View Full Version : Bad Apple In a Bunch

31-07-2006, 12:26 PM
On the weekend I wanted to show my brother my new found preferred boat ramp at the Lota end of Manly Harbour.

Without sounding like a drama queen, the attached photo is what we found, and we both felt ashamed of the careless polution that some outside fisho/s had left behind. It is not uncommon to find fish frames disposed in the water, but not only were there frames, but WHOLE FISH!! >:(

The people who left this behind had a good day out on the water, there was a huge amount that you can't see in this photo, being in the water. But you can see what I think is a jobfish the two seagulls were pecking at when we arrived. I was hoping that the whole flock of birds were going to arrive, there's no way these two were going to clean it up all by themselves!!

How do you dispose of your unwanted fish frames? I hope the people responsible for this mess are only one bad apple in a bunch of responsible fishermen.

puks
31-07-2006, 12:32 PM
hey there

kel usually only scales the fish in the boat and fillets them at home and freezes the frames
he says he wants to make burley out of it or use it for crabbait

although it fills up the freezer i think its a good idea

i hate it when ppl only think about their enjoyment and simple pollute the places they go
be it fishing remains or other rubbish

regards anya

31-07-2006, 12:39 PM
Hi Anya,

Have another look, I was having trouble getting the photo attached and you replied before I could get there. Yes, I have a freezer full too, but it will usually go out on bin collection days, or I use the frames for crabbing, or dump the frames well out to sea so the crab population gets a decent feed. Not at the boat ramp!! Whew, it was a little "on the nose" too. >:( >:(

Fishing_Widow
31-07-2006, 12:53 PM

Some always make it bad for a few.

Anya

Ian does something similar. He gills and guts them out on the water and then fillets and skins them at home and put all the off cuts in the freezer and empties it on bin day (if he remembers). We bought a separate chest freezer for him so he doesn't fill up the "eating" freezer.

Nomes

puks
31-07-2006, 12:56 PM
yeah i figured as much from your description even without seeing the foto ;)

it sucks big time
and yeah the smell would have been very inviting :-/

i think if i would have been there, i couldnt have helpd but make the location worse by chucking my guts up (me sensitive to bad smells)
i guess it would have reminded me of the holidays in spain little fishrestaurants and the bin onbly coming once a week
yuckkkkkk

tossing it over board in the bay or at sea is a good idea too, giving it back to join the foodchain once more.

things good be so easy couldnt they, if some ppl would simply jump start their two remaining braincells >:(

i think the only thing we can do is to tell ppl of when we see them doing it
i certainly will do it when i see someone leaving their rubbish behind be it fishframes or other rubbish

you said there were whole fish as well
now whay the hell would they leave a whole fish behind
why keep it on board if you dont wanna eat it or dont know what to do with it just release it

i really dont get that that is stupid
gosh that makes me mad [smiley=angryfire.gif] [smiley=furious2.gif] [smiley=wut.gif]

Nomes thanks for your tipp with the chestfreezer maybe its an idea indeed
and putting stuff in the bin every now and then i will remember that for sure ;D

Owen
31-07-2006, 04:39 PM
Not only bad form from a littering point of view, but anywhere north of Gladstone and throwing frames etc in the water at the ramp is very much frowned upon. Not sure if it's illegal.
Attracts the big smiley lizards [smiley=shocked.gif]

Owen

Bundy_Burp
31-07-2006, 08:50 PM
I have seen this a few times at the local ramp I'm not sure if its just one person or more but it seems to happen alot on either sunday night or early monday morning most of the fish are legal size .
Its beats me why anyone would go to the trouble of catching fish just to leave them on the beach next to the ramp .

Bundy 8-)

Great_White
31-07-2006, 09:25 PM
Hi Brian , I value every fish I catch and I use everything I can. If I have enough frames in the freezer for crabbing, I get the fresh frames and take the 2 girls ( 2yr old and 4 yr old ) down to the water and feed the pelicans.

The girls love it and the pelicans get a feed and provide a show for us and any tourists or on lookers. Some times get 30 plus pelicans competing for the frames.

Win Win situation ;D

Talking about Golden Beach in Caloundra.

Peter ;D

01-08-2006, 07:24 AM
Not only bad form from a littering point of view, but anywhere north of Gladstone and throwing frames etc in the water at the ramp is very much frowned upon. Not sure if it's illegal.
Attracts the big smiley lizards [smiley=shocked.gif]

Owen

Hi Owen,
You mean the extra large mud gekkos?? :D I wondered about attracting another variety of Crustacean that might give you a nasty nip while wading around the boat ramp as I often do, when launching and retrieving the boat. Might pay to have the net handy, there could be a side benefit resulting in crab being on the menu!!

Hi Peter,

I am a little careful feeding birds at the boat ramp, which may/may not be an issue for people. Pelicans seem harmless enough, but the more tame they get, they almost can be considered a public nuisance for some. Don't get me wrong. I love the pelican and their nature, but I certainly would not feed any bird of any description on Fraser island for example. The local parks and wildlife staff are likely to slap a fine on you for not desposing of frames responsibly. I remember being with an uncle at the cleaning tables at Spinnacker sound marina, Bribie. He threw a spanish mackerel head to a pelican, which became stuck in the pelican's throat. Right up until we left, he was still trying to dislodge it, it was just too big to go either way. Not good!! :( :(

Just be careful!

Burley_Boy
01-08-2006, 09:16 PM
I usually feed the pelicans my leftovers at the ramp, never considered it a bad thing but I'll keep it in mind.
I don't like tossing frames in the garbage bin as it just gets dumped on the open tip then it stinks there and attracts the flies and birds. It might be out of sight for some. I prefer to put the stuff back in the ocean where it gets eaten. If its rough I'll fillet & clean in the Broadwater, never at the ramp.

Great_White
01-08-2006, 09:22 PM
Hi Brian, thanks for the advice. I will need to check on the rules up in Caloundra. Have done this for quite a few years with no worries, I really only catch bream & whiting so no fears of them being an issue for pelicans.

I never feed them at the boat ramp or on the populated beach. If anyone knows the ruling 100 % for Caloundra I would love to hear from them. Have never seen a sign or anything else to advise it's a no can do.

Might be a good topic for a post for other ausfish members to comment on but I will probabally get caned :(

Peter.

shaman
04-08-2006, 09:25 PM
I heard on the news a few years ago that a woman was fined by an overzealous ranger for feeding pelicans. The charge was "Illegal disposal of fish waste" or something along those lines... :-/ I'm not sure what state that was in but it sounds a bit over the top to me.... I generally cook my fish whole so waste is minimal. I'd like to boot some of these scumbags that litter around fishing spots and ramps fair up the arse and if I catch anybody dropping their crap around my stompin'ground that's what they can expect (and a little bit of a swim with it >:( >:()
.................................Billy

04-08-2006, 11:21 PM
I'm a naughty boy ::)

I used to take my big shovelly carcases to a skip outside a certain shopping centre as they wouldn't fit in my bin. I would wait till nobody was passing then dash out of the car and hurl 'em into the skip.

I was shopping there one day and when I parked up the car there was an almighty stink :o
Unbeknown to me, the skip had been replaced by a container before my last visit and my shovelly carcass from 4 days previous, had landed on it's roof ;D

If you go out looking for friends, you're going to find they are very scarce. If you go out to be a
friend, you'll find them everywhere. (Zig Zigler)

Slient
05-08-2006, 08:21 AM

I used to take my big shovelly carcases to a skip outside a certain shopping centre as they wouldn't fit in my bin. I would wait till nobody was passing then dash out of the car and hurl 'em into the skip.

Was this one your previous avatar... you held approx 5 to 6 feet...
;D funny about stink after days...

Slient
05-08-2006, 08:30 AM
Scalem,

I used the frames for next crabbing trip and now I'm no longer to crabbing since family commitment. So I often toss frame in the bin...
But good news if you often go offshore like I do.
Then thaw the frame and chop it up and create the burley trail...
Other wise my mate Young_mind says he put frame into meat mincer to create his homemade burley for next trip...

Silent

05-08-2006, 09:01 AM

Was this one your previous avatar... you held approx 5 to 6 feet...
;D funny about stink after days...

No, it was bigger than that one, mate. I only had one freezer back then otherwise i would have broke it down for the crab pots.

If you lend someone $20, and never see that person again; it was probably worth it.

05-08-2006, 09:04 AM
Scalem,

I used the frames for next crabbing trip and now I'm no longer to crabbing since family commitment. So I often toss frame in the bin...
But good news if you often go offshore like I do.
Then thaw the frame and chop it up and create the burley trail...
Other wise my mate Young_mind says he put frame into meat mincer to create his homemade burley for next trip...

Silent

Silent, is this an electric mincer? I've just bought one for the deckie ;) but it warns about putting hard stuff through it. I'm just wondering if it would handle a fish frame.

If you receive something that says "Send this to all your friends", please consider me not your
friend.

Slient
05-08-2006, 01:51 PM
[quote author=Silent link=1154312812/0#14 date=1154730659]
Silent, is this an electric mincer? I've just bought one for the deckie ;) but it warns about putting hard stuff through it. I'm just wondering if it would handle a fish frame.

If you receive something that says "Send this to all your friends", please consider me not your
friend.
I think my mate bought manul mincer from 2nd hand store... He probably got muscle to wind... ;)
Worth to ask my mate again for clarity, By way I'm consider to get one for myself... ::)

Silent

darkside
06-08-2006, 09:27 PM
i honestly havent caught enough fish to have that problem, but littering isnt the way to go , as the wise man said "don't destroy what you come to enjoy "

06-08-2006, 09:36 PM
I tried mincing all the frames and skins like you guys are saying, but what a gigantic mess that resulted. :-? :-? I think my chook pellets with tuna oil is far less trouble if I want burley, and I will just empty the whole freezer bag overboard to feed the crabs, well away from public jetties. ;)

Smailesy
06-08-2006, 10:03 PM
my dad always told me not to clean at the ramp if you leave your frames behind it attracts bad things like stone fish and it stinks the place up clean your fish at home and return your frames out to sea back in the food chain

tunaman
06-08-2006, 11:35 PM
Someone told me, that bullsharks like to hang around boatramps,
because of all the fish frames. Ever since hearing that, I get a little spooked when I night fish. Iam only standing in knee deep of water
putting the boat on the trailer. Theres not much chance of being attacked
but when your standing there with fishframes all over the place, you
cant help thinking what is watching you just a few metres away.

signed tunaman :(

shaman
07-08-2006, 09:34 PM
Yeah Tunaman, I almost stepped on a huge ray on the ramp once. Scared the shite outta me as it took off & all I could picture was its barb hanging out of my calf muscle.............. :o.............Billy

young_mind
15-08-2006, 05:07 PM
:)Hi I have no problems with old model manual mincer first I have to chop up frames (not big fish) roughly then put leftover bait anythings you have kept , dont throw away it is worthy to add up burleys mixture ;) put in half cut out 1.25L bottle the other half as a lid :)

16-08-2006, 04:57 AM
bloody fishos are pigs....exactly what the casual observer would deduce from seeing that..the minority providing a label for all to wear.

Peter...you cannot clean fish at the Military Jetty ramps unless u have somone to keep the pelicans and gulls away as u try to clean the fish...gave up on that years ago.

16-08-2006, 10:12 AM
My Manual mincer handle broke off when I tried to put whiting heads in there ::)

Frames seemed OK, but the tip is don't use fish heads. They don't seem too hard, but hoo boy try getting a half mashed one out of a stuck mincer >:(

In NSW when I was a boy the local fish shop fed the pelicans across the road for years, the pelicans became quite tame

One day, just on feeding time a woman was walking a small dog along the boardwalk, maybe a chiauhau (stuffed if I can spell that !) and anyway, the story went that the pelican grabbed the dog and flew off !

For a while it was a local myth, but a woman came forward years later and said it was true and it was her dog !

tunaman
17-08-2006, 12:31 AM
LOL 8-)

signed tunaman