View Full Version : I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman

Pages : 1 [2]

shortthenlong
03-12-2021, 05:28 AM
Can u imagine a caravan park filling it with modern caravans at 100k each van? Cabins are neat and tidy and there perminant, no towing your rig just pull straight in and rest, brining your own caravan has probably become a insurance liability in todays age..

We have a camper trailer and spend time travelling with our kids and the number of familes with full noise caravans is definately on the increase. We were at Uluru in September and the familes were equal to or out numbered the grey nomads. Plenty of families have taken advantage of working remotely to do exactly that, though not too remotely. The big vans aren't great for getting down dirt tracks to out of the way National Parks which is what we prefer.

Sorry @Shakey55 no Big Hunstman talk

03-12-2021, 06:34 AM
yeah I’m getting old so prob have gone on about it before lol

what really shits me is all those can parks which use to offer cheapish family getaways and places to store boats now don’t want you
They are getting rid of the permanent vans and parking sports big enough for boats and just jamming as many cabins in as possible

it’s not as easy now to find places that let you park the boat next to the cabin

Yep - my brother just had to give up his onsite van at Providence Portal in the Snowies .
They were pretty well pushed out to make way for cabins .

This will happen more & more as the corporations keep buying out the parks

baitable
03-12-2021, 06:40 AM
Not much talk about the Big Huntsman

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums

Cmon mate- when has a gazza thread EVER stayed on track….

03-12-2021, 07:05 AM
Not much talk about the Big Huntsman

Had one in the bathroom the other night ..... scared the crap out of me

03-12-2021, 07:10 AM
Had one in the bathroom the other night ..... scared the crap out of me

Hope it wasnt a 24 foot one....I hate those.

shortthenlong
03-12-2021, 08:13 AM

And we are back on track

03-12-2021, 09:43 AM

without a doubt .... as a fisherman , at least 24ft

gazza2006au
03-12-2021, 10:10 AM

Can you even count to 24? You only have 10 toes...

stevej
03-12-2021, 10:44 AM

that’s a good thing means he has the right chromosome count

03-12-2021, 10:47 AM

Got a raging hard on, havent you, now that your best buddy is back to defend your honour...;)::);D

Cobbo1
03-12-2021, 11:09 AM
This forum has become a slow moving sitcom :o

03-12-2021, 11:32 AM
I think it has just become a shit fight between a few individuals that ultimately might see it go down the plug hole completely, starting to wear very thin now!

baitable
03-12-2021, 11:32 AM
This forum has become a slow moving sitcom :o

Great toilet reading though- i look forward to all these Gazza posts for nothing but entertainment...

stevej
03-12-2021, 11:58 AM
1311 logged in
3 posts

surprised advertisers pay

all serious fishing talks meet ups buy swap sells happen on Facebook or a few user pay websites that now exist
the paid sites are heavily moderated thankfully

03-12-2021, 12:02 PM
Great toilet reading though- i look forward to all these Gazza posts for nothing but entertainment...

3 of the top 7 posts currently are about the boat Gazza has, the 17 footer he is gunna get and this 24ft huntsman he wants ..

I am just intrigued to watch his fleet expand..

Dignity
03-12-2021, 12:56 PM
3 of the top 7 posts currently are about the boat Gazza has, the 17 footer he is gunna get and this 24ft huntsman he wants ..

I am just intrigued to watch his fleet expand..

Change the stats and make this one of the top 10

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php/210142-Saltwater-friendly-fridge-freezers

TheGurn
03-12-2021, 02:25 PM
Yep. The forum is now for comic relief only and to see who's pushing whose buttons.... and the result.
Somewhat entertaining.... in a sad kinda way.
Not inclined to post about fishing. Seems to have been off topic for a very long time.
Perhaps it's time for a forum name change to something more relevant.

Ducksnutz
03-12-2021, 03:41 PM
Yep. The forum is now for comic relief only and to see who's pushing whose buttons.... and the result.
Somewhat entertaining.... in a sad kinda way.
Not inclined to post about fishing. Seems to have been off topic for a very long time.
Perhaps it's time for a forum name change to something more relevant.

Gazzfish?……;):P8-);D (just kidding Gazz)

TheRealPoMo
03-12-2021, 03:52 PM
Don't change a thing...except maybe let me paste my Spongebob eating popcorn gif.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

gazza2006au
03-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Sally and her sisters still going on...

shortthenlong
03-12-2021, 04:19 PM
Don't change a thing...except maybe let me paste my Spongebob eating popcorn gif.

Has anyone figured out how to post a .gif. It woudl take Gazfish up a notch if gifs worked

shakey55
04-12-2021, 05:20 AM
Of late I get more enjoyment and information while reading THT, yes it’s American, but way more enjoyable.

Nonetheless I’ll still read this from time to time

04-12-2021, 06:00 AM
THT is a very hard nut to crack, been there for years, and there is only one way...their way, no other country can do anything as good, no laws are as good as their laws, the people are fiercely vocal, and NEVER mention you don't own a gun or you don't think the Police are out to get you!

Ducksnutz
04-12-2021, 06:30 AM
THT is a very hard nut to crack, been there for years, and there is only one way...their way, no other country can do anything as good, no laws are as good as their laws, the people are fiercely vocal, and NEVER mention you don't own a gun or you don't think the Police are out to get you!

Yep, made the mistake years ago asking a question about guns and as soon as they saw I was from Australia, it’s was nothing but a shit show that got completely off topic. ;D

I do like that there’s more of a boat related forum with THT rather than just fishing and it seems like the THT forum hasn’t dwindled in contributors like some others have.

Ausfish is still a good forum with some great contributors. Would be nice to get some of the older characters back.

04-12-2021, 07:12 AM
Not much real info on THT these days, maybe a handful of people who actually know what they are talking about and are willing to help, the rest is just mindless dribble.

shortthenlong
04-12-2021, 07:20 AM
Yep, made the mistake years ago asking a question about guns and as soon as they saw I was from Australia, it’s was nothing but a shit show that got completely off topic. ;D

American forums all seem like that. I'm on an American 4WD forum and someone started a thread about Bathurst. It took 8 posts before it was posted that booze limits on the mountain are because we gave up our guns.

The rise of Facebook has been the death of forums the world over.

04-12-2021, 07:45 AM
American forums all seem like that. I'm on an American 4WD forum and someone started a thread about Bathurst. It took 8 posts before it was posted that booze limits on the mountain are because we gave up our guns.

The rise of Facebook has been the death of forums the world over.

That's pretty typical, they have no idea about our gun laws, and thread after thread they say how we gave up our guns, when in reality, most didn't have a gun in the first place, it's impossible for them to grasp how we don't want or need a gun for personal protection when out shopping.

TheGurn
04-12-2021, 08:08 AM
Currently babysitting my sons 2 uncontrollable untrained constantly barking dogs.

I fully understand why I shouldn't own a gun.

So very very tempting.

04-12-2021, 09:01 AM
A quick trip to the vet, open your wallet, problem solved!

TheGurn
04-12-2021, 09:06 AM
A quick trip to the vet, open your wallet, problem solved!

Only 5 more months to go.
It's gonna be a challenge to see who survives the longest. Lol

stevej
04-12-2021, 09:27 AM
Currently have a 14 year old corgi that’s back legs are gone and on medication
shes started to pee herself now and then and in my view it’s time for a trip to the vet

the missus and kids think other wise but it’s me that has to clean it up and give her a wash every day
she weighs next to nothing now and I just pick her up and give her a quick wash in the shower

guess who gets the job of taking them all to the vet when it’s time to go to pet heaven

TheGurn
04-12-2021, 09:54 AM
Been there twice.
Never again.

gazza2006au
04-12-2021, 11:28 AM
The gun amnesty was great and worked perfect i know of someone close to me in the 90's that was unlicensed and had a semi auto .22 riffel i even bought a 12 gauge when i was in my teenage years nfi why just very silly move

Glad we have such good gun laws or we could have followed america with mass shootings every few months by crazy teenagers with a revenge

Port arthur would have just been the beginning guns were so easy to buy in the 1990's i would never touch one today

TheRealPoMo
04-12-2021, 03:50 PM
Currently have a 14 year old corgi that’s back legs are gone and on medication
shes started to pee herself now and then and in my view it’s time for a trip to the vet

the missus and kids think other wise but it’s me that has to clean it up and give her a wash every day
she weighs next to nothing now and I just pick her up and give her a quick wash in the shower

guess who gets the job of taking them all to the vet when it’s time to go to pet heavenSorry to hear that Steve, that is a tough gig. My 13 year old Retriever went same way.

gazza2006au
04-12-2021, 05:00 PM
This hull was for sale 4 years ago when i started my project i really wanted to buy this boat than the add was taking down and now its relisted, if i had $2500 i reckon i would have been on my way right now to check it out

24 foot savage half cabin he is towing it with the average straight 6 ford falcon ute too

Dignity
04-12-2021, 05:34 PM
This hull was for sale 4 years ago when i started my project i really wanted to buy this boat than the add was taking down and now its relisted, if i had $2500 i reckon i would have been on my way right now to check it out

24 foot savage half cabin he is towing it with the average straight 6 ford falcon ute too
Looks like the owner had been taking salts looking at that toilet, somersaults

04-12-2021, 06:00 PM

Sorry - why exactly would you want a old boat like this ?

It's not as if they were some amazing hull or desirable boat ...... I don't get it

shortthenlong
04-12-2021, 06:23 PM

It's not as if they were some amazing hull or desirable boat ...... I don't get it

I'm pretty sure he is just trolling at this point

shortthenlong
04-12-2021, 06:24 PM
Looks like the owner had been taking salts looking at that toilet, somersaults

Maybe he had a case of Gaztro...

gazza2006au
04-12-2021, 06:37 PM

I cant afford 25k up front for a 24 foot boat so it makes sense to rebuild and restore instead of spending 25k only to find shes rotted 2 years later

gazza2006au
04-12-2021, 06:38 PM

Maybe he had a case of Gaztro...

You sound like a real dick, how about being constructive?

04-12-2021, 07:14 PM

I cant afford 25k up front for a 24 foot boat so it makes sense to rebuild and restore instead of spending 25k only to find shes rotted 2 years later

I think what we all want to know, is why would a bloke on the dole, that wants to get out for a couple of hours and chase a flattie, kingie or a squid and doesnt even actually eat fish, want to burden himself with a big old clunker of a boat thats going to cost a fortune to do up and get operational and maintain...and is likely not going to be worth that much in the end anyway, particularly as you already have an affordable boat that you can use......man why dont you just go fishing and enjoy some time on the water...after years of not having a working boat and having no daily commitments I'm amazed that you arent spending every waking hour planning a trip or getting amongst it...

TheGurn
04-12-2021, 08:29 PM
Not having a go at anyone here, but a funny memory springs to mind.

Was travelling up the highway and came across the remains of an old bondwood caravan totally destroyed into a thousand pieces no bigger than a box of beer. The wreckage was spread along the median strip for about 250mtrs. The a-frame was twisted into obscene angles.
And in the middle of the carnage was a sign.

For Sale.
Suit Handyman.

gazza2006au
04-12-2021, 08:37 PM
I think what we all want to know, is why would a bloke on the dole, that wants to get out for a couple of hours and chase a flattie, kingie or a squid and doesnt even actually eat fish, want to burden himself with a big old clunker of a boat thats going to cost a fortune to do up and get operational and maintain...and is likely not going to be worth that much in the end anyway, particularly as you already have an affordable boat that you can use......man why dont you just go fishing and enjoy some time on the water...after years of not having a working boat and having no daily commitments I'm amazed that you arent spending every waking hour planning a trip or getting amongst it...

I would love to be doing that but the fish arnt on the chew atm, last fishing trip was pretty shit one big slimy a few small flathead than the big storms hit and all im reading on fishing groups is the weather is terrable and no ones catching much fish yet, it may be a really quiet summer, when i use to go with mates i was always on to king fish in october

I think all the fresh flushing out waterways is impacting the fish

gazza2006au
04-12-2021, 08:39 PM
Not having a go at anyone here, but a funny memory springs to mind.

Was travelling up the highway and came across the remains of an old bondwood caravan totally destroyed into a thousand pieces no bigger than a box of beer. The wreckage was spread along the median strip for about 250mtrs. The a-frame was twisted into obscene angles.
And in the middle of the carnage was a sign.

For Sale.
Suit Handyman.

The boat i rebuild is fibreglass, that 24ft savage is fibreglass, i would never buy a bondwood shitter hull

TheGurn
04-12-2021, 08:50 PM
The boat i rebuild is fibreglass, that 24ft savage is fibreglass, i would never buy a bondwood shitter hull

That wasn't directed at you gazza. Just a memory spurred by restoring old stuff that might give someone a smile.
I'll fade back into the shadows now.
Not the place for humour obviously.

gazza2006au
04-12-2021, 09:54 PM
That wasn't directed at you gazza. Just a memory spurred by restoring old stuff that might give someone a smile.
I'll fade back into the shadows now.
Not the place for humour obviously.

Ah ok i thought u may have been leaning towards old timber boats falling apart on the way home

shakey55
05-12-2021, 02:30 AM
………. Error ……….

05-12-2021, 06:37 AM

Just as long as he doesn't end up too far offshore as we 'll need to alert marine rescue ;)-

05-12-2021, 06:57 AM
I would love to be doing that but the fish arnt on the chew atm, last fishing trip was pretty shit one big slimy a few small flathead than the big storms hit and all im reading on fishing groups is the weather is terrable and no ones catching much fish yet, it may be a really quiet summer, when i use to go with mates i was always on to king fish in october

I think all the fresh flushing out waterways is impacting the fish

What a load of nonsense - You live near to a very productive Jewie river system (Georges River) & you have ideal conditions to catch them . Best of all you wont burn much fuel in towing or running the boat.
A mate up at Port Stephens has slayed them this past week ..... smart enough to know what to target in adverse conditions . .

billfisher
05-12-2021, 08:30 AM
If you are not working then you can pick your days. Last Thurs was dead calm offshore. There are plenty of fish around if you can get out, eg kingies of Coogee. Also nothing stopping you fishing the Georges and Botany Bay.

stevej
05-12-2021, 08:34 AM
What a load of nonsense - You live near to a very productive Jewie river system (Georges River) & you have ideal conditions to catch them . Best of all you wont burn much fuel in towing or running the boat.
A mate up at Port Stephens has slayed them this past week ..... smart enough to know what to target in adverse conditions . .

so many options

middle hawksbury for flathead and bream
pittwater is fishable in certain wind conditions
prawns are about in certain areas
as nagg said jew fish in the georges, catch bait find a hole and anchor up (perfect for someone who says they are awake all night)

Find better sources of information as there are fish about

stevej
05-12-2021, 08:35 AM
If you are not working then you can pick your days. Last Thurs was dead calm offshore. There are plenty of fish around if you can get out, eg kingies of Coogee. Also nothing stopping you fishing the Georges and Botany Bay.

would love to just be able to go when ever, local river is at flood warning and the big dams are deadly in the wind atm
im on 3 weeks leave and have only been out twice

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 12:44 PM

Georges River is polluted the Chipping Norton Lake has warning signs up do not swim, Jewies i find the hardest fish to catch btw

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 12:46 PM
so many options

middle hawksbury for flathead and bream
pittwater is fishable in certain wind conditions
prawns are about in certain areas
as nagg said jew fish in the georges, catch bait find a hole and anchor up (perfect for someone who says they are awake all night)

Find better sources of information as there are fish about

Some times it takes us 2 hours to get to the hawkesbury on agood day its about 45mins with hardly any traffic

stevej
05-12-2021, 01:35 PM
So ?
what’s the issue time or fuel to get there ?
cant be time you don’t work

can make excuses but the excuse there’s nothing to catch because it’s a bit wet and windy isn’t there

blacklab
05-12-2021, 02:57 PM

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 03:13 PM
I downloaded the maritime maps cant see any holes in the upper half of georges river, we have only caught one tine jewie at the milperra bridge about 8 years ago i have tried casting soft plastics there but the fish kept bitting the tails off so probably tailor i went through nearly a whole packet of burkleys

My hot spot for mullet is chipping norton lake i can grab some than motor to the milperra bridge but no where safely to park my trailer

1 hour loading the boat up than 1-2hour drive to hawkesbury than 6 hours on the water, 1-2 hour trip home another 1 hour to move the boat out the back i will be literraly shagged

Just going to port hacking the last 2 trips has kicked my ass loading the boat and reparking it is so fn draining i need to jack up the front of trailer 8-9 times each time the trailer is moved from the backyard to front or vise versa

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 03:15 PM
I'll do a bit more looking into jewies migrating up the georges i may give it another go but i think its a shit hole lol

stevej
05-12-2021, 04:08 PM
if your shagged doing that wait till you purchase your big boy 24 footer

And its 2021 can catch jew fish on artificials easy enough

stevej
05-12-2021, 04:16 PM
If it was easy Gazza, every flog would be doin it ;D

Some of my most memorable sessions, have been when conditions would have said, stay at home !!!....

Steve, the weather's about to change..

wading the sand flats in pissing down rain with a handful of lures and a shoulder bag is one for me
no mobile or car keys that cant get soaked just keys on lanyard round the neck and off you go

winds dropping a bit so going to hit blowering or mulwala this week

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 04:20 PM
Found a teenage kid doing youtube videos and he named a suburb or two than i honed in on his exact locations and to my surprise i have been there heaps of times just not for fishing, he mentions he catches jewies any tide all thru tbe day on soft plastics they are all small jewies 50-60cm but they are bigger than the 20cm one my mate caught at the milpera bridge

There is secure parking near by but the poddys are a good drive away, im ganna give it a try

05-12-2021, 04:22 PM
Georges River is polluted the Chipping Norton Lake has warning signs up do not swim, Jewies i find the hardest fish to catch btw

Lower reaches mate . The water quality is reasonably good anywhere down from Alfords pt

05-12-2021, 04:31 PM
Some times it takes us 2 hours to get to the hawkesbury on agood day its about 45mins with hardly any traffic

Plan your trip

Back in the 90s I would fish offshore from the Hawkesbury during Summer full moon periods ....... the boat was prepared the day before , I'd get home from work .... 4pm - hook the boat up & head to Brooklyn ...... I'd get out to my spot at Easts reef about 6pm ..... get the baits out & chill till sunset - then usually have an insane session till dark - head home at 9pm ..... by the time the fish were cleaned I'd be home sometime about 11.30 pm

Well worth it too

stevej
05-12-2021, 04:55 PM
i use to finish at 4pm drive to mates place grab his boat and head up to parsley bay and fish flint n steel or lion island till midnight
back home at 2 and up again at 6 for work

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 05:41 PM
Heading out at 3-4pm and fish into the night would be great but i would have to leave the boat parked in the driveway untill the next day, two risk 1 the boat getting pinched, 2 all my shit in the boat getting pinched all my safety gear would get flogged unless i carried it all inside

blacklab
05-12-2021, 05:47 PM
ppppppppppppppppp

05-12-2021, 05:58 PM
Heading out at 3-4pm and fish into the night would be great but i would have to leave the boat parked in the driveway untill the next day, two risk 1 the boat getting pinched, 2 all my shit in the boat getting pinched all my safety gear would get flogged unless i carried it all inside
I can't believe you live in an area where everything getting pinched is such an issue.

05-12-2021, 06:26 PM
Never heard a bloke with all the opportunities in the world come up with so many ridiculous excuses not to go fishing so he can sit around on his ass and constantly complain and regale us with tales of all the fish he is "gunna" catch......
Geez it annoys me..I know it shouldnt but it still does..::)

Ducksnutz
05-12-2021, 06:36 PM

Can you leave some gear in the car? Or get a lockable storage box set up chained to something?

I use a couple of 6 metre 316 stainless cable that locks everything up including esky’s, crab pots, and a lockable storage box that holds most of my lures and tackle. I even run it through the Sarca anchor and Baitmate bait board that’s removable. Basically anything that an opportunist thief can grab without fuss.

I only do this if I’m remote or parked up at the Agnes Water tavern overnight after to many ales before launching the next morning or just having a snooze etc.

stevej
05-12-2021, 06:57 PM
Can you leave some gear in the car? Or get a lockable storage box set up chained to something?

I use a couple of 6 metre 316 stainless cable that locks everything up including esky’s, crab pots, and a lockable storage box that holds most of my lures and tackle. I even run it through the Sarca anchor and Baitmate bait board that’s removable. Basically anything that an opportunist thief can grab without fuss.

I only do this if I’m remote or parked up at the Agnes Water tavern overnight after to many ales before launching the next morning or just having a snooze etc.
I use the same cables when camping through fuel cans trailer generator esky and so on

05-12-2021, 07:05 PM

Use tote boxes - keep stuff in the car

There is always a way mate

Dignity
05-12-2021, 07:09 PM

Gazza, I have to load my gear in the wee hours of the morning and I'm in my 70's, same as a great number of boat owners, that's fishing. As I've said before, you need to get out more.

gunna
05-12-2021, 07:44 PM
i use to finish at 4pm drive to mates place grab his boat and head up to parsley bay and fish flint n steel or lion island till midnight
back home at 2 and up again at 6 for work

Ah back in the day. One thing I liked about daylight saving. Knock off work in the CBD about 2pm. Train home to Kings Langley. Tow boat to the Parramatta River at Silverwater. Launch and head down to the Harbour. Fish till just after dark, then back up the river and in bed by 11pm. Good old days.

stevej
05-12-2021, 07:53 PM
Ah back in the day. One thing I liked about daylight saving. Knock off work in the CBD about 2pm. Train home to Kings Langley. Tow boat to the Parramatta River at Silverwater. Launch and head down to the Harbour. Fish till just after dark, then back up the river and in bed by 11pm. Good old days.

Guuna before the kids i use to fish 3-4 times a week and 90% was shore based as couldn't afford to take the boat out every time
and when repping i had a spin rod and small over the shoulder tackle bag id keep behind the rear seat in the dual cab utes and would sneak a fish at lunch time depending on where i was that day

Its what shits me when people ask what spot is that when they are too lazy to type words into google or heaven forbid buy a book, i have a few 70s 80s fishing almanacs still and they are still valid source of species and locations.

sydney has untold number of shore based options, and the internet has years of information people have posted

you can either winge on the internet or get dressed in the morning and do something productive

stevej
05-12-2021, 07:59 PM
Gazza, I have to load my gear in the wee hours of the morning and I'm in my 70's, same as a great number of boat owners, that's fishing. As I've said before, you need to get out more.
I was in a few fishing clubs and as id sold my boat i offered to tow anyone else boat for the old fellas for a days fishing, sometimes just a few hours as was too much for the real older fellas
but they didnt want to sell their boats and this way they got to use them and i met a lot of nice people and learnt a lot of spots

Unfortunately a lot are not here anymore

Dignity
05-12-2021, 08:09 PM
I was in a few fishing clubs and as id sold my boat i offered to tow anyone else boat for the old fellas for a days fishing, sometimes just a few hours as was too much for the real older fellas
but they didnt want to sell their boats and this way they got to use them and i met a lot of nice people and learnt a lot of spots

Unfortunately a lot are not here anymore

Mmm! That could work but I'd like to think I can still manage. My biggest problem is getting crew, either working for a living or working for their kids.

gunna
05-12-2021, 08:22 PM
Now when we were very silly. Back in the early 80’s a mate lived at Greys Point. In winter we would finish our shift at 7pm. Get onto the water about 9pm. Tides didn’t matter. Pumping yabbies in waist deep water with a sieve. Spare set of warm clothes. Then fish Port Hacking till 2 or 3 in the morning. Loved it.

blacklab
05-12-2021, 08:24 PM

Dignity
05-12-2021, 08:33 PM
Sam, That's the no 1 reason I restored my current boat, any bigger and I would end up needing 2 to launch and retrieve and solo fishing would be more difficult.
I gave up on having to rely on a crew, being let down heaps of times and then there's the short arm long pockets and the need to leave immediately after getting back without so much as a hand to clean up. I've hit a size that is perfectly manageable, still capable out wide and doesn't take an eternity to clean down on my tod afterwards.
I really enjoy my solo trips... Not saying having a mate or two with you isn't enjoyable, just getting the right ones is the hard part..

I hear you loud and clear, wanting to downsize/upsize, something between the big boat and the tinnie but prices have gone bananas and new ones delivery times are over 2 years. I did find one locally and vould be built by April next year but then the little things I wanted added to standard build blew it out of the water e.g. $1k to install a Sureflow deck wash. I understand the time involved in installing in an older boat but not one being built. Just increasing the fuel tank from 80 litres to 100 litres was another $1500. WT?
I had a whole new 200 litre tank built for less than that.
Sticking with what I've got for the moment.

blacklab
05-12-2021, 08:55 PM
ppppppppppppppppppp

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 09:45 PM
I can't believe you live in an area where everything getting pinched is such an issue.

Noel just 5 days ago in aI couple suburbs awa a blokes car was loaded onto a tilt tray tow truck at 11:30pm and pinched there were two routes out and the thief knew which one to take to avoid CCTV

like almost midnight and it got loaded on a tow truck and no one asked questions or even seen it happening and the car was on the owners front lawn

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 09:50 PM

I am thinking of getting a grab bag so everything is neatly in one bag to carry, more worried about the boat being flogged tho i may get a few meters of square HT chain and chain the boat trailer over the fence to my motor bike trailer no way of cutting that chain without a grinder

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 10:07 PM
This is how sketchy it is living in house commission areas in Sydney if i had a silent trailer mover i would be up at 4am loading the trailer no worries at all, my neighbors main bedroom wall is 1.5 meters from my boat so my fishing trips have been loading the boat st 8am and coming home by 6pm and move the boat out the backyard by 7:30pm its pretty shit timing and cuts off the best fishing sunrise and sunset, i'd much rather be up at 4am off the water by 12pm

Dignity
05-12-2021, 10:25 PM
I am thinking of getting a grab bag so everything is neatly in one bag to carry, more worried about the boat being flogged tho i may get a few meters of square HT chain and chain the boat trailer over the fence to my motor bike trailer no way of cutting that chain without a grinder
Gazza, I have several Chicken trays, you know the long flat trays used to deliver chickens to restaurants etc. Load everything into those the night before, the rods readied to go. Mine are in the shed but nothing stopping you having them in the house. Still takes me 15 mins to load it up and wait for my crew to arrive. The boat gets hitched up the night before.

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 10:28 PM
Just seen this post from tonight around 6pm

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 10:31 PM
If i had insurance and the boat parked on the outside of closed gates i wouldnt even be covered

Tbs

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 10:41 PM
Hey Digs it would need to be light and tidy sitting in the lounge room if my mum needs to move it, i think a yellow grab bag will be ideal if i park the boat out the front

gazza2006au
05-12-2021, 10:44 PM
A bit more for Noel to see

shakey55
06-12-2021, 04:49 AM

Noel, stuff gets pinched from time to time no matter where you live.

Unfortunately with Gazza it the paranoia creeping in, the fact that he trust no one. He believes that everyone is watching him and will steal his things if they are not locked away behind a fence, etc.

Not having a dig Gazza, just stating fact from what you have said over the time.

Shakey - If only I lived near the coast

06-12-2021, 05:45 AM
Yep, I know stuff gets stolen from anywhere, but it just seems like you can't leave anything anywhere at any time where he lives! I am currently building a new trailer and am doing some work in my driveway, since last Wednesday I have left all sorts of tools and odds and ends just sitting in my driveway on my makeshift work area! Tempting fate? enticing thieves? maybe, most stuff I put away, but some just stay there. My big boat is parked on the footpath, there is the EPIRB, radios (though they are dash mounted) fire extinguisher, flares, various gaffs, knives and stuff left in the boat, never had anything like that stolen, I am not silly enough to think it can't happen, or that there has never been a robbery/break in around my neighbourhood, but, it's just how it is.

06-12-2021, 06:36 AM
There is petty crime, to some degree, in any town in the world..

Its just more excuses not to go fishing for Gaz....too long to get the boat out of the backyard, too far to drive to the ramp, theives hiding in bushs waiting for him to leave his valuables unattended, no fish biting, any random excuse will do to create a bit of drama to fill the void....

Imagine what it would be like if he had a 24ft clunker in the backyard...there would be a million reasons why it would never get finished or used...Oh joy, I cant wait .::)

gazza2006au
06-12-2021, 09:13 AM
Its just western sydney noel the crime rate is high just a few weeks ago the neighbor seen a guy on her cctv trying to break into her house she was alerted and called the cops they sent out 2 cars that i could see and the helicopter!! The cops knocked on my door and asked if i had seen anyone i said no and my dogs were quiet, helicopter was doing circles over my house, cop said someone was breaking in next door

Later i msg the neighbor and she said she seen the guy on cctv

bluefin59
06-12-2021, 09:14 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211205/d29c3514a66371106db67b13ba542106.jpg
Here you go Gazza that will keep you busy for a bit [emoji23][emoji23][emoji15]

Funchy
06-12-2021, 12:32 PM
Mmm! That could work but I'd like to think I can still manage. My biggest problem is getting crew, either working for a living or working for their kids.

:vrolijk_26:

Dignity
06-12-2021, 01:19 PM
:vrolijk_26:

I hear ya! was going to go out Saturday but had a plumbing problem in the kitchen needing resolution, of course Sunday it just blew.

gazza2006au
06-12-2021, 02:48 PM
There is a 21.5ft savage marlin on fb for 4k wish i had 4k its already gutted ready to drop everything in

Looks like we are getting the driveway concreted due to my mums health and a ambo couldnt take my mum out on a bed the last 2 times kind of a win for me too as i'll have solid ground for the trailer mover

06-12-2021, 03:16 PM
I think I would prefer a complete boat rather than one already cut to bits.

shortthenlong
06-12-2021, 03:26 PM
A Marlin has a 8ft beam. Are they making your driveway wider?

stevej
06-12-2021, 04:29 PM
A Marlin has a 8ft beam. Are they making your driveway wider?

Would be the end of the old fairlanes transmission

06-12-2021, 04:57 PM
There is a 21.5ft savage marlin on fb for 4k wish i had 4k its already gutted ready to drop everything in

4K..?..Is the boat you have now up for sale yet...?

If you are lucky while this covid tax is happening you might get a couple of grand for it and just save up the rest...

bluefin59
06-12-2021, 05:24 PM

If you are lucky while this covid tax is happening you might get a couple of grand for it and just save up the rest...

Classic https://media3.giphy.com/media/dILujoY6G9W6dWUORX/giphy.gif

gazza2006au
06-12-2021, 07:33 PM

Maybe if you sell your chinese dented tin can you'll get back a couple grand lol

06-12-2021, 07:52 PM
Maybe if you sell your chinese dented tin can you'll get back a couple grand lol

Maybe yours and mine together and we can come up with the 4 grand...

Wanna go halves...?..that would be fun..::)

Funchy
06-12-2021, 08:10 PM
I hear ya! was going to go out Saturday but had a plumbing problem in the kitchen needing resolution, of course Sunday it just blew.

I’m heading off to BW in the morning. Be back next Wednesday 😉

catshark
06-12-2021, 08:22 PM
down south near jervis bay turnoff sitting in a front yard is a savage marlin, bluefin model not sure looks like its complete inboard leg 5k

gazza2006au
06-12-2021, 08:50 PM
Maybe yours and mine together and we can come up with the 4 grand...

Wanna go halves...?..that would be fun..::)

No. Yours will depreciate the value of mine, you can't fix a hooked hull on a tinny so your f... lol good luck with that

gazza2006au
06-12-2021, 08:52 PM
Bugger i dont have 5k Cat, i seen one online yesterday with twin 115hp same engine that is on my caribbean

shortthenlong
06-12-2021, 09:02 PM
Classic https://media3.giphy.com/media/dILujoY6G9W6dWUORX/giphy.gif

GIF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

https://media.giphy.com/media/mC7t2Tp3RRe8tz6n00/giphy.gif

blacklab
06-12-2021, 09:14 PM
pppppppppppppppp

catshark
06-12-2021, 09:23 PM
yeah its probably looks like less work than my project but im commited to mine however it could be a fixer upper for someone, its sitting in a property between JB turnoff and the log cabin south bound i seem to remember , it looks pretty deep at the back like a bahia maha

catshark
06-12-2021, 09:29 PM
yep altough happy with my 20 ft , snagging a 23 ft holy grail

blacklab
06-12-2021, 09:43 PM
ppppppppppppp

gazza2006au
06-12-2021, 09:48 PM
Hey Col the thin transoms are still pretty strong my Caribbean skin is only 3 layers of 450gram mat and 3 layers of 400gram doublie bias

gazza2006au
06-12-2021, 09:49 PM
yep altough happy with my 20 ft , snagging a 23 ft holy grail

Come on Cat we need pics and updates lol

blacklab
06-12-2021, 10:03 PM
ppppppppppppppppp

shakey55
07-12-2021, 04:58 AM
Noel just 5 days ago in aI couple suburbs awa a blokes car was loaded onto a tilt tray tow truck at 11:30pm and pinched there were two routes out and the thief knew which one to take to avoid CCTV

like almost midnight and it got loaded on a tow truck and no one asked questions or even seen it happening and the car was on the owners front lawn

Probably a repossession

shakey55
07-12-2021, 05:07 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211205/d29c3514a66371106db67b13ba542106.jpg
Here you go Gazza that will keep you busy for a bit [emoji23][emoji23][emoji15]

I do like the fact that it has automatic transmission

07-12-2021, 07:42 AM
Yep we certainly wouldnt want to "devalue " your boat Gazza..

What do you reckon your boat will be worth when you sell it..?..seen a couple for around the 5K mark recently...

gazza2006au
07-12-2021, 08:00 AM
Yep we certainly wouldnt want to "devalue " your boat Gazza..

What do you reckon your boat will be worth when you sell it..?..seen a couple for around the 5K mark recently...

Few dollars more than yours no doubt..

stevej
07-12-2021, 10:44 AM
At what length do these large boats go to over width towing issues ?
surely anything like these old fly bridges will be
it’s why the Haines v233 23r etc are horrible at rest due to their narrow width for the length of the hull

shortthenlong
07-12-2021, 11:12 AM
Towing width limit in most places 2.5m. The Mariner above has a listed beam of 8ft which is over 2.4m so you need to work some magic to keep the trailer under 2.5 otherwise it's the land of oversize permits for you. Once you figure out what vehicle you can legally tow it with. Hint not a Falcon even if it is an extra special uber limited collectors edition

stevej
07-12-2021, 11:32 AM
1692987 (tel:1692987)[/URL]]Towing width limit in most places 2.5m. The Mariner above has a listed beam of 8ft which is over 2.4m so you need to work some magic to keep the trailer under 2.5 otherwise it's the land of oversize permits for you. Once you figure out what vehicle you can legally tow it with. Hint not a Falcon even if it is an extra special uber limited collectors edition

exactly my point this is light truck tow vehicle territory. Then the trailer will have the boat sitting high to get the guards in under the chines
its hard work for motivated people with the money to do it
any friends with boats in this size moored or dry stacked them and drove them down the coats to the fishing comps
3-400 liter fuel tanks and fuel bladders were needed sometimes on the deck

nearly everyone I know gave them up years ago for 17-19foot modern hills with single four strokes and they are still catching the same fish in the same locations

hopefull will put to rest the incessant posts of Garry’s daydreams.

07-12-2021, 12:18 PM
nearly everyone I know gave them up years ago for 17-19foot modern hills with single four strokes and they are still catching the same fish in the same locations

hopefull will put to rest the incessant posts of Garry’s daydreams.

Dream on dude....its a neverending cycle of dribble..

But the length to width ratio is a interesting one...with 7m-8.5m platies becoming pretty common nowadays, is 2.4m/2.5m beam too narrow on an 8-8.5m boat particularly with an enclosed hardtop ...?...some of them like the glass boat above also have th extra weight of a flybridge..

To go to 2.9m in Qld I think all thats required is signage and a rotating light at night...

Of course the extra bulk will also mean extra weight and towing capacity becomes a factor..

Is there a formula for optimum length to beam ...?

gazza2006au
07-12-2021, 12:39 PM
Geez you guys are talking like its a huge deal 8 foot beam is 2.438m my Caribbean is 2.3m wide!!!! What the heck is 138mm difference?

An engine u can just plonk a 225-250hp 30inch 4 stroke on a 23-24ft hull thousands of guys are running 225-250hp engines on plate boats, it wont be a rocket but ya all said my 90 wouldnt push my hull and here we are planing at 22kph cruising at 40kph topping out at just over 60kph with a cruise fuel economy of 2.27km/L

shortthenlong
07-12-2021, 01:56 PM
Geez you guys are talking like its a huge deal 8 foot beam is 2.438m my Caribbean is 2.3m wide!!!! What the heck is 138mm difference?

An engine u can just plonk a 225-250hp 30inch 4 stroke on a 23-24ft hull thousands of guys are running 225-250hp engines on plate boats, it wont be a rocket but ya all said my 90 wouldnt push my hull and here we are planing at 22kph cruising at 40kph topping out at just over 60kph with a cruise fuel economy of 2.27km/L

Matt......

gazza2006au
07-12-2021, 02:47 PM
My boats up for sale thousand bucks a foot $19,900

Ducksnutz
07-12-2021, 02:58 PM

Whereabouts have you listed it Gazz?

I’m trying to work out the best place to list a boat.

stevej
07-12-2021, 03:03 PM

might want admin to delete every post on your build then so the new owner never sees them

gazza2006au
07-12-2021, 04:54 PM
Whereabouts have you listed it Gazz?

I’m trying to work out the best place to list a boat.

I haven't listed it Ducks just playing along with disorderly and steve...

I want to keep the boat so much heart ache went into building it

If i were ever to list it it may end up on gumtree, boats sales etc..

One special key to selling is i would take a potentioal buyer down the river for a test run to show how the boat launches solo and good she runs

But yeah not for sale just yet shes not even finished and i wanna slay some kingys in the next few weeks and some mahi mahi out wide around febuary

catshark
07-12-2021, 08:21 PM
saw another project boat being towed away today , certainly seems like a few guys are getting busy

RayLamp
07-12-2021, 08:30 PM
saw another project boat being towed away today , certainly seems like a few guys are getting busy
They probably can't buy a new boat with insanely long waiting times. Also probably servicing their hobby in this COVID world...

gazza2006au
07-12-2021, 10:04 PM
Yup the new boat wait time plus another covid lock down looming with this new strain

Worse thing ever is to be locked down with no projects to do

catshark
15-12-2021, 08:05 PM
this is a old vintage i spied on my travels, sitting in a front yard 50 metres south of jervis bay turnoff, think it read 5k on the cardboard sign , though cant quite make out the brand of vessell, anyhow thought some one might want a project to do seeing as how expensive boat are getting ,

catshark
15-12-2021, 09:45 PM
check out those outrigger poles on the old girl , imagine the stories and fish this old boat caught , looks about 19ft perhaps a savage atlantic , who nows what the inboard is , 202 red motor
edit-- savage bluefin 21 t :o

gazza2006au
15-12-2021, 09:52 PM
Looks worthy of a rebuild but i would'nt kerp that old style cabin.. many say u #### a boat when u take that 1960's era cabin off i copped a bit of shit for doing it to mine by the bertram and caribbean lovers but those old 200kg+ cabins are out dated just theglass windows on mine were 6mm glass that weighed a shit load

I personally don't see 5k in the old girl, maybe $1500 for the trailer no rust and ready for rego.. maybe $1000-$1200 for the hull she may be covered with foilage looking at the surroundings

catshark
15-12-2021, 10:02 PM
if the inboard is seized or not , most likely it would be removed by new owner , pod it or cut out the transom , bit of work to do ,

gazza2006au
15-12-2021, 11:15 PM
One couldprobably sell the leg not sure what they go for, def pull that inboard out it would probably be abig old heavy guzzler

That boat looks really nice from the white down, it would look awesome with a brand new hard top with a moden design

gazza2006au
15-12-2021, 11:18 PM
The more i look at it the more i wanna go make an offer lol

Could it be an old 20ft bertram? It has a very familar coming like my caribbean also the cabin design looks similar to mine too

Can u make out the rego number Cat? My zoom in isto blurry