Peel 28/5/05

Thread: Peel 28/5/05

Peel 28/5/05

G'Day Guys,

Well headed out at first light from Raby Bay with a freshening s/w wind up our bums. Stopped over at the top of Peel to try a few marks out of the wind. Not much happening for a while but it was great just to be on the water and the first outing with the new x107c fitted. Usual small rubbish was picked along with Mr grinner, must be time for a move.

By now it was turning into a beautiful day and with the wind dropping, all we needed were a few nice squire to top it off. I picked up a small yakka which was quickly sent back down with high hopes of Mr Snapper coming on board. The little bloke musta swam around the boat a few times then suddenly stopped. Hmm, bit of huffing and puffing later a big Wobby was swiming beside the boat. Not to worry no spear could be seen and after a quick pic off she went.

After about 60 or more undersize squire were sent back, ( I go fish feeding not fishing) a nice Sole for Mrs skip and a few more bust offs, my deckie Steve managed a couple of nice squire all caught within a few minutes of each other. Nice work Steve, I'm glad that 'little rod' held out. (James they were caught on Mullet fillets soaked in tuna oil ) Darren, ya shoulda come this weekend

With the wind picking up a little again (was really all over the place today) we finished off with a few quick water pics of the new Southwind to ad to my growing collection, and a effortless journey across a small 2 ft chop back to Raby Bay. Not a huge haul but still a feed and a great day out on the bay.

The Southwind handled superb again today, just need to do a bit tuning and tweaking with x107c.(ie learn how to get the best outa it).

Tony 8)

PS squire went 42cm and 53cm
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

Re: Peel 28/5/05

Wobby
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

Steve's 2

The southwind

Sportfish_5

Get any screen shots on the new sounder ? How did it go in the suds as I have only seen them in shops in simulation mode ?

Yeah went well, as I said, still need to fine tune it at bit

Good report there Tony, It is always hard to judge the size of a fish without a known size reference. Top drop the beer can idea.

good squire for the bay

hey mate nice fish. good to see peel still producing the goods and i hope there are a few bigger ones there as well. also where did u get that yakka from and on wat.
    cheers steve

Ausfish Platinum Member devocean's Avatar

Chemmy stop salivating at that wobby

Great report & pics skippa...I hope Mrs Skip is gunna make up wash your
    own clothes..that tuna oil is stubborn stuff..
    The Southwind sure looks a picture...
    Nice one mate..James

Quote Originally Posted by devocean
    Chemmy stop salivating at that wobby
    give him some slack ey. the wobby post is long gone.

Good going Tony and top pics. Those markings on the wobby are superb.

aquarius

Top looking boat you have there Tony......I was on the south side of Peel yesterday but we only manged to get small squire and one massive wobby on the plastics........You guys did well to get a nice feed of squire.
    Another beaut day out on the bay so i shouldn't complain about the lack of fish in the esky.......just great to be out enjoying life with ya mates.
    There's always next weekend.
    Cheers Brent.

Brent,

Didn't see you there, but it was late morning/afternoon by the time we got around the back of Peel. Yeah it was great just to be on the water enjoying the day with a mate. Sure happy with the Southwind atm.

James,

Thanks again for the bait, but ya gotta keep the oil on the bait and off ya clothes, or sneak them into the washing machine after Mrs Skip walks away

Kev,

Yeah the marks on the Wobby look good, but I didn't think that at the time. Was hoping for a bigger squire/snapper, but pulled up the living brick, oh well thats fish feeding I guess.

Angla,

Was nice to finish off with a few beers too

Yeah Vertico, some days you get 'em some you don't. Steve the Yakkas where jigged up near the Platty wreck.

And to think I still have another week of holidays to play in Moreton Bay.

Tony 8)