View Full Version : swains trip 2005
mariner_22
05-07-2005, 12:32 PM
Well it was a great trip don't know if it was as good as Black rats but it was still very good. I ended up with about 23 very descent keppers including a 6.5 kg red emperor and some huge sweeties :). As well as another 30 that we used for bait (mackeral, tuna, trevally etc). My dad did well with about 30 real nice keepers including some nice trout and some big spangled emperor. But all and all the fishing was alittle bit on and off and if you did not cash in when they were on you missed out. Probably something to do with the poor weather we had out there. Anyway I will be posting the pics up soon :D :D
06-07-2005, 04:01 AM
Yes show me a piccie of a big Red i'd like to know what one looks like >:( ;D
mariner_22
06-07-2005, 08:44 AM
no worries mate :D :D
mariner_22
06-07-2005, 02:50 PM
Pick up the photos from me mates place tomorrow so will be able to post them then.
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 01:17 PM
hold on to your hats ladies and gentlemen cause here come the pics :o :o :o
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 01:41 PM
bens sweetie in the dory
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 01:45 PM
my reddie not bad not too bad (not the hair it was the theme of the trip for me) :D :D
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 01:49 PM
one of my many keeper trout for the trip ;) ;)
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 01:54 PM
john with a ripper spaniard one of the many that hit the boat over the week
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 01:59 PM
Peter with a cracking spano note the one in the background they were going off on this day I think we ended up with about five in a 2-hour session
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 02:06 PM
Ben with a nice spangled emperor
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 02:15 PM
Dad with a good size spangled emperor as well
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 02:18 PM
peter with a corker coral trout
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 02:23 PM
Peter at it again this time with a chinaman that was soon released
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 02:26 PM
Ben with a big barracuda :o :o
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 02:30 PM
Dad with a nice spaniard
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 02:34 PM
ME with one of my many trevally for the trip
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 02:38 PM
And just for a change in pace here we have a beautiful sunset unfortunately the only one for the trip
mariner_22
07-07-2005, 02:41 PM
well there were many more fish caught but I can't spend all night posting them so I think that will do it for now :) :)
08-07-2005, 05:35 AM
nice piccies :), good trout there my cousin caught a chinaman, well a head acually a shark got it half way up. :(
kleiny
08-07-2005, 10:41 AM
nice trip mariner looks like you had a ball. where the spaniards caught while bottom bashing?
kleiny
devocean
08-07-2005, 12:17 PM
Were there any spearos on that boat? Also I have heard that the swains has a pretty bad cigatera problem especially with trout were you guys warned off taking them?
mariner_22
08-07-2005, 12:59 PM
Kleiny the spaniards were all taken on floaters with ganged pillies. But I think one guy got one on a ballon he put out the back of the boat. Lot of guys including myself hooked up with spaniards while bottom bashing but lost them at the boat (no wire) :'( :'(.
Devocean there were no spearfisherman on the boat and we were not warned off eating the trout. I asked the skipper about that and he reckons that for the area only the real big trout are a risk of cidetura along with the usual suspects like the chinaman's and the barracuda that we caught, which were all released.
Mariner 22