View Full Version : What to look at - Offshore Rig
Corry
26-12-2022, 11:38 AM
Well, the minister for finance has given the go ahead for a new offshore rig. Keeping the two little ones we got for remote Barra trips and estuary fishing/crabbing, but want to start researching offshore rigs.
99% of it's fishing will be from our house in Cairns and our beach house in Seaforth, QLD, so it will need to be trailable, and towing with a 79 Cruiser, so gotta keep under the 3.5t mark, might even see Weipa, Karumba etc.
Preference is plate alloy, but could be swayed to a glass boat, but it brings back horrible memories of launching on my own when I used to have a 575 Cruise Craft :'(, albeit most ramps now have jetty's.
What I reckon will do my head in is wait times, we'd love to have something set up by Mid to Q3 next year, which means we may have to look at second hand, but it'd have to be near new, and new condition. There has been some come up lately that has raised an eyebrow, so second hand isn't unthinkable.
Configuration would be Centre Cab, or walk around cabin, want to be able to have someone fish from up front without being unstable or gripping on with the toes :). Have looked at some Centre Consoles, there was one that had hinged out sides from the console that went from the front of the console to the gunnels, but can't remember which one that was for the life of me. If C/Console, would need to have some form of storage area similar to the Extreme CC with the lift up hatch in the front of the console, missus really wants a toilet in this one if we're spending multiple nights out on it.
What I'd love to hear is what brand is your pick of the bunch, and what options would you want?
I'm not a brand fanatic, as long as it suits the purpose and is built well. Seen a lot of Yellowfins on the water around Cairns, bit dubious, my thoughts are they're just another 'cheap' build from Telwater, but the guys from True North Adventures seem to put one through the ringer at times... thoughts?
Electronics is another thing, want to deck it out as good as we can. For sh!ts and giggles watch the whotube show on the 8m Surtees "Holy Ship" from Fishing and Adventure TV, this thing would be awesome for multiple nights at the reef, but with starting $$ around the $350k mark it's a bit out of reach, we're looking at around the $250k mark tops.
OK, help me research this, tell me your thoughts 8-)
GeoffP
27-12-2022, 06:14 AM
It's a long way down to Canberra, but I have one on order at Cutting Edge Marine.
Went the 720CC with some customisations. I am hoping to have it on the water sometime in March.
The electronic package is great, Helm Master EX inclusion was a huge bonus for me. I added radar, casting cages on the transom, and a few other bits.
1770 in November is looking good.
Geoff.
27-12-2022, 06:23 AM
The Yellowfin and Stacer Ocean Ranger are not your average Telwater pressed boat, they are mass built, but to a much higher standard, and priced much lower than low volume custom builds. It's near impossible to recommend a boat, what you like, someone else doesn't, it's just a personal journey, research after deciding what configuration you actually want, no use looking at centre consoles if you need sleeping facilities or protection from the elements, it's never ending, nothing is perfect, and buying used means you're buying someone else's "dream"
Corry
27-12-2022, 08:00 AM
Ya not wrong Noelm, the options out there are endless, I guess the reason I'm asking the brains trust here is for the exact response that GeoffP has given. Configuration is Centre Cab or Centre Console, this would depend on builder as some Centre Consoles are almost as big as a Centre Cab, don't need sleeping facilities, have looked at doing the Bertram style, but fishing room is really limited for size of boat, and we do need to be able to tow it.
Geoff, hadn't heard of Cutting Edge before. Just happens we're heading to Canberra this weekend for Summernats, down there for two weeks so I'll drop in and say gidday to them in there. Being Canberra isn't a real issue, our show car is being built in Nowra so we travel down there a bit.
I also love the idea of the casting cages around the transom, this will definitely be an addition to whatever we end up with, not sure about the radar and what I'd use that for, and I'll look up the Helm Master EX, it sounds like a game changer from what I've read so far. Thanks for your reply.
baitable
27-12-2022, 08:03 AM
Have to be a ton of second hand (new) boats hitting the market soon as money tightens up. I would be checking marketplace and the other regular sites for new/second handlers coming through. Covid tax should be coming off heat as well.
Corry
27-12-2022, 08:09 AM
Have to be a ton of second hand (new) boats hitting the market soon as money tightens up. I would be checking marketplace and the other regular sites for new/second handlers coming through. Covid tax should be coming off heat as well.
Ya not wrong, there's quite a few coming up reasonably priced at the moment. A lot that are around the year old mark, with only 50 hours on them, surprised me when I started looking. Makes me wonder why/how people bought them in the first place.
Brettoh
27-12-2022, 12:33 PM
I will probably cop some flack but why not consider one of the Chinese built boats. It seems they are getting better and better as time goes on. I know of someone who bought a 9mtr that looks like a stabi and he set that up for well under $250k.
27-12-2022, 12:52 PM
The Chinese built boats are very hit and miss, some are good, some are just scrap metal welded together by non welders.
gunna
27-12-2022, 01:47 PM
Have you looked at the Vindicator range?
Corry
28-12-2022, 07:51 AM
I will probably cop some flack but why not consider one of the Chinese built boats. It seems they are getting better and better as time goes on. I know of someone who bought a 9mtr that looks like a stabi and he set that up for well under $250k.
Did have a look, but with so many options out there, preference is to stick with someone who is already reputable. I have seen some around the boat ramps here in Cairns, but there's always that 'eeeek' factor when committing so much $$.
Have you looked at the Vindicator range?
Yeah, they are definitely on the list, I also like their trailers. Although they are a Yamaha dealer only and I'd prefer a ProXS Merc, but I'm sure something could be done there.
first you need to ask youself what sort of fishing you mostly do?
I live in cairns and i firmly believe buying a boat for the fishing you like and the area you fish.
If its offshore work your after i highly highly recommend a glass boat. plate boats arent designed to go fast in the rough and leave the water. they ride ok but are slow
Plate boats just cannot perform aswell offshore if thats the majority of your fishing. but if you want to tow it alng dirt to cape york and launch in shit spots then plate is a good option
cairns region doesnt have epic tides and huge 400km run days up here. so I believe your better off with a more nimble/faster boat to maximise your fishing options
do you actually want to stay over night and sleep in a cab?
I think cabin boats are horribly overated in north QLD.
Firstly you dont need to do as many over nighters as the reef isnt far offshore.
secondly trying to navigate though/around reefs and flats fish is a pain in the ass with a cabin.
Thirdly its hot as hell in a cab and its mostly waisted space.
eg. I used to fish out of mackay alot and used kevlacats/noosacats due to the extremely long runs and the necessity for overnight when running 150km offshore.
I moved to cairns and sold the NC and bought a 6m hooker as a test boat to see how i liked it.
I found i fished alot more in the hooker than my 23f cat.
easy to tow, cheap on fuel, float it over reef flats and my kids preferred the CC for sand cay/island trips.
I sold the 6m hooker is its a shit boat to bottom fish from.
I have since bought a 680 cyclone. thing is phenomenal for north qld.
cruise at 75-90km/h to the reef so you get heaps more afternoon/morning trips.
economical and easy to use solo.
Have you looked at 650hooker? or the 675 walkaround?
bonito 660 would be ok but not crazy economical..
great option is Angler boats in bundy. great mould, great price and customize the boat to however you like. (fuel tank size and HP rating)
some of the smaller 560 bonito.6m carbin are fine to use.
for the money cootacraft is good value if you truely want a cabin boat. designed to go fast and ride well.
majority of the bigger names brand boats are just under powered and ride crap for offshore.
eg 360 cruisecraft rated to only 200hp makes the boat crap IMO.
Cobbo1
02-01-2023, 11:39 AM
Mate get in touch with any plate boat builders you’d like to have build a boat for you and ask them if they are aware of any being sold by previous customers, it happens quite often and my mate dodged a lengthy build time with this, ending up with very close to what he was after.
02-01-2023, 12:06 PM
Did have a look, but with so many options out there, preference is to stick with someone who is already reputable. I have seen some around the boat ramps here in Cairns, but there's always that 'eeeek' factor when committing so much $$.
Yeah, they are definitely on the list, I also like their trailers. Although they are a Yamaha dealer only and I'd prefer a ProXS Merc, but I'm sure something could be done there.
Why do you prefer the ProXS?
ranmar850
03-01-2023, 08:23 AM
ProXS can be a really good thing--for example, the 200ProXs is the V8, downrated ( but actually around 226hp) , masses of torque, relatively low revving. So if you have a 200hp rated transom, it's a no-brainer. It'll kill the 200hp v6 version. Seeing a Reefrunner repowered with one and sea trialling at 46 knots sold me. 200hp Yamaha is 42 knots on the same hull.
As with boats outboards are horses for courses.
200yammi is a 4cyl 2.7l engine.
200 v8 merc is a 4.6l. and nearly $10k more.
If you're buying the v8 200 you'd be mad not to re-rate your boat and get the 300hp merc.
Ive been doing some signifcant research and I have my doubts on the fuel economy of the new v8 merc v suzuki and honda v6 engines
From every single report ive read online the honda and suzuki get at least 15-20% better economy than the merc (and yamaha btw) in the 200-300hp range on the exact same hull at cruise speeds.
(although id suggest 200v8 merc would likely get same or better economy on a heavy boat v 200hp yamaha.)
granted merc is by far the fastest engine if your after speed. but its not the most economical from what i can tell
snatchy
03-01-2023, 01:26 PM
[/QUOTE]Ive been doing some signifcant research and I have my doubts on the fuel economy of the new v8 merc v suzuki and honda v6 engines
From every single report ive read online the honda and suzuki get at least 15-20% better economy than the merc (and yamaha btw) in the 200-300hp range on the exact same hull at cruise speeds.
granted merc is by far the fastest engine if your after speed. but its not the most economical from what i can tell[/QUOTE]
I'm in the market for a v6 soon too and have been doing online and word of mouth research for a year. I have a big spreadsheet going with every snippet I find. Merc new v6 and v8 and Honda seem to be more efficient than suzuki and yam v6s. But there isn't a lot in it. Got to set it up right hole and test props to get the small efficiency gains.
Hondas dropped the O2 sensor in 2018 v6 update and might have slightly less efficiency than earlier model.
Suz 4.0V6 250 and 300 AP have lean burn. Suz 225 and 250 3.6V6 TX do not.
I'm surprised what you wrote about Merc as its the opposite of what I have seen
snatchy
03-01-2023, 01:50 PM
Another thing I noticed looking at v6s was the Mercs seemed to have a wider efficiency range than the others. For example One hull had peak efficiency best with the Suzuki, while same hull with a Merc had better efficiency at every other rpm point.
So which one is better? Depends on what you consider more important.
Got to take all the manufacturer supplied tests with a handful of salt anyway.
Don't have my spreadsheet handy to discuss in more detail but I'm unsure what my boat will end up with. All 4 brands are in the mix. Very dependant on dealer, price and availability.
Its actaully very very difficult to find real world comparison of new merc v other brands. especially hondas or suzuki's.
I know Honda's O2 change dropped its economy a bit.
I have seem some direct comparisons for merc v yamaha, but i know the big block Yamaha's are horrible on fuel so its not a fair comparison.
Its almost as if merc know their engines are good, but arent that economical compared to some jap motors, hence there is zero comparison beside speed.
Seems majority of people have absolutely no clue to their outboard economy so it makes it difficult to get real world results.
even though we have had nmea2000 for 15 years 9 out of 10 people haven't the faintest idea on boat fuel burn.
most people say " i use half a tank to run to the reef and back" which is annoying as hell.
so its almost impossible to get exact details.
Heres one example i could find.
cruise craft 685 300yammy best fuel 1.1km at 50km/h
exact same boat with 250 honda 1.5km/l at 50km/h
The only american comparisons i can find are in go fast bass boats.
merc 300's very very rarely get above 4mpg.
Same boats with suzuki 250/300's are getting high 4's mpg.
Any owners out there with a 250/300 v8 merc who know their fuel burn?
id love to be proven wrong as im considering buying a merc 300
GeoffP
03-01-2023, 07:40 PM
If it is all about the fuel economy have a look at sharrow props. Some crazy fuel savings to be had with them.
Me, I would be too scared of someone knocking it off the motor and losing the 4K or so they cost.
03-01-2023, 09:36 PM
Flex,
I’d be interested to know if a quality centre console cat would have sparked your interest for fishing in NQ if there were any available?
Mopheus
04-01-2023, 12:18 AM
If it is all about the fuel economy have a look at sharrow props. Some crazy fuel savings to be had with them.
Me, I would be too scared of someone knocking it off the motor and losing the 4K or so they cost.
I reckon there's a fair bit of marketing wank or even straight out deception at play with Sharrows. For example, the latest Boat TEST review of a WorldCAT 325DC (youtube.com/watch?v=Urewt1I2FCQ to avoid embedded video] with twin F300s and standard Yamaha props + Sharrow stainless steel props recorded:
- Yamaha: 1.1mpg at 23.8mph cruise (4000rpm)
- Sharrow: 1.5mpg at 21.7mph cruise (3000rpm)
Looks impressive until you check reviews and see that SaltWater Sportsman tested a WorldCat 320DC (https://www.saltwatersportsman.com/boat-review-world-cat-320dc/) (exact same hull; near identical topsides) with twin F300s and 4 POB, returning 1.49mpg on standard props with 24.2mph cruise at 3500rpm. That's bang on WorldCat claims for the 325DC (https://worldcat.com/models/325dc/) with 2 POB, half a tank of fuel and no gear (1.5mpg at 24.2mph).
In short, there looks to be some funny business going on with the standard prop results in the Boat TEST review. Compare SaltWater Sportsman / WorldCat factory figures with the Boat TEST Sharrow figures and you have:
- Yamaha: 1.5mpg at 24.2mph cruise (3500rpm)
- Sharrow: 1.5mpg at 21.7mph cruise (3000rpm)
Serve me up the standard Yamaha props on those figures, thanks ;D
04-01-2023, 05:27 AM
Almost all advertising "blurb" is setup to attain the best result and should be taken with a grain of salt (in my opinion) almost all manufacturers get close to the same economy and stated HP. Miracle props might have some benefit, but as yet, except for advertising comparisons, they haven't set the world on fire. Mercury seem to be going the way of bigger capacity engines and have been trimming weight off them, which is a big positive.
Flex,
I’d be interested to know if a quality centre console cat would have sparked your interest for fishing in NQ if there were any available?
unfortunately no.
I wish there were some CC cat options but there isnt many at all, or none.
I think a 5.5-6m CC cat would be superb off north qld. needs to be big enough to house decent HP but small enough to tow easy.
As much as i hate to admit . Ive gone for a super high HP fast mono . actually surprised me how fast a mono can go across chop if it has adequate HP and strength. not as good as a cat but faster when its under 10 knots
Ive been test riding alot of boats and id say majority of the are under powered. Nearly every mono (and some cats) dont have enough HP to counter the "nose fall effect" when coming off a wave.
need a boat with enough power to maintain its flat running angle from wave to wave
2100KC centre console would be example of a great size for a cat CC.
baitable
04-01-2023, 06:20 PM
Join old school sharkcat page on fb. Think there is a stretched 560 sharkcat centre cab for sale. The 560 sharkcat would have to be one of the softest 18ft boats I’ve ever ridden in. Fuel about 1.3km/l amazing for chop.
Ive seen that boat, its nice for size and the layout is very nice.
Ive owned and rebuild a podded 560 sharkcat and ran it for some years all over qld.
They are a very stable boat and probably one of the easiest to drive cats out there.
I'll get some hate, but i dont highly rate them for ride as far as cats go.. they are safe but not amazing. they still run much better than any similar size mono but i think average for a cat.
big wide flat tunnel with skinny sponsons isnt the greatest cat design out there. the tunnel lacks any hydrdymaic lift and acts differently to most other cats with well designed tunnel
good platform to fish from though.
04-01-2023, 11:26 PM
unfortunately no.
I wish there were some CC cat options but there isnt many at all, or none.
I think a 5.5-6m CC cat would be superb off north qld. needs to be big enough to house decent HP but small enough to tow easy.
As much as i hate to admit . Ive gone for a super high HP fast mono . actually surprised me how fast a mono can go across chop if it has adequate HP and strength. not as good as a cat but faster when its under 10 knots
Ive been test riding alot of boats and id say majority of the are under powered. Nearly every mono (and some cats) dont have enough HP to counter the "nose fall effect" when coming off a wave.
need a boat with enough power to maintain its flat running angle from wave to wave
2100KC centre console would be example of a great size for a cat CC.
im wondering how mine would do up that way. Thinking of planning a trip up that way in may.
baitable
05-01-2023, 10:37 AM
Ive seen that boat, its nice for size and the layout is very nice.
Ive owned and rebuild a podded 560 sharkcat and ran it for some years all over qld.
They are a very stable boat and probably one of the easiest to drive cats out there.
I'll get some hate, but i dont highly rate them for ride as far as cats go.. they are safe but not amazing. they still run much better than any similar size mono but i think average for a cat.
big wide flat tunnel with skinny sponsons isnt the greatest cat design out there. the tunnel lacks any hydrdymaic lift and acts differently to most other cats with well designed tunnel
good platform to fish from though.
What’s ya pick of the cats then? The 5.2kc was a golden hull, the glacier bay (albeit 2270) was smooth but slow, I wasn’t a great fan of the sailfish ride. That leaves markham, coastal and power cat.
Ive fished out of that boat heaps of times :) mostly around stanage bay/yepoon which is the choppiest place in QLD by far. especially stanage bay with huge tides.
I nearly bought it few years ago off the previous owner before he advertised it,
Its an amazing rough water boat. you'd struggle to find a better rough water trailer boat on the market if you have the balls to drive it hard.:)
the lack of cabin make its run very flat and minimal nose dipping and diving(up and down motion over waves which washes speed off). so you can push it alot harder and faster than cabin versions.
Not to mention further back driving position makes for a easier ride.
05-01-2023, 11:26 AM
Not too sure I agree that the 5.2KC is/was a golden hull, it was OK, fitted a market well and was well made, but, that's were it ends, they were not bad by any means, but........
What’s ya pick of the cats then? The 5.2kc was a golden hull, the glacier bay (albeit 2270) was smooth but slow, I wasn’t a great fan of the sailfish ride. That leaves markham, coastal and power cat.
The problem with smaller cats is being able to float decent HP on them.
Ive owned a 5.2KC, 560SC, 2 x different sort of 23 noosacats, been in 6.2 KC CC that Lovely80 owns and a few 7m sharkcats and a few others inbetween.
5.2KC is ok boat but way to slow. It cant float the HP needed to go fast enough so i dont rate it as a decent offshore rig. even twin 90's its barely good enough for long offshore runs
560SC is too fat in the tunnel and ride about the same as a 5.2 but can float better HP at least.
23f noosacat is an amazing hull that works at all speeds. but its a big 23f boat and hard to trailer fully loaded.. but at least it can float enough HP to make it work, same as 7m sharkcats.
I found with both my 23 noosacats, even with ally trailer really hard to keep under 3.5t loaded.
on the water they were phenomenal though.
6.2 KC is a really good boat with the bigger pods as loaded it gets under 3.5t
Id like to see the 2100KC done as a CC with decent pods so it can run twin 130/140's. would be cheap to run offshore for its size, fast cruise, great ride , heaps of fishing room and towable by any 4x4 easily. its basically an extended 5.2 with good HP
6.2KC or a 2400 as a centre cabin/CC would be awesome rigs if built strong and light with decent pods to float HP. Anything under 3t loaded so you dont hesitate to tow it around the place and it'd be fast enough offshore.
Ive never been in a 6m leisurcat CC. they look to have decent specs,
powercat does a 2400 CC but costs a gazilion dollars and is a crappy 2 piece design.
the american cats i dont rate at all. semi-displacement and super heavy most of them
Other than that, not many decently build cats that you can throw decent HP on and keep under 3.5t loaded.
Id suggest thats why the 560 is so popular..
Dignity
05-01-2023, 05:10 PM
The problem with smaller cats is being able to float decent HP on them.
Ive owned a 5.2KC, 560SC, 2 x different sort of 23 noosacats, been in 6.2 KC CC that Lovely80 owns and a few 7m sharkcats and a few others inbetween.
5.2KC is ok boat but way to slow. It cant float the HP needed to go fast enough so i dont rate it as a decent offshore rig. even twin 90's its barely good enough for long offshore runs
560SC is too fat in the tunnel and ride about the same as a 5.2 but can float better HP at least.
23f noosacat is an amazing hull that works at all speeds. but its a big 23f boat and hard to trailer fully loaded.. but at least it can float enough HP to make it work, same as 7m sharkcats.
I found with both my 23 noosacats, even with ally trailer really hard to keep under 3.5t loaded.
on the water they were phenomenal though.
6.2 KC is a really good boat with the bigger pods as loaded it gets under 3.5t
Id like to see the 2100KC done as a CC with decent pods so it can run twin 130/140's. would be cheap to run offshore for its size, fast cruise, great ride , heaps of fishing room and towable by any 4x4 easily. its basically an extended 5.2 with good HP
6.2KC or a 2400 as a centre cabin/CC would be awesome rigs if built strong and light with decent pods to float HP. Anything under 3t loaded so you dont hesitate to tow it around the place and it'd be fast enough offshore.
Ive never been in a 6m leisurcat CC. they look to have decent specs,
powercat does a 2400 CC but costs a gazilion dollars and is a crappy 2 piece design.
the american cats i dont rate at all. semi-displacement and super heavy most of them
Other than that, not many decently build cats that you can throw decent HP on and keep under 3.5t loaded.
Id suggest thats why the 560 is so popular..
Have you tried Seatrek 590 cats, they are generally run with twin 115hp motors although if you are after speed you could throw bigger donks on. Mate had a Noosa Cat 31' and rarely had the need for speed, used to comfortably run offshore around 20 - 25 knots with reasonable economy. Not sure how fast you want to go. Unfortunately Al won't do a CC version of his Seatrek which I would certainly entertain.
Yeah i Spoke to Al about the posibility of a CC or walkaround version, as i think its an awesome size cat, well build.
I even offered to buy a bare hull so i could mod it myself into a CC but he wouldn't be in it.
As for speed. I think its significantly underrated for offshore work. The ability to go fast revolutionises your fishing from my experience. Its one of the reasons i sold my 5.2KC. 22 knot cruise was horrid.
22-25knots cruise is infuriating and limits your options i find. Might be ok if you only need to travel 20-30km out.
Most offshore runs in QLD are 60-120km each way depending on where you are, somtimes further.
Cruising at 45km/h is like pulling teeth and makes for a long day.
I used to travel at 66-75km/h on my Noosacat in anything under 12-13knot winds( which is just below the point of whitecaps) Any rougher and i just do go out as its a crap day.
Recently ive been fishing out of a mates 7m boat that can run 70-80km/h cruise speed through your average 10 knot wind forcast chop or under. And its game changing.
eg, in a glass out I can leave cooktown and be fishing Jewel reef in 1.5hours, as opposed to 3hour trip in your average boat.
if fish aren't on in a certain spot you don't hesitate to run that extra 20-30km further., or to a different reef/shelf. Or boost out 60km outside after work and be on your nanny spot in 45mins instead of hour and half.
Speed allows you to run further afield, more variety of spots in one day.
speed on a boat is like icecream. Once you have it you dont know how you lived without it:)
baitable
06-01-2023, 08:55 PM
Yeah i Spoke to Al about the posibility of a CC or walkaround version, as i think its an awesome size cat, well build.
I even offered to buy a bare hull so i could mod it myself into a CC but he wouldn't be in it.
As for speed. I think its significantly underrated for offshore work. The ability to go fast revolutionises your fishing from my experience. Its one of the reasons i sold my 5.2KC. 22 knot cruise was horrid.
22-25knots cruise is infuriating and limits your options i find. Might be ok if you only need to travel 20-30km out.
Most offshore runs in QLD are 60-120km each way depending on where you are, somtimes further.
Cruising at 45km/h is like pulling teeth and makes for a long day.
I used to travel at 66-75km/h on my Noosacat in anything under 12-13knot winds( which is just below the point of whitecaps) Any rougher and i just do go out as its a crap day.
Recently ive been fishing out of a mates 7m boat that can run 70-80km/h cruise speed through your average 10 knot wind forcast chop or under. And its game changing.
eg, in a glass out I can leave cooktown and be fishing Jewel reef in 1.5hours, as opposed to 3hour trip in your average boat.
if fish aren't on in a certain spot you don't hesitate to run that extra 20-30km further., or to a different reef/shelf. Or boost out 60km outside after work and be on your nanny spot in 45mins instead of hour and half.
Speed allows you to run further afield, more variety of spots in one day.
speed on a boat is like icecream. Once you have it you dont know how you lived without it:)
Sounds like you want a freeman from the states 🤣 with quad donks
chris69
06-01-2023, 10:19 PM
There was a guy that had a 90 2stroke on a 4.5 mt quintrex boat and he used to do full throttle everywhere in any condition he loved going fast in any weather in ,Moreton bay and Hervey Bay around the dams until the stress from a big motor begun to take its toll on the hull and transom.
For all the boat made not one boat dose the sea trails to test the stress load on the hull or transom with its maximum engine rating,so I’d be looking for a boat the the pros use as they work the weather and give there boats a good workout.
Fisherfriend
07-01-2023, 11:13 AM
Hello,
I'm actually looking to maybe purchase a plate centre console or cab. Probably rarely use for offshore but on the right maybe. Formosa 565 seems to be a great all round boat. Any members here have experience in one of these with the newer srt hull?
Maybe you have experience in a similar plate boat that you could recommend.
I wanted to start a thread but seems Im unable.
Hello,
I'm actually looking to maybe purchase a plate centre console or cab. Probably rarely use for offshore but on the right maybe. Formosa 565 seems to be a great all round boat. Any members here have experience in one of these with the newer srt hull?
Maybe you have experience in a similar plate boat that you could recommend.
I wanted to start a thread but seems Im unable.
how big boat you buying?
why would you buy a centre cab if not to go offshore? tinny is way better in a creek.
also where offshore are you headed if you did?
Formosa do an ok cheaper boat for the money.
super wide beam carried forward and shallow deadrise make it horrible for offshore work though
Fisherfriend
08-01-2023, 08:51 AM
how big boat you buying?
why would you buy a centre cab if not to go offshore? tinny is way better in a creek.
also where offshore are you headed if you did?
Formosa do an ok cheaper boat for the money.
super wide beam carried forward and shallow deadrise make it horrible for offshore work though
On a good day offshore would be a possibility , but in a 5.65 centre console inshore would be more appropriate and comfortable. Formosa seem very pricey so also looking now at other options
Fisherfriend
08-01-2023, 08:52 AM
Sorry just having problems with posting atm
09-01-2023, 06:32 AM
Sorry just having problems with posting atm
To start a new thread, just go to the relevant section (like "boating") and on the top left of the list of current threads, there is a dialogue box "post new thread" click that, type in a title relating to your topic, then type your stuff in the next box.
Fisherfriend
09-01-2023, 05:55 PM
To start a new thread, just go to the relevant section (like "boating") and on the top left of the list of current threads, there is a dialogue box "post new thread" click that, type in a title relating to your topic, then type your stuff in the next box.
Thanks, I can fill in the title but thats it. The box below has no curser to type in. Maybe I need a new subscription. Anyhow what are your thoughts on the formosa 565?
09-01-2023, 05:57 PM
Try using the "go advanced" button, sometimes Ausfish has a "feature" that doesn't allow typing in the dialogue box.
Fisherfriend
09-01-2023, 07:05 PM
Na cant even reply atm, just cant type in the box. Maybe it doesnt like google chrome
billfisher
09-01-2023, 07:52 PM
It happens to me sometimes. Try googling 'Ausfish'.
snatchy
09-01-2023, 10:50 PM
Thanks, I can fill in the title but thats it. The box below has no curser to type in. Maybe I need a new subscription. Anyhow what are your thoughts on the formosa 565?
I sometimes fish on a Formosa 550 center console in NQ. OK boat for its size and weight. Any chop and it's a real bash out and back
Fisherfriend
10-01-2023, 08:58 AM
I sometimes fish on a Formosa 550 center console in NQ. OK boat for its size and weight. Any chop and it's a real bash out and back
Thanks, I'm not sold on them, what else should I be looking at, surtees 575 workmate look better for ride but more expensive too
Mopheus
10-01-2023, 05:37 PM
Na cant even reply atm, just cant type in the box. Maybe it doesnt like google chrome
It's something happening on the back end - I posted about it over here:
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php/132852-Can-t-post-but-can-login?p=1701542&viewfull=1#post1701542
When the site is 'Not secure' then we can post using desktop browsers; when it's secure, we can't. Not sure why the site keeps flipping from secure to not secure - above my paygrade.
While boat speed seems to be a popular factor in choosing an offshore rig and while that is a valid point, I personally think that a self draining deck is also something to consider.
Now some vessels may not be suited to this, especially a smaller mono hull due to the fact that the floor has to be raised high enough to a point where the boat may be unstable.
Is this really a consideration for some people venturing offshore with an open center console, non self draining boat? Probably not, I see many boats out offshore which are basically open tinnys.
Another point to consider is positive buoyancy, I assume most boats meet this criteria nowadays, but there may be some vessels getting around that are not compliant.
billfisher
11-01-2023, 05:52 AM
While boat speed seems to be a popular factor in choosing an offshore rig and while that is a valid point, I personally think that a self draining deck is also something to consider.
Now some vessels may not be suited to this, especially a smaller mono hull due to the fact that the floor has to be raised high enough to a point where the boat may be unstable.
Is this really a consideration for some people venturing offshore with an open center console, non self draining boat? Probably not, I see many boats out offshore which are basically open tinnys.
Another point to consider is positive buoyancy, I assume most boats meet this criteria nowadays, but there may be some vessels getting around that are not compliant.
They all have basic flotation - but this often means just the tip of the bow will float and the boat has capsized. Level flotation is much better.
11-01-2023, 09:43 AM
I think these bad boys have enough flotation and a self draining deck. Flex should order two. ;D
https://youtu.be/DN4GMkqmPWY
I think these bad boys have enough flotation and a self draining deck. Flex should order two. ;D
I'd be happy with just 1
swing me the lotto numbers for saturday and consider it done:)