View Full Version : I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman

Pages : [1] 2

gazza2006au
16-09-2021, 08:52 PM
Appears to be a trailerable cruiser a huntsman possibly 24ft?

I sadly dont have the cash atm bugger, what a beast

7 stringers i done 7 stringers in my V19 this thing would be a piece of cake and take that out dated cabin off and totally remodel a new cabin

17-09-2021, 06:35 AM
The trouble with big boats like that is, it becomes such a task to find a crew, hook up, tow, fuel up, launch and so on, that it's too much trouble, most just sit in driveways because it's all too hard, I have mates with boats like that, and most only get used a couple of times a year.

gazza2006au
17-09-2021, 11:08 AM
Yeah i never thought of all that, could the launching and retrieve be simplified with a drive on trailer? My 19fter looks a piece of cake to handle but i do have lots of experience with 15-16ft boats this huntsman looks massive in comparason

Towing would cost a bit of money i'd imagine that boat would be 3+ ton it would make anice offshore boat tho

stevej
18-09-2021, 11:15 AM
There’s a reason these things sit in people’s back yards
pre Covid 30-40 grand got you a nice 17 foot tournament or similar boat
You can do almost everything these big old things did and tow with a ute and cheap on fuel
and relatively safely

you don’t see many people in trouble with properly sorted boats and awareness of the ocean

decent electronics outriggers electric reels you can do anything with them

gazza2006au
18-09-2021, 12:21 PM
When i fish i often fish outside in big seas Steve 4 meter swell doesnt stop us yes its harder ro fish bottom bashing but easily doable its the chop that gets ya on top of the swell, say4 meter swell with .9m chop on top from a 50-60kph gust than it starts becoming unsafe in a 17ft quintrex, a 24ft cruiser like this one pictured would handle that 4m+ .9 chop quiet easily and you'll make it back safely its probably got double or tripple the hulls depth than a 17ft boat

Bigger, heavier, longer, wider much more favorable out in the rough meaning u can fish those days u cant in a 17ft boat you can fish longer too so once the wind picks up at 11am u can stay out all day

stevej
18-09-2021, 01:00 PM
When i fish i often fish outside in big seas Steve 4 meter swell doesnt stop us yes its harder ro fish bottom bashing but easily doable its the chop that gets ya on top of the swell, say4 meter swell with .9m chop on top from a 50-60kph gust than it starts becoming unsafe in a 17ft quintrex, a 24ft cruiser like this one pictured would handle that 4m+ .9 chop quiet easily and you'll make it back safely its probably got double or tripple the hulls depth than a 17ft boat

Bigger, heavier, longer, wider much more favorable out in the rough meaning u can fish those days u cant in a 17ft boat you can fish longer too so once the wind picks up at 11am u can stay out all day

i don’t know many who fish in a 4m swell and a meter of wave height on top of that

your ignoring the point yes a big boat is nice but you don’t need it
and you don’t need 200-300l of fuel for a days trolling and a massive tow vehicle to legally tow it
look at the dramas your having just trying to get a empty hull up a driveway

that huntsman would suck in 50k easily to be a decent boat

gazza2006au
18-09-2021, 03:31 PM
200-300 litres fuel is quiet excessive say a 250hp goes on the back or even 2x 115hp modern but not new four strokes surely that wouldnt use 300L of fuel? That is probably around $450 if that werre the case i could probably take it out once a month

My current situation doesn't allow for anywhere to park it, but towing wise is pretty achievable a old jeep v8 can tow 3300kg and old ugly land rover can tow 4000kg ultametly a nice landcruise or a prado could tow it

My current boat and car is only difficult because of where i live i have a massive family i could persway to park a big boat at someones house for a few bob

gazza2006au
18-09-2021, 03:39 PM
Maybe i'm being optimistic in my figures my previous boats u just chuck $50 in it for fuel and go fish the bay or off port hacking so i think i'll get a better visual once the V19 hits the water for a day out wide

Hopping the 90hp gets atlease 1.3-1.5km L at wot

18-09-2021, 04:38 PM
I have a mate who had a 25ft Bertram ...... he thought it would be his ultimate boat - well most of it's life during his ownership was on swing mooring in middle harbour . It was expensive to run & it was actually a horrible boat to fish off ...... very rolly & a sea sick magnet .
Underway - it was OK .
After around 5 years - he got rid of it after blowing a motor ..... & going through what was a pain in the ass of getting if fixed .

Most of his time of ownership involved driving down to the boat & sleeping on it / fishing off it ... whilst never leaving the mooring .

I've come to the conclusion that you either have a true trailer-able boat or one that is moored .....

gazza2006au
18-09-2021, 09:03 PM
Yeah im hearing u guys a boat that size would only fit out on the main road parked up i don't think i could afford a yearly mooring plus cost to get her antifould each year plus i just wouldn't have much motivation not seeing the boat daily

Being parked outside brings its negatives, once its rebuilt and looking like a modern high end boat someone would knock it off for sure i live on apretty busy road so hundreds of people would see it everyday possibly pinch expensive tarps and whatever else is in the hull plywood would be a thing for people to knock off

With a modern hardtop cabin, and a modern used 250hp 4 stroke on the back thiefs would have there eyes lighting up with dollar signs

Recently there was a bloke on the south coast nsw who done a v17 full restore and his boat got knocked off 2 weeks after it was finished, just a few days ago i seen on fb another guy had his bayliner bowrider flogged in Sydney

Theft would be a big risk if i took on a hull like this

gazza2006au
18-09-2021, 10:56 PM
I'll let u guys in on that Formula 233 i was looking at in the USA i'll likely never have 15k to clear the import cost, if it was more 8k that i was quoted i'd seriously consider it but the extra fees i unsceen would blowout the budget if it ended at 15k

Last i spoke with the guy it was still available for USD$500

https://www.thehulltruth.com/boats-sale-wanted/743251-1967-formula-233-project-sale.html

I just read on a fb group the guys are getting 4.8kms to 3.8L of fuel on a F233 with a new 300hp Yamaha

Most of you guys wouldnt even piss on it for 15k landed but it has great potentioal already cleaned out/demo'ed a quick turn around time with a basic layout with nothing fancy

New stringers, floor, transom, and a outboard plus apaintjob it would be a nice 80k boat

19-09-2021, 12:39 AM
;)::):-?:-X

Dezzer
19-09-2021, 04:15 AM
Yeah, you don't need a boat to go fishin

Sent from my CPH1715 using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)

19-09-2021, 05:41 AM
Take that 15k and find a 23/24 shark cat that needs doing. Will shit all over that 233.

gazza2006au
19-09-2021, 08:03 AM
Found a Huntsman 23ft just 1.5 hours north for a few bob actually its a dead set bargain but the trailer is unregoed cant park it on the street and to big to get it up the driveway, i read on a ausfish post they measure 2.5m and empty hull weighs 1500kg also read a hull + trailer + outboard will weigh around 2300-2500kg my old ford will be rated to 2300kg with the new towbar hmmm would the old for tow it?

ranmar850
19-09-2021, 10:35 AM
If that 23 Huntsman is one manufactured by International Marine, it's effectively a 2300 Caribbean/ 23 Cusdader. So, just use the weight numbers for them, quoted them in another recent post. No way in the world that you will be towing that with the Ford, you're about a tonne short. Even with a very light fitout and an aluminium trailer, you'll be north of 3 tonne.

gazza2006au
19-09-2021, 10:48 AM
Thanks Ran i will try find the thread, i have put in a offer so maybe see what happens

gazza2006au
19-09-2021, 11:02 AM
Ran, found your post you mention the 23 being 3.5t with a 300 yamaha that is quiet alot of weight, from what i researched guys were saying the bare hulls were 1500kg and should come in at 2.5t boat, trailer and a single outboard

The one i found has had the top taking off and inboard removed, i keep reading they are a heavy hull tho

My ford has the same v8 as say a late 1980's 1990's era F150-F250 its a Windsor 302 v8 just to clarify its not a 6 cylinder

gazza2006au
19-09-2021, 11:05 AM
Looks like he is towing it with a powerhouse landcruiser tho

stevej
19-09-2021, 12:58 PM
Your v8 is not as capable in-suspension traction towcapacity

from memory apart from being illegal in this instance has a insane amount of kms on it

finish what you have and put the forum out if it’s misery with a video of it being launched and used

19-09-2021, 01:28 PM
If that 23 Huntsman is one manufactured by International Marine, it's effectively a 2300 Caribbean/ 23 Cusdader. So, just use the weight numbers for them, quoted them in another recent post. No way in the world that you will be towing that with the Ford, you're about a tonne short. Even with a very light fitout and an aluminium trailer, you'll be north of 3 tonne.
I don't think the Huntsman was the same, the Huntsman had a very full bow, almost just a rounded square, whereas the Caribbean was much more fine and almost pointed (from memory) but they are a very heavy boat, I have fished out of one hundreds of times, and need a decent truck to tow them properly, regardless of towing capacity stated on utes these days.

gunna
19-09-2021, 01:51 PM
Motor size is irrelevant. What is the LEGAL towing capacity of that model Ford?

https://www.autotrader.com.au/ford/fairmont/towing-capacity

gazza2006au
19-09-2021, 02:32 PM
Thanks Noel,

I have another contender a mate showed me its supposedly a 6m reef runner cruise craft would look ok with a wave breaker and a 250hp v6 2 stroke, just got toldit has 2 soft spots in the floor and needs a transom but i'll have 2x 6m boats than

Steve im still in the lock down lga i cant do anything we still cant leave the house

gazza2006au
19-09-2021, 05:46 PM
Im going to hopefully snag that cruise craft if someone hasnt bought it yet just trying to work out the cheapest way to get it home last thing i want is to be stuck in a shitty lock down again with nothing to do its currently driving me insane waiting 11 days for shipping im pulling my hair out

Motor size is irrelevant. What is the LEGAL towing capacity of that model Ford?

https://www.autotrader.com.au/ford/fairmont/towing-capacity

My car is currently rated to 1600kg (light duty towbar) but i have a heavy duty towbar in my yard rated to 2300kg my rear susspension is my only let down the springs are soft as its a limozene rather than a tow vehicle

gunna
19-09-2021, 07:22 PM
Forget tow bar weights. You can only tow what the car can legally tow.

gazza2006au
19-09-2021, 07:41 PM
That is the legal towing limit 2300kg

I just got a quote $440 to tow a boat 1 hour away jesus

stevej
19-09-2021, 08:02 PM
Well it’s twohours for him or more , there, back to you, back to depot
Your paying wages for him and truck use

if your bailing at 440 wouldn’t that be telling you the whole thing doesn’t make sense

gazza2006au
19-09-2021, 08:08 PM
Ll screw me... the bloke with the 5.6m cruise craft showed me lots of pics i asked to see a pic of the BIN he said it doesnt have one.. i circled it in his picture he said he removed both and lost them LOL for f... real some people think others are stupid.

gazza2006au
19-09-2021, 08:10 PM
Only about 40mins Steve each way $440 is a bit excessive i think i may have been over quoted due to it being a boat

stevej
19-09-2021, 08:34 PM
Buy a tow truck and go into business if They are making so much

father ram a smash repair shop for 25 years it’s not excessive

Only one reason someone would remove a hin number

gazza2006au
20-09-2021, 01:49 AM
I probably would have paid the 1440 just to get that hull and trailer but its not adding up why old mate took both maritime boat identification numbers off he said the front bin was sitting on the seat and he took the transom bin off to redo the transom yet he never touched the transom or anything structually on tbe hull

I had asked on fb for advice about the hull if it were a good hull and people are advising to just get the hull retagged, i made it clear that was hull rebirthing and i wanted no part of it..

billfisher
20-09-2021, 06:30 AM
What about your current unfinished project that you have sunk a lot of time and money in? I remember you complaining it was too big and now you want to take on a bigger project. You don't even have a way of towing it. Is this just all an exercise to keep yourself busy?

bluefin59
20-09-2021, 09:20 AM
Forget tow bar weights. You can only tow what the car can legally tow.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210919/7c047f932b55dd2fbad387e3a93c525d.jpg
Anything is possible apparently. Matt

20-09-2021, 10:31 AM
Thats solid advice there Bluefin..

I dunno what all this fuss about towing is about....obviously whoever wrote the laws has no idea ....you just have to think outside the box.

I just added a 2nd crossmember attached to my towball ..effectively doubling the towing capacity..

4 tonne Berty on a clapped out old Fairlane...no worries now..!..;)

stevej
20-09-2021, 11:01 AM
What about your current unfinished project that you have sunk a lot of time and money in? I remember you complaining it was too big and now you want to take on a bigger project. You don't even have a way of towing it. Is this just all an exercise to keep yourself busy?

3 boats
tinny
old glass one
and the almost finished one

just finish one and go fishing

what happened to the 50 yamaha

gazza2006au
20-09-2021, 01:36 PM
I have 1 boat steve i gave the tinny to a mate

gazza2006au
20-09-2021, 01:40 PM
I am going to hold off untill i get a 23 footer its ambishious it will cost a bit of and its going to be a big job

I can either tow it with a 2ton hire truck or buy a cheap shitter like a dyna truck just for towing

I like that huntsman 23 i posted the pic of but its a couple hours up the coast

stevej
20-09-2021, 03:01 PM
I have 1 boat steve i gave the tinny to a mate

thought you sold the Yamaha on and was going to pod the tinny for a older smaller engine
So many stories are hard to keep up with

Shame could have joined the shitty little tinny club with me

gazza2006au
20-09-2021, 03:32 PM
Tinny is still here as my mate lives out in semi rural sydney and he cant pick it up due to lock down but it has been sold to him, i lost out on it by a few bob, yamaha is far gone now

I only own the V19 now which is pretty much finished just australia post is holding me up but the hull is a good 97% finished

TheGurn
20-09-2021, 04:22 PM
Speechless. Head still shaking. Nothing more to add other than the following. I like being on the water hoping to catch a fish for tea for me and maybe some mates on a good day. Isn't that the point of it all. Have as many good memories in a 10ft tinny as in the boats I have now. Took a while to get there, but it surely wasn't this complicated, and I ate fish often while I waited on a miserable wage.
Different strokes.. different ambitions.... I guess.
One thing holds true after following all these threads.... a poor man pays twice. Save, wait. Patience always gets you closer to your dreams, and usually at much less expense.

gazza2006au
20-09-2021, 04:54 PM
TheGurn that is not true with boats either u spend 10's of thousands on a rebuilt boat or u spend 10's of thousands on rebuilding a boat you never get a good boat for next to nothing

Im just lucky my V19 has only cost about 12-13k and not 30k because i done the work

gunna
20-09-2021, 04:54 PM
Trailer all registered now?

gazza2006au
20-09-2021, 04:58 PM
Gunna not yet still in lock down not allowed to gtake the trailer for a blue slip without a reasonable excuse however its ok to take a trailer for a pink slip...

TheGurn
20-09-2021, 05:01 PM
So will you go fishing now? Or after the next build.
I think you might have missed my point. Regardless.... all the best.

gazza2006au
20-09-2021, 05:40 PM
No. Im just going to cast my lures across the lawn, maybe snag a stick fish in the bush

bobfromblacky
20-09-2021, 05:56 PM
No. Im just going to cast my lures across the lawn, maybe snag a stick fish in the bush
Gaz I reckon you should start making high quality lures, you know the drill, spend a s**t ton of cash on tooling up and punch out a high end product

20-09-2021, 06:27 PM
I am going to hold off untill i get a 23 footer its ambishious it will cost a bit of and its going to be a big job

I can either tow it with a 2ton hire truck or buy a cheap shitter like a dyna truck just for towing

I like that huntsman 23 i posted the pic of but its a couple hours up the coast

Mate - do you actually know what you want ?

I seriously feel that you need to work out what floats your boat - before you dive in to some other project . I reckon most here feel sorry for you ..... it's like watching a train wreck that you cant look away from.

why don't you tell us all what you want a boat for ? ....... what do you want to do with it ? - I'm sure we can help you save a lot of money & steer you in the right direction . You just need to come to the realisation that if you don't have the money - you need to get your priorities right

Mopheus
20-09-2021, 06:27 PM

I took the fam out boating on the weekend. Caught a cat.

gunna
20-09-2021, 06:43 PM
Mate - do you actually know what you want ?

I seriously feel that you need to work out what floats your boat - before you dive in to some other project . I reckon most here feel sorry for you ..... it's like watching a train wreck that you cant look away from.

Thats pretty much it in a nutshell Chris.

TheGurn
20-09-2021, 07:18 PM
TheGurn that is not true with boats either u spend 10's of thousands on a rebuilt boat or u spend 10's of thousands on rebuilding a boat you never get a good boat for next to nothing

Im just lucky my V19 has only cost about 12-13k and not 30k because i done the work

But you're not happy with it without even wetting it's arse? Money well spent?
Sell it to do up another bigger boat? Bigger truck? Bigger parking space?

I think the idea of rebuilding boats rather than the enjoyment of using them is your motivation. If so, keep at it. No drama there. Guys do the same with cars all the time.
Just some who like being on the water see it as frustrating from their perspective. Myself included. Again.... all the best.
Over & out.

gazza2006au
20-09-2021, 07:55 PM
Guys my boat will get used but i still need to have something to do when im not fishing something to keep me busy at home knitting is not an option, there is only so much i can do to the boat now and shes done, sillicone engine bolts, install fuel tank, glass fuel tank cover and install it, finish t top finish seat base, besides electronics shes finished

ranmar850
20-09-2021, 08:16 PM
Ran, found your post you mention the 23 being 3.5t with a 300 yamaha that is quiet alot of weight, from what i researched guys were saying the bare hulls were 1500kg and should come in at 2.5t boat, trailer and a single outboard

The one i found has had the top taking off and inboard removed, i keep reading they are a heavy hull tho

My ford has the same v8 as say a late 1980's 1990's era F150-F250 its a Windsor 302 v8 just to clarify its not a 6 cylinder

Well, I have a mate with a late 2300 with a 300 yamaha, and it is legal behind his cruiser, but north of 3 tonne. And the bare hull weight on those is quoted as 1500kg ;D This "bare hull weight" business can be very misleading, there is no standard to compare it to. For example, my Reefrunner is quoted as 1050kg dry hull weight. With a 150 Merc 4 stroke, a bit of fishing gear ( no eskies full of ice, for example), and the 220 l tank half full, it weighs 2550 kg on the weighbridge. So I can't see a boat which is meant to weigh another half tonne more coming in under 3 tonne, particularly with a heavier motor and bigger fuel tank.
I've seen people tie themselves into knots over this, when they add up the supposed " bare hull weight" supplied by the manufacturer, the (dry) weight of the motor, quoted weight of trailer, chuck in a bit for batteries, then wonder why it weighs a half tonne more than it " should" . Everything weighs something, and it adds up. :thumbsup:

blacklab
20-09-2021, 09:21 PM
pppppppppppppppp

gazza2006au
20-09-2021, 09:36 PM
Well, I have a mate with a late 2300 with a 300 yamaha, and it is legal behind his cruiser, but north of 3 tonne. And the bare hull weight on those is quoted as 1500kg ;D This "bare hull weight" business can be very misleading, there is no standard to compare it to. For example, my Reefrunner is quoted as 1050kg dry hull weight. With a 150 Merc 4 stroke, a bit of fishing gear ( no eskies full of ice, for example), and the 220 l tank half full, it weighs 2550 kg on the weighbridge. So I can't see a boat which is meant to weigh another half tonne more coming in under 3 tonne, particularly with a heavier motor and bigger fuel tank.
I've seen people tie themselves into knots over this, when they add up the supposed " bare hull weight" supplied by the manufacturer, the (dry) weight of the motor, quoted weight of trailer, chuck in a bit for batteries, then wonder why it weighs a half tonne more than it " should" . Everything weighs something, and it adds up. :thumbsup:

Yeah i think im going to see that when i take the V19 over the weigh bridge B/M/T it should be around that 1300kg but i suspect it may be around 1700+, me and my cousins and mates dont take much along with us as we are use to fishing from small-medium trailer boats and the more we take it just clutters the floor

I'll be happy with 2 rods pp, an esky 1-2 bags of ice, 1-2 batteries, a couple 7-9inch fish finders/gps and a bait tank thats all that will be going in the V19 and some fishing tackle for where ever we plan to fish that particular day

Fuel will be 60 litres or possibly 130 litres if i upgrade

From a vintage info spread sheet my hull weighed 800kg my engine weighs 182kg dry + oil 5kg + trailer? 400kg =1382kg

gazza2006au
20-09-2021, 11:18 PM
Browsing facebook USA... dear lord!!

21-09-2021, 07:48 AM
Yeah i think im going to see that when i take the V19 over the weigh bridge B/M/T it should be around that 1300kg but i suspect it may be around 1700+, me and my cousins and mates dont take much along with us as we are use to fishing from small-medium trailer boats and the more we take it just clutters the floor

I'll be happy with 2 rods pp, an esky 1-2 bags of ice, 1-2 batteries, a couple 7-9inch fish finders/gps and a bait tank thats all that will be going in the V19 and some fishing tackle for where ever we plan to fish that particular day

Fuel will be 60 litres or possibly 130 litres if i upgrade

From a vintage info spread sheet my hull weighed 800kg my engine weighs 182kg dry + oil 5kg + trailer? 400kg =1382kg

Good luck on on your weights Gaz - I reckon you will be in for a bit of a shock when you get the boat on a weigh bridge ........ but keep in mind you need to weigh the boat as it will be towed & used . ..... or close to it. ..... so your spare tyre needs to be included boat fueled (if you dont know the fuel load) .

21-09-2021, 08:17 AM
Back to the tow vehicle ..... what is the GVM ?
How many people will be on these trips - 2 / 3 ...... that all has to be included .

One of the issues that you will find is that the car will likely struggle pulling that boat out of a boat ramp - particularly at low tide. :oops: Actually I'd bet on it.

I think back to my early days of boating where most people I knew including myself towed their boats with a myriad of family sedans ....... I dont know how many times we have had to use the boats motor or have guys stand on the draw bar to get enough traction for these V8s to pull the boat out . We weren't necessarily talking about big boats either ... 15-18 foot glass boats like Nautiglass V150 , Pride Albatross & V Sea . Hell I even had issues with my first boat (535 Quintrex reef raider) being towed by a V8 commodore ... getting it out at Rose Bay & South West Rocks ..... & that's a tinny.

Anyhow Gaz - if you hadn't thought about that aspect of towing .... trust me , you should.

gazza2006au
21-09-2021, 10:50 AM
Yeah i never took into consideration rear wheel drive and slippery ramps with a 23ft boat that is the reason i built my v19 trailer extra long

I guess if i got a 23ft boat like the huntsman or f233 i would have to reconsider my tow vehicle, my ford has 400n.m of torque a moden 4x4 has about 450n.m so the old for has the torque just the rear wheel drive will be a problem along with the soft susspension on my ford

I could get a 00 era prado to tow with but yeah im a bit off from buying a 15k f233 and a prado i'd be looking at low 20k

That huntsman was only $2500 so it quiet peeked my interest

gazza2006au
21-09-2021, 10:57 AM
When i first got my full license i bought this massive Swift Craft i didnt know anything about tow limits of vehicles or towbar max tow limits, me and my cousin found a Swift Craft Sportsman 600 i was told it wss a 18ft boat but i just checked and it was a 20ft boat i towed it with a VR V6 commodore (lexcen) and it towed alright even with 5 people in the car but it was likely illegal

gazza2006au
21-09-2021, 10:59 AM
Same boat as this

Volvo
21-09-2021, 11:40 AM
Nice little 33ftr chug chug going up this way which wouldnt be too bad fer an old bloke like me but again thinking of mooring fees , slipway fees and bottom clean etc might be past my time :)??..

gazza2006au
21-09-2021, 12:18 PM
What are u getting Vol 33ft sounds nice, cigarette? Scarab?

stevej
21-09-2021, 12:43 PM
Cigarettes scarabs are not nice 33 foot fishing boats
Even some of the Aussie made “gun” boats are vomit inducing at rest
fine for yank sheltered areas with big long runs to get there

gazza2006au
21-09-2021, 12:45 PM
You only vomit if your a creek master steve ;D those big fast offshore hulls should be ok trolling i'd imagine

stevej
21-09-2021, 01:02 PM
You only vomit if your a creek master steve ;D those big fast offshore hulls should be ok trolling i'd imagine

same as if your boat never leaves the back yard aye mate

planning speeds would be ok
my cruisecraft 500 which is 5m was more stable at rest then the 223 runabout i had

gazza2006au
21-09-2021, 01:14 PM
My boat checked in but hasn't checked out yet Stevo but it isnt finished yet, like taking a restored car for a drive with 3 wheels ;D

gazza2006au
21-09-2021, 03:46 PM
Wow 3 of those f233 boats i posted got sold straight away possibly someone on here bought them?

21-09-2021, 03:50 PM
Wow 3 of those f233 boats i posted got sold straight away possibly someone on here bought them?

Yeah thanks for the heads up..I grabbed them gazza..

Gunna strap them together and make a trimaran..

I'll get a mini moke as a tow vehicle then I'll be all set to go out in 8-10 metre seas with 4 metres of chop on top chasing kingies...

gazza2006au
21-09-2021, 05:10 PM
Disorderly thos boats i linked to can be purchased and imported for 15k resold here for 75k i see your the wise one..

TheRealPoMo
21-09-2021, 05:33 PM
Disorderly thos boats i linked to can be purchased and imported for 15k resold here for 75k i see your the wise one..Pictures, bills of sale or it never happened or never will.
Agree with Nagg....all the hp in the world is no good on a slippery ramp without traction. Low range 4wd low rpm torque easiest way to provide this. I'm thinking Unimog.
V8 supercar no good.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

stevej
21-09-2021, 05:49 PM
discarded unwanted junk there just as they are here
with Money still freely available here via loans people will buy a boat finished 99.99 percent of the time

if they truly did sell for 75k people would be doing it. And the broker i used at my last company said business is almost nil In terms of boats for the last 18 months or more

gazza2006au
21-09-2021, 06:04 PM
I have been observing gumtree particular for F233's for the past 12 months,

One hull completely gutted and no top shell sold, seller was asking $14,000

One very average old school looking hard top sold, seller wanted $74,000

Another one was listed for $55,000 which sold also

There is one still listed for $180,000 which hasnt sold

The Formula 233 boats do not last long for sale in Australia

Brettoh
21-09-2021, 07:14 PM
Here is one for sale in Queensland :)
Huntsman 7.7m Centre Console in Commercial Survey | Motorboats & Powerboats | Gumtree Australia Whitsundays Area - Whitsundays | 1267683113 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/whitsundays/motorboats-powerboats/huntsman-7-7m-centre-console-in-commercial-survey/1267683113)

gazza2006au
21-09-2021, 10:14 PM
I seen a member of agroup on fb ask about F233's tow weights and altough being 1500kg hulls the general weight on trailers 2 engines ready to rock came in between 3300-3900kg that is quiet a bit of weight to tow 3.9ton

gazza2006au
22-09-2021, 11:51 AM
I asked a shipping company for a quote the bloke said wrapped hull on trailer would be the cheapeast with all the fees it came in at 13k aussie dollars thats no shipping the hull to the port in the usa and no port to home delivery here

Shipping alone was 8.6k usd

I put my ford up for sale and was contacted by a guy that worksfor grays online and was told my car woulddo really well on there classic car auctions

Mopheus
22-09-2021, 12:01 PM
I put my ford up for sale and was contacted by a guy that worksfor grays online and was told my car woulddo really well on there classic car auctions

What are you going to tow your existing boat with? Are you sure the guy actually worked for Grays Online and it wasn't just some scam? Even if it was really Grays Online, is interest in your vehicle really such that you'll get more for it at auction than private sale, remembering that auction houses charge buyer's premium on top?

Finish your existing boat and trailer. Splash it and use it. If it doesn't do the job, there'll be other hulls to buy later.

gazza2006au
22-09-2021, 04:01 PM
Hey Morp 1.5 years ago when i moved in i tried to reverse the alloy trailer up my driveway which didnt work the height from the towball to the bottom of the I beams is to much the i beams scrape and stops moving i was hopping the heavy duty mover could push the whole rig from the road up into the backyard but it cant even pull it up onto the concrete driveway

Im about to take the trailer for rego i can use the mover for the empty trailer but have no way of parking the boat back in the yard unless i can reverse it up to the gates hence i bought the heavy duty towbar in hopes that will work but even that is scratched on the bottom from the last owner so not looking promissing

Mopheus
22-09-2021, 04:29 PM
Im about to take the trailer for rego i can use the mover for the empty trailer but have no way of parking the boat back in the yard unless i can reverse it up to the gates hence i bought the heavy duty towbar in hopes that will work but even that is scratched on the bottom from the last owner so not looking promissing

Scraping on the bottom of the receiver will be due to vehicle clearance - probably bottoming out on driveway entry/exit, which is the exact opposite of the situation you have at the top of your driveway. You can still get the trailer to clear by adjusting towball height.

From your pic of the HD towbar you bought in the other thread, it looks like it has a 50mm receiver. Depending on how high you need to lift the hitch to get the beams to clear, either buy a standard mount and invert it (eg the Hayman Reese 'Interlock' mounts can be used with tongue bottom or top), or spend a bit more for an adjustable 5 hole mount and invert it. That'll get you the ramp-over clearance you need.

This is my inverted Hayman Reese. Note they've machined a hex indent on this side also for single wrench towball installation, indicating it's designed for inverted use.

Here's the 5 hole Hayman Reese for $149 at Repco (https://www.repco.com.au/en/4x4-adventure-escape/trailer-towing/towing-accessories/hayman-reese-interlock-trailer-ball-mount-adjustable-5-hole-towball-21228/p/A9328396). Note a bunch of the marketing pics show it in inverted configuration.

TheGurn
22-09-2021, 04:32 PM
Airbags added to your suspension? Not for leaf springs if your car has them.

22-09-2021, 04:47 PM
A different towbar won't change the height, I was kind of wondering why you got another one (I thought the car had one fitted) play with the tongue as suggested.

Brettoh
22-09-2021, 05:36 PM
Can you slightly build up the driveway to provide a little lift at that critical drag point. A couple of tapered planks might be enough. One under each rear tyre will lift the rear ov the vehicle and provide a little more tow receiver clearance.

gazza2006au
22-09-2021, 05:45 PM
I bought the second towbar mostly for its load rating, current tow bar is alight duty 1600kg load my boat will be boarderline either way so i bought the hayman and reese heavy duty towbar 2300kg rating

I thought the new towbar may clear but looking at it no difference to the one on the car

Getting the towbar raiser is a really good idea that should work perfect if i lift the hitch say 200mm i just hope that the hitch can move 2ton at that raised height but that sounds perfect!

22-09-2021, 06:16 PM
If that doesnt work give this a shot...plenty of ground clearance...thats how i do it...

gazza2006au
22-09-2021, 07:13 PM
I readthe the previous quote wrong its 8.5k aussie $ plus inland US shipping plus aud $180-$250 for cleaning, port to home in aust

That doesnt sound too bad now, if i get board of the CC look out!!

Darren J
22-09-2021, 08:30 PM
I have imported a boat from the us. Some of those numbers are a bit short. Add cost for wrap in the us, pre clean before it leaves the US, broker at the au end (as a minimum), and if your lucky no clean here, or maybe an expensive clean. Insurance for shipping. Inland us costs can vary, particularly if the boat cannot be legally towed there as it’s on an old crap trailer. Then add gst all of that. AU delivery fro port will be expensive for you, as it needs to go on a flat bed. Can’t legally be towed here. Once collected form au port, security access is needed, so not your typical tow pick up.
If u Your not paying someone to organise all Of this in the us and in au to assist (=more cost) then I hope you are good at organisation/planning and solving problems quickly, communicating with people on the other side of the world etc. it is not hard, if you are used to this sort of stuff, but also not something you should try to learn if your are not good at this stuff….
No disrespect, but from what I have read, you have struggled to arrange/resolve/manage relatively simple issues here in Australia with building/buying/repairing/registering car/boat stuff. So I would not recommend you import anything like this, no matter how cheap, unless you are prepared to pay a reputable/experienced broker for the full import Service. Even then, allow some import contingencies, which the good guys should warn you of.

I didn’t use a broker, not because it was cheaper, but I just wanted full control of the process. Probably not something to just “give it a shot” unless u are pretty confident in dealing with these sorts of things . I got some really good advice from some Ausfish members that were regular importers from the us.

Darren J
22-09-2021, 08:40 PM
PS. I imported over 7years ago. I highly doubt any of the costs have gotten cheaper.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

stevej
22-09-2021, 08:42 PM
many yank trailers are non aus compliant tow hitches lights width and tyres
which is why many get a aus compliant trailer built over there at the same time

Darren J
22-09-2021, 08:57 PM
Re the weights of the boats you quote. You will be quite a bit short also. I had a single axle trailer seafarer victory 5.2, 140 evinrude 2 stroke, early 90’s. 1350kg on the scales, no fuel, no gear, no anything, except a spare wheel (thrown loose in the boat, no mounting bracket!). These were 600kg hulls from memory. So over 1.5 with full tank and bit of gear. I towed it with a hsv clubsport 5.7L etc. not enough suspension (and boat was light on the tow ball), brakes were hopeless in the wet (at the front wheels) even with decent working trailer brakes, and slippery ramps were sometimes sketchy. Changed to a Navara 4x4, was heaps better and much safer. No way would I like to ok put 2t plus on a commodore or falcon sedan, running stock suspension and brakes.

As others have eluded, 23-24’ glass boats are all going to start with a 3 something tonne weight when basically loaded, i think you will find. Also don’t discount a lot of older AU glass boat manufacturers seemed to be very low on the claimed bmt trailer weights of their rigs. I assume so the typical Aussie commodore driver thought she’ll be right.

If you can’t properly afford a suitable rug to tow the weight, there’s a real chance you also can’t afford the costs of the boat being towed.
Generalisation of course, but Just saying.

Darren J
22-09-2021, 09:03 PM
many yank trailers are non aus compliant tow hitches lights width and tyres
which is why many get a aus compliant trailer built over there at the same time

Nearly guaranteed all of the us boats being looked at will be on over width trailers . Definitely will have the wrong hitch, definitely earthed chassis. More than likely will have drum Brakes fitted, (the yanks love them on their “small” boat trailers), no breakaway etc. So factor in a serious trailer rebuild, rewire etc. Or build a new one to full 3.5t AU specs. Either way $$$$.

23-09-2021, 07:55 AM
I bought the second towbar mostly for its load rating, current tow bar is alight duty 1600kg load my boat will be boarderline either way so i bought the hayman and reese heavy duty towbar 2300kg rating

I thought the new towbar may clear but looking at it no difference to the one on the car

Getting the towbar raiser is a really good idea that should work perfect if i lift the hitch say 200mm i just hope that the hitch can move 2ton at that raised height but that sounds perfect!

230kgs downforce on the ass end of a Fairmont ......... At least the steering will be light

I dont know why this comes to mind

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Alyx4QeRRdg

23-09-2021, 08:54 AM
Thanks for the laugh to start the day off nagg..

So i guess we now know where gazza's crazy idea's come from..;D

gazza2006au
23-09-2021, 06:19 PM
Wish i could tow it, seller uploaded fresh pics

23-09-2021, 06:40 PM
I saw that for sale, probably a good buy for someone willing to do the work and power it.

gazza2006au
23-09-2021, 08:09 PM
Rebuild it as a runabout would look really nice, it probably requries a lot more money than i have

Stringers would need to be 38-50mm that alone one would have to build a table/jig/press like we used at a plywood security door factory and press 2x25mm sheets those two sheets cost $200 and would only make 1 length at 4.8 meters for a stringer 500mm tall than all the glassing it would be a big job it would gobble up supplies really fast

But geez the rewards u could put a stripper pole on there or swing a cat so to speak

catshark
23-09-2021, 09:23 PM
nice hull whats that a 23 footer , might need a old warhorse discovery or jeep to tackle that monster,

gazza2006au
23-09-2021, 09:48 PM
Looks like im on the market for another car i just blew the gearbox in the ford really sad shit when i had it for sale

Looks like my 3.5k sale price will be 1k now a bit worried now, i have 4k so i can find something for 5k and negotiate

I could fix the ford gearbox get it reco but it will likely cost a good amount and i need a car now

24-09-2021, 06:18 AM
What about a second hand gearbox to get it back on the road?

gazza2006au
24-09-2021, 11:15 AM
The problem was the car felt like it was towing 1 ton with no trailer, speedo was reading 0 while i was doing 60, i called a transmission specialist he said when the speedo cable, gear or sensor goes it automatically puts the gearbox in 3rd gear by default so im going to get it fixed next week

I thought the rubber band like was worn syncro rings in the gearbox something to do with the car doing a burnout yesterday trying to get the boat off

But its all good i get to keep the old girl

gazza2006au
24-09-2021, 11:17 AM
Got to add yestererday when i loaded up the trailer with the boat on the car only sagged a small amount so i may just install a couple heavy duty rear springs to cope with the load

gazza2006au
24-09-2021, 05:56 PM
Found a bmw x5 on fb i might go look at 2700kg tow limit sounds nice turbo diesel

24-09-2021, 06:11 PM
Not a huge fan of cheap luxury cars, they are OK when new..ish, but once they start to die, they get expensive real quick.

24-09-2021, 07:10 PM
Not a huge fan of cheap luxury cars, they are OK when new..ish, but once they start to die, they get expensive real quick.

Very true .....Euro cars are probably only good for 100K ..... then they seem to be a ticking bomb - as boat tow vehicle ...... no thanks

gazza2006au
24-09-2021, 07:31 PM
There is really nothing on the market under 5k corona has sky rocketted prices on cheap cars so much the internet is now bombarded with car resale guys flooding there adds saying they want your car

I have come up with the bmw x5 TD or a early BT50

shakey55
25-09-2021, 05:46 AM
Guys my boat will get used but i still need to have something to do when im not fishing something to keep me busy at home knitting is not an option, there is only so much i can do to the boat now and shes done, sillicone engine bolts, install fuel tank, glass fuel tank cover and install it, finish t top finish seat base, besides electronics shes finished

Gazza you could always get a part time job to help fund your hobbies, or just do some volunteer work to keep you busy when not fishing. Just a thought buddy.

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)

gazza2006au
25-09-2021, 11:32 AM
Quiet easy to say Shakey physically i have no problem working, mentally i am really f.... up sadly, i cant work with anyone else im also highly medicated so i doubt someones ganna hire me to use a chain saw :o:D

gazza2006au
25-09-2021, 03:15 PM
Me mum seen a navara and said she wont be able to get in it, hilux, territory, bt50 are all the same height so i will have to settle for a ford, falcon, xr6, trying to find a 2008-2012 model love those back end lights

My mum is less than 5 foot tall

gunna
25-09-2021, 07:00 PM
Me mum seen a navara and said she wont be able to get in it, hilux, territory, bt50 are all the same height so i will have to settle for a ford, falcon, xr6, trying to find a 2008-2012 model love those back end lights

My mum is less than 5 foot tall

My mum is short. My brother simply carries a caravan step for her to get into his 200 Series.

gazza2006au
25-09-2021, 07:32 PM
Gunna my mum has trouble steeping up a piece of 50mm thick sleeper as a step in the front door, multiple hip hip operations and 2 prostetic hips my mum is lucky she can still walk a tiny bit let alone try use a step to gwt in a car

gazza2006au
25-09-2021, 07:39 PM
E market is that slim atm this is all i could find, a 2010 falcon lpg no petrol but i looked up the specs and it uses only a little bit less lpg than my v8 and i may still have the driveway towbar problem

The seller is as tight as a can of spam for sale 3k will take no less than 2.8k thats realistically a 1.8-2k car without corona

shakey55
26-09-2021, 03:32 AM
Quiet easy to say Shakey physically i have no problem working, mentally i am really f.... up sadly, i cant work with anyone else im also highly medicated so i doubt someones ganna hire me to use a chain saw :o:D

No good. Sorry to hear that. Was just a thought

Shakey - If only I lived near the coast

gazza2006au
27-09-2021, 02:30 PM
The shipping guy sent me a random email with a F233 to import kind of weird

This is the hull he linked me to https://www.thehulltruth.com/boats-sale-wanted/752684-1967-formula-long-deck-233-a.html

My ford isin the shop getting fixed bloke said the speedo gear was worn and they are no longer made so he had to put a 19 tooth one in which will spin quicker it was my only option and at $440!! With a tranny service

I was curious about the tow vehicle for a F233 so i asked what guys were towing theres with and a lot of them were using F250's one guy did comment he uses a BMW X5 2001 6 cylinder petrol

gazza2006au
30-09-2021, 05:36 PM
Old beast has been detailed and washed and is spotless, seems to be the time to sell but not buy, if i get a sale i may look at a 75 series landcruiser for my self and just get a little cheapie 1.3 litre car to run my mum around in

My ford is reasonably priced considering there are 2 on facebook for $8,000-$10,000

75 series i think has 3500kg towing so no worries towing a 23footer

shakey55
01-10-2021, 06:49 AM
Gazza

Here is an older Pajero that you will get for under two grand. Needs a new motor or rebuild. Might just be up your alley.

Good luck

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/details/1996-mitsubishi-pajero-gls-nk-manual-4wd/SSE-AD-7411216

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums

01-10-2021, 06:58 AM
Are you looking at buying a car to tow a boat you haven't got? I am a but puzzled, just trying to make sure I understand.

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 11:35 AM
I dont want a project car Shakey turbo diesel engines and injector pumps cost afortune fortune

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 11:36 AM
Noel i want a car that will tow the current boat but wouldnt mind something that has alarger towing capacity incase i do take on a 23ft hull like the huntsman down the track

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 01:06 PM
Hopefully going to look at a territory, had a offer on my LTD but i think its a car yard/resaler low balled me $2800 been told to hang in there for a higher offer

Cobbo1
01-10-2021, 01:25 PM
A Territory will not do any more than what your current car does Gaz, the only thing that will change is the ride height that will help with your driveway but they don't tow much, even the newer models are max 2700kg braked, plus they're weak as piss

01-10-2021, 01:48 PM
Is the Territory you're looking at a 4X4 ?

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 02:49 PM
I just had a look at the territory unsure if it was 4wd that is one thing i wanted to look at i only had a quick 10mins look, it had weird lpg it only had 2x 3 rails bolted to the top of the cam cover and a little box/switch inside the coin tray with a led gauge of light bars i couldnt even see the lpg tank under the car to varify its expiry date, the spare wheel was inside the rear cabin tho bolted up it looked all original

But a bit pricey for a 04 model $3500 it was clean low km's 210km dual fuel, heavy duty towbar

But i'll send old mate a msg now to see if its 4wd i deffinatly need 4wd

Barry Ehsman
01-10-2021, 03:02 PM
A Territory will not do any more than what your current car does Gaz, the only thing that will change is the ride height that will help with your driveway but they don't tow much, even the newer models are max 2700kg braked, plus they're weak as piss

Mate i had a AWD turbo deisel Territory & towed an 18ft van to the NT down WA a total of 16,000 km & loved it heaps of power & good fuel consumption

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 03:30 PM
I probably cant get a TD territory for 4k, i found a misubishi challenger early model v6 low gear never been offroad, are these any good?

Cobbo1
01-10-2021, 03:30 PM
Mate i had a AWD turbo deisel Territory & towed an 18ft van to the NT down WA a total of 16,000 km & loved it heaps of power & good fuel consumption

Yes, very different model to what Gaz will be looking at, turbo diesel will not be an option for him in his price range. An 18ft van will likely weigh less than 2500kg loaded, and I maintain that Ford Territory's are weak as piss when it comes to anything outside of their duty, which is taking the kids to soccer on Saturday morning.

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 04:21 PM
Its a pretty hard market atm there are not many options for tow vehicles under 4k all the tow cars that were 4-5.5k before corona are all now 8k+

billfisher
01-10-2021, 05:00 PM
Yes, very different model to what Gaz will be looking at, turbo diesel will not be an option for him in his price range. An 18ft van will likely weigh less than 2500kg loaded, and I maintain that Ford Territory's are weak as piss when it comes to anything outside of their duty, which is taking the kids to soccer on Saturday morning.

The naturally aspirated petrol Territory has heaps of power and torque for towing (I'd be worried about keeping my driver's licence with the turbo petrol). You keep saying 'weak as piss,' 'no better than what he has now'. I don't know on what basis though. For a start the vehicle mass is much higher than his old falcon which helps it to tow higher weights more safely. Add to that 4wd is advantage on slippery boat ramps.

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 05:02 PM
The territory i looked at is only 2wd the goods it has the heavy duty towbar fitted and it has lpg, looked like it may have a leaky oil pan which is easy for me to fix, the seller has offered it for $2800

I will be keeping the ford LTD V8 to run mum around in i'll be chipping in for her rego

Thoughts? Its the cheapest territory on the market at $2800

Mopheus
01-10-2021, 05:24 PM
Thoughts? Its the cheapest territory on the market at $2800

My thoughts - you're crazy throwing money at a new car + rego + insurance when you haven't tried the BMT behind your Fairlane that you've already spent money on and which you won't get back. Provided a 5 point hitch ($130) provides the clearance to get the drawbar over the top of your driveway, I'd be quietly confident that it'll tow, launch and retrieve your boat without issue.

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 05:37 PM
Hey Moph the V8 will go in my mums name her rego i just chuck in half (old age pensioner rego) it will likely get driven twice a week for hospital visits

The territory will be the daily if my mum can get in and out of the territory i'll aell the V8

The driveway clearance is only one factor, than there will be pulling up a slipery ramp, and the soft rear susspension on the V8 plus 4 blokes in the car

Cobbo1
01-10-2021, 05:58 PM
The naturally aspirated petrol Territory has heaps of power and torque for towing (I'd be worried about keeping my driver's licence with the turbo petrol). You keep saying 'weak as piss,' 'no better than what he has now'. I don't know on what basis though. For a start the vehicle mass is much higher than his old falcon which helps it to tow higher weights more safely. Add to that 4wd is advantage on slippery boat ramps.

Sure, plenty of power, probably a similar amount to what he has now but I don’t think that’s the problem. Gaz is clearly very mindful on fuel efficiency, hit a hill in that territory it will drink faster than you or I on a Friday afternoon. Ford aren’t exactly known for their gearbox and diff reliability, well exemplified by Gazza’s Fairlane. He’s already considering a bigger boat and as much as I disagree with Gaz on many things, credit where it’s due and he does give his projects his best shot, three years ago people were giving him shit for wanting to do this project, now he’s on the home straight to getting it wet, so what would be the point of buying a Territory to replace the Fairlane that still won’t tow a bigger boat reliably and ultimately still going to produce the same dilemma down the track?

billfisher
01-10-2021, 06:15 PM
Sure, plenty of power, probably a similar amount to what he has now but I don’t think that’s the problem. Gaz is clearly very mindful on fuel efficiency, hit a hill in that territory it will drink faster than you or I on a Friday afternoon. Ford aren’t exactly known for their gearbox and diff reliability, well exemplified by Gazza’s Fairlane. He’s already considering a bigger boat and as much as I disagree with Gaz on many things, credit where it’s due and he does give his projects his best shot, three years ago people were giving him shit for wanting to do this project, now he’s on the home straight to getting it wet, so what would be the point of buying a Territory to replace the Fairlane that still won’t tow a bigger boat reliably and ultimately still going to produce the same dilemma down the track?

The Territory uses the ZF six speed transmission, same as BMW uses. It's totally different to his old Fairlane. It will tow and retrieve more than the Fairlane for the reasons I pointed out. Whether a 23 foot boat is a good question but that's getting near the upper limit for a trailer boat. . PS: there aren't many hills going down the M5 from western Sydney to the coast and it will still use less than an old V8. You will use far more once you are out on the water.

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 07:11 PM
A problem i forgot about is the transmission specialist said the V8's transmission is well worn and very dirty he said it may last 50,000kms and to stay close to home as in Sydney he said to just drive it untill the transmission dies, to rebuild it cost $2200 and he said good luck finding a second hand transmission

catshark
01-10-2021, 08:10 PM
I probably cant get a TD territory for 4k, i found a misubishi challenger early model v6 low gear never been offroad, are these any good?they are a pig , running the 3.0 magna engine, no guts , mate has one and tows his camper , only 600kg auto trans light comes on

catshark
01-10-2021, 08:31 PM
Hey Moph the V8 will go in my mums name her rego i just chuck in half (old age pensioner rego) it will likely get driven twice a week for hospital visits

The territory will be the daily if my mum can get in and out of the territory i'll aell the V8

The driveway clearance is only one factor, than there will be pulling up a slipery ramp, and the soft rear susspension on the V8 plus 4 blokes in the car
the fairlane is a nice car , factory sunroof V8 etc , watch those car yards trying to sweat you , in a car yard they mark that car up too 8-9k
replacement tow car for a potential 23 footer , ford terry AWD argubuly best engine ever made , landcruiser 80 old and trusty , jeep v8 quadra drive and comfort , all have fulltime drive systems , very safe on wet roads ,

catshark
01-10-2021, 08:39 PM
A problem i forgot about is the transmission specialist said the V8's transmission is well worn and very dirty he said it may last 50,000kms and to stay close to home as in Sydney he said to just drive it untill the transmission dies, to rebuild it cost $2200 and he said good luck finding a second hand transmission
plenty of wreckers around , would have a second hand auto $400 tops , ive never heard of a ford gearbox failing, holden however ha ah

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 08:42 PM
Sorry Cobbo just seen your last post, my brother bought a brand new territory back in 2004-2005 for full cost about 45k he done 160k and its been sitting in his driveway for over 2 years now, vandalised by my nephew and trashed but the engine and transmission should still be good

gazza2006au
01-10-2021, 08:48 PM
Guess i need to look for a 4x4 territory these cars were barely selling for $1800 before corona now there selling for $5,000+ bloody stupid how the economy crashes and cars sky rocket in price

Cat i suspect the car yard has already contacted me via classifieds offering $2800 they put the boot in itslisted for $4,500

Yet i only negotiated old mate today from $3,500 to $2,800

Happy to sit on my hands for a few more days untill a good car comes up but boat and trailer go to the mechanics next week so i'd like to know i have something to push the boat up the driveway

gazza2006au
02-10-2021, 11:49 AM
Im coming up empty handed there is just nothing on the market, hows a navara for a tow vehicle?

02-10-2021, 12:05 PM
Shit motors with timing chain issues..navara's were about the cheapest 2nd hand vehicle when I was looking for a 4wd tow vehicle a couple of years back..

I went with a 2010 Pajero and have had zero probs...

scottar
02-10-2021, 01:08 PM
Shit motors with timing chain issues..navara's were about the cheapest 2nd hand vehicle when I was looking for a 4wd tow vehicle a couple of years back..

I went with a 2010 Pajero and have had zero probs...

The 3 litre D22 Navara wasn't bad. The zd30 was a heap more reliable in the nav than the patrol. I put 250 thousand on one - regular servicing, a suspension change and a set of rear wheel bearings. The clutch was still original but was probably nearing replacement time. It towed ok apart from stopping. If it had ABS it would have been fine. Certainly no LandCruiser but better than a sedan. No timing chain either - gears.

gazza2006au
02-10-2021, 02:46 PM
My cousin is trying to tell me to buy a mid 90's era prado landcruiser at 5k are they even worth anything near 5k?

stevej
02-10-2021, 03:11 PM
Years ago the new reps got d22 and being senior I got a bit more of a budget and got a d40 navara

mine was a lot nicer vehicle to drive and tow with the d22s were a tractor in comparison

scottar
02-10-2021, 04:04 PM
Years ago the new reps got d22 and being senior I got a bit more of a budget and got a d40 navara

mine was a lot nicer vehicle to drive and tow with the d22s were a tractor in comparison

No argument. They were a basic no frills vehicle that wasn't trying to extract high output out of a small capacity engine. Probably why it was reliable. Only thing with it was rear drums locking up under emergency braking. ABS would have sorted that.

02-10-2021, 04:06 PM
My cousin is trying to tell me to buy a mid 90's era prado landcruiser at 5k are they even worth anything near 5k?
No real known issues with Prados, they just keep on going.

gazza2006au
02-10-2021, 05:18 PM
Half the people on gumtree and facebook are not replying to msgs, found 2 4wd territorys both decently priced one was only 2k but this lock down is sucky i called service nsw hotline and they were closed, i than called the local cop shop ro ask if i could leave my lga to purchase a car dor transport he wouldnt give me a clear answer and told me to call the corona hotline where a lady said its in the gray area and it would be up to the cop if i were pulled over

So now im stuck and have to look in my lga

gunna
02-10-2021, 05:31 PM
I, like most others on here, fail to see the urgency of buying another car. Surely it can wait a couple weeks till your lga is out of lockdown?

02-10-2021, 05:55 PM
I, like most others on here, fail to see the urgency of buying another car. Surely it can wait a couple weeks till your lga is out of lockdown?

Thats the best advice yet...

Rushing in you will likely just be buying someones old junker at a premiem price...

Kinda like what you just did with that corroded old yammie you recently sold to some poor sap....

Just more Gaz drama..over and out...

gazza2006au
02-10-2021, 06:02 PM
Disorderly i can only tell a thick person so many times i wont repeat it again.

gazza2006au
02-10-2021, 06:06 PM
Gunnayeah spoke with someone else my options are to wait 9 days untill lock down is lifted but that means postponing everything, trailer rego, maiden of the boat etc..

The only cars i see plenty of are turbo diesel captivas there is about 7 to pick from

But you guys have warned against those

Theres a ex company navara TD but i cant get there for another 9 days

gunna
02-10-2021, 08:34 PM
Gunnayeah spoke with someone else my options are to wait 9 days untill lock down is lifted but that means postponing everything, trailer rego, maiden of the boat etc..

The only cars i see plenty of are turbo diesel captivas there is about 7 to pick from

But you guys have warned against those

Theres a ex company navara TD but i cant get there for another 9 days

What rubbish. You know very well the Ford will tow it easily and pull it out of the water easily. Stop finding problems that don’t exist. Others have told you how to solve the problems in the yard.

gazza2006au
02-10-2021, 09:06 PM
What rubbish. You know very well the Ford will tow it easily and pull it out of the water easily. Stop finding problems that don’t exist. Others have told you how to solve the problems in the yard.

Gunna i take it you drive front wheel drive compact cars and own a tinny? For some information to forfill your self with i have owned mostly rear wheel drive commodores i have been stuck at sylvania (hole in the wall), chipping norton lake, the entrance, and the old botany ramps so yes it is very likely i will get stuck again and that is no shit!!

If you look at my towbar its the same as everyone elses on a ford but where my trailer is different most have up to 100mm hanging below the ball (100mm shs steel drawbars) i have 130mm i beam below my ball mount than i have 155mm bolts thats 155mm below the ball in trailer height (130mm i beam,2x 6mm plates, 10mm nuts) tell me genius how u get clearance reversing up a steep driveway?

That is 6 inches of trailer right under the ball...

gunna
02-10-2021, 10:00 PM
Lived in Sydney for 30 years. Pulled my boat out of plenty of ramps down there with an XD Falcon. Fished with a mate who pulled a 6M glass boat out of those same ramps with his XD. People have been doing it for a very long time.

gazza2006au
02-10-2021, 10:33 PM
Have first hand experience gunna and yes once was pulling a Swift Craft 600 out with a VR commodore and yes i got stuck but yours telling me i didnt...

Mopheus
02-10-2021, 11:56 PM
...tell me genius how u get clearance reversing up a steep driveway?

That is 6 inches of trailer right under the ball...

As I've said before, an inverted 5 hole hitch should solve that for you. Some have 8" of rise which would put the underside of your drawbar 2" above the underside of your hitch. Almost all of them do 6" rise which would have the drawbar level with the hitch.

You previously said that "i tried to reverse the alloy trailer up my driveway which didnt work the height from the towball to the bottom of the I beams is to much the i beams scrape and stops moving" ... doesn't sound like you need much additional clearance to get it up there.

Dezzer
03-10-2021, 03:33 AM
Gunna i take it you drive front wheel drive compact cars and own a tinny? For some information to forfill your self with i have owned mostly rear wheel drive commodores i have been stuck at sylvania (hole in the wall), chipping norton lake, the entrance, and the old botany ramps so yes it is very likely i will get stuck again and that is no shit!!

If you look at my towbar its the same as everyone elses on a ford but where my trailer is different most have up to 100mm hanging below the ball (100mm shs steel drawbars) i have 130mm i beam below my ball mount than i have 155mm bolts thats 155mm below the ball in trailer height (130mm i beam,2x 6mm plates, 10mm nuts) tell me genius how u get clearance reversing up a steep driveway?

That is 6 inches of trailer right under the ball...Just wondering then, why did you buy the Ford as a dedicated tow vehicle if you knew all that?

Sent from my CPH1715 using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)

gazza2006au
03-10-2021, 10:53 AM
Moph when i moved in the tow hitch bolts were uncut and the trailer got stuck reversing up the driveway, i have since cut the volts and she now reverses up the driveway unloaded

gazza2006au
03-10-2021, 10:54 AM
Just wondering then, why did you buy the Ford as a dedicated tow vehicle if you knew all that?

I bought the car 2 years ago before i moved house..

Mopheus
03-10-2021, 12:08 PM
where my trailer is different most have up to 100mm hanging below the ball (100mm shs steel drawbars) i have 130mm i beam below my ball mount than i have 155mm bolts thats 155mm below the ball in trailer height (130mm i beam,2x 6mm plates, 10mm nuts) tell me genius how u get clearance reversing up a steep driveway?

Moph when i moved in the tow hitch bolts were uncut and the trailer got stuck reversing up the driveway, i have since cut the [b]olts and she now reverses up the driveway unloaded

So which is it? Do you get stuck reversing up the driveway or not?

gunna
03-10-2021, 12:24 PM
BTW - if the issue of slippery ramps is the only reason you want a 4x4. Don’t discount the AWD’s. I had a Prado for years and did a lot of 4x4. I now have a Forrester with AWD and it has taken me everywhere that the fourby did.

stevej
03-10-2021, 12:27 PM
The issue not being discussed is with the bunk setup you will have to sink a fair length of the trailer to float it on and off
how much will be a guess until you actually use it and how steep the ramp is , shallow ramps may be a concern

the falcon will tow it and reverse it up your drive way once you have some towball weight.

towed and launched a mates 564 Haines with the au falcon wagon plenty of times at ramps like rose bay parsley bay all the big botany ramps

billfisher
03-10-2021, 12:40 PM
BTW - if the issue of slippery ramps is the only reason you want a 4x4. Don’t discount the AWD’s. I had a Prado for years and did a lot of 4x4. I now have a Forrester with AWD and it has taken me everywhere that the fourby did.

I thought a AWD is a 4WD and vice versa. PS: I haven't had any problems retrieving a fairly substantial boat (18 ft fiberglass) with various Ford Falcons unless there is significant amount of sand on the ramp (still got it out without too much trouble). Turing the traction control off is a good idea if traction is a problem.

gunna
03-10-2021, 12:46 PM
The other problem is - none of these opinions agree with Gazza’s thinking and will therefore be ignored. I just don’t see the logic in spending thousands on a car to solve a towbar issue. All we can do is try to give logical advice.

gazza2006au
03-10-2021, 01:43 PM
The other problem is - none of these opinions agree with Gazza’s thinking and will therefore be ignored. I just don’t see the logic in spending thousands on a car to solve a towbar issue. All we can do is try to give logical advice.

Gunna your very negative like a couple others here, what about my worn ford gearbox that will cost $2200 to rebuild, what about the extra weight of the hull on the trailers towball, what about the 2 wheel drive being uphill to the rest of the car?

Dont just post what you wanna read post all the factors!

billfisher
03-10-2021, 01:53 PM
Gunna your very negative like a couple others here, what about my worn ford gearbox that will cost $2200 to rebuild, what about the extra weight of the hull on the trailers towball, what about the 2 wheel drive being uphill to the rest of the car?

Dont just post what you wanna read post all the factors!

Didn't you say that your mechanic said that your transmission might last for another 50,000 km? And in your price range you might have issues with your replacement vehicle. PS: pump up air shocks will compensate for the weight of trailer on the tow ball.

gunna
03-10-2021, 02:11 PM
Didn't you say that your mechanic said that your transmission might last for another 50,000 km? And in your price range you might have issues with your replacement vehicle. PS: pump up air shocks will compensate for the weight of trailer on the tow ball.

Bit more good advice there. Why on earth do you think that any other $2-$3k car will have a better gearbox. And there is nothing negative in my comments. They are positive. Many others have commented - we are positive your car will pull the boat out of the water. We are positive you are better with the gearbox you know rather than the gearbox you don’t know. We are positive the towbar issue can be fixed without changing cars. Stop being negative about the positive comments of all the people trying to give you good logical advice.

Barry Ehsman
03-10-2021, 03:10 PM
Anything to keep his thread going, that's what gets him off.

03-10-2021, 03:49 PM
Why on earth do you think that any other $2-$3k car will have a better gearbox.

Well thats the bizzare bit...

What sort of a 4wd, in the current car market, would you actually expect to buy for that sort of money..?

Its bound to be a total bucket of shit isnt it..? ...

and as mentioned it will just be more dramas to add to ausfish for years to come...

TheRealPoMo
03-10-2021, 04:25 PM
I have to agree with the majority here Gaz. If the LTD is ok except for a transmission that is on the way out (all Ford transmissions are on the way out [emoji28] ), stay with it and reco it when it dies - assuming your clearance issues can be sorted with hitch configuration....
It has plenty of torque and an LSD - stay clear of the green slippery stuff and all good.
I think if you ignore this common sense then you must just want another new old vehicle which will come with other issues. That's ok, your choice....but you have been given good advice by many so don't cry when you get "I told you so's"

Mopheus
03-10-2021, 04:59 PM
I thought a AWD is a 4WD and vice versa.

Normally 4WD has a transfer case where AWD has a centre differential. That means AWD is better onroad as you have drive to all four wheels where most 4WDs recommend against engaging 4WD on bitumen. Offroad though, lose grip to one wheel of an AWD and (without traction control) it'll just sit there and spin with no torque to the other three.

Modern AWD systems address this by detecting and braking wheels that are spinning faster to redirect torque to those that have grip. Not sure what the older Territories have so far as traction control goes.

Even 4WD is still only guaranteed 2WD in the absence of LSDs or lockers. If a 4WD gets crossed up offroad (diagonal corners off ground) it'll just spin the free wheels. Lockers fix that for the axle to which they're fitted by ensuring both wheels turn at the same rate as driveshaft input (or faster, in the case of an auto-locker).

My Suzuki Sierra is locked front and rear with reduction transfer gearing. It's hilarious what a little toy like that can drive with guaranteed torque to all four wheels. Eg the mudhole below ... a bunch of non-locked Patrols and Landies hung up on that before I idled through it. All down to the lockers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FuYoNL6j6h0

gunna
03-10-2021, 05:31 PM
Modern AWD systems address this by detecting and braking wheels that are spinning faster to redirect torque to those that have grip. Not sure what the older Territories have so far as traction control goes.

Yes. It’s interesting sitting on a steep gravel slope feeling the traction change from wheel to wheel.

stevej
03-10-2021, 05:39 PM
Some have both

my challenger has a center diff for awd then a transfer case for high low range and factory rear and after market front air lockers
plus it uses stability and traction control to manipulate things
no down descent unfortunatly

gazza2006au
03-10-2021, 07:14 PM
I'll see how i go this week if the ford cant reverse the boat up the driveway i'll call a mate or my cousin with his hilux than i'll take it from there

I have been told air susspensions on my model do very little, the ford is a limo its built for comfort

I would have no problem at all in my old driveway gates could have been widen to 3+ meters i had a good 30 meter driveway just sucks it was a choice of this house or a 1950's fibro shitter

billfisher
03-10-2021, 07:59 PM
I'll see how i go this week if the ford cant reverse the boat up the driveway i'll call a mate or my cousin with his hilux than i'll take it from there

I have been told air susspensions on my model do very little, the ford is a limo its built for comfort

I would have no problem at all in my old driveway gates could have been widen to 3+ meters i had a good 30 meter driveway just sucks it was a choice of this house or a 1950's fibro shitter

Air shocks raise the ride height/ compensate for sagging due to weight on the tow bar, which is your problem. They don't do much for the general ride and handling which is probably what they were referring to.

TheRealPoMo
04-10-2021, 03:59 PM
I'll just add, in about 93 I bought an 82 LTD for the 351, transmission and LSD. The previous owner had a boat dealership up here and the vehicle was his mainstay. Obviously a bit rusty after 10 years of launching boats and alot of the luxury bits no longer worked but it obviously did the job for him - he certainly could have opted for a Landcruiser.
No air suspension but it had HD springs.

gazza2006au
04-10-2021, 06:48 PM
The only springs available for my car are "low springs" on the rear also there is only one air bag suspension kit for my car on ebay

stevej
04-10-2021, 07:49 PM
Why do you insist on using ebay for everything
ring Lovell or king springs ask the part number and your nearest supplier

kings made springs up for me for my 1965 Ford I’m sure they will make you some for a Ford falcon
ring them up and they will deliver them to you

gazza2006au
04-10-2021, 08:09 PM
Steve i shop on ebay because it has everything i need i can shop at my own convienience,you may not like ebay thats your choice but dont tell me where to shop

stevej
04-10-2021, 09:18 PM
Don’t read into to it too much i didn’t say don’t shop there.

focus on the positives in the post: yes you can get heavy duty springs for your car
Ebay not having something doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist

ericcs
04-10-2021, 10:04 PM
Steve i shop on ebay because it has everything i need i can shop at my own convienience,you may not like ebay thats your choice but dont tell me where to shop

if they don't have the right springs, then clearly ebay doesn't have everything you need!

gazza2006au
05-10-2021, 12:02 AM
Harder springs mean the car will ride hard when im not towing i would rather the car stay stock as it was designed and use the air bags for the best ride towing and not towing

gazza2006au
05-10-2021, 12:55 PM
I called pedders suspension they do 2 different springs for my car,1 a heavy duty spring, 2 a heavy duty 20mm raised spring

The HD stock height springs are $230 a set much cheaper than buying the air bags the bloke said there shouldnt be any sag with 200kg ball weight

TheRealPoMo
05-10-2021, 03:27 PM
Still ride softer than a Hilux or any other 4wd ute based idea you were toying with.

gazza2006au
30-11-2021, 03:40 PM
Seen this a couple days ago someone will snap it up 17k bargain fibreglass stringers!!! Add afloor, redo the transom, add a pod your laughing

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/landsborough/motorboats-powerboats/233-project-boat/1285639296?utm_source=org.mozilla.firefox&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=socialbuttons&utm_content=android_VIP_bottom

stevej
30-11-2021, 03:58 PM
15k for a new trailer as that’s just sitting on a marina mover

gazza2006au
30-11-2021, 04:11 PM
Can build a alloy trailer for about half of that 15k steve,new trailer 8k? Hull $17k, engine 20k, transom 3k, floor 3k, its still a 100k boat

shortthenlong
30-11-2021, 04:40 PM
Can build a alloy trailer for about half of that 15k steve,new trailer 8k? Hull $17k, engine 20k, transom 3k, floor 3k, its still a 100k boat

As usual your budgeting is a bit short

Flat bed hire to move from Landsborough to your place
Money to find a new place to store it when you can't fit it down the side of your house
Electronics

Also I feel you are short on outboard price - what are you going to get for 20K that will power that boat well
And then you need to make the trailer legal for a boat of that size so proper brakes, wheels etc etc

You are right it is a 100k boat as that is what you will eventually put into it to make it great

Mopheus
30-11-2021, 04:48 PM
Gee, lucky it doesn't require any of that expensive electrical stuff you've been complaining about in other threads.

Your estimated rebuild cost is a pipedream. As is selling it for $100k after spending $50k on it.

Now spending $100k on it to get it right? Yeah, that's more like it. I could see that. But you'd struggle to get your money back if you sold it.

30-11-2021, 05:04 PM
Oh here we go again...

Gaz just plucking figures out of his arse..

Gaz, taking into account the photo's of your current project you also forgot that with your level of expertise in finishing fibreglass and the extra costs imposed by your lack of orgnisational skills plus the other (large) costs raised by the fella's above i doubt there is much money for you to make at the point of sale....and besides there is no splashwell in that one to situate your motorbike starter battery...;)

Wonder how the Fairlane would go towing it..oh thats right you were going to buy a truck as well werent you..?::)

When are you moving out to your 20K Hobbit house in desert again..?

stevej
30-11-2021, 05:08 PM

there is over 2k just in the breakway system for the trailer
how much did you invest in your boat and its no where near finished where you would sell it to someone ?
what you put in would be all that you got back

would be 50k in engines and fitting alone

gazza2006au
30-11-2021, 06:15 PM
how much did you invest in your boat and its no where near finished where you would sell it to someone ?

15k for my boat, motor, trailer? Dreamin Steve, it could be insured for 30k

Try price a tandem hydraulic braked 6 meter trailer for less than $10,000

gazza2006au
30-11-2021, 06:18 PM
Gee, lucky it doesn't require any of that expensive electrical stuff you've been complaining about in other threads.

Your estimated rebuild cost is a pipedream. As is selling it for $100k after spending $50k on it.

Now spending $100k on it to get it right? Yeah, that's more like it. I could see that. But you'd struggle to get your money back if you sold it.

Hey Moph its a clone of the legendary Formula 233 hull

stevej
30-11-2021, 06:27 PM

What are you talking about ? whats 15 k got to do with anything

Ill say it slowly
what did your boat cost to do and its not even half finished underpowered and on a home made trailer?
versus what do you think this 233 would cost to finish to a standard someone would pay 100k for ?
there is easily 50k in two engines and rigging and controls and a 900 sounder won’t cut it

and yes a decent alloy trailer may be even more then 15k as i paid over 10k 18 years ago for a 233 gal twin axle trailer with cable break away

Dignity
30-11-2021, 06:57 PM

Interesting figure, have you insured it yet. Guarantee as it's a rebuild it will require an inspection and I doubt your figures are close.
A Formula 233 hull would require more towing than you have any capability to do. Here in Qld the trailer would require a road worthy every year as it would be well and truly over weight wise. Also you haven't taken into account all the new tools you will buy, it seems you spend more on them than the actual boat/trailer.
These days I work on the basis of "I reckon it'll taken hour so double that then double it again and it'll be close. Same with the finance.
Finish your current project first.

CT
30-11-2021, 07:15 PM

Bull sh!t!! Not a hope in hell! Put the pipe down and step away from the keyboard.

Dignity
30-11-2021, 07:36 PM

Steve, you are closer than our friend Gaz, The hydraulics alone is over $1k, the calipers around $600 +, then the axles will need to be 4T rating, not cheap. And just the amount of material required for the trailer is probably at least 4 times the amount he thinks he needs, more than likely 6 times. Just the tyres and rims themselves have to be rated, once you go over the 2T rating a shit load more regs come into play and it is generally a lot higher requirements. Just ask me how I know.

gazza2006au
30-11-2021, 07:41 PM
What are you talking about ? whats 15 k got to do with anything

Ill say it slowly
what did your boat cost to do and its not even half finished underpowered and on a home made trailer?
versus what do you think this 233 would cost to finish to a standard someone would pay 100k for ?
there is easily 50k in two engines and rigging and controls and a 900 sounder won’t cut it

and yes a decent alloy trailer may be even more then 15k as i paid over 10k 18 years ago for a 233 gal twin axle trailer with cable break away

15k is where im at cost wise in the whole build, remember you suggested i could have bought a 14k tinny, who wants a 4 meter tinny Steve? Im a actual fisherman who drives a boat accordingly i dont drive like a softcock but i dont wring its ass out either

Under powered it does 60kph 1 or 4 people on board, a haines hunter v19 only do 90kph with 250hp

$900 sounder ouch i paid more than that Stevie come on man...

You are very jealous Steve i have even been told, coming from someone that had owned a F233 i cant believe it.

gazza2006au
30-11-2021, 07:46 PM
Interesting figure, have you insured it yet. Guarantee as it's a rebuild it will require an inspection and I doubt your figures are close.
A Formula 233 hull would require more towing than you have any capability to do. Here in Qld the trailer would require a road worthy every year as it would be well and truly over weight wise. Also you haven't taken into account all the new tools you will buy, it seems you spend more on them than the actual boat/trailer.
These days I work on the basis of "I reckon it'll taken hour so double that then double it again and it'll be close. Same with the finance.
Finish your current project first.

Digs all i need to add to my trailer are 4 electronic brakes, twin 50mm axles, heavier springs, more cross members, a breakaway, 4.5t hitch, HD wheels, my trailer build came in at $4300 or $5000 registered i can queit easily byild a 4.5t trailer for 8k + rego, no new trailers come registered...

Keep in mind my $4300 u need to deduct all the cost for the parts outlaid before adding the above so a 4.5t trailer will piss it in for 8k

gazza2006au
30-11-2021, 07:48 PM
Bull sh!t!! Not a hope in hell! Put the pipe down and step away from the keyboard.

Drug users have no money.

If your on the pipe don't put me on the same level.

30-11-2021, 07:54 PM
Drug users have no money.

Dont you get all your drugs paid for by the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme..?

You definately been putting something in the pipe lately..

Dignity
30-11-2021, 08:07 PM
Digs all i need to add to my trailer are 4 electronic brakes, twin 50mm axles, heavier springs, more cross members, a breakaway, 4.5t hitch, HD wheels, my trailer build came in at $4300 or $5000 registered i can queit easily byild a 4.5t trailer for 8k + rego, no new trailers come registered...

Keep in mind my $4300 u need to deduct all the cost for the parts outlaid before adding the above so a 4.5t trailer will piss it in for 8k

Gazza your dreaming, a registered 4.5T trailer will cost you a minimum that in bare materials, had a mate who had a lot of the gear, the tools etc even built his 8m tinnie from scratch and he spent 10k 10 years ago just for the trailer. Some costs have gone down but ally has more than doubled in cost,
I would really like to go back on your several thousand posts and actually price your boat and trailer. I know you've posted figures but I'm sure you've done the blinker thing. I am guilty of it also so don't take offense.

catshark
30-11-2021, 08:10 PM
that seafarer ventura 5.2 listed 8 days ago on gumtree seems like its worth a good buy assuming the honda is sound $4500

gazza2006au
30-11-2021, 08:14 PM
Gazza your dreaming, a registered 4.5T trailer will cost you a minimum that in bare materials, had a mate who had a lot of the gear, the tools etc even built his 8m tinnie from scratch and he spent 10k 10 years ago just for the trailer. Some costs have gone down but ally has more than doubled in cost,
I would really like to go back on your several thousand posts and actually price your boat and trailer. I know you've posted figures but I'm sure you've done the blinker thing. I am guilty of it also so don't take offense.

Digs i have all my receipts printed off for the whole trailer build, the aluminium was only $900

gazza2006au
30-11-2021, 08:16 PM
that seafarer ventura 5.2 listed 8 days ago on gumtree seems like its worth a good buy assuming the honda is sound $4500

I know of a wicked Swift Craft Dominator 5.5m for a few pennys i have thought about getting it its tempting but not sure about a loan

How u going with your build Cat?

stevej
30-11-2021, 08:21 PM
Who’s told you what ?

Yet you bought a 4m tinny to bolt your 50 so what’s your point ?, your not a fisherman if you own a tinny ?

go look at those revolutions and other 233 flops and see what gear and condition you get for 100k

catshark
30-11-2021, 08:28 PM
I know of a wicked Swift Craft Dominator 5.5m for a few pennys i have thought about getting it its tempting but not sure about a loan

slowly slowly , just put one of those portable carports over the project to keep out the rain, its like tropical qld down here at moment wow just got a heap more cloth and fillers silicas from trojan and delivered in three days , very fast only four weeks to xmas so deliverys need to be done now so ill have a material to get cracking again ,

baitable
30-11-2021, 08:29 PM
Who’s told you what ?

Yet you bought a 4m tinny to bolt your 50 so what’s your point ?, your not a fisherman if you own a tinny ?

go look at those revolutions and other 233 flops and see what gear and condition you get for 100k

Don’t bite mate: gaz is the kinda of guy that does one boxcersize class and then considers himself a lethal weapon. The end quality of his project is actually something to be questioned. I think many have held their tongue out of kindness but it has been the elephant in the room. I commend his enthusiasm but skill sets take years to develop and are definitely not taught from YouTube. I never picked up my first nail gun, put my first frame together then called myself a tradesman - that would make me a delirious moron.

stevej
30-11-2021, 08:40 PM
1692539 (tel:1692539)[/URL]]Don’t bite mate: gaz is the kinda of guy that does one boxcersize class and then considers himself a lethal weapon. The end quality of his project is actually something to be questioned. I think many have held their tongue out of kindness but it has been the elephant in the room. I commend his enthusiasm but skill sets take years to develop and are definitely not taught from YouTube. I never picked up my first nail gun, put my first frame together then called myself a tradesman - that would make me a delirious moron.

yeah my fault I should know better.

bluefin59
30-11-2021, 08:47 PM
Seen this a couple days ago someone will snap it up 17k bargain fibreglass stringers!!! Add afloor, redo the transom, add a pod your laughing

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/landsborough/motorboats-powerboats/233-project-boat/1285639296?utm_source=org.mozilla.firefox&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=socialbuttons&utm_content=android_VIP_bottom

Actually I saw this and thought of you , and now here you are talking about it . So funny [emoji23]

gazza2006au
30-11-2021, 08:49 PM
slowly slowly , just put one of those portable carports over the project to keep out the rain, its like tropical qld down here at moment wow just got a heap more cloth and fillers silicas from trojan and delivered in three days , very fast only four weeks to xmas so deliverys need to be done now so ill have a material to get cracking again ,

Yeah it was like that for me too over the ladt two christmas holidays when trojan shuts shop for a few weeks i made many orders over my build almost all my fibreglassing material came from them, towards the end they started giving me some cool discounts when i asked for it

This is the Dominator i mentioned

catshark
30-11-2021, 09:01 PM
that 233 hard top is a real beauty but is it worth 11k as a project build , any covid price adjustment there , its a big big job to undertake that one

blacklab
01-12-2021, 01:40 PM
pppppppppppppppppppp

01-12-2021, 02:20 PM

dont even dream about a Dominator....rough riding tubs, used to be "the" boat at one time, but that time has long passed.

blacklab
01-12-2021, 02:29 PM
ppppppppppppppp

blacklab
01-12-2021, 02:39 PM
ppppppppppppppp

01-12-2021, 04:14 PM
What kind of Pension is Gazza on ?

01-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Sounds like you guys are on the same page, Blacklab..
maybe you and gazza could take on the offshore boat project boat together..:)

gunna
01-12-2021, 04:47 PM

On the dole. Can’t find work apparently.

gazza2006au
01-12-2021, 08:08 PM

No different than anyone elses pension 1.1k f/n

gazza2006au
01-12-2021, 08:08 PM
On the dole. Can’t find work apparently.

No. Im not on the dole.

gazza2006au
01-12-2021, 08:10 PM
Sounds like you guys are on the same page, Blacklab..
maybe you and gazza could take on the offshore boat project boat together..:)

Come out for a ride i need the dead weight to hold the bow down

Coming back will be lighter on fuel..

Dignity
01-12-2021, 08:21 PM
No different than anyone elses pension 1.1k f/n

How do I get that? Now is there other perks involved like cheaper rent etc. Only asking as across the road from me is one of those houses that have "disadvantaged" people staying there. Only a couple with 1 child but they have 3 vehicles, 1 of which is a big 4by, plus a registered trailer.
How does this system work?

gazza2006au
01-12-2021, 08:49 PM
Digs.. i get the regular pension, i get an extra small part time carers payment, im charged 30% for rent no extra this and that for anything i pay like everyone else for electricity and gas

01-12-2021, 09:51 PM
How do I get that? Now is there other perks involved like cheaper rent etc. Only asking as across the road from me is one of those houses that have "disadvantaged" people staying there. Only a couple with 1 child but they have 3 vehicles, 1 of which is a big 4by, plus a registered trailer.
How does this system work?

Sam perhaps you really should have asked...."How do you work the system..?"

No extra this and that Gazza ...?...I thought you lived in a housing commision home which has subsidised well below market rent....

gazza2006au
01-12-2021, 10:40 PM
Sam perhaps you really should have asked...."How do you work the system..?"

No extra this and that Gazza ...?...I thought you lived in a housing commision home which has subsidised well below market rent....

So i take it u didnt read the 30% above

Barry Ehsman
02-12-2021, 07:04 AM
$1,100 a fortnight no bloody wonder nobody wants to work.

Dignity
02-12-2021, 07:36 AM

So $330/fortnight is so far below market price it's laughable. Up here you virtually can't even find a place under $600 a week, more like $850/week.
You need to get out more Gazza.

shortthenlong
02-12-2021, 08:45 AM
So $330/fortnight is so far below market price it's laughable. Up here you virtually can't even find a place under $600 a week, more like $850/week.
You need to get out more Gazza.

In Queensland - so your neighbours it is 25%

https://www.qld.gov.au/housing/public-community-housing/public-housing-tenants/your-rent/how-rent-is-calculated

02-12-2021, 09:12 AM

yes, but I just didnt understand how it worked..

Gazza, In a normal situation, as my 20yr old recently found out when going from Uni campus to private rental housing, he also needed to supply references and to stump up 4 weeks rent for bond and 2 weeks in advance..as Dignity mentioned rents have gone crazy up here with very limited supply, locally many long term renters are getting booted out so the landlord can then re-rent at higher prices and for youngsters to afford to buy a first home, well, despite low interest rates for now, affordability is very tough....

BTW Do they take the 30% out automatically and do you get subsided rego, power etc..?...?

and yeah i forgot ...who pays for your yard maintenance and lawnmowing...?..seems the benefits are neverending...

Dignity
02-12-2021, 10:38 AM
In Queensland - so your neighbours it is 25%

https://www.qld.gov.au/housing/public-community-housing/public-housing-tenants/your-rent/how-rent-is-calculated

And if they need furniture they get it free through the charities and the govt pays for it.
I think I'm disadvantaged.

stevej
02-12-2021, 11:26 AM
Pension types - aged single mum disability
dole - name changes all the time

one free rego a year have to pay green slip
medical Health card for cheap medication

the difference between survival and not is housing as 30 percent is under $200 a week rent
a pensioner or single mum paying rent if 500 average in Sydney can’t survive
even if they work part time which they are allowed to and keep the house 30 percent of their wages is no where near full market rent

big different between the two situations and it’s why you see welfare houses with new cars boats toys or them eating maccas every night

there is also other small rental assistances etc and other small amounts that can be obtained

for example your kids not so bright cause mum and dad are neglectful or meth heads well get the kid labeled as disabled and get a carers pension on top and hey have another two and do the same

it’s all a never endeding train wreck of humanity

02-12-2021, 11:36 AM
While I am sure there are "rorters" I am also very certain there is lots of people who simply have to get what they are given, they have no other option, it's a sad state of affairs to lump all pensioners (whatever pension they are on) in one basket.

bluefin59
02-12-2021, 11:41 AM
yes, but I just didnt understand how it worked..

Gazza, In a normal situation, as my 20yr old recently found out when going from Uni campus to private rental housing, he also needed to supply references and to stump up 4 weeks rent for bond and 2 weeks in advance..as Dignity mentioned rents have gone crazy up here with very limited supply, locally many long term renters are getting booted out so the landlord can then re-rent at higher prices and for youngsters to afford to buy a first home, well, despite low interest rates for now, affordability is very tough....

BTW Do they take the 30% out automatically and do you get subsided rego, power etc..?...?

Best you don’t ask as it will only frustrate the hell out of you as it dose me , I’m 63 in a couple of months worked up till I was 60 and spent the last 3 years being self supportive with NOTHING of any sort from the grubbament . It looks like I’m staying in Brissy for a bit now and look like returning to the construction industry mid next year on a larger job with proper rates of pay and benefits so I can top up my accounts and buy a new boat to take into retirement , am I jealous of those who know how to work the system and contribute bugger all you bet I am . But you know what I’ve always done what I’ve had to do to provide a good and proper life for my wife and family and I’m way proud of the fact I’ve never taken anything from the Grubberment . Too each their own I guess and if you can rort the system it’s of no consequence to me but they will pay a price in the end . Matt

stevej
02-12-2021, 01:03 PM
While I am sure there are "rorters" I am also very certain there is lots of people who simply have to get what they are given, they have no other option, it's a sad state of affairs to lump all pensioners (whatever pension they are on) in one basket.

Australia’s housing issue is the main concern if affordable housing was available then many people would be better off
but it will never be fixed because of a certain generations wealth tied up in it

you can be poor and comfortable if 70 percent of income isn’t going to rent alone

upstart
02-12-2021, 02:47 PM
There's plenty of affordable housing. It's just that it's not in the major centres. So even if you are a career welfare recipient you still have a choice as to where you can live.
Gazza has mentioned plenty of times that he lives with his mother. I'm assuming she's also picking up $1100 a fortnight. I reckon they'd have plenty of disposable 'income' at the end of the month.
I've heard him lament the future problem he may have that he might lose 'his' house and have nowhere to store his boat. Well again, there are choices. Especially seeing as there's no job tying him to a particular location.

stevej
02-12-2021, 03:29 PM
Even rural housing has gone up

normally there are 50-100 homes for sale in the town in in
july this year there was 1 and 0 rentals available

boomers from Sydney buying them sight unseen and not even need to rent them out as they bought them outright
pensioners are having to move further west as rents have gone from 180/250 to 450/500 in the 7 years I’ve been here

im just having a general discussion here and not getting into Garry’s life

gazza2006au
02-12-2021, 06:37 PM
The only affordable houses to me rarely come up for 50-60k and need work but have 4 walls standing

blacklab
02-12-2021, 07:16 PM
ppppppppppppppp

stevej
02-12-2021, 07:31 PM
I looked at a house in Narooma 18 months ago for 380k basic mid 80s three bedroom brick and a garage
it’s sold three times since then and last month went for 790
410k in 18 months

blacklab
02-12-2021, 07:48 PM
ppppppppppppppp

catshark
02-12-2021, 08:30 PM
I looked at a house in Narooma 18 months ago for 380k basic mid 80s three bedroom brick and a garage
it’s sold three times since then and last month went for 790
410k in 18 months
yep those sydney lockdowns have fuel a great migration south and propertys are lasting less than a week advertised , shoalhaven etc has gone bonkers

02-12-2021, 08:30 PM
A lot of it comes down to where you want to live and how fancy a house you want and you work situation....even now in FNQ you can still pick up a older little house a couple hundred metres to the beach withn estuaries either side and Hinchinbrook island 20 minutes by boat away for 250K in a little village perfect for a retiree..

https://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-qld-tully+heads-134731690

Obviously a bit different if you want to buy within 2-3 hours of a Capital city though..

I think we would have to admit these are very strange times and we dont what wiill happen once we start living with covid, once interest rates start to rise, and once those "seachange" type folks get sick of living out in boonies and figure that friday night bingo doesnt really do it for them and of course the missus wants her city conveniences and lifestyle back ...

I'll be the first to breathe a sigh of releif and say good riddance and its time go back home now...;D

gazza2006au
02-12-2021, 08:34 PM
My aunty was offered to buy her houso house in sydney for 10k in the early 80's my uncle said shit no.. now the land in the area was being brought back, a bloke a couple doors down sold back to the govenment for 1.3mil

We had a house in the same area andit was offered to my mum in the late 80's for just under 100k, now the housing nsw has built 2 houses on the old block we lived on for 29 years

There is this country house

https://www.domain.com.au/464-macauley-hay-nsw-2711-2017452878?utm_source=www.domain.com.au&utm_medium=sharelisting

shortthenlong
02-12-2021, 08:35 PM
A lot of it comes down to where you want to live and how fancy a house you want and you work situation....even now in FNQ you can still pick up a older little house a couple hundred metres to the beach withn estuaries either side and Hinchinbrook island 20 minutes by boat away for 250K in a little village perfect for a retiree..

https://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-qld-tully+heads-134731690

Obviously a bit different if you want to buy within 2-3 hours of a Capital city though..

I think we would have to admit these are very strange times and we dont what wiill happen once we start living with covid, once interest rates start to rise, and once those "seachange" type folks get sick of living out in boonies and figure that friday night bingo doesnt really do it for them and of course the missus wants her city conveniences and lifestyle back ...

I'll be the first to breathe a sigh of releif and say good riddance and its time go back home now...;D

Sorry but if I have to retire to Tully Heads I'll take up the fight to legalise euthanasia

blacklab
02-12-2021, 08:36 PM
pppppppppppppppppppp

stevej
02-12-2021, 09:05 PM
I think we talked about this a while back Steve.
Went thru Narooma on the weekend driving back from NSW, still one of my favourite places to stop when driving through.
In fact, pretty well all up that coast there's some pretty spectacular spots.
But Yep, what was once very cheap priced realestate, has now rocketed...
Can you imagine what a lot of the caravan parks land would be worth !! every town, they have the best prime position, close to the sea and boat ramps....

Col

yeah I’m getting old so prob have gone on about it before lol

what really shits me is all those can parks which use to offer cheapish family getaways and places to store boats now don’t want you
They are getting rid of the permanent vans and parking sports big enough for boats and just jamming as many cabins in as possible

it’s not as easy now to find places that let you park the boat next to the cabin

02-12-2021, 09:31 PM
Sorry but if I have to retire to Tully Heads I'll take up the fight to legalise euthanasia

Lol....not my cup of tea either....but neither is Port Douglas, airlie beach, noosa, gold coast etc..actually I'd rather live at Tully heads with the geriatrics then those touristy shithole's loaded with pretentious tosser's..;D

Only mentioned because there are still options available where you can buy a home for 250K very close to the beach..

Much like Cardwell and Lucinda type of places where for an older couple that love to take the tinny out crabbing and fishing can have a quiet retirement without breaking the bank.....

blacklab
02-12-2021, 09:33 PM
p[pppppppppp

02-12-2021, 09:35 PM
There is this country house

https://www.domain.com.au/464-macauley-hay-nsw-2711-2017452878?utm_source=www.domain.com.au&utm_medium=sharelisting

Dude, have you ever even been to outback NSW..?..

I reckon you would absolutely hate it..you would be back in Sydney in a week.

gazza2006au
02-12-2021, 10:08 PM
Dude, have you ever even been to outback NSW..?..

I reckon you would absolutely hate it..you would be back in Sydney in a week.

My dad grew up in campsey than moved to tumut where i lived for 2 months with him,its in my blood something you run cold of..

gazza2006au
02-12-2021, 10:16 PM
Can u imagine a caravan park filling it with modern caravans at 100k each van? Cabins are neat and tidy and there perminant, no towing your rig just pull straight in and rest, brining your own caravan has probably become a insurance liability in todays age..

shakey55
03-12-2021, 04:22 AM
Not much talk about the Big Huntsman

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums