View Full Version : Peel 28/5/05

skippa
30-05-2005, 06:21 AM
G'Day Guys,

Well headed out at first light from Raby Bay with a freshening s/w wind up our bums. Stopped over at the top of Peel to try a few marks out of the wind. Not much happening for a while but it was great just to be on the water and the first outing with the new x107c fitted. Usual small rubbish was picked along with Mr grinner, must be time for a move.

By now it was turning into a beautiful day and with the wind dropping, all we needed were a few nice squire to top it off. I picked up a small yakka which was quickly sent back down with high hopes of Mr Snapper coming on board. The little bloke musta swam around the boat a few times then suddenly stopped. Hmm, bit of huffing and puffing later a big Wobby was swiming beside the boat. Not to worry no spear could be seen and after a quick pic off she went. ;)

After about 60 or more undersize squire were sent back, ( I go fish feeding not fishing) a nice Sole for Mrs skip and a few more bust offs, my deckie Steve managed a couple of nice squire all caught within a few minutes of each other. Nice work Steve, I'm glad that 'little rod' held out. (James they were caught on Mullet fillets soaked in tuna oil ;D) Darren, ya shoulda come this weekend ;D

With the wind picking up a little again (was really all over the place today) we finished off with a few quick water pics of the new Southwind to ad to my growing collection, and a effortless journey across a small 2 ft chop back to Raby Bay. ;) Not a huge haul but still a feed and a great day out on the bay.

The Southwind handled superb again today, just need to do a bit tuning and tweaking with x107c.(ie learn how to get the best outa it).

Tony 8)

PS squire went 42cm and 53cm

skippa
30-05-2005, 06:23 AM
Wobby

skippa
30-05-2005, 06:24 AM
Steve's 2

skippa
30-05-2005, 06:30 AM
The southwind

Sportfish_5
30-05-2005, 06:39 AM
Get any screen shots on the new sounder ? How did it go in the suds as I have only seen them in shops in simulation mode ?

skippa
30-05-2005, 06:50 AM
Yeah went well, as I said, still need to fine tune it at bit

30-05-2005, 06:57 AM
Good report there Tony, It is always hard to judge the size of a fish without a known size reference. Top drop the beer can idea.

Angla ;)

vertico
30-05-2005, 07:26 AM
good squire for the bay

big_steve001
30-05-2005, 08:11 AM
hey mate nice fish. good to see peel still producing the goods and i hope there are a few bigger ones there as well. also where did u get that yakka from and on wat.
cheers steve

devocean
30-05-2005, 08:16 AM
Chemmy stop salivating at that wobby

James_V17L
30-05-2005, 10:48 AM
Great report & pics skippa...I hope Mrs Skip is gunna make up wash your
own clothes..that tuna oil is stubborn stuff..
The Southwind sure looks a picture...
Nice one mate..James

Scott15
30-05-2005, 11:46 AM
Chemmy stop salivating at that wobby
give him some slack ey. the wobby post is long gone.

30-05-2005, 11:51 AM
Good going Tony and top pics. Those markings on the wobby are superb.

aquarius
30-05-2005, 01:22 PM
Top looking boat you have there Tony......I was on the south side of Peel yesterday but we only manged to get small squire and one massive wobby on the plastics........You guys did well to get a nice feed of squire.
Another beaut day out on the bay so i shouldn't complain about the lack of fish in the esky.......just great to be out enjoying life with ya mates.
There's always next weekend.
Cheers Brent. :)

skippa
30-05-2005, 01:55 PM
Brent,

Didn't see you there, but it was late morning/afternoon by the time we got around the back of Peel. Yeah it was great just to be on the water enjoying the day with a mate. Sure happy with the Southwind atm.

James,

Thanks again for the bait, but ya gotta keep the oil on the bait and off ya clothes, or sneak them into the washing machine after Mrs Skip walks away ;D

Kev,

Yeah the marks on the Wobby look good, but I didn't think that at the time. Was hoping for a bigger squire/snapper, but pulled up the living brick, oh well thats fish feeding I guess.

Angla,

Was nice to finish off with a few beers too ;)

Yeah Vertico, some days you get 'em some you don't. Steve the Yakkas where jigged up near the Platty wreck.

And to think I still have another week of holidays to play in Moreton Bay. ;D

Tony 8)

Brejen
30-05-2005, 03:16 PM
Top stuff Tony. Glad to see the new girl on the water. An other week off hey. If the weather looks any good might have to meet up, see what happens. Good feed of sqire there to. Will be up your way Sat night have to judge Rodeo at the Redland Bay Hotel. Might tow the MISTRESS up then head out after it ;D ;D

skippa
30-05-2005, 03:39 PM
G'Day Brett,

Mate our timing is lousy, got a family commitment on Sunday morning. Rodeo at the Reddie Bay pub?, must pop up and have a looksee (and have a drinkie or two ;)), gotta be better than the buskers ;D

Still got a few midweek days to go fishing tho :D

Is your friend still looking for a boat, Hainsey on the market soon.

Tony 8)

Brejen
30-05-2005, 04:00 PM
Mate sent you PM. If you come up Sat make sure you come over and say gidday. The old man and i are both Judging it so 1 will be on each side. Should be a good night with some top Bullriding. Was going to go thru the seaway Wed but might look at the end of the week, so if your keen let me know.

basserman
30-05-2005, 06:08 PM
the southwind club LOL
hope your loveing the boat and the handling ;D

Touchy - R.I.P.
31-05-2005, 03:08 AM
G'Day Tony, Now I know what rig to keep an eye out for, looks pretty smik there mate, I thought I had a quiet morning Sat at Wello but it looks like the norm for the morning in the bay,Bl**dy wind was blowing us across the strike zone not along it, was only getting a few minutes then had to keep motoring back & doing it again but we managed two nice keeper squire & got bit off bigtime once (the fish did have a nice weight to it but was sight unseen) & my son scored his first plastic squire & a bit of action during the morning with undersize to 30/34 cms squire, some bream/ moses/yellowtail/grinners (off to Duncans tackle shop Fridayto replenish to stock of frangers ::))spent some time scouting a bit further to the south & have noted some interesting rocky/rubble spots for the next trip. Cheers Touchy.><>.

skippa
31-05-2005, 03:48 AM
G'Day Fred,

Yep, know what you mean about the wind Sat morning. We had to try several spots at the top of Peel before we got anything working, although it was on the southern end that we got the better squire. Ya just gotta travel some days to find 'em.

Good to see your boys are in to it and you picked up a couple of nice ones. Yes, from memory there is some nice looking ground south of where you were. Plenty of areas there to keep you ocupied ;) there's a quiet spot that I visit, hasn't produced any really big yet, but it's only a matter of time. ;)

From listening to the radio on Saturday, I must be a dinosaur with only 27meg radio. Only heard a few from up Recliffe way and someone from South West Rocks (NSW) crossing the bar. I think that's called skip in radio land.

Tony 8)

Touchy - R.I.P.
31-05-2005, 05:07 AM
Tony, When I'm only fishing 4/5 metres I dont even have the radio on, There too much noise with my son\ Jonno & Beefa's wind problems as it is 8) ::) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D without the extra radio noise. Touchy.><>.

skippa
31-05-2005, 05:44 AM
Ahhhh,

so thats where the wind was coming from, here I was blaming my deckie ;D ;D

Tony 8)

beefaman
31-05-2005, 08:37 AM
Tony, When I'm only fishing 4/5 metres I dont even have the radio on, There too much noise with my son\ Jonno & Beefa's wind problems as it is 8) ::) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D without the extra radio noise. Touchy.><>.

Gee, thats not nice...it is only natural to pass wind....just coz I raise my leg and play a tune ::) At least they dont stink :o

Touchy - R.I.P.
31-05-2005, 09:25 AM
Hmmmm,Darryl, I waz gunna ask ya when are you seeing that Dr about getting your nose fixed :o:-X ;D. Touchy><>.

2DKnBJ
31-05-2005, 04:41 PM
Skippa
Good to see you got a feed out there mate.That new sounder is paying off allready.Well thats what you have to tell Mrs Skipp anyway.
The tub certainly looks the goods on the water.Almost stands out as much as the yellow sub.
Cheers Dazza

Brejen
31-05-2005, 05:06 PM
Dazza, Was having a look at Sunday. Looks the goods at this stage.
Thru the seaway.
What you up to.
Was going to see what James is doing as well.

Sorry Tony , but hey your going North for 4 weeks "BUGGER ;D ;D" But i'm sure when you get back the Southwind will be addopted by the HAINES's

skippa
31-05-2005, 06:57 PM
G'Day Daz,

Yep, first thing I said when I got home..... See Lovie, look what I can do with a good sounder ;D

Even tho I didn't actually catch those 2, at least I put Steve on the spot..... Tonys fishing Tours, that has a ring to it ;D
must be getting late, talking all sorts of bullshit now ;)

yeah the Southwind looks good on the water and with that bit of red it's fast too ;)

Brett,

the Southwind can only be adopted by the right sort of family, us southwind owners have standards you know ;D see ya Saturday.

PS Geez I hope the weather Gods are with me up north, can't complain about the last few weeks down here.