What to look at - Offshore Rig
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: What to look at - Offshore Rig

What to look at - Offshore Rig

Well, the minister for finance has given the go ahead for a new offshore rig. Keeping the two little ones we got for remote Barra trips and estuary fishing/crabbing, but want to start researching offshore rigs.
    99% of it's fishing will be from our house in Cairns and our beach house in Seaforth, QLD, so it will need to be trailable, and towing with a 79 Cruiser, so gotta keep under the 3.5t mark, might even see Weipa, Karumba etc.

Preference is plate alloy, but could be swayed to a glass boat, but it brings back horrible memories of launching on my own when I used to have a 575 Cruise Craft , albeit most ramps now have jetty's.
    What I reckon will do my head in is wait times, we'd love to have something set up by Mid to Q3 next year, which means we may have to look at second hand, but it'd have to be near new, and new condition. There has been some come up lately that has raised an eyebrow, so second hand isn't unthinkable.
    Configuration would be Centre Cab, or walk around cabin, want to be able to have someone fish from up front without being unstable or gripping on with the toes . Have looked at some Centre Consoles, there was one that had hinged out sides from the console that went from the front of the console to the gunnels, but can't remember which one that was for the life of me. If C/Console, would need to have some form of storage area similar to the Extreme CC with the lift up hatch in the front of the console, missus really wants a toilet in this one if we're spending multiple nights out on it.

What I'd love to hear is what brand is your pick of the bunch, and what options would you want?
    I'm not a brand fanatic, as long as it suits the purpose and is built well. Seen a lot of Yellowfins on the water around Cairns, bit dubious, my thoughts are they're just another 'cheap' build from Telwater, but the guys from True North Adventures seem to put one through the ringer at times... thoughts?

Electronics is another thing, want to deck it out as good as we can. For sh!ts and giggles watch the whotube show on the 8m Surtees "Holy Ship" from Fishing and Adventure TV, this thing would be awesome for multiple nights at the reef, but with starting $$ around the $350k mark it's a bit out of reach, we're looking at around the $250k mark tops.

OK, help me research this, tell me your thoughts
    Corry

Ausfish New Member

Re: What to look at - Offshore Rig

It's a long way down to Canberra, but I have one on order at Cutting Edge Marine.
    Went the 720CC with some customisations. I am hoping to have it on the water sometime in March.
    The electronic package is great, Helm Master EX inclusion was a huge bonus for me. I added radar, casting cages on the transom, and a few other bits.
    1770 in November is looking good.

Geoff.

The Yellowfin and Stacer Ocean Ranger are not your average Telwater pressed boat, they are mass built, but to a much higher standard, and priced much lower than low volume custom builds. It's near impossible to recommend a boat, what you like, someone else doesn't, it's just a personal journey, research after deciding what configuration you actually want, no use looking at centre consoles if you need sleeping facilities or protection from the elements, it's never ending, nothing is perfect, and buying used means you're buying someone else's "dream"

Ya not wrong Noelm, the options out there are endless, I guess the reason I'm asking the brains trust here is for the exact response that GeoffP has given. Configuration is Centre Cab or Centre Console, this would depend on builder as some Centre Consoles are almost as big as a Centre Cab, don't need sleeping facilities, have looked at doing the Bertram style, but fishing room is really limited for size of boat, and we do need to be able to tow it.

Geoff, hadn't heard of Cutting Edge before. Just happens we're heading to Canberra this weekend for Summernats, down there for two weeks so I'll drop in and say gidday to them in there. Being Canberra isn't a real issue, our show car is being built in Nowra so we travel down there a bit.
    I also love the idea of the casting cages around the transom, this will definitely be an addition to whatever we end up with, not sure about the radar and what I'd use that for, and I'll look up the Helm Master EX, it sounds like a game changer from what I've read so far. Thanks for your reply.
    Corry

Have to be a ton of second hand (new) boats hitting the market soon as money tightens up. I would be checking marketplace and the other regular sites for new/second handlers coming through. Covid tax should be coming off heat as well.

Quote Originally Posted by baitable View Post
    Have to be a ton of second hand (new) boats hitting the market soon as money tightens up. I would be checking marketplace and the other regular sites for new/second handlers coming through. Covid tax should be coming off heat as well.
    Ya not wrong, there's quite a few coming up reasonably priced at the moment. A lot that are around the year old mark, with only 50 hours on them, surprised me when I started looking. Makes me wonder why/how people bought them in the first place.
    Corry

I will probably cop some flack but why not consider one of the Chinese built boats. It seems they are getting better and better as time goes on. I know of someone who bought a 9mtr that looks like a stabi and he set that up for well under $250k.

The Chinese built boats are very hit and miss, some are good, some are just scrap metal welded together by non welders.

Have you looked at the Vindicator range?

Quote Originally Posted by Brettoh View Post
    I will probably cop some flack but why not consider one of the Chinese built boats. It seems they are getting better and better as time goes on. I know of someone who bought a 9mtr that looks like a stabi and he set that up for well under $250k.
    Did have a look, but with so many options out there, preference is to stick with someone who is already reputable. I have seen some around the boat ramps here in Cairns, but there's always that 'eeeek' factor when committing so much $$.

Quote Originally Posted by gunna View Post
    Have you looked at the Vindicator range?
    Yeah, they are definitely on the list, I also like their trailers. Although they are a Yamaha dealer only and I'd prefer a ProXS Merc, but I'm sure something could be done there.
    Corry

first you need to ask youself what sort of fishing you mostly do?

I live in cairns and i firmly believe buying a boat for the fishing you like and the area you fish.

If its offshore work your after i highly highly recommend a glass boat. plate boats arent designed to go fast in the rough and leave the water. they ride ok but are slow

Plate boats just cannot perform aswell offshore if thats the majority of your fishing. but if you want to tow it alng dirt to cape york and launch in shit spots then plate is a good option

cairns region doesnt have epic tides and huge 400km run days up here. so I believe your better off with a more nimble/faster boat to maximise your fishing options

do you actually want to stay over night and sleep in a cab?
    I think cabin boats are horribly overated in north QLD.
    Firstly you dont need to do as many over nighters as the reef isnt far offshore.
    secondly trying to navigate though/around reefs and flats fish is a pain in the ass with a cabin.
    Thirdly its hot as hell in a cab and its mostly waisted space.

eg. I used to fish out of mackay alot and used kevlacats/noosacats due to the extremely long runs and the necessity for overnight when running 150km offshore.

I moved to cairns and sold the NC and bought a 6m hooker as a test boat to see how i liked it.

I found i fished alot more in the hooker than my 23f cat.
    easy to tow, cheap on fuel, float it over reef flats and my kids preferred the CC for sand cay/island trips.

I sold the 6m hooker is its a shit boat to bottom fish from.

I have since bought a 680 cyclone. thing is phenomenal for north qld.
    cruise at 75-90km/h to the reef so you get heaps more afternoon/morning trips.
    economical and easy to use solo.

Have you looked at 650hooker? or the 675 walkaround?
    bonito 660 would be ok but not crazy economical..
    great option is Angler boats in bundy. great mould, great price and customize the boat to however you like. (fuel tank size and HP rating)
    some of the smaller 560 bonito.6m carbin are fine to use.

for the money cootacraft is good value if you truely want a cabin boat. designed to go fast and ride well.

majority of the bigger names brand boats are just under powered and ride crap for offshore.
    eg 360 cruisecraft rated to only 200hp makes the boat crap IMO.

Mate get in touch with any plate boat builders you’d like to have build a boat for you and ask them if they are aware of any being sold by previous customers, it happens quite often and my mate dodged a lengthy build time with this, ending up with very close to what he was after.

Quote Originally Posted by Corry View Post
    Did have a look, but with so many options out there, preference is to stick with someone who is already reputable. I have seen some around the boat ramps here in Cairns, but there's always that 'eeeek' factor when committing so much $$.

Yeah, they are definitely on the list, I also like their trailers. Although they are a Yamaha dealer only and I'd prefer a ProXS Merc, but I'm sure something could be done there.
    Why do you prefer the ProXS?

ProXS can be a really good thing--for example, the 200ProXs is the V8, downrated ( but actually around 226hp) , masses of torque, relatively low revving. So if you have a 200hp rated transom, it's a no-brainer. It'll kill the 200hp v6 version. Seeing a Reefrunner repowered with one and sea trialling at 46 knots sold me. 200hp Yamaha is 42 knots on the same hull.

Quote Originally Posted by ranmar850 View Post
    ProXS can be a really good thing--for example, the 200ProXs is the V8, downrated ( but actually around 226hp) , masses of torque, relatively low revving. So if you have a 200hp rated transom, it's a no-brainer. It'll kill the 200hp v6 version. Seeing a Reefrunner repowered with one and sea trialling at 46 knots sold me. 200hp Yamaha is 42 knots on the same hull.
    As with boats outboards are horses for courses.

200yammi is a 4cyl 2.7l engine.
    200 v8 merc is a 4.6l. and nearly $10k more.

If you're buying the v8 200 you'd be mad not to re-rate your boat and get the 300hp merc.

Ive been doing some signifcant research and I have my doubts on the fuel economy of the new v8 merc v suzuki and honda v6 engines
    From every single report ive read online the honda and suzuki get at least 15-20% better economy than the merc (and yamaha btw) in the 200-300hp range on the exact same hull at cruise speeds.

(although id suggest 200v8 merc would likely get same or better economy on a heavy boat v 200hp yamaha.)

granted merc is by far the fastest engine if your after speed. but its not the most economical from what i can tell