View Full Version : Re: M & G Agnes Water/1770 - the dates
20-01-2006, 05:32 PM
OK< dates for the next hit at 1770 / Agnes water are Sat 11th march to sat 18th March. Reply asap.
I'll see if I can muster up Team ReBait for another assult on the reefies, although I do believe the Prawns will still be on the cards, as will most Pelagics. The weather should be conducive to jack fishing and I reckon a shot for Barra at Awonga Dam is a goer, with the Full Moon in our favour.
<>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< 8-)
For those newbies that want to have a crack, I suggest you get in early and book accomodation.
1770 / Agnes water is situated 530k's north of Brisbane. It nestles between National Parks to the north and south. It has a nice estuary system and great land based fishing. There are many creeks etc, nth and sth that need exploring, and the wider reefs provide a good source of esky filling nutrients , like Reds, Squire, Coral Trout, Sweetlip and of course there is always the Mackerel. ;) ;)
Now, ideally, a house at Agnes Water ( no 's' on the end of Water ) is better due the usual mini M & G's being conducted on a nightly basis, thus allowing a walking distance journey ! ::)
Bring ya crab pots, estuary, dam and offshore gear !
Tony, Sandi and Josh who run the Agnes Water Bait Tackle and Camping store at Endeavour Plaza, will have all supplies you need as well as good info on what's biting and where.
I will post tide times, sunup, sunset, moon phase and major/ minor bite times soon. Maybe even post the GPS marks for those Reds and Nannagai etc ? well.................maybe :-X :-/ :P
For now, show your interest here !
Stay tuned for further info, but let's not turn this thread into a chatboard ! ::) :o :o :P
searaider
21-01-2006, 08:16 PM
Phil ,
Count me in .
Dale ,
I'll give you a call to see what your up to .
Searaider 2
Hookem_Herby
22-01-2006, 07:13 AM
I'm keen since I've missed both of the other 2 M&G's we've had there. :'(
Will be my last chance of catching a fish as a single man :P ;D so even more incentive to have a last go at them big girls up there .... I'm talking about the spanish macks!!! :o ;)
Will try and bring BOB up so should have room for a deckie as well. See what the weather forecast is like.
Herby
agnes_jack
22-01-2006, 10:12 AM
Sounds good Phil!!!
Lots of fingers need to be crossed for the weather.
A quick run down on whats happening at the moment:
Good reds and very large red throat on the reefs,
A large amount of good to big jacks are being caught in most of the creeks, very good reports on those from Eurimbula creek.
Some pelagics off the rocks at 1770, mainly schoolies, blue fin, and gt's.
A few spanish at Bustad, trolling.
Prawns are still small, but should be good at M&G time.
There has been a large amount of Queenies and some extra oversize snub nose dart in the estuarys, and by the m&g the barra will be in full swing.
Oh, and also heard of a few blue salmon in one particular creek.
Should be a GOOD time for all.
( I won,t be missing any of the nightly piss-ups this time either ;) )
Regards, Tony and Sandi
fullscale
22-01-2006, 04:45 PM
count me in Phill looking forward to it already
Sorry about the shuffling of posts, but I was only putting up the dates, not organizing the event, so if replies could be directed to Phill.
Anyway I will be a starter, can't keep this little black duck away!
cheers Roz
bay_firey
22-01-2006, 09:10 PM
this is a problem
do i do 1770 in March or Mackay in April ???
DALEPRICE
22-01-2006, 09:23 PM
well,
1770, hear we come ;D
looks like a green light for me.
a chance to spend a week with a group
of people who put on one hell of a shin-dig.
cant wait !!
cheers dale
searaider
22-01-2006, 10:48 PM
Guys ,
Just some Tide & Moon Info .
I think this is correct , used the Gladstone Standard Port Times , less less the difference for 1770 .
- 0.35 High Water .
- 0.22 Low Water .
Full Moon Wed 15 th [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
1770 Tide Times
Sat 11th March .
High 06.55 AM - 19.22 PM .
Low 00.58 AM - 13.29 PM .
Searaider 2
Needmorerum
23-01-2006, 09:54 PM
Nah, I'm gunna have to miss this one. We're down there for a fortnight, coming home the weekend before this is starting. Might make it down for a night on the weekends if possible.
Get in quick if you want a house, we moved our holidays forward a week as we couldn't get a house.
Corry
SCOTTYGC
23-01-2006, 10:59 PM
`due to lack of leave days oweing im cant make it this time
need some time off for easter at harvey bay
have fun but watch out if phil puts on his favorate shorts ;D
scotty
Touchy - R.I.P.
24-01-2006, 06:12 AM
Agh Scotty a no go, lest the local will a a few pallets left at the end of the week :P & I guess the coconuts are breathing a sigh of relief ;D Touchy.><>
thedeckie
24-01-2006, 07:39 AM
Phill,
Im pretty well in the same boat as Scotty,would love to be there of course but as you know will be heading to Hervey Bay over the easter period and need to save some leave.
Team Re Bait will struggle to put the large quantities of fish on board like last time without me Im sure...LOL
PS:Will have to try and get Scotty out for a beer at Hervey Bay.
searaider
24-01-2006, 08:34 PM
Geday Guys & Gals ,
As Corry advised , houses are a bit hard to get , tried for a number that I know of & none were available from the 11 th March .
Ended up getting the one that I had at the last M & G , down the hill and across the creek from Roz's .
Only trouble I'm starting a day late & had to book the house from the 12th to 19 th March .( In after lunch on Sunday 12 th ).
Phil ,
Have you entered the Surfing Comp ( The Longboard Challange ), from the 17th to 19 th March . ::)
I hope their dissapointed on the swell size , or atleast only have a lazy swell 200 meters apart ;)
Searaider 2
fullscale
25-01-2006, 07:51 AM
roz can you keep me posted on the chance of a bed please . much appreciated
troysta ;) ;)
NEWBY
25-01-2006, 01:20 PM
Ah bugger it. Newby is in.
Tony and Sandi, we WILL get to drink that single barrel jacks this time.
Hope the weather is ok. Not usually flash at that time of year but a good opportunity to get pissed with the ausfishers all the same.
Look out for the good ship "Carnelpya"
agnes_jack
25-01-2006, 01:54 PM
No worries Newby
This time we will be serious ;)
I had some practise on my birthday, my son bought me a bottle.
The first one tastes smooth, but by the time you get to the last one...........mmmmmm!!!!!
See ya there
Sandi & Tony [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=confused.gif] [smiley=drunk.gif] [smiley=dizzy.gif] [smiley=disappointed.gif]
25-01-2006, 05:21 PM
Well people, seems like the competition has been blown wide open. Team ReBait ( the brisbane side of things ) have other plans in place and cannot make it to Agnes this time.
Very slim chance of the big rig making, but possible ! ::)
No matter, I will definatley be there with the little " Skanky Hoe " and she likes to go offshore. There many possiblities to hit the close reefs in the little boat, and also let;s not forget the creeks and dams nearby ;)
So, maybe I can deckie for a big boat and I can takle them to spot X..... :-X ;) :o
I'm sure we'll work things out once we get there.
Looking for a volunteer to have the first nights Mini M & G. Kahunas was good last time, but certainly open to sugestions ??
If anyone is having trouble with accomodation, pm me, may be of assistance.
Stay tuned ferets ! ;) ;D
[smiley=administrator.gif]
Hookem_Herby
25-01-2006, 05:43 PM
Sounds good Phill.
Check your mail, have sent you a PM.
Herby
Mark,
Get yourself down here!!!! Chille mud crab for sure.
Phill,
The first mini M&G can be at my place Saturday night, I will supply nibblies, maybe chille crab....if the thief leaves my pots alone.
BYO alcohol,
For your information.
A good real estate mob for those who need accommodation.
Beaches of 1770 real estate
07 497 749499 ask for Madonna or Joanne (Joe)
Dale,
I will have to answer your PM here. Having trouble getting a reply out.
Sunday is not a problem.
Roz
DALEPRICE
27-01-2006, 08:16 PM
thanks roz,
will give ya a tingle soon.
dale
28-01-2006, 01:55 PM
OK, so Roz has put her hand up to have her deck invaded by the hordes.ait
Usual stunt, people, if you eat prior to turning up, that's ok, but she has a big bbq on the deck should you wish to cook ya steaks ( for those of you who don't catch fish................shite ! that sounds like a challenge ;) ;D 8-)there ).
As one suspected, the response is limited to the hardy few that will enjoy returning to fishing paradise. And, as such, I will avail those people of information so that they may fill said eskies with brightly coloured fish, as did Team Rebait, last time. Skill, persistance and luck, being on their side, of course :P
Well, Herby, me thinks I must get BoB's floor covered in scales and such with a good session on bottom dwelling, hard fighting, yummy tasting, multi coloured, photo-worthy piscatorial predators.............. :o ::) You in ?
There has, from reports, been good rain at Agnes / 1770 of late, which should flow onto rewarding trips in the estuary system for prawns and B & B fish species.
Newby, you had better have good supply of that chilli Squid thingie ya made last time, as I only managed a small portion. Worthy of another session, I reckon. ;)
Any last minute takers, although it is a few weeks away ?
longtail
29-01-2006, 08:48 AM
hi guys , unfortunatey i will have to miss this one :'( if ya have another later in the year i should be able to make it . hope you all have a good one , with lots of scaley things over the side :D
jason
Jason,
You are going to be an old bugga by the time you get up here lol.
Roz
longtail
29-01-2006, 02:50 PM
Roz , lol helen reckons i'm old now ::)
have a good one.
jason.
29-01-2006, 06:38 PM
Hi Roz
Can I have my chilli mud crabs via airfreight this time around, direct flight if you may be so kind.
:'( :'( :'( :'(
Hookem_Herby
30-01-2006, 07:03 AM
Well, Herby, me thinks I must get BoB's floor covered in scales and such with a good session on bottom dwelling, hard fighting, yummy tasting, multi coloured, photo-worthy piscatorial predators.............. :o ::) You in?
Anytime Phill, anytime. All I can say now is; bring it ... BRING IT ON!
Here's hoping BOB will need a good wash down ... inside and out :D
Herby
MICHAELG
30-01-2006, 09:00 AM
Hi All
Im actually going to be at 1770 from 23rd of Feb to 12th march so i may see a few of you around for 1-2 days anyway at the start.
Im camping in my usual spot in 1770 camping grounds. I may be able to give some info on the fishing- prawning- crabbing scene
shame it was not a week earlier :'(
michael
NEWBY
30-01-2006, 11:06 AM
OK, so Roz has put her hand up to have her deck invaded by the hordes.ait
Usual stunt, people, if you eat prior to turning up, that's ok, but she has a big bbq on the deck should you wish to cook ya steaks ( for those of you who don't catch fish................shite ! that sounds like a challenge ;) ;D 8-)there ).
As one suspected, the response is limited to the hardy few that will enjoy returning to fishing paradise. And, as such, I will avail those people of information so that they may fill said eskies with brightly coloured fish, as did Team Rebait, last time. Skill, persistance and luck, being on their side, of course :P
Well, Herby, me thinks I must get BoB's floor covered in scales and such with a good session on bottom dwelling, hard fighting, yummy tasting, multi coloured, photo-worthy piscatorial predators.............. :o ::) You in ?
There has, from reports, been good rain at Agnes / 1770 of late, which should flow onto rewarding trips in the estuary system for prawns and B & B fish species.
Newby, you had better have good supply of that chilli Squid thingie ya made last time, as I only managed a small portion. Worthy of another session, I reckon. ;)
Any last minute takers, although it is a few weeks away ?
As usual Roz, you are a legend and a saint. Always sticking your hand up to let us invade you.
Phil, I will be happy to make a brew of thai chilli sauce and you can cook anything in it. Craba are sensational in it so are mussles.
I will definately have a show at where I am staying. so put me down for a night. Don't know if i have the trouble and strife or the tin lids with me this time as it is not schoool holidays.
Even better news, the good ship "Carnelpya" get's the full Alpine DVD system installed this week so you will hear me coming from a mile away. 2,600 watts of dynamic sound. 4 sub woffers and 8 x 3way deck speakers. Reminds me of "kelly's Heros"
If I cant catch fish I will deaffen the buggers.
Phil, If ya stuck for a deck to fish off, I am sure I can accomodate you in return for "SPOT X " bearings ;)
Thats all for now, see ya all at Agnes.
Tony and Sandi, look out for that single barrell. It looks like a long hard week approaching. ;D
NEWBY
Ok Newby!!
Will do a chilli mud crab as well as a newby/thai chilli/mudcrab yummmmo
DALEPRICE
30-01-2006, 08:40 PM
so much chilli..............so little time ;D
Needmorerum
30-01-2006, 09:19 PM
Hi All
Im actually going to be at 1770 from 23rd of Feb to 12th march so i may see a few of you around for 1-2 days anyway at the start.
Im camping in my usual spot in 1770 camping grounds. I may be able to give some info on the fishing- prawning- crabbing scene
shame it was not a week earlier :'(
michael
Michael, our last of two weeks, is the first of yours. Will have to catch up while we are there. Have our own mini M&G, probably be able to talk Tony and Sandy into a drink or two as well I would think.
Corry
MICHAELG
31-01-2006, 07:58 AM
Corry
sounds good. You in a house or camping? I'm sure they'll want a drink.
Michael
31-01-2006, 04:19 PM
Good news Newby, and I may just take you up on that offer.
But can I bring my own music ? You do like " Music to Klogg to " ? ::) ;) ;D
A Thai/ Chilli / crab/ squid/ thingie night sounds....................like trouble the next day ! :-[
Gettin closer folks.
cheers Phill
What happens if I can't get any muddies!!!!!! Go and build myself a big cement bunker I suppose. :-[
NEWBY
02-02-2006, 01:02 PM
What happens if I can't get any muddies!!!!!! Go and build myself a big cement bunker I suppose. :-[
I would offer to get some before the trip and bring em down but they all taste like bloody diesel oil out of gladstone. Never mind, as Clint Eastwood said in Heartbreak Ridge, "improvise, overcome, adapt" I am sure I will be able to get my mits on some for a feed of chilli.
PHIL? What's wrong with newby music? Great mix from the 60's, 70's 80's 90's and early 21st century. And YES, day after chilli day is VERY VERY dangerous. But, worth it.lol
NEWBY
02-02-2006, 01:18 PM
Here's a thought too. Tony, can I get a feed of Sand Crabs down your way? If so they are absolutely perfect for newby's famous thai chilli sauce.
Tony has said the crab thief has gone quiet since xmas, hoping that is true. Would be a very brave person indeed to get between me and my muddies.
Never fear!!!
Roz
thedeckie
03-02-2006, 07:06 AM
Yes Roz,would have to agree....very brave!!
Sic em Rex!!!
Hey Paul,
Will have to fess up to the nick name 'rozweiler' if I get hold of the crab thief.
agnes_jack
03-02-2006, 01:54 PM
Rozwieller!!!! LOL........ ;D ;D ;D
Gotta admit, I won't be getting in between you and your mud crabs!!! ;D ;D ;D
Josh and I sat up the creek till the wee hours last night, didn't see another boat or light anywhere!! >:( We will be spending quite a bit of time up the creek in the next few months, If we spot the thief we will give you his address....... ;D ;D ;D
Newby
We are looking forward to the single barrel mate, I will be getting one organised myself ;) Very hard to get a feed of sandies mate, sometimes we get a few in winter but not often.
See ya there!!
Regards, Tony
PS.......
Corry and Michael
Sounds like we may have to have a pre-M&G....M&G!!!!!!
03-02-2006, 03:17 PM
Hi Tony,
Feed Roz a few VB's and then suggest to her that you all go up the creek and have a look. :-/
Then you'll see the rozweiler bite !! >:(
Shotties all round! >:(
Needmorerum
06-02-2006, 09:38 PM
Michael, we're staying at a house 'Beechcombers' on Grahame Colyer Drive, just behind Tony's shop. We get down there on the 18th and return on Sunday 5th. I'll PM you my mobile number.
Tony, this is the same house as last time, we'll have to do something one night, may even talk you into coming out for a fish sometime.
Corry
agnes_jack
07-02-2006, 10:35 AM
Sounds good Corry!!
About time we had an offshore fish together!!!
May also be time to up-grade the size of your jack ;) ;) ;)
See ya then....Regards, Tony
Needmorerum
07-02-2006, 09:36 PM
;D ;DNothing wrong with your memory is there. We have to put it on the 'Must Catch' list. Along with most other species too I guess.
Corry
09-02-2006, 04:16 PM
Update on fishing etc
Yes, there are Jacks about ! apparently........... :-X
The wind has been pretty consistent and kept most from heading out, but my theory is that it'll all blow itself out by the time the M & G comes about.
### loads of rain Wednesday night at Agnes. Good to wash those Muddies down closer to the mouth ? maybe ?/
Maybe that'll bring some prawns out as well.
Not long now, ferets.
DALEPRICE
10-02-2006, 07:01 PM
well, looks like i am gonna sit this weekend out
in preperation for 1770 [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
may even have a crack at warming up for the
drinking session, see what kind of damage i can
cause myself [smiley=wreck.gif]
Good news!!!
Mud crab thief stayed away!!!
Dale & Newby,
This is for you.
Actually it was my dinner a few nights ago. Sad ey!
Only got one afternoon out in the boat, due to the weather, but made the best of it. Will do a report over the next day or so.
If the spotties do the same again next month, bring plenty of slugs as they were every where, but only small.....still heaps of fun.
Roz
18-02-2006, 06:52 PM
That's some nice looking Chilli Crab, Roz, and that muddy has big arms !!! :o
Not too long to go now.
Reports are varied from Agnes. Some people just can't stay away from the place ;)
OK, so here is a sneak preview :-
This was from a quickie to a little place some 10 odd k's offshore
18-02-2006, 06:53 PM
OH, and apparently the Jacks are about....sssssssshhhhhhhh !!!
18-02-2006, 06:54 PM
And Barra ?
DALEPRICE
18-02-2006, 08:43 PM
phill you sneaky bugga ;D ;D
looks like a nice warm up session you had 8-)
not to far away at all.......
roz, that is the mud crab dish to end all, mmmmmmmmm.
cheers dale
thedeckie
20-02-2006, 09:07 AM
Hi Roz,
Great look'n feed you have got there.I could just taste it,see youv'e got the brew to accompany those crabs.
Still trying down here to put a feed of crabs together,looking forward to getting back up there and gett'n a few of them myself.
Good to here the crab thief stayed away........maybe that thief has gotten wind of your reputation!!!!!!
And so he should Paul!!!!! You can just imagine me on a bad day!
also have two new futons for you to try out, and put one of the others out on the deck with a mozzie net over the top. Not bad to pass out on.
I will be thinking of you when we are tucking into chilli crab.... in fact it will be rather quiet without you being there :'(
Always next time.
20-02-2006, 05:02 PM
dont like the tone of this thread and think the mods should delete it
;D ;D ;D ;D
:'(
Blaze, Blaze, BLAZE!!!
You know you would be the number one star guest if you turned up again!
And I will have at least two VB's every night just in your honour
21-02-2006, 04:22 PM
Hi Blaze,
I think Roz's enjoying this! Putting up photos of chilli mud crab and telling guys what they'll be missing out on. :( looks mouth watering enough and that's just the pics! :P
Shouldn't be allowed. :'(
Hey guys.. slightly offtopic but I will be heading up to 1770 this weekend for a week, just wondering roughly how long it takes to drive from Brisbane?
Az
Aaron,
It takes around 6 hours, give or take.
R
longtail
22-02-2006, 07:10 PM
hey TOL congrats on 500 mate
jason
ps- one of these days roz , i am coming up there for a week :D god only knows when that will be tho . hoping to get up there around oct if your still doing a M&G around that time.
22-02-2006, 07:51 PM
Hi Roz
going to try for another one later in the year
Blaze, I don't see why not...is a bear catholic, does a pope live in the woods!!!!
Jason,
I will believe it when I see it!!!!lol.
But there may well be a call to the faithfull in October.
Roz
Was chatting to Phill over the phone tonight, and I came up with the idea of perhaps having an annual Agnes/1770 M&G.............same time every year, that way, we would all be better organized with our holidays etc.
I am thinking October, as the last one was great back then, we couldn't have asked for better weather.
It may just change by a few weeks to coincide with the moon phases perhaps.
Please put forward your ideas.
Roz
24-02-2006, 03:21 PM
Yes Roz, great idea.
Having an Annual M & G will certainly allow people to do some advance planning in regard to holidays and time off etc. The weather etc we had last October were just about perfect and Tony ( Agnes Bait & Tackle ) says that is his prefered month.
I will always be up for a 1770 trip, the place is just too big to completely explore in one lifetime.
I'll check out the moon phases and reef fish closure times for October, Roz and get back to you. Think we can safely post up dates after the next M & G there in March. I am sure Team ReBait will be up for that one.
Speaking of which, won't be too long before we head up there, and by your reports Roz, the mackerel are about. Bring it on I say !
agnes_jack
24-02-2006, 04:14 PM
Yeah Phil!!
October is the go ;)
I have been hearing good reports on the jacks, and some great reports on the grunter over the last few days. It looks as though the weather will restrict us to the estuary's and if all are willing, maybe an Awoonga trip may help to fill in a day or so (Trev ::) )
The prawns are supposedly about, so a feed of those tasty little morsels may well be possible, (may have to bring out the smoker for them! Tony's honey garlic smoked prawns) Look out Roz, I may have a challenge for your "Yummo, chillie mud crab!!! ;D ;D ;D
I have been on holidays, and nowhere near a computer for the last 2 weeks, so sorry if I missed sending replies to anyone.
So Phil, who and how many are actually coming...So far???????
Regards, Tony
PS>>>>Newby... I have recalled some past favors of late and have a bottle of wild turkey, and a few bottles of Jd in stock ready to go, just got to pick up the single barrel ;) ;) ;)
searaider
24-02-2006, 06:32 PM
Hi Guys ,
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm ,
Aaoonga ?
I was already thinking that a trip up there might be an option if the weather wont let us head offshore .
Is it a viable option to try & fish Aaoonga in a 6 meter glass boat [smiley=undecided.gif]
My deckie has a 3.9 meter tinnie , we just may have to bring it up as well [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Searaider 2
28-02-2006, 09:16 PM
Update of current weather.
Reports are that it has been raining in Agnes for a few days and will continue for a while.
A report last week, has Spanish Macks still hunting the grounds around Bustard Head. And a Bull Shark attack in Round Hill inlet. Yes, a fishos motor was attacked ! Tony may have more info on this one.
Apparently, it is not uncommon for these critters to venture up the estuary.
Eurimbulia Creek has been producing small Grunter, Trevally, Queenfish and Dart, and the baitfish there are still in good numbers.
not long now.
NEWBY
01-03-2006, 06:41 AM
I am sorry to say that I am OUT of this meet and greet :(. Something has come up that is of major importance. Ladies and gentlemen, may I introduce you to the good ship "Nellie K" (see below) This is newby's latest aquisition and I am flying up to Cooktown to pick her up in 2 weeks. This omits me from the Agnes M&G this time but be assured that I am at the next one with the new toy. I will be posting some pics of my trip home for you all to see. 1 week, 1500klm's of pristine waters, around 4000 litres of diesel, 3 blokes and some of the greatest fishing waters in the world. It will be a struggle BUT, someone has to do it eh? ;D Sorry to let you down guy's but I am sure nobody will begrudge me this trip? :-[ Phil, there is a berth on the nellie at the next one for you. Tony and Sandy, I will be down at easter for 10 days so I will catch up with you for a few single barrells then.
01-03-2006, 05:59 PM
Oh my goodness !!! :-?
What is that?
01-03-2006, 07:09 PM
NO worries NEWBY. and just make things better :-
Issued today is :-
Capricornia Waters, St Lawrence to Burnett Heads:
A strong wind warning is current. A gale warning has been issued south of Town of 1770.
Wednesday until midnight: SE winds 20/25 knots increasing to 25/33 knots during the day. Seas 2.5 to 3 metres. Showers, possible thunderstorms.
Thursday: SE/E winds increasing to 34/40 knots south of Town of 1770 during the morning. SE winds 25/33 knots elsewhere. Seas to 3.5 metres on a 3 to 4 metre SE swell. Rain areas.
Friday: S/SE winds 25/33 knots.
Saturday: S/SE winds 20/25 knots, gradually easing during the day.
Can't be sure but she looks like a Bertram, and around 35ft ? How close am I ?
NEWBY
02-03-2006, 09:05 AM
You are bang on Phil. 35' Bertram it is. Twin volvos tmd60's, game chair, ally poles, eutectic freezers, hf and vhf with 6.5db areal hooked to 1m x 1m earth plate etc etc etc. 1250ltrs fuel, 400 water. its a wee rippa. I am setting sail from cooktown on 19th march for cairns. I have a meeting to attend there and then its off to gladstone on sunday 26th march with my head mechanic from work and a mad keen fisher mate of mine. This will truly be the trip of a lifetime. :) I will of course be taking plenty of pics and video. I hear there are white pointers in the whitsundays. (think about that one [smiley=devil.gif]) I will for sure and certain get plenty of pics and vid of those. Sorry to miss the M&G though. I had a ball at the last one.
Tony, Sandy....I would love you guys to be my guest on the good ship "nelli k" when I am down at easter. Then we can get into the single barrel. ;)
Hope all of you have a great time.
View of the fly bridge below...
Newby,
Looks amazing, and hope I get to see it soon.
All the best with the new boat!!
Roz
DALEPRICE
02-03-2006, 03:46 PM
nice boat newby,
whats the phone for???
ring downstairs to
get them to send some pizz up ;D ;D
02-03-2006, 04:16 PM
For the hardy few that are attending, the following info will assist, I hope !
Date/ Day High Tide Low Tide High Tide Low Tide
Wednesday 8th 4.06am 11.17am 5.01pm 11.07pm
Thursday 9th 5.22am 12.14pm 6.04pm 0.14am
Friday 10th 6.14am 12.52pm 6.47pm 0.58am 11th
Saturday 11th 6.55am 1.29pm 7.22pm 1.33am 12th
Sunday 12th 7.29am 1.59pm 7.54pm 2.04am 13th
Monday 13th 7.59am 2.26pm 8.21pm 2.31am 14th
Tuesday 14th 8.25am 2.52pm 8.46pm 2.58am 15th
Wednesday 15th 8.52am 3.17pm 9.11pm 3.26am 16th
Thursday 16th 9.20am 3.42pm 9.39pm 3.55am 17th
Friday 17th 9.44am 4.07pm 10.07pm 4.25am 18th
Saturday 18th 10.10am 4.29pm 10.36pm
Full moon is on Wednesday. Prime offshore evening fishtime !
Sunrise Sunset Moonset Moonrise
5.55am 6.17pm 2.01pm
5.55am 6.17pm .31am 2.52pm
5.55am 6.16pm 1.27am 3.37pm
5.55am 6.15pm 2.23am 4.16pm
5.56am 6.14pm 3.18am 4.51pm
5.56am 6.13pm 4.11am 5.23pm
5.56am 6.12pm 5.02am 5.53pm
5.57am 6.11pm 5.52am 6.22pm
5.57am 6.10pm 6.42am 6.50pm
5.58am 6.09pm 7.33am 7.20pm
5.58am 6.09pm 8.25am 7.53pm
You couldn't have picked a better seaboat Newby. I used to run around in a 28fter some years ago, but she had dirty old Mercruisers pushing her !
searaider
02-03-2006, 05:47 PM
Geday NEWBY ,
What a Beast . [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
4000 ltrs of Fuel :o :o :o :o
Any idea on what her top speed will be ?
Are you going to transfer the Sound system & DVD player of the Allison , or just install BIGGER & BETTER ones ;D ;D ;D
Hope to catch you at the next M & G .
Searaider 2
DALEPRICE
02-03-2006, 06:15 PM
plan to be out on wednesday night................
lets hope the weather allows.......................
Hey Dale,
I plan to be up in Agnes on Wednesday night, but if it doesn't stop raining down here, I won't be going anywhere :'(.
Just in case, I bought an extra bottle of sweet chilli sauce.
See ya Saturday week all going well.
snappa
03-03-2006, 08:08 PM
phill
the pba will be at 1770 6th oct to14th oct
maybe organise a "fish off"
:D
03-03-2006, 08:40 PM
They do their homework well, Pete.
They are the dates planned for us.
I will post details after the March M & G.
A fishoff ? mmmmm and maybe a cookoff ? ::)
I believe this could be a biggie !
searaider
04-03-2006, 08:35 AM
Hi Guys ,
Lucky Phil / Snappa ,
M & G in October 2006
Although you have probably already taken this into account , how do the dates of Friday the 6th to Sat 14th of October go with the Coral Ceef Fish Closures ?
I imagin it will be OK , the 6th to 14th is based around the FULL moon on 7th October , when the closures last year were on the NEW Moon .
6 days before & 2 days after ?
I checked it out on the DPI WEb Site & guess what it hasnt been updated from last year >:(
Coral reef fin fish
Three, nine-day periods have been implemented as closed seasons to the taking of all coral reef fish in October, November and December each year around the new moon period. The closures are designed to protect spawning aggregations of most coral reef fish species.
For 2005 the closures for waters east of Cape York between 10°41’ south (near Cape York) and 24°50' south will be:
27 September to 5 October;
27 October to 4 November; and
25 November to 3 December.
Searaider 2
NEWBY
04-03-2006, 09:33 AM
Newby,
Looks amazing, and hope I get to see it soon.
All the best with the new boat!!
Roz
You will DEFINATELY get an invite Roz, It has a full galley for you to cook your chilli crab.... ;D
NEWBY
04-03-2006, 09:35 AM
nice boat newby,
whats the phone for???
ring downstairs to
get them to send some pizz up ;D ;D
You got it Dale. :)
Actually, I am not sure what it's for but I think you are on the right track. i can just see it now, Newby like king dick on the fly bridge picking up the phone "Babe, can ya pour me a jacks?" Like bloody room service.... ;D
NEWBY
04-03-2006, 09:44 AM
Geday NEWBY ,
What a Beast . [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
4000 ltrs of Fuel :o :o :o :o
Any idea on what her top speed will be ?
Are you going to transfer the Sound system & DVD player of the Allison , or just install BIGGER & BETTER ones ;D ;D ;D
Hope to catch you at the next M & G .
Searaider 2
1260 ltr fuel Pete. 26 kn top speed. 19kn cruising. around 70ltr an hour or 4 litres per knautical mile. :(
The good ship carnelpya will be keeping her sound system too. I am going ape on this boat. Plazma screen, dvd player and 14 x 3 way speakers with 4 subs but all 240v stuff. She has a big solar panel + 6.5kve genset + 240v alternators. Now we can party. ;D
Possibly going to put a big mother of an inverter in her too.
Still arguing with myself about taking "nellie k" out of Neptunes register and re-naming her "Stillcarnelpya"
P.S. If anyone would want to show a bit of interest in the 21 alison with all its bits, pm me and I will send pics etc with inventory and price. Look around th 45k mark. (P.S. I can arrange finance for you if you need it)
agnes_jack
04-03-2006, 11:00 AM
Newby
Bloody awsome mate!!!!
Thats not a bad platform to drink single barrel jacks on!!!
Will take you up on your kind offer for sure. Hope you have a good trip down, and look forward to seeing you at easter.
Regards, Tony and Sandi
ey tony and sandy
was great to meet you both while we were up there, shame the weather didn't play the game and that we didn't get out for that jack fish
looks like i went a week too early, we did manage to get out with pete from sportsfish on sat and sunday and looks as though its 10-15knots through till thursday ... bugger me!
we still came back with a couple of eskys full
picked up a few spaniards, some nice 5-6kg trout, some good sized red jew, yellowtail kingies and a mixed bag of other reefies. I will post a report with a few pics from our time up there once I get the film developed
I figure all this fishing in the bad weather has got to bring me better fishing karma in the coming months
hope you guys get lucky with the weather, i'll be sure to be up for the next meet with the new boat
Lucky Phil - sorry I didn't get a chance to meet up with you, i dropped my phone in the $#@$% water at the start of the week and lost my numbers
Newby,
I will be my pleasure to have the honour of cooking chilli crab in your new boat.
Went out to the wreck today for a few hours, got the usual trevally but a nice nannygai put some colour into the fish box.
agnes_jack
10-03-2006, 07:33 AM
Good to meet ya AZ!!
You probably picked the worst week possible mate, BUT there is always next time!!!!
Regards, Tony and Sandi
farticus
13-03-2006, 01:46 PM
nice to meet you tony it was windy wasnt it ;D
NEWBY
15-03-2006, 10:13 AM
phill
the pba will be at 1770 6th oct to14th oct
maybe organise a "fish off"
:D
This looks like a good idea Phil. I will have the "Nelli K" well and truly fishing great by then. If you start the organisation now, maybe more will be able to get there although we know what happens. Ya organise it then as it gets closer, 1/2 of us have something come up. But, it would be good to have a fish off with the PBA. Maybe a little side bet with them? Who knows.
The weather has been crap :'(
Dale and Bill got out yesterday & a little birdy told me they got some very nice red coloured fish.
I am hoping they may have gone out again this morning, sadly I have been packing up my house or I would have been able to go with them :'(
There should also be some interesting reports posted on this M&G, with cruiser gear box issues (shut up Brian), pranged nissans....the list is long.
We still enjoyed ourselves!!!!
bigbrian47
17-03-2006, 09:40 PM
TRUST ME ROZ (i think that's what judas said to jesus)
my lips are sealed,
geeez nissans have tough drive trains ;D ;D
cheers brian
fullscale
18-03-2006, 02:35 PM
yes we did roz as for the cruiser issues i hope you got it sorted once again im very sorry :'( :(, it was nice to meet every one up there hada great time hope to see all of you again.
cheers troy
agnes_jack
19-03-2006, 12:23 PM
Good to meet ya Troy
I look forward to your next visit!!
Regards, Tony
bigbrian47
19-03-2006, 01:22 PM
g,day tony was good to catch up with you and sandy
i dropped around to say goodbye sandy was holding the fort said you were home waiting for josh
to go fishing
it would be hard to have that much bad luck again & windy to boot
still a lot of fun
cheers brian
19-03-2006, 09:40 PM
Reports regarding this trip should be up and running in the next couple of days.
Just wondering if the truth will get in the way of a good story ::)
Cheers Phill ( watch out for that tree ! 8-) 8-) :-[ )