (the peanut gallery) start on you while your under the knife and unable to defend yourself, I will slap the pair of them senseless on your behalf. It will be my pleasure.
MIKE, you didnt really think I agreed with you on something did you?
Chris Ryan
30-07-2009, 10:11 PM
Thanks Newby! I will be doing what is best for my health, well being and that which will get me moving again. After years of Rugby, basketball, cricket, volleyball......I'm just worn out....and putting weight on not being able to move to easily.
Phill you are on the speed dial if something happens on the 19th.
I am so desperate to go and have a fish (for a change) and take some time for myself. I spend so much time focused on others I feel selfish saying that, but has to be done to keep me sane.
Timi - deadset mate; what a spray.
Mike - ;)
NEWBY
30-07-2009, 10:17 PM
Thanks Newby! I will be doing what is best for my health, well being and that which will get me moving again. After years of Rugby, basketball, cricket, volleyball......I'm just worn out....and putting weight on not being able to move to easily.
Phill you are on the speed dial if something happens on the 19th.
I am so desperate to go and have a fish (for a change) and take some time for myself. I spend so much time focused on others I feel selfish saying that, but has to be done to keep me sane.
Timi - deadset mate; what a spray.
Mike - ;)
Mate your knackered at 37. Shit. I wasnt kidding about the f#$ck show I call a body. Back, both knees. both ankles. Left elbow, both shoulders and even the old fella has let me down a few times recently (stress).
When I play basketball I not only tape and strap my right knee I also wear a brace. and so on and so forth.
Not nice to be farked at 45 I can tell ya.
19 years front row fremantle roosters. AFL. tae kwon do, lacross, soccer. boxing, judo just to name a few and I wonder why I hurt and cant walk down the stairs in the morning...;D
wouldnt change a thing....
NEWBY
31-07-2009, 07:21 AM
WELL F%$CK ME how close is it getting now?
Right, heres an offer from Newbs.
Weather permitting, the overnighter/s out to one of the lagoons. I will possibly have room for 1 or 2 extra. Let you know closer to the date.
Secondly, as I have a big lump of a boat, I am happy to load her up with extra fuel you guys need up to 2-300 ltrs as long as you 1) make sure the containers dont leak and 2) get it off first night.
42 Sleeps to go... So much to do. I am spending all weekend down at the marina sorting the tub out. Reelax Chair is going back in this weekend. Going to chase a few small blacks if they are around in September (should be)...Need to find a cabinet to store all the new lures then sort out where I am going to put it. Need more rod storage. (all new rods and reels for this year. 2 x 80's, 3 x 50's + 5 new lever drag bottom bouncers) New Lowrance HDS arrived yesterday so need to organise boat to be lifted out to fit transducer. New radar etc to be fitted.
While its out, new marlin/duck board being produced/revamped and fitted.
ANOTHER New anchor winch is on. DO NOT BUY MAXWELL WINCHES. Service is as CRAP as the product. Gladstone Marine centre have also lost my business.
New engine controllers are fitted. Big Service done. A few little wiring issues to sort out and I am ready to go. Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
I think this equates to about 35 hours work at least.
Might have to stay on the boat on Saturday Night and enjoy some singlebarrel while I get sorted I think.
DID I mention its only another 42 sleeps????
rob tranter
31-07-2009, 08:56 AM
WELL F%$CK ME how close is it getting now?
Right, heres an offer from Newbs.
Weather permitting, the overnighter/s out to one of the lagoons. I will possibly have room for 1 or 2 extra. Let you know closer to the date.
Secondly, as I have a big lump of a boat, I am happy to load her up with extra fuel you guys need up to 2-300 ltrs as long as you 1) make sure the containers dont leak and 2) get it off first night.
42 Sleeps to go... So much to do. I am spending all weekend down at the marina sorting the tub out. Reelax Chair is going back in this weekend. Going to chase a few small blacks if they are around in September (should be)...Need to find a cabinet to store all the new lures then sort out where I am going to put it. Need more rod storage. (all new rods and reels for this year. 2 x 80's, 3 x 50's + 5 new lever drag bottom bouncers) New Lowrance HDS arrived yesterday so need to organise boat to be lifted out to fit transducer. New radar etc to be fitted.
While its out, new marlin/duck board being produced/revamped and fitted.
ANOTHER New anchor winch is on. DO NOT BUY MAXWELL WINCHES. Service is as CRAP as the product. Gladstone Marine centre have also lost my business.
New engine controllers are fitted. Big Service done. A few little wiring issues to sort out and I am ready to go. Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
I think this equates to about 35 hours work at least.
Might have to stay on the boat on Saturday Night and enjoy some singlebarrel while I get sorted I think.
DID I mention its only another 42 sleeps????
Mate nearly got the violin out for the previous post, but read the next and seen the offer for a deckie or twoooo.:o
So can't bagg ya with that out there.;)
If, when you know, the offer is for two, can you put me and my deckie (another JD drinker) on the list, if it works out you only have room for one, well, take whoever.;D I couldn't leave him back in Agnes with my little boat, he'd sink it and then shoot through in spite.:)
Good luck with all the work on Carnelpya you crippled old bastad::) There is a phone number around that if you call it, and tell them your woe's, someone may just care:P
Timi Two D!ck$
Secretly you just love Rugby League, or why else do you keep bringing it up. 2009 State of Origin is now History, so who cares.>:(
And you still keep mentioning beds and things, If I was one of your Deckies I would be worried, Black Rat, be very very carefull;D ;D ;D ;D
Rob T8-)
NEWBY
31-07-2009, 09:02 AM
Mate nearly got the violin out for the previous post, but read the next and seen the offer for a deckie or twoooo.:o
So can't bagg ya with that out there.;)
If, when you know, the offer is for two, can you put me and my deckie (another JD drinker) on the list, if it works out you only have room for one, well, take whoever.;D I couldn't leave him back in Agnes with my little boat, he'd sink it and then shoot through in spite.:)
Good luck with all the work on Carnelpya you crippled old bastad::) There is a phone number around that if you call it, and tell them your woe's, someone may just care:P
Timi Two D!ck$
Secretly you just love Rugby League, or why else do you keep bringing it up. 2009 State of Origin is now History, so who cares.>:(
And you still keep mentioning beds and things, If I was one of your Deckies I would be worried, Black Rat, be very very carefull;D ;D ;D ;D
Rob T8-)
Yeah mate, could possibly fit 2 in. I will let ya know. Will depend on my 2 boys and school and how Josh pulls out of his latest accident at training(He spent last night in hospital with suspected dislocated hip and possible nerve damage) Also waiting on a mate to see if he got holidays. Your at the top of the list Robbie...
And that phone number ya on about is called HELPLINE....
NOW, Speaking of the great game, Mininchello will be back to put Slater to shame next year from what I saw on Monday night. How fast is he still??? WOW.
GO THE ROOSTERS.
31-07-2009, 02:08 PM
bilge pump... Newbs...... bilge pump :-/ ;) :P
.><> ><> ><> ><>
NEWBY
31-07-2009, 02:19 PM
bilge pump... Newbs...... bilge pump :-/ ;) :P
.><> ><> ><> ><>
What part about "a few little wiring issues to sort out" did you not understand as "fix bloody bilge pump AGAIN" >:(
Bloody dumb, rum drinking, 2 headed banjo pickin' queenslander....
rob tranter
31-07-2009, 02:19 PM
Newb's hope all works out with the young fella, no good when they're injured. Jezzuz whats he playing, if he got that at training.
And cheers for maybe vacancy
Rob T8-)
NEWBY
31-07-2009, 02:31 PM
Newb's hope all works out with the young fella, no good when they're injured. Jezzuz whats he playing, if he got that at training.
And cheers for maybe vacancy
Rob T8-)
Just got out from CT Scan. Waiting for docs. He plays second row in the greatest game on earth mate.
31-07-2009, 03:36 PM
nothing wrong with agreeing with me Newby, but lets leave it at once is enough;D
just picked up a 24kg Howard Calstar with a Torium 50, hopefully Aigutso proof?
Hopefully the young fella is alright Newby,
Mr__Bean
31-07-2009, 10:49 PM
Just got out from CT Scan. Waiting for docs. He plays second row in the greatest game on earth mate.
Good on him.
Centre Half Forward is a solid position to hold down.
- Darren
rob tranter
01-08-2009, 10:38 AM
Rugby Union, the Game of the God's;D
Rob T8-)
NEWBY
01-08-2009, 11:42 AM
BEAN - TRANTER
YOU IDIOTS.:smash: :smash: :smash:
rob tranter
01-08-2009, 02:38 PM
BEAN - TRANTER
YOU IDIOTS.:smash: :smash: :smash:
WELL i NEW IT WOULDN'T BE SOCCER OR GAYFL AS THEY DON'T HAVE SCRUM'S SO THAT ONLY LEFT UNION;)
ALLRIGHT
LEAGUE
HOW'D THE CT COME UP, NO MAJOR PROBLEMS?
ROB T8-)
NEWBY
03-08-2009, 06:36 AM
WELL i NEW IT WOULDN'T BE SOCCER OR GAYFL AS THEY DON'T HAVE SCRUM'S SO THAT ONLY LEFT UNION;)
ALLRIGHT
LEAGUE
HOW'D THE CT COME UP, NO MAJOR PROBLEMS?
ROB T8-)
Well young bloke totally rooted for now it seems.
1st doc said hyper extended hip muscles. Put him on some super drugs that near on killed him so back to emergency again yesterday. CT scans and xrays revealed sweet FA. My tip was ciatic nerve damage or trapped as poor little bugger keeps spasming in pain. They gave him a shot of anaesthetic str8 into the hip joint last night and he was a lot better. Cant get a bloody MRI in this town. Can anyone explain to me why I pay $3500 a year for private health, $2500 a year medicare and $80000 a year in income tax when a town of this size has to share an MRI???? F$^#CK ME. I thought all that went to medical shit?
So anyway, now I have had my little rant, he is going to the specialist today so he can get a referral for an MRI wherever the damn machine may be. The new diagnosis (guess) is, cartliage damage. 4 days now. 2 of them in "HOSPITAL" (private side was pretty good") but poor kid in shit loads of pain.
Today, now everyone in the medical field has had their weekend off, wills see the newbs spring into what can only be described as "FIX IT NOW YOU (*^$(&%^ OR I WILL SUE YOUR ARSES OF FOAR NAEGLIGENCE...That normaly gets some attention/
rob tranter
03-08-2009, 08:27 AM
Well young bloke totally rooted for now it seems.
1st doc said hyper extended hip muscles. Put him on some super drugs that near on killed him so back to emergency again yesterday. CT scans and xrays revealed sweet FA. My tip was ciatic nerve damage or trapped as poor little bugger keeps spasming in pain. They gave him a shot of anaesthetic str8 into the hip joint last night and he was a lot better. Cant get a bloody MRI in this town. Can anyone explain to me why I pay $3500 a year for private health, $2500 a year medicare and $80000 a year in income tax when a town of this size has to share an MRI???? F$^#CK ME. I thought all that went to medical shit?
So anyway, now I have had my little rant, he is going to the specialist today so he can get a referral for an MRI wherever the damn machine may be. The new diagnosis (guess) is, cartliage damage. 4 days now. 2 of them in "HOSPITAL" (private side was pretty good") but poor kid in shit loads of pain.
Today, now everyone in the medical field has had their weekend off, wills see the newbs spring into what can only be described as "FIX IT NOW YOU (*^$(&%^ OR I WILL SUE YOUR ARSES OF FOAR NAEGLIGENCE...That normaly gets some attention/
Ahh Queensland
Why would it have any better access to GOOD Medical Help than NSW, well sounds like it has around the same>:(
Hope it's better in Vanahoweveryouspellit:P
Mate sounds like the poor little b is suffering, lets hope you get him soughted real quick.:thumbup:
Rob T8-)
Chris Ryan
03-08-2009, 03:07 PM
All the best for your boy Newby. Nothing worse than seeing your kids in pain!
NEWBY
03-08-2009, 03:35 PM
Thanks fella's. He will be alright no doubt but the pain he has unnecessarily endured for 4 days should not have to happen in this modern era for f*&^cks sake.
4 days and he is booked into the specialist, who will hurt the poor kid even more, at 5pm today. And get this. He will no doubt have to have an MRI. Because the MRI machine is not here in town at the moment (WE SHARE THIS?????) my private health cover wont cover it becasue the kid had to be released from hospital. So because he was released when he shouldnt have been, I pay.... What the????????
QUEENSLANDERS?????????
WA may stand for wait awhile but at least if you get sick they can fix ya. Sheeeees.
P.S. Vanuatu is even worse again mate but I would have put him on a plane and come to brissy or Sydney. At least Vanuatu admit they are 3rd world when it comes to medicine....Australia takes all your money, promises you the world and gives you a road map.
NEWBY
03-08-2009, 09:49 PM
Young fella still totally rooted. Back in hospital again. New doc/specialist thinks he either has 1) Infection in the hip joint (surgery required) or 2) Infection in the spine (intravenous drip antibiotics required) Poor little bugger. Turned 12 last Sunday and 4 days in excruciating pain. Find outmore tomorrow after the blood results come back. Make sure ya give him plenty when ya see him this year. Bloody kid. Making me old before my time.
rob tranter
04-08-2009, 12:31 AM
Young fella still totally rooted. Back in hospital again. New doc/specialist thinks he either has 1) Infection in the hip joint (surgery required) or 2) Infection in the spine (intravenous drip antibiotics required) Poor little bugger. Turned 12 last Sunday and 4 days in excruciating pain. Find outmore tomorrow after the blood results come back. Make sure ya give him plenty when ya see him this year. Bloody kid. Making me old before my time.
Nah mate we'll get him to bagg you, it's more fun for the young fella thinking we all reckon it's dad's fault:)
Mum probably didn't want him to play that rough contact sport any way;D
Rob T8-)
NEWBY
04-08-2009, 06:14 AM
Nah mate we'll get him to bagg you, it's more fun for the young fella thinking we all reckon it's dad's fault:)
Mum probably didn't want him to play that rough contact sport any way;D
Rob T8-)
Josh would never pull the piss mate. He respects me too much:-/ maybe?
And Mellissa loves him playin footy. Especially when he plays like he has been this year. He is best on ground every second game. Gonna play for the roosters when he gets older. He will be in the UGG pack. Probably second row. Hopefully front row like his dad where the real men play.
Then again, after this he might be rooted and not be able to play the game again. The I will be pi$$ed.
Let you know later what is going on. Day 5. Surely someone has it right by now.
04-08-2009, 06:27 AM
Look after the young bloke...nothing worse than seeing your kids crook.
hope it all works out for Josh Newbs, no good watching them helpless and in pain
take care of your self too
cheers Murf
rob tranter
05-08-2009, 06:11 AM
Josh would never pull the piss mate. He respects me too much:-/ maybe?
And Mellissa loves him playin footy. Especially when he plays like he has been this year. He is best on ground every second game. Gonna play for the roosters when he gets older. He will be in the UGG pack. Probably second row. Hopefully front row like his dad where the real men play.
Then again, after this he might be rooted and not be able to play the game again. The I will be pi$$ed.
Let you know later what is going on. Day 5. Surely someone has it right by now.
You gotta be kidding, why would you want him to be punished for life with the humility of playing for them;D ;D ;D
Rob T8-)
P.S
Was this site slow for everyone yesterday, I couldn't navigate for ages
kitty_cat
05-08-2009, 06:51 AM
hey newbs sorry about your boy we have lived at royal childrens last year seemed like iy anywaythere that often,
but back to the point did you see my pics in the offshore fishing just thought id show you what a red looks like.
i would like to be given a bit off banter to a few others but you seem to be the one who is willing to put it up, hope you can produce something for us to fish against come september lol.maybe this will stir a few so called red fisherman to come forward i ve got a bottle of rum (bundy) to start a kitty for biggest red
wayne
NEWBY
05-08-2009, 07:02 AM
You gotta be kidding, why would you want him to be punished for life with the humility of playing for them;D ;D ;D
Rob T8-)
P.S
Was this site slow for everyone yesterday, I couldn't navigate for ages
GO THE ROOSTERS
Cheeky bugger.....Any Rugby League team is better than him playing RAH RAH.
Might not be able to play again at anything the way he is going. Ambulance trip to Rockhampton this morning to get bone scans. Specialists is now saying, get this, "irritable hip" Now I am not a doc but let me show you a few medical terms that you all should know.
1) STRESS: "we wouldnt have a clue what the hell is wrong with you, Your stressed and need rest. Take a week, no no make it 2, off work at your employers expense and dont forget to pay on the way out"
2) A.D.D.: " how the hell do we know whats wrong with your kid if you cant control them" Here have some speed, take some yourself if you really want and learn how to control your kid" Dont forget to pay on your way out".
3) IRRITABLE BOWEL SYNDROME: You have a guts ache you whingeing whining pussy but we will give it a name cause we really dont know whats causing it. Here take these really special pills that are $100 for 10 and dont forget to pay on your way out".
Last chance today for these pricks. Plane to Brissy tonight or tomorrow morning if they dont get it right TODAY. 6 days this kid has been writhing in pain.
No F%$#&ng way they would let their own kid suffer like that. No F%^&&*ng way theyre going to let mine any more either.
FTFF = F#$% the F$%^ng F$%^&ERS
P.S. Yes the site seemed slow yesterday. I had problems navigating too.
NEWBY
05-08-2009, 07:09 AM
hey newbs sorry about your boy we have lived at royal childrens last year seemed like iy anywaythere that often,
but back to the point did you see my pics in the offshore fishing just thought id show you what a red looks like.
i would like to be given a bit off banter to a few others but you seem to be the one who is willing to put it up, hope you can produce something for us to fish against come september lol.maybe this will stir a few so called red fisherman to come forward i ve got a bottle of rum (bundy) to start a kitty for biggest red
wayne
Mate, you had me interested until THAT STATEMENT.........
I reckon we should all throw a fiver or tenner in. Winner takes all for their club or respective M&G. Proceeds set up some stuff for next year?
Rum = paint stripper and dog piss mate. Disgraceful stuff only good for their fantastic bundy bear ads and if you need stress relief, you feed it to any Queenslander then proceed to kick the shizenhauzen out of them. BUNDY, your drink, our fight.....Friday night entertainment will never be the same if people dont drink the shit.
rob tranter
05-08-2009, 10:50 PM
GO THE ROOSTERS
Cheeky bugger.....Any Rugby League team is better than him playing RAH RAH.
Might not be able to play again at anything the way he is going. Ambulance trip to Rockhampton this morning to get bone scans. Specialists is now saying, get this, "irritable hip" Now I am not a doc but let me show you a few medical terms that you all should know.
1) STRESS: "we wouldnt have a clue what the hell is wrong with you, Your stressed and need rest. Take a week, no no make it 2, off work at your employers expense and dont forget to pay on the way out"
2) A.D.D.: " how the hell do we know whats wrong with your kid if you cant control them" Here have some speed, take some yourself if you really want and learn how to control your kid" Dont forget to pay on your way out".
3) IRRITABLE BOWEL SYNDROME: You have a guts ache you whingeing whining pussy but we will give it a name cause we really dont know whats causing it. Here take these really special pills that are $100 for 10 and dont forget to pay on your way out".
Last chance today for these pricks. Plane to Brissy tonight or tomorrow morning if they dont get it right TODAY. 6 days this kid has been writhing in pain.
No F%$#&ng way they would let their own kid suffer like that. No F%^&&*ng way theyre going to let mine any more either.
FTFF = F#$% the F$%^ng F$%^&ERS
P.S. Yes the site seemed slow yesterday. I had problems navigating too.
JAM IT UP EM;) ;) ;) ;)
Rob T8-)
NEWBY
06-08-2009, 06:47 AM
Righto, young Joshy will live to play footy again. God damn it can you believe that irritable hip syndrome is real:o :o After you have eliminated all possible causes, its the one thats left....Like stress and A.D.D.>:( REST MY CASE
Josh had to be transported to Rockhampton yesterday for bone scans and after they left Mellissa and Josh sitting around for 1 1/2 hours in Rockhampton >:( with no food and no F$%^c all,>:( (They left here at 11am ang didnt get back to rocky until after 6 last night) I got involved and started pushing buttons. I will tell you all the detail in a few weeks over an ale or 2 as it is quite funny what my attitude and mentioning pollies, my business and my lawyers had on the powers to be that leads the team of imbeciles that did not look after my family.
There will be some very sore arses today and I aint finished yet. The doc was good though. After my little outbursts last night he called me at 9pm just to let me know he had called the specialist in rocky and got him to "specially" look at the scans. And heres me thinking that was their job????? QLD Health, what a winner eh? Even private is shit and I pay twice for it....
Anyway, thanks for your thoughts fellas. Appreciated.;D The "Joshmeister" will be home today and ready for extended holidays so he can come fishing with his old man in only 32 more sleeps.
Now back to fishing.
NEWBY
06-08-2009, 07:08 AM
Well what a couple of days its been.
But back to fishing and boats.
Game chair is ready to put back in. I figure it will make a good seat and table top holder for when I am not fishing. Radar dome installed along with new lowrance 10.5HDS yeah baby. These things are so damn clear I will be able to tell you the fishes name and its sex...Cant wait for the side scan option to arrive. HDS has 3D GPS. Newby' got the wankpack...;D
I look real professional on the flybridge now.;) Screens and shit everywhere. Just gotta learn how to use em now.
Boat is up on blocks at the moment. Bottom cleaned and prop gets straightened (dont ask) today along with new antifoul etc. New marlin/duck board goes on today. BILGE PUMP is all renewed and rewired Phil. New underwater LED's that actually sit under the waterline installed. Holes filled from old duck board and lights. Old mate to install HDS wiring etc and a big clean up. Mate doing a bit of carpentry to make storage room and newbs is ready. (Upgrade sound system a little too)
32 MORE :sleeping: :sleeping:
YOU BLOODY RIPPER...
Off to Vanuatu this Sunday, anyone want a postcard????
06-08-2009, 09:07 AM
Newbs, fill us in on the Vanu gig. I may have to apply for a passport ?????
Oz is giving me the ' irrates ' lately.
You had better be on your game Newbs, Waynes thrown out a challenge, we have our Trout Game, and I think Mike is even on board for a tussle. Might have to pull out your biggest set of kahunas to take us all on. :-/ 8-)
Let's not forget thedeckies oven cooked, frozen packet, spring rolls are a big hurdle for you jump over to achieve a 1st ever Cook-Off win :o :o :P ;)
With that much Bling on the tub, you won't need fishing gear, you'll be frying their asses with all that " pinging " going through the water. They'll simply float to the top and you can net them. :P
Can you count ? ( better get Nat to keep score of the sleeps :P ) or are you arriving early at the M & G. I make 37 sleeps til the M & G...... ?? !!!~
Phill......
trout catcher and jack drinker....;)
06-08-2009, 09:16 AM
Yeah me too Phill - 36 sleeps, but I'm heading up on the 11th. Newbs must be planning a pre fish I reckon. Bet his best fish comes out of the freezer!!!
Bubi's just had the 400 hour service, and all I need now is a new anchor rope, chain, and reef pick. Wags' fault, or was that Tropicrows? But at least my prop has no issues...
tropicrows
06-08-2009, 09:21 AM
I think is was the skippers (Timiboy Tangles) fault, for getting it stuck in the first place.
06-08-2009, 10:23 AM
Yeah me too Phill - 36 sleeps, but I'm heading up on the 11th. Newbs must be planning a pre fish I reckon. Bet his best fish comes out of the freezer!!!
Bubi's just had the 400 hour service, and all I need now is a new anchor rope, chain, and reef pick. Wags' fault, or was that Tropicrows? But at least my prop has no issues...
I hope the next one doesn't weigh 100kg like the old one! More work than a Gym session getting that b@stard up.
NEWBY
06-08-2009, 10:38 AM
Now now TimmiBoy....I never have and never will cheat at anything cause I dont have to. I am that F#$%^&ng good man.
NEWBY IS THE BEST not to mention modest too.
My prop had an issue with my seapen....Bloody thing didnt sink properly. LAl good now. back in t he pi$$ tomorrow morning at 7am.
NEWBY
06-08-2009, 10:44 AM
Newbs, fill us in on the Vanu gig. I may have to apply for a passport ?????
Oz is giving me the ' irrates ' lately.
You had better be on your game Newbs, Waynes thrown out a challenge, we have our Trout Game, and I think Mike is even on board for a tussle. Might have to pull out your biggest set of kahunas to take us all on. :-/ 8-)
Let's not forget thedeckies oven cooked, frozen packet, spring rolls are a big hurdle for you jump over to achieve a 1st ever Cook-Off win :o :o :P ;)
With that much Bling on the tub, you won't need fishing gear, you'll be frying their asses with all that " pinging " going through the water. They'll simply float to the top and you can net them. :P
Can you count ? ( better get Nat to keep score of the sleeps :P ) or are you arriving early at the M & G. I make 37 sleeps til the M & G...... ?? !!!~
Phill......
trout catcher and jack drinker....;)
Sh!t man, its been a hard week for me and your nitpicking 32 37 ahhh who gives a flying????? Just figured out what happened anyway, apparently there are 7 days in a week, not 6.....Told ya it had been a bad week.
rob tranter
06-08-2009, 01:09 PM
Good news on the young bloke Newb's
Now
How many rooms will you have in Vanuatoo, plenty I hope, is it cheap to get there?;D yeh I know I can't spell
Rob T8-)
06-08-2009, 01:32 PM
Sh!t man, its been a hard week for me and your nitpicking 32 37 ahhh who gives a flying????? Just figured out what happened anyway, apparently there are 7 days in a week, not 6.....Told ya it had been a bad week.
You're just cranky cause I picked up all the spelling and grammar mistakes in your website :P That's not nit-picking, that's proof reading. I spell proper and speak goood to, ey bro ! ;) :-* :-*
06-08-2009, 03:02 PM
I hope the next one doesn't weigh 100kg like the old one! More work than a Gym session getting that b@stard up.
Methinks I need a heavier one, and get you out there working it Mate!
NEWBY
06-08-2009, 04:13 PM
You're just cranky cause I picked up all the spelling and grammar mistakes in your website :P That's not nit-picking, that's proof reading. I spell proper and speak goood to, ey bro ! ;) :-* :-*
I have spelling mistakes and bad grammar on my website????? I HAVE A WEBSITE??????
Shit there ya go....Blow me down.;D
Joshua is now home but still not good. Season over for me little superstar.. Bugger. I reckon he was about to be discovered by the Roosters too.
NEWBY
06-08-2009, 04:14 PM
Good news on the young bloke Newb's
Now
How many rooms will you have in Vanuatoo, plenty I hope, is it cheap to get there?;D yeh I know I can't spell
Rob T8-)
Everything but drink is cheap if ya know the right people mate. 2 bedroom brand new apartments, $100 a night mate.
how many days to go NEWBY?????
AGNES WATER M&G SHIRTS need to be ordered and paid for by Tuesday next week 11th August
I will be away after this date for a week so won't be able to get any more orders in
thanks to those that have already paid :)
cheers Murf
NEWBY
07-08-2009, 10:27 PM
how many days to go NEWBY?????
AGNES WATER M&G SHIRTS need to be ordered and paid for by Tuesday next week 11th August
I will be away after this date for a week so won't be able to get any more orders in
thanks to those that have already paid :)
cheers Murf
I have ordered eh? And paid???? Cant remember. Got accountants and financial controllers for that stuff...lol
yep you have ordered and no you haven't paid :P because I haven't given you the bill yet (its still getting bigger hehe) will pass it on on tuesday morning ;)
cheers Murf
NEWBY
08-08-2009, 12:08 PM
yep you have ordered and no you haven't paid :P because I haven't given you the bill yet (its still getting bigger hehe) will pass it on on tuesday morning ;)
cheers Murf
Great work mate. I will be in Vanuatu as at 8am tomorrow and will not be back until Tuesday 18th. While it is my whole hearted intention to keep a track on work emails etc, I reckon the chances of me actually doing it are rated
BUCKLEYS TO F$%^K ALL you honour.
Best you dont hope to get payment until at least the 20th August my friend. AND make sure the invoice says advertising or sponsorship. Deductable expenses and all that... ;)
I will be thinking of you all and wishing you were there in Vanuatu with me....(If you believe that your more gullable than I thought OR your a Queenslander);D
Great work mate. I will be in Vanuatu as at 8am tomorrow and will not be back until Tuesday 18th. While it is my whole hearted intention to keep a track on work emails etc, I reckon the chances of me actually doing it are rated
BUCKLEYS TO F$%^K ALL you honour.
Best you dont hope to get payment until at least the 20th August my friend. AND make sure the invoice says advertising or sponsorship. Deductable expenses and all that... ;)
I will be thinking of you all and wishing you were there in Vanuatu with me....(If you believe that your more gullable than I thought OR your a Queenslander);D
no problem mate ;) I will add a daily interest rate to the bill ;D
cheers Murf
NEWBY
08-08-2009, 04:07 PM
no problem mate ;) I will add a daily interest rate to the bill ;D
cheers Murf
HE HE no worries mate....And I will ignore you;D ;D ;D So nothing will change then will it???;)
1 MORE SLEEP TO VANUATU...I will be at the Story Bridge Hotel for a few TONIGHT if anyone feels like a quiety tonight???Phil????Deckie????Anyone????
35 to go to M&G....You rippa...and only 81 to go before SUPER GP ( formerly INDY CARS)
Hmmmm 35-81 seems like too big a gap....Need a filler....Might go back to Vanuatu for a week in the middle there somewhere...;D
rob tranter
08-08-2009, 09:33 PM
HE HE no worries mate....And I will ignore you;D ;D ;D So nothing will change then will it???;)
1 MORE SLEEP TO VANUATU...I will be at the Story Bridge Hotel for a few TONIGHT if anyone feels like a quiety tonight???Phil????Deckie????Anyone????
35 to go to M&G....You rippa...and only 81 to go before SUPER GP ( formerly INDY CARS)
Hmmmm 35-81 seems like too big a gap....Need a filler....Might go back to Vanuatu for a week in the middle there somewhere...;D
HEHEHE
You seem to have to much time on your hands
I suggest you take up a Hobby, this would help relieve any stress you may be experiencing from not being able to travel all over the shop all the time;D ;D ;D
Rob T8-)
NEWBY
10-08-2009, 07:17 AM
Thanks for that Rob
Hobby...Like what???? I dont have time for a hobby???? To busy working.... Agnes M&G is work...Networking....Sales training occurs on a regular basis on the back of Carnelpya...I am in Vanuatu trying to get a handle on how all this business works etc...Thats work.....Gees mate I never stop....And you want me to take up a hobby now???? I might as well stick a duster up my nose and a broom up my arse so I can dust and vacuum while I am working eh?
rob tranter
11-08-2009, 12:44 AM
Thanks for that Rob
Hobby...Like what???? I dont have time for a hobby???? To busy working.... Agnes M&G is work...Networking....Sales training occurs on a regular basis on the back of Carnelpya...I am in Vanuatu trying to get a handle on how all this business works etc...Thats work.....Gees mate I never stop....And you want me to take up a hobby now???? I might as well stick a duster up my nose and a broom up my arse so I can dust and vacuum while I am working eh?
I wish I had thought of telling you to do that, but how do you vacuum with a duster up your nose and a broom up up your arse?
oh hang on that leaves your hands free doesn't it;D ;D ;D
Having fun in Vanauatu I hope
Rob T8-)
NEWBY
14-08-2009, 07:14 AM
ahhhh beautiful Vanuatu.......
What a place. Talk about relaxed.
I have attached some pics for you all.
Maybe we should have a Vanuatu M&G when I get my boat up and going?
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh8-)
Hookem_Herby
14-08-2009, 10:26 AM
ahhhh beautiful Vanuatu.......
What a place. Talk about relaxed.
I have attached some pics for you all.
Maybe we should have a Vanuatu M&G when I get my boat up and going?
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh8-)
Great idea Newby .... I'm in :D
That first picture, was that taken from the lookout where the 2 green iguanas live? It has a magical view and basically overlooks half the island (and straight out over Hideaway Island - with it's underwater Post Office :o)
Moses, our driver, took us up there. The land is owned by his uncle and the revenue it produces (from tourist like you and me), feeds the family. Actually, we got in for free. 8-) hehe
Hope you're having fun over the mate!! :)
Herby
16-08-2009, 10:21 PM
Well after much thought and trying to shuffle dollars around Im a few grand short of a good trip, so Im out for this year but will be back next year. Cost for my recent trip went pretty much to budget but I had to replace a couple of expensive items so I could complete it. HF radio blown up by a cock head before I even left tassie, replaced in perth, Lost and had to replace DSLR camera (not cover by insurance, just changed companies). So Hope every one has a good trip with plenty of tight lines.
Now I will sob in my beer
sorry to hear you are not going to make it up this year mate :(
will catch up next year then :)
cheers Murf
NEWBY
17-08-2009, 05:32 AM
Great idea Newby .... I'm in :D
That first picture, was that taken from the lookout where the 2 green iguanas live? It has a magical view and basically overlooks half the island (and straight out over Hideaway Island - with it's underwater Post Office :o)
Moses, our driver, took us up there. The land is owned by his uncle and the revenue it produces (from tourist like you and me), feeds the family. Actually, we got in for free. 8-) hehe
Hope you're having fun over the mate!! :)
HerbyRighto so its Herbie and Newby so far for the virgin 2010 Vanuatu M&G? In 2011 we will be able to stay at my place, all of us...
And your correct about the pic, it is from that hill up the top of the Cascades. Here are a few more pics of what hopefully will be the all new, first of its kind, fishing resort in Vanuatu out in Havannah Harbour.
The approach is from the top of the hill driving down to the actual site, I know its just a crappy looking place but hey someones gotta do it. all being well I will be able to get a couple of investors together next week and put in an offer...It has been sitting half built for a long time now.
NEWBY
17-08-2009, 05:35 AM
Well after much thought and trying to shuffle dollars around Im a few grand short of a good trip, so Im out for this year but will be back next year. Cost for my recent trip went pretty much to budget but I had to replace a couple of expensive items so I could complete it. HF radio blown up by a cock head before I even left tassie, replaced in perth, Lost and had to replace DSLR camera (not cover by insurance, just changed companies). So Hope every one has a good trip with plenty of tight lines.
Now I will sob in my beer
Mate:o :o :o BLAZE???????
Whats the go????
We will all miss you buddy...... I might not see you next year (see previous post) but I hope you may be able to make it to Vanuatu one year...(If I make it there myself)
Take care mate
17-08-2009, 06:14 AM
Won't be the same without you Robbie.
better start planning for next year.
rob tranter
17-08-2009, 11:10 PM
Blaze,
We'll miss you mate, I was wondering why you had been so quiet.:'(
Newb's
I could probably go as high as $200, will that help;D and I thought you would have a place Next Year, not 2011:-/
Rob T8-)
NEWBY
20-08-2009, 06:04 AM
23 :sleeping: :sleeping: :sleeping: TO GO PETALS
Chris Ryan
20-08-2009, 12:37 PM
I had my appointment with the surgeon yesterday and looking at the X-rays the firsts words out of this mouth were "oh dear" so not good news for me. I am booked into surgery on the 11th September and need 10 days recovery time so for 2 years in a row my best laid plans have been foiled and I can't make the M&G.
To say I am gutted is an understatement but after the years of pain I have lived with I have to get this addressed and look forward to chasing my kids in comfort for the next 10 years.
Please stay safe for those that are going and Murf if you give my shirts to Phill I'll get them from his place or I can PM you my address. Just let me know.
20-08-2009, 01:38 PM
Sad news Chris. I'm sure we'll share a few drinks in your memory, and catch some fish for you!
Good luck Mate,
thedeckie
20-08-2009, 01:46 PM
Sad news Chris. I'm sure we'll share a few drinks in your memory, and catch some fish for you!
Good luck Mate,
Jebus Timi, you make it sound like the big fella has dropped dead!!! ;D
I'll have a rum while youre there!!!
NEWBY
21-08-2009, 06:49 AM
I had my appointment with the surgeon yesterday and looking at the X-rays the firsts words out of this mouth were "oh dear" so not good news for me. I am booked into surgery on the 11th September and need 10 days recovery time so for 2 years in a row my best laid plans have been foiled and I can't make the M&G.
To say I am gutted is an understatement but after the years of pain I have lived with I have to get this addressed and look forward to chasing my kids in comfort for the next 10 years.
Please stay safe for those that are going and Murf if you give my shirts to Phill I'll get them from his place or I can PM you my address. Just let me know.
YA SOOK...Suck it up....;D ;D ;D
NEWBY
21-08-2009, 07:06 AM
22 :sleeping: LEFT
Boat is still in dissaray.:-[
Game chair is back in.:)
Lures and tackle bloody everywhere.:'(
Boat bits everywhere.:'(
Starboard rudder leaking like a sieve.>:( Already had this fixed. AGAIN.
New electronics are in. Lowrance HDS is awsome.;D Tranducer boat leaking like a sieve but.:'(
Chippy let me down so far...Waiting for new drawers for tackle.:'(
New marlin board STILL not bloody ready.>:(
STILL got electrical problem cant find.... Rewired ALL bilge pumps (7 of them) and still blowing out pumps and switches....>:( >:( >:(
Front Clears still buggered (Yep, they are new too....Zipper sticks)>:(
Underwater LED's still to be wired up.:-/
Freezers still to be secured and new power sockets installed...:(
Bugger me drunk....only 22 days to go and all this to do....Gees Louise....
21-08-2009, 08:17 AM
Bad luck Newbs. If you get stuck we can always drag you along behind in your dinghy...
NEWBY
21-08-2009, 08:39 AM
Bad luck Newbs. If you get stuck we can always drag you along behind in your dinghy...
Thanks for the generous offer Timmi but my dinghy is almost as big as your boat so best we leave that one alone eh????;D
21-08-2009, 06:51 PM
Jebus Timi, you make it sound like the big fella has dropped dead!!! ;D
I'll have a rum while youre there!!!
So are you comming up this year princess ????? :P ;D
The loos at Verandas of Agnes will have 12 digit incripted locks with eye scanners and a fingerprint machine just so you won't be able to just "drop around" and do your bussiness ;D ;D ;D
There will however be Joy everywhere ;D
kitty_cat
21-08-2009, 07:17 PM
iam in for a Vanuatu m@g do they catch reds over there
if not marlin will do lol
wayne
Apollo
21-08-2009, 07:23 PM
New electronics are in. Lowrance HDS is awsome.;D Tranducer boat leaking like a sieve but.:'(
STILL got electrical problem cant find.... Rewired ALL bilge pumps (7 of them) and still blowing out pumps and switches....>:( >:( >:(
YA SOOK...Suck it up....
NEWBY
22-08-2009, 06:41 AM
YA SOOK...Suck it up....
Thanks for the advice mate.
Cup of concrete now taken. Newbs as hard as granite...(Or was it the Viagara that made m hard);)
NEWBY
22-08-2009, 07:09 AM
Just looking at the weather charts. If these paterns keep up I reckon we will get 5 or so days outside.
Weather has been terrific up here the last few weeks.
Water temp is starting to climb a little.
No rain for about 9 weeks though. 8-) 8-) 8-)
Nights are already warmer.
Keep ya fingers crossed that this keeps up. Fantastic conditions.;D
NEWBY
22-08-2009, 07:10 AM
TIMI BOY....WEST COAST EAGLES V CROWS THIS WEEKEND..........
GO THE EAGLES.......(yes I know they are absolute shit this year)
22-08-2009, 07:17 AM
TIMI BOY....WEST COAST EAGLES V CROWS THIS WEEKEND..........
GO THE EAGLES.......(yes I know they are absolute shit this year)
Bah! Carn the Crows!!!!
trymyluck
22-08-2009, 10:28 AM
Hi All
Just had a phone call from Steve (Apollo) regarding bait.The mullet is fine. The squid should be ok at $3.00 a kg with the only problem being there may be some cuttlefish mixed up with it. The list for bait is as follows, could everyone confirm that they still want what they ordered.
Darren 30kg Mullet + 20 kg Squid
Rob 20kg Mullet + 20kg Squid
Tim 35kg Squid
Murf 10kg Squid
Phil 10kg Squid
Newby 20kg squid
If you can confirm asap that would be good.
22-08-2009, 04:33 PM
Yep, confirmed. How and when do we pickup?
Hi All
Just had a phone call from Steve (Apollo) regarding bait.The mullet is fine. The squid should be ok at $3.00 a kg with the only problem being there may be some cuttlefish mixed up with it. The list for bait is as follows, could everyone confirm that they still want what they ordered.
Tim 35kg Squid
Murf 10kg Squid
Phil 10kg Squid
Newby 20kg squid
Murf is good for the squid/cuttle fish :)
cheers Murf
NEWBY
22-08-2009, 06:26 PM
Hi All
Tim 35kg Squid
Murf 10kg Squid
Phil 10kg Squid
Newby 20kg squid
I m still good to go....Bring it on
NEWBY
22-08-2009, 06:30 PM
Bah! Carn the Crows!!!!
OUCH
Eagles get a 74 point flogging.....Bugger...
NEWBY
22-08-2009, 06:37 PM
ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Spent the whole f#$^&king day at the boat and what did I achieve???????
Sealed the transducer....
What a farking mess....Sh!t everywhere from all the tradies that have been crawling over it for the last 3 months. pull shit out and dont put it back.....make a mess and dont clean it up.....Feel like sh!tting in their lounge rooms sometimes.
Drill filings everywhere. I wouldnt mind so much if they had actually fixed the shit they have been paid to fix...and paid hadsomly I might add.
ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh....
All day tomorrow already allocated to "finish" it off....(do we ever really finish??
Dont mind me, I am pissed....Bloody single barell jacks.
Bloody boats....
Bloody hell....
rob tranter
23-08-2009, 09:56 AM
Yeh Mark I'm still good for the bait.
Newb's I must remind you that this is a Family Fishing site, and as such you should refrain from using such words as fark and talking about gayefel;D ;D ;D.
When you mention such sports you are only lowering yourself to the bottom dwelling depths of those South Australians:o :o :o
Hey Roz/Phill
I forgot to put my footy tips in, can one of you put me down for all of the winners:-X :-X , still won't catch up.
Well not long to go now people. Seven days for me and I'm off to Birdsville for a 12 day round trip and then up to meet with you rifraf for a great time.
I think the hugs and kisses is starting to get the tomtits with me for going for so long, then that could be to put me off gaurd, and she's probably planning to party while I'm away:P
Rob T8-)
Mr__Bean
23-08-2009, 08:48 PM
Thanks Mark, I am still good for bait too.
Just need to work out how we pick it up.
Maybe one of us does a trip up the week before??
Someone take it all up?
Open to suggestions....
- Darren
MY-TopEnder
23-08-2009, 09:05 PM
I can't get up there for the week this thing is on due to renovations to my store... BUT as of the second last day i'm pushing to get staff to take over for a couple of days so i can get away.
Looking to stay for a week albeit after the M&G and during school hols.
24-08-2009, 06:22 AM
When you mention such sports you are only lowering yourself to the bottom dwelling depths of those South Australians:o :o :o
Aha. Such a comment cannot possibly be true, thus I will take it as a compliment, which is obviously (despite your typo) what you intended!
Cheers Rob, I feel the same way about you!:smitten:
;D;D;D
NEWBY
24-08-2009, 07:40 AM
Yeh Mark I'm still good for the bait.
Newb's I must remind you that this is a Family Fishing site, and as such you should refrain from using such words as fark and talking about gayefel;D ;D ;D.
Hey Roz/Phill
I forgot to put my footy tips in, can one of you put me down for all of the winners:-X :-X , still won't catch up.
Well not long to go now people. Seven days for me and I'm off to Birdsville for a 12 day round trip and then up to meet with you rifraf for a great time.
I think the hugs and kisses is starting to get the tomtits with me for going for so long, then that could be to put me off gaurd, and she's probably planning to party while I'm away:P
Rob T8-)
BITE ME:P :P :P
Mr__Bean
24-08-2009, 11:45 AM
BZZZZZZZZZZZZZTT.
Code Violation: Newby, Tranter and Timiboy
Reason: Talking crap again
Correction Required: More focus on fishing and M&G related posting
- Darren
;D
DAVE_S
24-08-2009, 12:15 PM
Just thought i would give you an up date on the road from bundaberg to agnes , as i came home that way yesterday.
No problems if worried about towing a large boat .
Only road works at this stage is a detour around 1 bridge, and the section of road between the cane farms that was a little rough has been resurfaced .
Fishing is quite on the outer reefs but the close in grounds are producing well at the moment .
NEWBY
25-08-2009, 07:11 AM
BZZZZZZZZZZZZZTT.
Code Violation: Newby, Tranter and Timiboy
Reason: Talking crap again
Correction Required: More focus on fishing and M&G related posting
- Darren
;D
C'mon now Dazza, what part about "BITE ME" is not fishing related???;)
After all if I dont get a BITE I cant catch anything can I?;D
Mr__Bean
25-08-2009, 08:35 AM
After reading some of your posts over the years, sometimes I think you might be at risk of catching quite a few things.
- Darren
;) :-*
rob tranter
25-08-2009, 08:37 PM
And None of them being Fish:-X :-X :-X
25-08-2009, 09:23 PM
tranter, bean... you have to eat Newbs food at the cookoff.. very courageous giving the big fella some curry at this stage
Apollo
25-08-2009, 10:27 PM
OK, back to the fushin. Well actually the bait. I am aiming to pick them up next week. Here in lie the challenge. Being a total of 165kg, we will struggle to take it all up with us, especially as we will be doing a bit of barra chasing on the way up, so this leave us with a couple of options.
1/ For those in Brisbane, if one of you would like to go for a leisurely drive in the country to Gympie, you can pick yours and other Brisvegasans and take them back with you.
2/ you can pick them up from Mark's place on the way up which is on the highway about 25mins north of Gympie. You could park your car and boat out the front, but you would have walk up his driveway which is about 100m uphill.
3/ I am off work as of tomorrow week, so if one of you are going for a fish after that, I could probably be convinced to bring it down for an invite! and the rest can pick it up from there.
4/ If someone is driving through before Thursday night before the M&G, I could organise to meet you on the highway at Gympie to do the transfer of all the bait for you to take straight up. Everyone can pick it from you up there.
For Newbs and Rob, we can take it up with us if you want, but we wont be there until Sunday. Otherwise, someone who will be there early can take it up.
I am more than happy to work in with you to get you the bait, so if you have another suggestion, please speak up.
25-08-2009, 10:38 PM
I am heading up ( hopefully ) on the Thursday.
I would have a little room in the freezer for about 20 or 30 kgs of bait. maybe more at a squeeze. ??????
I 'll let you know closer to the date.....
/
/
/
/
/
/
vertico
26-08-2009, 12:10 AM
you able to get any squid phill before this weekend ?
give us a ring if possible....
26-08-2009, 05:41 AM
We're heading up Friday, will be at Gympie for an early lunch. We can pick up our 35 kg of squid then if that's OK, not sure if we'll have room for more. With an extra car, we can drive up his driveway!;D;D;D
26-08-2009, 05:43 AM
I have the details of 5 boats for the VMR register. I'm sure there are more...
Bubi, Rebait, Carnelpya, Bad Eye, RT.
Who else?
Apollo
26-08-2009, 06:07 AM
We're heading up Friday, will be at Gympie for an early lunch. We can pick up our 35 kg of squid then if that's OK, not sure if we'll have room for more. With an extra car, we can drive up his driveway!;D;D;D
No worries Tim. Easy to get a car up Mark's drive;), Your 200 would too but it is an art to turn at the top with a boat on.:-/ I will talk to Mark re where he will leave it and PM you details later on.
Apollo
26-08-2009, 06:15 AM
Of the guys that are picking the bait up from Mark's, does anyone have room for Newby's? If you guys are heading out for a few days on Sunday, we may miss you before we get there. This is where Newb's torrid of taking the poiss out of everyone might come back and BITE him on the butt - does he have any friends left;) If there is none left, we are fine to take it up, but will be up sometime mid-late Sun morn:)
26-08-2009, 06:22 AM
Of the guys that are picking the bait up from Mark's, does anyone have room for Newby's? If you guys are heading out for a few days on Sunday, we may miss you before we get there. This is were Newb's torrid of taking the poiss out of everyone might come back and BITE him on the butt - does he have any friends left;) If there is none left, we are fine to take it up, but will be up sometime mid-late Sun morn:)
We may have room, but he will have to admit that South Australians might not be so bad after all.
Or he can come get it himself!!!
rob tranter
26-08-2009, 06:35 AM
I can pick mine up on the way through on the Saturday, I have Two lackies that will do the walking up Drive, won't you Murf;D
Leaving down here around 4amish so should be at Gympie by 9/10?
I have a 105litre Esky so for a price I may pick Newbs up if no others are willing.
Or I could grab it and just sit it in the Sun on the way up so it would be ready to use hey Newbs;D
Now Darren
About this BZZZZZZZZZZTTT thing.
I was mearly pointing out to Newb, that his use of modern English may be seen as a bit on the wild side for some readers/members.
As for the Gayefel comment, well that just say's it all, self explenatry, and at least I didn't attack that southern state that invented the game because they couldn't compete in an already INTERNATIONAL Game:P
Besides, Newb & Timi (plural) are like Chicks, They Love it:D :D :D
Rob T8-)
26-08-2009, 07:32 AM
We should try to meet up in Gympie!
I can pick mine up on the way through on the Saturday, I have Two lackies that will do the walking up Drive, won't you Murf;D
I have a 105litre Esky so for a price I may pick Newbs up if no others are willing.
Or I could grab it and just sit it in the Sun on the way up so it would be ready to use hey Newbs;D
Now Darren
About this BZZZZZZZZZZTTT thing.
I was mearly pointing out to Newb, that his use of modern English may be seen as a bit on the wild side for some readers/members.
As for the Gayefel comment, well that just say's it all, self explenatry, and at least I didn't attack that southern state that invented the game because they couldn't compete in an already INTERNATIONAL Game:P
Besides, Newb & Timi (plural) are like Chicks, They Love it:D :D :D
Rob T8-)
trymyluck
26-08-2009, 05:34 PM
I have the details of 5 boats for the VMR register. I'm sure there are more...
Bubi, Rebait, Carnelpya, Bad Eye, RT.
Who else?
Call Sign.......2 DEEP
5.5m Aluminium Savage Osprey
IJ162Q
rob tranter
27-08-2009, 12:52 AM
yeh righto
Mr__Bean
27-08-2009, 05:25 AM
For you blokes coming up from NSW, keep in mind that you can't pay at a toll booth on the Gateway Bridge anymore.
All gone electronic now, no stopping.
- Darren
Apollo
27-08-2009, 05:35 AM
Call Sign.......2 DEEP
5.5m Aluminium Savage Osprey
IJ162Q
Whoohoo it is finally named! I was starting to think that "I was going to a desert on a boat with no name"
Only took a couple of years!!!
27-08-2009, 06:16 AM
he might be a day late getting there :P ;D
27-08-2009, 07:38 AM
Oh OK. Shut up. Just shut up.
rob tranter
27-08-2009, 04:18 PM
Oh OK. Shut up. Just shut up.
??????????I guess that means you're going up on the friday Tim???????????????
So Darren whats the go with the Bridge, do we cop a fine for not being Electronically regeistered or just ring some number and put it on the credit card?
Rob T8-)
27-08-2009, 04:23 PM
So Darren whats the go with the Bridge, do we cop a fine for not being Electronically regeistered or just ring some number and put it on the credit card?
Rob T8-)
Check out
https://www.govia.com.au/
For your options re paying for your trip. I'm not sure you can pre pay.
trymyluck
27-08-2009, 08:11 PM
We may have room, but he will have to admit that South Australians might not be so bad after all.
Or he can come get it himself!!!
Newby DON"T do it, its not that far to drive.;D;D;D;D
trymyluck
27-08-2009, 08:14 PM
Whoohoo it is finally named! I was starting to think that "I was going to a desert on a boat with no name"
Only took a couple of years!!!
:PHey these things take time, and if i recall i think there is a bath tub at your place without a name.;D;D;D;D
27-08-2009, 08:23 PM
Check out
https://www.govia.com.au/
For your options re paying for your trip. I'm not sure you can pre pay.
You can go online and register your rego details and credit card details.
There is an option whereby your credit card will be billed everytime your rego is recorded. It's only valid for a 30 day or so period so would be your best option.
Damo.
27-08-2009, 09:10 PM
updated info:-
LIST OF M & G STARTERS:-
Team Sunlover:-
Lucky_Phill................. Definate
thedeckie.................. work and weather related 75/25 NFI. !!
Chris Ryan................... out due to surgery on old broken down knees. !
roz.............................. work dependant highly unlikely
murf............................. Definate.
wags_on_the_water.... out due to work commitments.... !!
Cheech and Chong Charters:-
chong........... maybe, weather dependent
cheech......... maybe, weather dependent
Aigutso......... Definate
Team Bubi
Timiboy....... Definate
Black_Rat.... Definate
Tropicrows........Definate
Team Bad-Eye:-
Mr Bean........... Definate
Alan.............. Definate
Chris............. Definate
Dave............ Definate
Team Leggless !
Trymyluck........... Definate
Apollo............... Definate
Team Kitty-Cat
kitty_cat........ Definate
NEWBY........................... Definate
Team Spooner
Dieter...................Definate
chicksloveit............Definate
Wardy................. Definate
Rob_Tranter.........definate
Team banditt
banditt..................... definate
wife.........................definate
mates x 2 .................maybe......
Have I missed anyone ????????????????///
how many sleeps. ???
phill
27-08-2009, 10:13 PM
Holder of the cup of Joy... Stuie?
rob tranter
27-08-2009, 11:10 PM
updated info:-
LIST OF M & G STARTERS:-
Team Sunlover:-
Lucky_Phill................. Definate
thedeckie.................. work and weather related 75/25 NFI. !!
Chris Ryan................... out due to surgery on old broken down knees. !
roz.............................. work dependant highly unlikely
murf............................. Definate.
wags_on_the_water.... out due to work commitments.... !!
Cheech and Chong Charters:-
chong........... maybe, weather dependent
cheech......... maybe, weather dependent
Aigutso......... Definate
Team Bubi
Timiboy....... Definate
Black_Rat.... Definate
Tropicrows........Definate
Team Bad-Eye:-
Mr Bean........... Definate
Alan.............. Definate
Chris............. Definate
Dave............ Definate
Team Leggless !
Trymyluck........... Definate
Apollo............... Definate
Team Kitty-Cat
kitty_cat........ Definate
NEWBY........................... Definate
Team Sundancer
Dieter...................Definate
chicksloveit............Definate
Wardy................. Definate
Rob_Tranter.........definate
Jarrod........definite
Team banditt
banditt..................... definate
wife.........................definate
mates x 2 .................maybe......
Have I missed anyone ????????????????///
how many sleeps. ???
phill
Phill,
We have plenty of room at Sundance, so no need for spooning!:P
I actually thought that may be your Team name as the room where you are is limited to TWO Bed rooms,yet you always seem to attract a crowd:o
I do have another mate coming, JD, and Mike, the Cup holder will be there, in his suedonem,(is that how it's spelt?) as Chicksloveit. Although I haven't heard from either he or Deiter for a while, come on guy's are you out there?:'(
As mentioned before, I will be away from the 30th to the 10/11th, with no access to a computer, oh God the pain, anyway, No sly or not so sly stabs while I am away and can not protect myself;D
I see Murf has jumped ship, actually I just checked my e-mail and he has sent me a lovely note;D Paul, you will never be the same after Spooning around with Phill, look at the rest of his team that has pulled the plug:D
Well we at TEAM SUNDANCE WILL SOLDIER ON!
Rob T8-)
27-08-2009, 11:35 PM
I do have another mate coming, JD, and Mike, the Cup holder will be there, in his suedonem,(is that how it's spelt?) as Chicksloveit. Although I haven't heard from either he or Deiter for a while, come on guy's are you out there?:'(
Is he worthy !? ;D ;D ;D
As the mug holder since the last Agnes/1770 M&G he must make an apperance or the flees of 1000 camles will infest his crotch for eternity ! ;D
rob tranter
27-08-2009, 11:41 PM
Is he worthy !? ;D ;D ;D
As the mug holder since the last Agnes/1770 M&G he must make an apperance or the flees of 1000 camles will infest his crotch for eternity ! ;D
Oh that would be soooooo itchy
Mr__Bean
28-08-2009, 03:39 AM
For those taking their boat out to the reef for extended fishing, I can't over emphasis the need for fuel planning. There are many nautical miles to cover when you are out there, not just the trip out and back.
Plan on taking additional supply and plan how to stow it safely onboard, how and when to safely transfer it, and how to calculate your minimum to get home safely amount. Twice I have been grateful to get back in with empty jerry cans and a very lean tank.
Also, plenty of bottled water and some decent grub you can eat without too much effort (scuffing down cold canned ravioli can leave a very red shirt front:P ).
And once again, don't underestimate the seasickness when the sun goes down. Pack a good supply of tablets and don't be shy on taking them if you are planning fishing into the night.
One last thing, can we have an absolutely crystal clear decision on what VHF channel we will all use once out there? Whilst this has been discussed in previous years it still comes up that some were on one channel out there whilst others kept calling them on another.
- Darren
28-08-2009, 05:56 AM
Does anyone have definite spare room on a boat? I have a Brother from Adelaide who'd like to come up, but obviously if he can't fish...
NEWBY
28-08-2009, 06:45 AM
After reading some of your posts over the years, sometimes I think you might be at risk of catching quite a few things.
- Darren
;) :-*
your safe mate....YA CANT CATCH IT TWICE...
NEWBY
28-08-2009, 06:49 AM
OK, back to the fushin. Well actually the bait. I am aiming to pick them up next week. Here in lie the challenge. Being a total of 165kg, we will struggle to take it all up with us, especially as we will be doing a bit of barra chasing on the way up, so this leave us with a couple of options.
For Newbs and Rob, we can take it up with us if you want, but we wont be there until Sunday. Otherwise, someone who will be there early can take it up.
I am good with Sunday anyway mate as I will be driving down for the Saturday night run then coming back down on the Sunday with the boat.
Thanks mate...
NEWBY
28-08-2009, 06:53 AM
Of the guys that are picking the bait up from Mark's, does anyone have room for Newby's? If you guys are heading out for a few days on Sunday, we may miss you before we get there. This is where Newb's torrid of taking the poiss out of everyone might come back and BITE him on the butt - does he have any friends left;) If there is none left, we are fine to take it up, but will be up sometime mid-late Sun morn:)
Fair call MATE and your quite correct, Newbs doesnt have friends just aquaintances that he TOLLERATES occasionally...8-)
NEWBY
28-08-2009, 06:58 AM
Rob T8-)
I dont know what I have done to deserve such friends?????>:(
What a delecacy of life eh, not needing enemies8-)
NEWBY
28-08-2009, 07:14 AM
[quote=rob tranter;1065241]Phill,
I do have another mate coming, JD, and Mike, the Cup holder will be there, in his suedonem,(is that how it's spelt?)
Well we at TEAM SUNDANCE WILL SOLDIER ON!
RobIs that JD the former Gladstone JD of the famous JD clan that was seen techicolour yawning at the M&G 4 uears ago? In fact the JD that was so sick to the point that his mate CORY had to bring him back in on day that the weather was perfect????Same one mate????
NEWBY
28-08-2009, 07:20 AM
Does anyone have definite spare room on a boat? I have a Brother from Adelaide who'd like to come up, but obviously if he can't fish...
Just waiting on a mate to let me know if he is coming or not. If not I am sure I will be able to squeeze him in mate if he is NOT a CROWS supporter. My GM at work is also a CROWS supporter and he is getting up me for the EAGLES disgracefull display against your boys last week. I wouldnt want to see your brother and up as shark bait mate.
Will advise you when get the return text from mate.
NEWBY
28-08-2009, 07:47 AM
Thought you might like to see thi seabreeze chart for central coast guys. This has been the weather pattern forthe last 5 weeks. AWSOME to say the least and unusual. Hope it keeps up for us like this.
28-08-2009, 07:52 AM
It had better keep up more of the same for our week there, or else !!!!!
rob tranter
28-08-2009, 08:47 AM
Just waiting on a mate to let me know if he is coming or not. If not I am sure I will be able to squeeze him in mate if he is NOT a CROWS supporter. My GM at work is also a CROWS supporter and he is getting up me for the EAGLES disgracefull display against your boys last week. I wouldnt want to see your brother and up as shark bait mate.
Don't you sell my "MAYBE" TWO Seats:P
No a different JD:)
Rob T8-)
28-08-2009, 09:23 AM
Even better Mate. He's a Crows supporting LAWYER!!!
Hell of a nice bloke, too, and loves fishing. Fly fishing has been his art, but he also fishes a fair bit down around the South Coast of SA.
Loves old cars and gets into a bit of motor racing, too.
Chris Ryan
28-08-2009, 02:42 PM
All I have to say is
"damn it damn it damn it............."
28-08-2009, 08:17 PM
Don't worry Chris, we'll send pics by mobile as soon as the piscatoral predators hit the deck..... :P ;)
.><> ><> >>]]]]}}}:>
28-08-2009, 10:09 PM
14 sleeps to go ;D :laola:
Who's excited !
Seems numbers are a bit down from previous years
It must be the GFC........
Global Fishing Crisis ;D
My crystle ball suggests perfect weather for the week ;D :-X :-/
Phill !
Where is the cook off this year, where is the official weigh-in station ?
After 2 years of trying, again my mission is to land a leagal RED ;D Maybe it's a 3rd time lucky thing.
Either way Tranter has a bottle of QLDs finest for me, that we can enjoy together!
Damo
PS: NSW suck ! ;D
28-08-2009, 11:20 PM
14 sleeps to go ;D :laola:
Who's excited !
Seems numbers are a bit down from previous years
It must be the GFC........
Global Fishing Crisis ;D
My crystle ball suggests perfect weather for the week ;D :-X :-/
Phill !
Where is the cook off this year, where is the official weigh-in station ?
After 2 years of trying, again my mission is to land a leagal RED ;D Maybe it's a 3rd time lucky thing.
Either way Tranter has a bottle of QLDs finest for me, that we can enjoy together!
Damo
PS: NSW suck ! ;D
Numbers only down by a couple......
Cook-Off to be decided once we are there..... maybe at ' Verandahs ". ??
Day to be decided as some folks will not be there until late Saturday night or Sunday. Might make it a night that is followed by high winds. !
No official weigh-in station has been decided, but there will be a set of scales under ' Sunlover " as per last year. So I suppose that is it.
13 sleeps for me...... :P :P :P
phill
><> ><> >><> {.:.} <><< <>< <><
29-08-2009, 12:01 AM
Day to be decided as some folks will not be there until late Saturday night or Sunday. Might make it a night that is followed by high winds. !
No official weigh-in station has been decided, but there will be a set of scales under ' Sunlover " as per last year. So I suppose that is it.
phill
Verandahs is open to a cook off, but Timi needs his sleep :P ;D ;D ;D
The cook off will be crucial, no room for error !
Red hot tip ! Chong to make a late entry and blow everyone away ! :-/
Deckie ???????????????????? meowwww......
Damo.
29-08-2009, 06:26 AM
There are people staying at Sunlover. Sunlover's BBQ is known, reliable, and, well, not at Verandahs.
Therefore the cookoff should be at Sunlovers. In the interest of consistency, of course!
NEWBY
29-08-2009, 06:39 AM
phill
Why is cookoff not at Sundowner????
I have a set of 50kg scales on the boat as well that are brand new.
Cant wait to try out the new Lowrance HDS system. Trials today woohoo.
So accurate I will be able to tell you age sex and species without zoom;D I mey even be able to tell you the damn things name....
"oh look here, theres a male red on the screen...looks about 3 years old and, wait, oh thats robbie the red";D ;D
Should be able to tell you if theyare legal size I reckoon....
Righto, mate has cancelled......So I will be able to accommodate a few serious anglers over the week. anyone who wants to come out are welcome....first in best dressed...private message me and I will sort it out...cant take more than 2 at a time and keep it comfy and there are a set of absolutely must follow rules that will save your life that. EG If you talk to me about cars/work while I am out on the boat I will drown you where we fish....So no work and you survive....
NEWBY
29-08-2009, 06:55 AM
Just to make things clear about the RULES, I have put them in writing for any budding deckie that may wish to join me on Carnelpya for a visit over the meet and greet. NON NEGOTIABLE....
Mr__Bean
29-08-2009, 08:37 AM
G'day all,
A cut and paste of a great post by Reefmaster.
- Darren
For a good majority of offshore fishermen catching a big Red is the most prized reef fish to have under your belt and an ambition that many will go to great lengths in hope of seeing that red glow rising from the depths. Most think that Red Emperor are the hardest reef fish to capture and that they require extra special attention when it comes to tackle, rigs and bait selection but the truth to matter is that they would honestly be one of the easiest fish to catch. What makes Red Emperor hard to get in the esky is their elusive nature and trying to locate them is enough to drive even the most experienced offshore fisherman crazy. Most fishermen look shocked when I tell them that Red Emperor are complete scavengers and will just about eat anything presented in anyway or form. However there are techniques, which can be applied to better your results and give that advantage of pulling the bigger reds, which could be on offer.
Rigs:
Slowly overtime the popular paternoster rig has been replaced by the floating style rig for it’s ability to present baits in a more natural way has improved catches and quality on particular species. Both rigs have their place for offshore fishing and basically it all comes down to presenting bait’s in the correct way to suit the species of fish you desire to catch. Red Emperor are a bottom feeder and in some cases could be mistaking on sounder as a small bombie showing that these fish roam the ocean and feed very close to the sea floor. It’s for this reason why the Paternoster rig is the most successful rig for targeting Red Emperor as it has the ability to present and hold a bait in the strike zone at all times. Holding baits close to bottom is the most important part of red fishing hence why a paternoster rig out performs a floating style rig but in saying this I have caught a lot of Reds on floating style rigs but the importance in doing this is to use greater weights to get the bait to the bottom and then hold it there. This rig really is no longer a floating rig but more so a floating style rig with a large amount of lead which can be lowered at a fast speed and able to hold baits on the bottom in the strike zone. The only problem with using a floating style rig is making sure that the bait sits on the bottom and this can become a problem in strong currents and windy days but in good conditions a heavy floating style rig will work equally as good as a paternoster but if you have any doubts whether the bait is on the bottom at all times then use a paternoster rig.
For a paternoster rig the leader material is an important choice as a hard fighting Red will soon show any weak links among the rig and by keeping the rig strong and simple you will have no worries at landing these prized fish. Generally leader material around 60-100lb will do the job fine while using mono main line around the 50lb and upwards and leader material of 80-150lb if you choose to use braided main line. I use 80lb Schneider for leader material as it has great abrasion resistance and seems to be super strong with knots not affecting the strength. Most lines over 100-120lb don’t tie easily and seem to weaken considerably so don’t be scared to use crimps on really heavy leader as this will not put the Reds off feeding. I keep my paternoster rig about 1.5m in length from swivel to sinker and only use one dropper loop of about 10-20cm long. The reason I only use one dropper loop is to avoid two big reds hooking up at once and possibly snapping between loop sets or worse snapping on the top dropper loop knot and loosing both fish. You may say hooking two at once and only raising one doesn’t sound all that bad but when you have driven hundreds of km’s and put in hours upon hours searching only to loose one red which puts all the other reds off in minutes you soon learn that single dropper loop paternosters are a much better idea. Suitable hooks can either be ganged or single but personally I prefer to use ganged hooks to take advantage of the extra hook points whilst using large baits. As a minimum try to use hooks around 6/0 and upwards but personally I use 7/0 and 8/0’s as a minimum while using flesh baits or smaller whole baits but for the large dead baits around 25-35cm I use 10/0 to 12/0’s. The brand of hook is personal choice but I do prefer ganging 7/0-8/0 in the mustard all-round 7766’s as these hooks are thick gauge and reasonably short in length which means you can usually run an extra hook in the bait. For the bigger hooks I run a three ganged VMC in 10/0 or 12/0 but once again it’s personal choice and as long as the hooks are strong and sharp there won’t be an issue. When using large whole fish baits and the hook size is increased you may need to run heavier drag pressures so that the hooks can be set into the reds mouth and for this reason I use a very solid short stroker rod with 80lb Schneider as both my main line and leader line. I’m yet to break this line on any fish and even sharks seem to be no match so I’m able to run big drag pressures and pull those hooks out of the large whole bait and penetrate strongly into the reds mouth. For flesh baits and smaller whole baits then I use 50-55 lb in Schneider or Low Stretch Platypus with 80lb as leader. The use of single hooks and in particular circle hooks works well also but running big whole baits with one hook is really not ideal but more suited to flesh baits. Big circle hooks on deck winches are ideal for reds and even using thinner gauged circle hooks on regular tackle with flesh baits will also work great. If you wish to use single hooks like mustard big guns then it’s better to run two hooks on the paternoster loop and to achieve this you can slide one hook up the loop and hold in position with some plastic tubing/shrink wrap whilst tying or looping the end hook onto the dropper loop. You can even attach the two hooks together with a short length of crimped wire and then loop or tie these onto the end of the dropper loop. This makes the rig super strong with the benefit of having chemically sharpened hooks for better penetration into the fish’s mouth. Don’t think the wire will put the reds off because it won’t make a difference. When attaching the hooks to the dropper loop I like to tie my hooks on using a half locked blood knot instead of just looping the dropper loop over the hook. By tying the hooks on it eliminates the line pinching and breaking on the end of the hook eye where it meets the shank and also gives it double the strength so the fish’s mouth won’t rub through.
Bait:
As I have already said Red Emperor aren’t fussy in what they eat but offering baits in certain sizes can increase your chance of landing the bigger fish. Mullet fillets would be a favorite among most Red fishermen and by using normal sized strips of mullet whilst trying to locate some reds you also have a good chance of picking up other species until you find them. It’s when you locate some reds that you can start using whole mullet fillets to attract the bigger fish but even reds around legal size will eat these large flesh baits so this is when big whole dead baits come into their own. Butter flying large dead baits also is a great option but this also gives the smaller fish a chance to chew the flesh to bits. If your getting nice legal sized reds or even under sized reds then by putting on large dead baits around the 25-35cm mark you will eliminate catching those smaller fish and soon find if any big Reds are close by. Whole mullet, Tailor, Yakkas, Hussar, Parrot are all good whole baits for Reds but I do prefer using fish with a soft area between the eye and mouth area so that hook can pull easily out and sink quickly into the Reds mouth when striking. Hook position in the bait is extremely important to ensure that a solid connection is made and don’t be afraid to have hooks almost fully exposed out of the bait as it will not worry the Reds and ensure a quick solid hook up. When using big baits it may take some time for the red to swallow the bait properly so let them chew on it for 10 seconds or so before striking hard otherwise they will spit the bait very quickly. To sum it up if you use heavy tackle, large baits with hooks in a position to easily pull out and the ability to hold that bait on the bottom at all times then the chance of pulling a large Red Emperor has increased dramatically.
NEWBY
29-08-2009, 12:54 PM
G'day all,
A cut and paste of a great post by Reefmaster.
- Darren
For a good majority of offshore fishermen catching a big Red is the most prized reef fish to have under your belt and an ambition that many will go to great lengths in hope of seeing that red glow rising from the depths. Most think that Red Emperor are the hardest reef fish to capture and that they require extra special attention when it comes to tackle, rigs and bait selection but the truth to matter is that they would honestly be one of the easiest fish to catch. What makes Red Emperor hard to get in the esky is their elusive nature and trying to locate them is enough to drive even the most experienced offshore fisherman crazy. Most fishermen look shocked when I tell them that Red Emperor are complete scavengers and will just about eat anything presented in anyway or form. However there are techniques, which can be applied to better your results and give that advantage of pulling the bigger reds, which could be on offer.
Rigs:
Slowly overtime the popular paternoster rig has been replaced by the floating style rig for it’s ability to present baits in a more natural way has improved catches and quality on particular species. Both rigs have their place for offshore fishing and basically it all comes down to presenting bait’s in the correct way to suit the species of fish you desire to catch. Red Emperor are a bottom feeder and in some cases could be mistaking on sounder as a small bombie showing that these fish roam the ocean and feed very close to the sea floor. It’s for this reason why the Paternoster rig is the most successful rig for targeting Red Emperor as it has the ability to present and hold a bait in the strike zone at all times. Holding baits close to bottom is the most important part of red fishing hence why a paternoster rig out performs a floating style rig but in saying this I have caught a lot of Reds on floating style rigs but the importance in doing this is to use greater weights to get the bait to the bottom and then hold it there. This rig really is no longer a floating rig but more so a floating style rig with a large amount of lead which can be lowered at a fast speed and able to hold baits on the bottom in the strike zone. The only problem with using a floating style rig is making sure that the bait sits on the bottom and this can become a problem in strong currents and windy days but in good conditions a heavy floating style rig will work equally as good as a paternoster but if you have any doubts whether the bait is on the bottom at all times then use a paternoster rig.
For a paternoster rig the leader material is an important choice as a hard fighting Red will soon show any weak links among the rig and by keeping the rig strong and simple you will have no worries at landing these prized fish. Generally leader material around 60-100lb will do the job fine while using mono main line around the 50lb and upwards and leader material of 80-150lb if you choose to use braided main line. I use 80lb Schneider for leader material as it has great abrasion resistance and seems to be super strong with knots not affecting the strength. Most lines over 100-120lb don’t tie easily and seem to weaken considerably so don’t be scared to use crimps on really heavy leader as this will not put the Reds off feeding. I keep my paternoster rig about 1.5m in length from swivel to sinker and only use one dropper loop of about 10-20cm long. The reason I only use one dropper loop is to avoid two big reds hooking up at once and possibly snapping between loop sets or worse snapping on the top dropper loop knot and loosing both fish. You may say hooking two at once and only raising one doesn’t sound all that bad but when you have driven hundreds of km’s and put in hours upon hours searching only to loose one red which puts all the other reds off in minutes you soon learn that single dropper loop paternosters are a much better idea. Suitable hooks can either be ganged or single but personally I prefer to use ganged hooks to take advantage of the extra hook points whilst using large baits. As a minimum try to use hooks around 6/0 and upwards but personally I use 7/0 and 8/0’s as a minimum while using flesh baits or smaller whole baits but for the large dead baits around 25-35cm I use 10/0 to 12/0’s. The brand of hook is personal choice but I do prefer ganging 7/0-8/0 in the mustard all-round 7766’s as these hooks are thick gauge and reasonably short in length which means you can usually run an extra hook in the bait. For the bigger hooks I run a three ganged VMC in 10/0 or 12/0 but once again it’s personal choice and as long as the hooks are strong and sharp there won’t be an issue. When using large whole fish baits and the hook size is increased you may need to run heavier drag pressures so that the hooks can be set into the reds mouth and for this reason I use a very solid short stroker rod with 80lb Schneider as both my main line and leader line. I’m yet to break this line on any fish and even sharks seem to be no match so I’m able to run big drag pressures and pull those hooks out of the large whole bait and penetrate strongly into the reds mouth. For flesh baits and smaller whole baits then I use 50-55 lb in Schneider or Low Stretch Platypus with 80lb as leader. The use of single hooks and in particular circle hooks works well also but running big whole baits with one hook is really not ideal but more suited to flesh baits. Big circle hooks on deck winches are ideal for reds and even using thinner gauged circle hooks on regular tackle with flesh baits will also work great. If you wish to use single hooks like mustard big guns then it’s better to run two hooks on the paternoster loop and to achieve this you can slide one hook up the loop and hold in position with some plastic tubing/shrink wrap whilst tying or looping the end hook onto the dropper loop. You can even attach the two hooks together with a short length of crimped wire and then loop or tie these onto the end of the dropper loop. This makes the rig super strong with the benefit of having chemically sharpened hooks for better penetration into the fish’s mouth. Don’t think the wire will put the reds off because it won’t make a difference. When attaching the hooks to the dropper loop I like to tie my hooks on using a half locked blood knot instead of just looping the dropper loop over the hook. By tying the hooks on it eliminates the line pinching and breaking on the end of the hook eye where it meets the shank and also gives it double the strength so the fish’s mouth won’t rub through.
Bait:
As I have already said Red Emperor aren’t fussy in what they eat but offering baits in certain sizes can increase your chance of landing the bigger fish. Mullet fillets would be a favorite among most Red fishermen and by using normal sized strips of mullet whilst trying to locate some reds you also have a good chance of picking up other species until you find them. It’s when you locate some reds that you can start using whole mullet fillets to attract the bigger fish but even reds around legal size will eat these large flesh baits so this is when big whole dead baits come into their own. Butter flying large dead baits also is a great option but this also gives the smaller fish a chance to chew the flesh to bits. If your getting nice legal sized reds or even under sized reds then by putting on large dead baits around the 25-35cm mark you will eliminate catching those smaller fish and soon find if any big Reds are close by. Whole mullet, Tailor, Yakkas, Hussar, Parrot are all good whole baits for Reds but I do prefer using fish with a soft area between the eye and mouth area so that hook can pull easily out and sink quickly into the Reds mouth when striking. Hook position in the bait is extremely important to ensure that a solid connection is made and don’t be afraid to have hooks almost fully exposed out of the bait as it will not worry the Reds and ensure a quick solid hook up. When using big baits it may take some time for the red to swallow the bait properly so let them chew on it for 10 seconds or so before striking hard otherwise they will spit the bait very quickly. To sum it up if you use heavy tackle, large baits with hooks in a position to easily pull out and the ability to hold that bait on the bottom at all times then the chance of pulling a large Red Emperor has increased dramatically.
:sleeping: :sleeping: :sleeping: :sleeping: Gees bean.
Woulda been quicker to just say "2 hook 80lb peternosta with 8.0 tuna circles loaded with a cocktail of squid, pillies and hussar wings. Reds and Trout cant resist em"
Oh and as little lead/weight as the conditions will allow.
MULLET PAH.....Heavy weights...PAH.....Wait 10 secs...PAH....
chicksloveit
29-08-2009, 05:05 PM
Hi All,
Have been working very hard and am looking extremely forward to this trip and catching up with you all.
I AM WORTHY!
rob tranter
30-08-2009, 05:51 AM
Hi All,
Have been working very hard and am looking extremely forward to this trip and catching up with you all.
I AM WORTHY!
STUIE
Who showed you how to turn the Computer on?;D
About time you got on here again, it's only been two years, your appearences on Ausfish are like your appearences at the M&G, albeit a lot quieter:o
It will be good to catch up with you and even your mate with the full mark on his forhead:P What about it Damo, are you out there as well?
Well thats enough from me, I'm off to Birdsville this morning, so I would appreciate it if you all could refrain from sending me the multitude of PM's and
e-mails until I get back;)
Rob T8-)
30-08-2009, 06:33 AM
good luck Rob.
hey Stuie...................... :P ;) ;D
phill.
. 11 sleeps for me... 8-) 8-) :P ;D ;D ;D
NEWBY
30-08-2009, 10:23 AM
good luck Rob.
hey Stuie...................... :P ;) ;D
phill.
. 11 sleeps for me... 8-) 8-) :P ;D ;D ;D
13 for me but I am breaking up the wait by taking my 2 boys to see the roosters last game for the year in Sydney. Farewell Fitzy and Fitler. Trying to get Polites to get me boys into the changerooms to meet some of the stars...Be great for them.
Boat 50% finished...Got drunk on it last night and slept on it so the important things are right.;)
Hi All,
I AM WORTHY!
haha top stuff for post # 2 :)
bring on the mug of joy :-*
cheers Murf
Just to make things clear about the RULES, I have put them in writing for any budding deckie that may wish to join me on Carnelpya for a visit over the meet and greet. NON NEGOTIABLE....
THOU SHALL DRINK SINGLE BARREL MALT WHILST ASLEEP WITHOUT NOTICE :P :-X
Cheers Murf
NEWBY
31-08-2009, 06:34 AM
THOU SHALL DRINK SINGLE BARREL MALT WHILST ASLEEP WITHOUT NOTICE :P :-X
Cheers Murf
Nah mate...there is no 11th comandment...;D If there was to be one, it would be something like "thou shalt not touch the skippersSingle Barrel" Penalty = long swim home...
Now for all you JOY drinkers, LG have just released a phone and are marketing it as JOY....I think it is a big step up the ladder from what you fellas cal JOY but you may not think so. Now before ya get on ya high horse about not being fishing related BEAN, I thought the boys should know that their trade marked JOY is under threat;)
Chong
31-08-2009, 10:23 AM
CARNELPYA 10 COMMANDMENTS
1) THOU SHALT NOT BE A SEA SICK PERSON ON THIS BOAT. IF YOU’RE PRONE TO SEA SICKNESS AND YOU ARE CROOK WE DO NOT BRING YOU HOME....YOU SUFFER...
But one may be sick if eating the skipper’s food:P
2) IF THOU MAKE’S A MESS OR DIRTIES ANYTHING....THOU SHALT CLEAN UP AFTER ONES SELF IMMEDIATELY.
Including sickness from eating skippers food:-[
3) THEY WHO COOK DO NOT WASH DISHES. DECKIES AND GUESTS WASH DISHES IMMEDIATELY AFTER USE.
No need for dishes as most food is served in dog bowl:-/
4) IF THOU TAKES IT OUT THOU PUT’S IT BACK IMMEDIATELY.
This includes your private parts;D
5) THOU IS NOT TO GET TOTALLY DRUNK ON ‘CARNELPYA” (safety initiative) A FEW QUIETIES ARE FINE.
Turn it up, JOY JOY JOY8-)
6) THOU MUST BRING OWN TOILETRIES, TOWELS AND BEDDING TO SEA.
Bloody hell losing stars like a re-run of big brother:o
7) THOU MUST SUPPLY OWN FISHING TACKLE OR REIMBURSE SKIPPER FOR LOST TACKLE ON “CARNELPYA”
Well a kids out fit from k-mart would probably give you more options:P
8) THOU SHALT NOT SMOKE INSIDE “CARNELPYA”
The motors do that:'(
9) STUPIDITY WILL NOT BE TOLLERATED ON “CARNELPYA
The skipper does that;)
10) ALL HANDS ON DECK FOR CLEAN-UP ON RETURN TO MARINA
God willing you make it:-X
NEWBY
31-08-2009, 10:39 AM
CARNELPYA 10 COMMANDMENTS
1) THOU SHALT NOT BE A SEA SICK PERSON ON THIS BOAT. IF YOU’RE PRONE TO SEA SICKNESS AND YOU ARE CROOK WE DO NOT BRING YOU HOME....YOU SUFFER...
But one may be sick if eating the skipper’s food:P WILL NEVER HAPPEN
2) IF THOU MAKE’S A MESS OR DIRTIES ANYTHING....THOU SHALT CLEAN UP AFTER ONES SELF IMMEDIATELY.
Including sickness from eating skippers food:-[ YEP
3) THEY WHO COOK DO NOT WASH DISHES. DECKIES AND GUESTS WASH DISHES IMMEDIATELY AFTER USE.
No need for dishes as most food is served in dog bowl:-/ WASH THE DOG BOWL OUT STUPID
4) IF THOU TAKES IT OUT THOU PUT’S IT BACK IMMEDIATELY.
This includes your private parts;D YES INDEED
5) THOU IS NOT TO GET TOTALLY DRUNK ON ‘CARNELPYA” (safety initiative) A FEW QUIETIES ARE FINE.
Turn it up, JOY JOY JOY8-) TURN IT DOWN< SWIM SWIM SWIM. IMBECILES ARE NOT TOLERATED ON CARNELPYA
6) THOU MUST BRING OWN TOILETRIES, TOWELS AND BEDDING TO SEA.
Bloody hell losing stars like a re-run of big brother:o CARNEELPYA IS ONLY A 1 STAR MATE WITH A VIEW TO DIE FOR
7) THOU MUST SUPPLY OWN FISHING TACKLE OR REIMBURSE SKIPPER FOR LOST TACKLE ON “CARNELPYA”
Well a kids out fit from k-mart would probably give you more options:P HMMMMM
8) THOU SHALT NOT SMOKE INSIDE “CARNELPYA”
The motors do that:'( USED TO
9) STUPIDITY WILL NOT BE TOLLERATED ON “CARNELPYA
The skipper does that;) THE SKIPPER DOES NOT LIKE COMPETITION IN THESE STAKES
10) ALL HANDS ON DECK FOR CLEAN-UP ON RETURN TO MARINA
God willing you make it:-X ALWAYS MAKE IT BACK FOR CLEANUP...OK OK MAYBE ON 1 MOTOR SOMETIMES OR 1 GEARBOX BUT THATS OK...I ALWAYS MAKE IT BACK
See above answers Murfy boy...LICK ME
Apollo
31-08-2009, 06:05 PM
Bit of a bait update - spoke to my squid contact today (he is a bit hard to contact at times). As he is the third one I had to use after the first two didn't workout, I had to take what he has got, so the squid is in roughly 5kg frozen cartons. I know I wanted to bag them up into smaller bags for you guys but that first trawl guy had a breakdown and ended up on the hards, so all I could get was this frozen carton stuff. It is not old and has been caught recently. If this is not OK, please let me know asap and I will cancel your order.
Steve.
31-08-2009, 06:59 PM
that should be ok for me - 7 boxes I guess!
Cheers and thanks for all your efforts,
31-08-2009, 07:23 PM
No probs here Steve. 2 boxes is fine.
phill
Apollo
31-08-2009, 08:08 PM
One request - It is likely that I have to fly back to NSW to bury my grandfather :(towards the end of next week, so will be flying back either Friday late or Saturday. Mark is leaving on Thursday (via Mondy), so I will miss my ride up. Mark would leave later if I asked, but if there is a spare seat in a car heading up to 1770 on Saturday/Sunday, then that would be great as it saves me taking my car up as well. I could meet at Gympie (or Mark's if there is bait to be picked up) and 99% of my gear will be heading up with Mark, so it is only my fat arse. More than willing to kick the can for some fuel.
None of this is certain yet as the exact funeral arrangements aren't set, but I thought I would throw it out there to see if there is a chance of a ride if needed.
hey Steve the bait is fine with me :)
sorry to hear about your grandfather :(
Murf
01-09-2009, 06:06 AM
10 more sleeps ! ;D ;D ;D
NEWBY
01-09-2009, 06:16 AM
One request - It is likely that I have to fly back to NSW to bury my grandfather :(towards the end of next week, so will be flying back either Friday late or Saturday. Mark is leaving on Thursday (via Mondy), so I will miss my ride up. Mark would leave later if I asked, but if there is a spare seat in a car heading up to 1770 on Saturday/Sunday, then that would be great as it saves me taking my car up as well. I could meet at Gympie (or Mark's if there is bait to be picked up) and 99% of my gear will be heading up with Mark, so it is only my fat arse. More than willing to kick the can for some fuel.
None of this is certain yet as the exact funeral arrangements aren't set, but I thought I would throw it out there to see if there is a chance of a ride if needed.
Owning a car yard has its advantages sometimes Steve. Why dont ya fly up to Gladstone and I will get you a car to drive down to Agnes in OR as I did last year, I will be driving down for the Saturday night activities and leaving a car there. Then I take the boat down on Sunday so you can get a lift with me then on Carnelpya. 1hour and $100 on the plane mate. Give me a yell if it gets down to that timing for you.
NEWBY
01-09-2009, 06:26 AM
Bit of a bait update - spoke to my squid contact today (he is a bit hard to contact at times). As he is the third one I had to use after the first two didn't workout, I had to take what he has got, so the squid is in roughly 5kg frozen cartons. I know I wanted to bag them up into smaller bags for you guys but that first trawl guy had a breakdown and ended up on the hards, so all I could get was this frozen carton stuff. It is not old and has been caught recently. If this is not OK, please let me know asap and I will cancel your order.
Steve.
Iam still in for 20kg mate.
01-09-2009, 04:09 PM
Owning a car yard has its advantages sometimes Steve. Why dont ya fly up to Gladstone and I will get you a car to drive down to Agnes in OR as I did last year, I will be driving down for the Saturday night activities and leaving a car there. Then I take the boat down on Sunday so you can get a lift with me then on Carnelpya. 1hour and $100 on the plane mate. Give me a yell if it gets down to that timing for you.
That's a great offer Newbs..... well done mate.
:thumbsup:
NEWBY
01-09-2009, 04:29 PM
Bit of un-common decency mate is all
I take back everything bad I have said about you :P you are a realy nice guy and I can't wait to catch up with you for a shandy ;)
cheers Murf
NEWBY
02-09-2009, 06:36 AM
I take back everything bad I have said about you :P you are a realy nice guy and I can't wait to catch up with you for a shandy ;)
cheers Murf
Gees guys, back up a bit eh ya wrecking my hard earned rep...
NEWBY
robersl
02-09-2009, 11:25 AM
::) ::) Bad Luck You Guys i hear it is going to blowing 30-40knot northerlies for the next 3 weeks up that way;D ;D and you will be house bound drinking,
so why bother about Bait it could be spent better on grog::)
Well have a good trip hope you all get into them i will be at mondy for 7 days so for your sake and mine i hope the weather plays the game
shane
NEWBY
02-09-2009, 05:28 PM
::) ::) Bad Luck You Guys i hear it is going to blowing 30-40knot northerlies for the next 3 weeks up that way;D ;D and you will be house bound drinking,
Well have a good trip hope you all get into them i will be at mondy for 7 days so for your sake and mine i hope the weather plays the game
shane
If current patterns keep up we will fish a minimum 5 from 7 days.;D
If not, Phil will never listen to me again.;)
It is looking ok at the moment and small blacks are said to be moving southward already.
02-09-2009, 05:42 PM
I'll be keeping a keen eye on these links, not sure how accurate they are though, how many sleep now :( ;D ;D ;D
http://www.windfinder.com/forecast/town_of_17770_agnes_water
http://www.windfinder.com/forecast/lady_elliot_island
Damo
trymyluck
02-09-2009, 05:54 PM
shane
And Monduran just sprung a leak and its just mud.;D;D;D:P
02-09-2009, 06:24 PM
shane
Thanks for the heads up Shane.... :P .. I must pack the spray jacket if those northerlies are about.
I am leaning more towards Newby's predictions 8-) ;D
8 sleeps for me.................. yep, I get there early to do a " pre-fish ". :-X
being the trip organiser, I have to check bait schools, local attractions, road conditions and backpacker numbers........:o ;D.. it's called a reckie..... or is that wrecky ????8-) ::)
.><> ><> >><:}}}}}:>
RAGINGBULL
02-09-2009, 07:01 PM
Hi ALL
I have not been following this Thread closely as there are way to many excited Fisho's on here, Including Myself.
There are 18 of us going up in my group are there any socials to be arranged, and if so where, WE WOULD LOVE TO TODDLE ALONG AND HAVE A FEW
Lucky Phil you left us out as well as Redland bay fishing club are going to be there
Team Bull = 2
Team Lewis = 3
Team No Bananas = 3
Team Swarts =4
Team Martin = 2
Team Steve = 4
Second, if you have to leave late and cannot make your lift
My son is comming upon the TILT TRAIN train on Sunday 13th as he has Soccer finals leaves at 11am Sunday and arrives at Mirriamvale 50km from 1770 around 16h34 quicker than a car only $41.60
02-09-2009, 07:43 PM
Hi ALL
I have not been following this Thread closely as there are way to many excited Fisho's on here, Including Myself.
There are 18 of us going up in my group are there any socials to be arranged, and if so where, WE WOULD LOVE TO TODDLE ALONG AND HAVE A FEW
Lucky Phil you left us out as well as Redland bay fishing club are going to be there
Team Bull = 2
Team Lewis = 3
Team No Bananas = 3
Team Swarts =4
Team Martin = 2
Team Steve = 4
Second, if you have to leave late and cannot make your lift
My son is comming upon the TILT TRAIN train on Sunday 13th as he has Soccer finals leaves at 11am Sunday and arrives at Mirriamvale 50km from 1770 around 16h34 quicker than a car only $41.60
Mark,
There will be a few socials to be had ;D
Depends on weather, Saturday 12th there will be the gathering of souls for a cook-off and a few drinkies ;D Place yet to be determined ::) If the weathers good there will be a few out so cook off may be delayed.
Either way Lucky Phill is responsible for socials and AF attendees :P ;D
Look forward to catching up with you and with the guys from the Redland Bay Fishing Club ;)
Damo
02-09-2009, 08:12 PM
Mark,
I heard a rumour the RBFC was heading our way.
One of your group has my mobile number,( Mick ) but I will pm it to you anyway.
As Damo implied, there is the Cook-Off and that will be held on the Saturday night if Sundays weather is dodgey.
Friday night ( 11th ) is tavern Night, but there may be another one. ??
Ausfish members will be having a small Australian flag attached to their respective boats.
02-09-2009, 08:42 PM
These pics are purely for Tim's benefit. Agnes Water is spelt with only 1 s.
50807 50808 50809 50810
NEWBY
03-09-2009, 06:35 AM
Thanks for the heads up Shane.... :P .. I must pack the spray jacket if those northerlies are about.
I am leaning more towards Newby's predictions 8-) ;D
8 sleeps for me.................. yep, I get there early to do a " pre-fish ". :-X
being the trip organiser, I have to check bait schools, local attractions, road conditions and backpacker numbers........:o ;D.. it's called a reckie..... or is that wrecky ????8-) ::)
.><> ><> >><:}}}}}:>
Mate we will ALL appreciate the heads up on the bait grounds eh? Should still be the same as always but ya never know.
Havent heard from Sandy or Tony from Agnes Bait & Tackle this year...Are they still going strong up there? Have to catch up with them.
NEWBY
03-09-2009, 06:48 AM
Ahhhh Gladstone and the Central Queensland region......Check this out for weather. Nothing over 15 kn until next Wednesday at this stage. If this keeps up were in for a great trip.
03-09-2009, 06:54 AM
These pics are purely for Tim's benefit. Agnes Water is spelt with only 1 s.
Hmmmm. I think I'll take a big tube of white out and modify those signs to a more sensible name.
Agnes Water? How is the word "Agnes" to describe water? Now if it's Agnes Waters at least the implication is that the waters are named after some illustrious "Agnes" out there, dead or alive.
As in "Oh, that's a very Agnes looking area of water." See? It just doesn't fit.
So, my contention is that the area was named by an uneducated twit (probably a Queenslander) and that their intent was other than actually happened (this is a common occurrence when Queenslanders are involved) thus it should be called Agnes Waters. A truly pragmatic, very "South Australian" name.
Self Superiority shines again.
Maybe the second letter "s" in a roadsign is somehow more susceptible to fading due to Global Warming. I have read arguments that have followed that sort of logic!
NEWBY
03-09-2009, 09:17 AM
Hmmmm. I think I'll take a big tube of white out and modify those signs to a more sensible name.
Agnes Water? How is the word "Agnes" to describe water? Now if it's Agnes Waters at least the implication is that the waters are named after some illustrious "Agnes" out there, dead or alive.
As in "Oh, that's a very Agnes looking area of water." See? It just doesn't fit.
So, my contention is that the area was named by an uneducated twit (probably a Queenslander) and that their intent was other than actually happened (this is a common occurrence when Queenslanders are involved) thus it should be called Agnes Waters. A truly pragmatic, very "South Australian" name.
Self Superiority shines again.
Maybe the second letter "s" in a roadsign is somehow more susceptible to fading due to Global Warming. I have read arguments that have followed that sort of logic!
It is crap like this that really backs up all the insults about South Aussies.
will you shut the F@*%ck UP?????;D
Jesus Timmi....;)
robersl
03-09-2009, 12:27 PM
And Monduran just sprung a leak and its just mud.;D;D;D:P
Hi Mark
I hope so lot less water to find the fish in lol are you still dropping in on the way past
shane
trymyluck
03-09-2009, 02:29 PM
Hi Mark
I hope so lot less water to find the fish in lol are you still dropping in on the way past
shane
Yes at this stage i'll be there on thursday if my fuel tank is finished, bloody well better be.mmmmm mayby i shouldn't leave things till the death.:-/ :P
03-09-2009, 03:06 PM
It is crap like this that really backs up all the insults about South Aussies.
will you shut the F@*%ck UP?????;D
Jesus Timmi....;)
Nup. Not gonna happen!
You schlubs just need more culture. :P
03-09-2009, 03:35 PM
And from NSW....
Minnie Water......... no #@#@!! 'S' on the end either.
It is simple english you crow eating, shandy drinking, soap avoiding, TuTu wearing Hominoidea.
mmm got that out without spilling a drop..... :) :)
6 sleeps ferets...................
03-09-2009, 05:47 PM
And from NSW....
Minnie Water......... no #@#@!! 'S' on the end either.
It is simple english you crow eating, shandy drinking, soap avoiding, TuTu wearing Hominoidea.
mmm got that out without spilling a drop..... :) :)
6 sleeps ferets...................
How did you know about the tutu? Who have you been speaking to???
Inlike
03-09-2009, 07:12 PM
Hey Phill I'm from the RBAFC unless there are other guys going that i do'nt know of where going to be there from 4th to 12th. May be able to say hello on the friday at the tavern.. Just a quick question Phill did you do any schooling at Oxley high in the early 70's.. Cheers Paul..:-*
Just keep an eye out for the Agness waterss M&G shirts in black with the A/F logo on the front
cheers Murf
03-09-2009, 07:49 PM
Inlike.... Paul.
Yes..... attended Oxley High from 72 - 75.
Inlike
03-09-2009, 09:52 PM
I thought it might have been you. I'm not really computer savvy so i do'nt know how to send a PM. we played footy at souths inala together you centre me halfback. I'll try to catch up at the tavern on the friday. i'll lok for the shirts with all the ssssss's on them.. Paul..F.. ;)
03-09-2009, 11:33 PM
Jeez, I forgot about playing there, way too long ago.
Pretty sure I got your surname sussed.
to send a pm, is easy. Just click on the person ( their name in a post ) you want to send a pm to....and a drop menu will come down. click on " send private message ".
Friday night at the tavern is looking bigger and bigger. That'll hurt on Saturday !! :-/ :-/ 8-)
NEWBY
04-09-2009, 06:04 AM
I thought it might have been you. I'm not really computer savvy so i do'nt know how to send a PM. we played footy at souths inala together you centre me halfback. I'll try to catch up at the tavern on the friday. i'll lok for the shirts with all the ssssss's on them.. Paul..F.. ;)
Mate, to find Phil you dont need to look for the shirt just look for the round fat rolly polly little man hat resembles an out of work 70's porn star.;D
Love ya Phil;)
Hey Phil, we got a bet on for the red emperor thing eh?
NEWBY
04-09-2009, 06:07 AM
Just keep an eye out for the Agness waterss M&G shirts in black with the A/F logo on the front
cheers Murf
Still waiting for the invoice mate>:( >:( >:(
Gees ya slack.
Still waiting for the invoice mate>:( >:( >:(
Gees ya slack.
haha Australia post, I put it in at the Cob & Co next door on Monday so the coach should be in today :)
cheers Murf
04-09-2009, 07:35 AM
Mate, to find Phil you dont need to look for the shirt just look for the round fat rolly polly little man hat resembles an out of work 70's porn star.;D
Love ya Phil;)
Hey Phil, we got a bet on for the red emperor thing eh?
Who says I am out of work ? gotta pay for this trip somehow !! :P ;D ;)
Yes, Red bet is ON..... ( I might just have to pur-chase a bottle of the best before I leave if I am to believe the Newby-Hype ! ) :-X :P
cheers.
trymyluck
04-09-2009, 06:27 PM
Have we got a radio ch that we are going to use?
04-09-2009, 07:20 PM
OK, details are as follows:-
VMR Roundhill will take your log-on calls #on VHF Channel 81 #or #82 #( 81 is for the area south of Roundhill and 82 for north and out to Fitzroy etc ) #Channel 16 is still the emergency channel.
27 meg is basically #OUT ! #very, very limited contact / reception available.
There is a comprehensive weather broadcast from Rocky-Met on channel 82 at # #6.50am, # 11.50am # and 16.50am #daily.
There is a weather broadcast " by request " on channel 81 by VMR Roundhill at 7.15am, #12.15pm #and 16.15pm #with a repeat of the 16.15 one at 17.15, daily.
There is a local repeater channel of 77, which may be used for the chit chat between AF #and PBA etc.
A log-on can ( but not advised ) be undertaken by phone #4974 9383.
Log-on details required by the VMR are:-
P.O.B
destination
ETR
boat description
boat rego
call sign
SO, I would say stand by on 82 and when you get the person you want to talk to, go to 77.
thedeckie
04-09-2009, 07:29 PM
Well I have managed to get a leave pass for a quick trip to the M&G, unfortunately only for the weekend (note to self…find job like Murf and Tranters) will be heading up Friday and the plan is to be having my first schooner at the tavern before the sun sets Friday arvo.:beer: :beer:
I will be collecting the spoon playn, joy drinking hill billy on the way through from marry ya brother, so any entertainment the tavern has arranged for Friday night they may as well cancel it!!!:guitarist: :helpa:
Looking forward to catching up with the regulars and of course the first timers. Shame I can’t be there for the week but work commitments will keep me away.
See ya’s Friday!!!
Chong
04-09-2009, 10:23 PM
My sis says it ok to do the weekend as long as i'm back at the farm to feed the chooks:P
delaling ding ding dong dong ding---- dabaling dabilng bling bling
yeh ha see you ath da pub thing
NEWBY
04-09-2009, 10:41 PM
OK, details are as follows:-
VMR Roundhill will take your log-on calls #on VHF Channel 81 #or #82 #( 81 is for the area south of Roundhill and 82 for north and out to Fitzroy etc ) #Channel 16 is still the emergency channel.
27 meg is basically #OUT ! #very, very limited contact / reception available.
There is a comprehensive weather broadcast from Rocky-Met on channel 82 at # #6.50am, # 11.50am # and 16.50am #daily.
There is a weather broadcast " by request " on channel 81 by VMR Roundhill at 7.15am, #12.15pm #and 16.15pm #with a repeat of the 16.15 one at 17.15, daily.
There is a local repeater channel of 77, which may be used for the chit chat between AF #and PBA etc.
A log-on can ( but not advised ) be undertaken by phone #4974 9383.
Log-on details required by the VMR are:-
P.O.B
destination
ETR
boat description
boat rego
call sign
SO, I would say stand by on 82 and when you get the person you want to talk to, go to 77.
Channel 80 is also a good repeater station up here mate so if 77 is chockas use 80.
NEWBY
04-09-2009, 10:43 PM
My sis says it ok to do the weekend as long as i'm back at the farm to feed the chooks:P
delaling ding ding dong dong ding---- dabaling dabilng bling bling
yeh ha see you ath da pub thing
MA MA come quick the cow's dead MA...;D
A lot of part timers this year eh?
NEWBY
04-09-2009, 10:44 PM
Who says I am out of work ? gotta pay for this trip somehow !! :P ;D ;)
Yes, Red bet is ON..... ( I might just have to pur-chase a bottle of the best before I leave if I am to believe the Newby-Hype ! ) :-X :P
cheers.
And what was it you wanted if you won :LMAO: :LMAO:
Like that will happen....;)
NEWBY
04-09-2009, 10:46 PM
Righto you lot. Newby is off the air for a couple of days as I take me 2 boys to Sydney to watch the Roosters final game of the year and farewell one of the games best.
I will be back on Monday to answer all your insults and keep the fresh ones in my mind ready for a personal assault on the weekend.
;D ;D ;D
Chong
04-09-2009, 10:56 PM
MA MA come quick the cow's dead MA...;D
A lot of part timers this year eh?
ya know wees in a reeessesion and da farm need some works dun. da cow is still milk'n so cun only do whats we can old mate;) can bring ma up for a night if ya need some lov'n
dab ding dab ding...
Mr__Bean
05-09-2009, 03:56 AM
Right oh, who was it that went sprooking about how great the weather has been??
Too early to tell anything yet but here is the latest Seabreeze chart and it is showing the weather starting to turn on Friday.
Now where are those seasick tablets......
- Darren
NEWBY
05-09-2009, 05:12 AM
Right oh, who was it that went sprooking about how great the weather has been??
Too early to tell anything yet but here is the latest Seabreeze chart and it is showing the weather starting to turn on Friday.
Now where are those seasick tablets......
- Darren
BLOODY HELL BEAN...2 things mate...
Firstly, its 4 in the morning and i thought I was the only one silly enough to be up at this time.;)
Secondly. It looked great yesterday:-[
Last year Friday Saturday were shit then Sunday calmed for a great Monday onwards. I will have a look at the charts wednesdayish. Hopefully we will be fine. Been great up here for the majority of the last 10 weeks
NEWBY
05-09-2009, 05:20 AM
Bean, I think I disagree with Seabreeze at this stage if the charts are correct.
maybe that front coming through wednesday is whats making the seabreeze charts look a bit daunting.
Looks pretty good to me. Not that I am a weatherman.
05-09-2009, 05:33 AM
Buoyweather is showing 13-18 knots offshore (South of the reef, exposed) on Thursday, and 11 - 15 close in. The Friday prediction is as high as 30 knots SE.
Happy days
05-09-2009, 07:26 AM
Is anyone taking a laptop with web access up? Wifey wants my laptop, and I would like to give her what she wants...
Trouble is, I will have some work I need to do, banking & wages.
05-09-2009, 07:59 AM
Well I have managed to get a leave pass for a quick trip to the M&G, unfortunately only for the weekend (note to self…find job like Murf and Tranters) will be heading up Friday and the plan is to be having my first schooner at the tavern before the sun sets Friday arvo.:beer: :beer:
I will be collecting the spoon playn, joy drinking hill billy on the way through from marry ya brother, so any entertainment the tavern has arranged for Friday night they may as well cancel it!!!:guitarist: :helpa:
Looking forward to catching up with the regulars and of course the first timers. Shame I can’t be there for the week but work commitments will keep me away.
See ya’s Friday!!!
Thank god some sanity will prevail next weekend with you 2 up there for the
weekend ;D ;D ;D
05-09-2009, 08:03 AM
Is anyone taking a laptop with web access up? Wifey wants my laptop, and I would like to give her what she wants...
Mate.... work comes before pleasure, so mummsy will have to do without laptop. It has been done before.
There is internet access at a couple of places there. Cheapest is the transaction centre for about $4.00 / 1/2 hour.
Weather is looking........... ummmmm
phill
05-09-2009, 08:24 AM
Weather too early to call atm.
There have been and still are a few 1020 highs about the place, just depends on where they sit on the coast.
The low down south is predicted to intensify to 998, but by Tuesday arvo drop back to about 1000 but concentrated. The pressure about the coast off 1770 on Tuesday should be about 1018 which leads me to believe the stronger winds predicted atm, will not eventuate.
That low, if it moves north and stays at about 1000Hpa will push some swell up the coast, but as well all know, 1770 is protected from E and SE swells. The southerlies are a different story, hey Tim ?
All conjecture atm. so just keep ya fingers crossed people. and if the weather turns to crap..... blame Newby :P ;) ;D ;D
.><> ?><?>?>??>?>??>"?>?
thedeckie
05-09-2009, 09:31 AM
Thank god some sanity will prevail next weekend with you 2 up there for the
weekend ;D ;D ;D
MMMMMM!!!!! :-/
chicksloveit
05-09-2009, 05:51 PM
can anyone give me an update on the best way of getting to Agnes as far as the roads go. I've heard some road works are going on. Any help would be appreciated.
Cashy
DAVE_S
05-09-2009, 06:15 PM
Cashy
I was up there two weeks ago and the road from bundaberg to agnes water was no problems ,the only road works at that stage was about 200 metres of good dirt around a bridge under construction .
thedeckie
05-09-2009, 06:16 PM
Stuie,
I think there was a post a little while back on his thread regarding the road conditions going via Bundy, from memory there was some road works going on but not really a big drama.
Someone may be able to clarify the latest conditions, ill be going via Bundy Friday arvo, when are you planning on going up??
Mr__Bean
05-09-2009, 06:40 PM
Alan's AFL team are through to their Grand FInal which starts at 2.30pm at Zillmere.
We are likely to leave Brisbane about 6pm on Saturday night.
- Darren
Alan's AFL team are through to their Grand FInal which starts at 2.30pm at Zillmere.
We are likely to leave Brisbane about 6pm on Saturday night.
- Darren
go the young fella ;D have a great game mate
cheers Murf
NEWBY
05-09-2009, 09:57 PM
I will have mine on the boat mate.
Your welcome to come and use it...(single barrel jacks mate;) ) jus kiddin...
05-09-2009, 10:29 PM
can anyone give me an update on the best way of getting to Agnes as far as the roads go. I've heard some road works are going on. Any help would be appreciated.
CashyThe mug of joy is joy joy
The road works are no drama. The road is in good nick.
Just reduced to one lane in a couple of spots.
They've cut out one T intersection and are working on a couple of new bridges.
NEWBY
05-09-2009, 11:56 PM
Weather too early to call atm.
There have been and still are a few 1020 highs about the place, just depends on where they sit on the coast.
The low down south is predicted to intensify to 998, but by Tuesday arvo drop back to about 1000 but concentrated. The pressure about the coast off 1770 on Tuesday should be about 1018 which leads me to believe the stronger winds predicted atm, will not eventuate.
That low, if it moves north and stays at about 1000Hpa will push some swell up the coast, but as well all know, 1770 is protected from E and SE swells. The southerlies are a different story, hey Tim ?
All conjecture atm. so just keep ya fingers crossed people. and if the weather turns to crap..... blame Newby :P ;) ;D ;D
.><> ?><?>?>??>?>??>"?>?
Your right of course. Too early to call....And I will happily take the blame if it all goes to sh!t. Likewise I will take the credit WHEN it all works out well.....Not that I give a damn anyway what anyone else thinks...;)
06-09-2009, 06:47 AM
Your right of course. Too early to call....And I will happily take the blame if it all goes to sh!t. Likewise I will take the credit WHEN it all works out well.....Not that I give a damn anyway what anyone else thinks...;)
I love that attitude. Newbs, you are an inspiration!
Thanks for the laptop offer. I'm thinking I might buy her one. That'll shut her cute little gob, eh?
06-09-2009, 06:53 AM
Cashy
I travelled this road on my way through to Mackay last week. The speed limit around one of the bridges (detour) is only 40kms/hr on the dirt so there won't be toooo much dust on the boats.
The road is really in good condition.
Cheers and have fun.
Wags
06-09-2009, 06:57 PM
I'll be going up via Miriam Vale. While the Bundy road's OK, with the boat on the arse the Miriam Vale road is sweet. Wide, nice asphalt, it's a really good road, all the way.
I solved the laptop issue - I bought one for Mumsy, now she'll be able to flash things on Skype at me while I'm away!8-)8-)8-) No, Chong, you can't watch!
NEWBY
06-09-2009, 07:21 PM
well, I reckon that its the M&G itself that is the weather omen.
Bloody hell. Its been hollywood fo weeks and now, going to hell. Having said that, it is still early and the weather is not too predictabe. I would see at this stage that there will be at least 2 or 3 days to be had.
thedeckie
06-09-2009, 08:29 PM
I'll be going up via Miriam Vale. While the Bundy road's OK, with the boat on the arse the Miriam Vale road is sweet. Wide, nice asphalt, it's a really good road, all the way.
I solved the laptop issue - I bought one for Mumsy, now she'll be able to flash things on Skype at me while I'm away!8-)8-)8-) No, Chong, you can't watch!
CAN I ?????????????;D :-X ::) ;D
Mr__Bean
06-09-2009, 09:21 PM
well, I reckon that its the M&G itself that is the weather omen.
Bloody hell. Its been hollywood fo weeks and now, going to hell. Having said that, it is still early and the weather is not too predictabe. I would see at this stage that there will be at least 2 or 3 days to be had.
Ohhh Bugger, who picked these dates...................
Whilst it is far far too early yet, if there are to be a couple of good days to be had during the week then once again we will be smashing our way out whilst it is still too rough to fish so that we are there for the days when it is good.
Best thing about this place is the safe and comfortable waters of the reef lagoons.
Last year we didn't see out of the front window for the first 30 odd kilometers, drove up one wave then down the next for ages, better do the RainX before we go.
- Darren
Mr__Bean
07-09-2009, 04:14 AM
GGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!
- Darren
07-09-2009, 04:50 AM
If Buoyweather's right, the Seabreeze numbers are underdone. 21 - 25 knots offshore, seas up to 4 metres.
Not so bad at the shoreline, that's what seabreeze is showing...
No cheers at all,
07-09-2009, 06:03 AM
I'll be keeping a keen eye on these links, not sure how accurate they are though, how many sleep now :( ;D ;D ;D
http://www.windfinder.com/forecast/town_of_17770_agnes_water
http://www.windfinder.com/forecast/lady_elliot_island
Damo
Out wide looks windy but in close maybe OK :-/
Anyho, 4 more sleeps ;D
NEWBY
07-09-2009, 07:33 AM
I am predicting Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday as good days...
So similar to last year I will probably steam down to Pancake creek on Sunday then wait it out and punch out to Musgrave at the first sign of good weather.
07-09-2009, 08:14 AM
Newby.... better pack the vasoline.... >:( >:( >:(
P.
robersl
07-09-2009, 08:29 AM
Hi Phil you can always come back to the dams mate still wet a line and maybe get a trophy catfish
What days you heading up to your meet and greet
shane
Chong
07-09-2009, 09:50 AM
Can we go land based crabbing againg, that produced a lot last year::)
Mr__Bean
07-09-2009, 10:20 AM
G'day all,
Just to get discussion off the terrible timing of this years M&G in relation to the weather :'( , I thought it prudent to post a bit of info regarding the concept of boat identification as being one of the "AUSFISH BOATS". The reason for having the Aussie flags flying is so that when out on the water in our group you can readily identify another AUSFISH boat.
I have found that when people are that far out fishing the reef they have put a lot of planning into it and are usually fairly guarded about their special spots that they fish when out there, many (like us) wait all year for the opportunity to get out and get into them.
You can imagine the reception you get when thinking that there is one of your group you motor over to another boat to say g'day only to find it isn't one of your group. I can tell you from experience that the reception isn't too good as they assume you have just travelled half the ocean to go over and ping their favourite spot on your GPS.
So, the little Aussie flags on the aerials can help, sure there is radio but if you are on the fish then you too will be guarded about puting this all over the radio.
We bought an Aussie Flag banner that has a heap of individual flags on the same main line (about 20 of them), so if anyone is stuck for flags then PM your details and I will try to get some to you. A bit of white insulation tape arround the flag tabs and you are in business.
Piccy of ours below, and for the record, yes I would prefer that they look a bit wanky than approach another boat's special spot by mistake.
- Darren
07-09-2009, 04:41 PM
I had mine on last year and I thought they looked great.
I'll be flying " twins " just like you Darren.
Boys, if I am onto a red hot bite and you're close..... come on over. !!
Tangle me or scare the fish and my M16 will come into play :o
weather being what it is..... Sat or Sun night looks good for the cook-off.
More later, I gotta finish packing.,
07-09-2009, 04:48 PM
Darren,
I'll take you up on the offer for a couple of those placcy flags!
Apollo
07-09-2009, 07:33 PM
Heading down the coast tomorrow afternoon to pick up the squid and mullet for those that ordered it. The mullet is caught today or tomorrow, so will be fresh as:). Darren, yours will be unfrozen when I drop it off on Thursday, so you can prep it before you head up. Rob, yours will be frozen whole.
For those that are picking their bait up on the way up at Mark's place, one of us will PM instructions on how to find his place and the bait.
07-09-2009, 07:40 PM
those flags need to be bigger;D
Mr__Bean
07-09-2009, 07:59 PM
those flags need to be bigger;D
Mike if you can't see those flags from a reasonable distance you MUST piddle by feel. :-*
- Darren
07-09-2009, 10:14 PM
FYI.
murf and myself will be heading up early to take advantage of favourable weather conditions. In fact so early that we may be doing an overnighter on Wednesday night.....:-X ;) ;D :P :P
Most of you other ferets will be there for dinner at the tavern Friday night. So we'll see you there.
ReBait........... standing by !! 8-) 8-) 8-)
><> ><> ><> ><>
FYI.
murf and myself will be heading up early to take advantage of favourable weather conditions. In fact so early that we may be doing an overnighter on Wednesday night.....:-X ;) ;D :P :P
Most of you other ferets will be there for dinner at the tavern Friday night. So we'll see you there.
><> ><> ><> ><>
so the count down is now 0.5 sleeps as I will be awake 1/2 the night thinking of what have I forgot haha :)
so has the mullet been caught yet Steve ;D
see you folks soon
cheers Murf
Mr__Bean
08-09-2009, 03:16 AM
Looks like it is starting to come back our way a bit.
- Darren
Mr__Bean
08-09-2009, 03:22 AM
Darren, yours will be unfrozen when I drop it off on Thursday, so you can prep it before you head up.
Thanks Steve,
We won't get a chance to prep the bait from Thursday the so if it can be frozen that is probably preferred, understand if you are out of freezer room.
- Darren
08-09-2009, 05:18 AM
FYI.
><> ><> ><> ><>
Lucky bastards ! ;D
Looks like it is starting to come back our way a bit.
- Darren :-X ;) ;D ;D ;D
3 more sleeps ! You little ripper !
08-09-2009, 05:33 AM
I'm relatively confident, looking at Buoywesther, that Saturday and Sunday will be FAR less than perfect (15 - 20, seas rising from 1.5 to 2.5 offshore). Therefore we should take the step of booking in the cookoff, unless a lot of folks still won't be there...
Apollo
08-09-2009, 06:08 AM
Thanks Steve,
We won't get a chance to prep the bait from Thursday the so if it can be frozen that is probably preferred, understand if you are out of freezer room.
- Darren
OK Darren, I will wack it in the freezer tonight and bring it down on Thursday.
Apollo
08-09-2009, 06:12 AM
so has the mullet been caught yet Steve ;D
see you folks soon
cheers Murf
Hope it is soon as I am picking it up this afternoon at 4:-[
NEWBY
08-09-2009, 06:32 AM
Righto boys and girls.
Despite some negative thoughts on weather, I have attached the latest and now GREATEST charts from seabreeze and buoweather. The buoyweather chart is an outside the reef view so as you can see, it looks like tuesday should be right to attack the outside.
I will do a final posting of charts on Thursday night that should give us a fairly accurate prediction for the week.
PHIL, although it looks like the lube may not be necessary, I will bring it anyway for thosa late night sleep walk things I do when visitors are on board;)
trust me it is very scary waking up to Newby's smiling face staring down at you late at night out on the outer reef :o :o :o
cheers Murf
08-09-2009, 07:21 AM
It is much worse waking up to find $10 and a thank you note under the pillow. :o :o :-X :-X
The weather looks ok for next week Newbs....
BTW, have you purchased MY prize yet ?????;D ;D ;D
ReBait will be at Agnes in about an hour from now. Bugman is returning it there after spending 2 weeks at NorthWest Island on his annual Island Fishing trip with 20 mates or so.
It will be used to having REDS coming in over the side, so I will continue the tradition. :D
I don't know if the RBFC will head up that way for their comp as the weather for Sat and Sun looks ' unfavourable ', although I know of one crew that trolls the headland and does well on Spanish.
OK, maybe I should actually go to work and earn some fuel $'s. 8-)
thedeckie
08-09-2009, 07:45 AM
Is anyone taking any small craft (creek dwellers)?? I will pull my boat up on Friday and hopefully hit Eurimbula Creek early Saturday.
As I'm only there for the weekend would like to try and make the mot of getting a fish in.
Will be trying to head to Eurimbula around 7am Saturday morning, depends on Friday night though and how much grog is consumed.