View Full Version : more crabs than on a call girls panties

rosco1974
13-10-2012, 01:51 PM
went back out this morning and pulled the pots got another 38, the crabs are well and tuely on fellas go and get them.give olds and sister 25 for a good feed today only got bout 6 left after lunch....bloody youngfella had 5 for lunch...growing boy::)

Inlike
13-10-2012, 03:52 PM
north or south bay ..rosco ??

rosco1974
13-10-2012, 06:18 PM
southern/middle of the bay around green island

royslaven
13-10-2012, 06:32 PM
hey rosco, great week on the crabs mate, i haven,t been able to get out for a while, hoping to put the pots in monday arvo for tuesday pick up, just a quick question if you don,t mind, what water depth do ya reckon? can pm me if you like, thanks for any info, cheers, roy

Seahorse
13-10-2012, 06:48 PM
Hey rosco
I only got 16 but still a feed. Few unders and Jennie's. their down overnight. Check early on morning. 38 is a good number

rosco1974
13-10-2012, 07:48 PM
still a good feed greg... well done mate

Scott Ashe
13-10-2012, 10:22 PM
well done greg, my biggest problem is trying to hold one of my mates to a trip in the southern bay.Kids/school drop off seems to be the biggest problem.Glad you picked up a good feed though. Don't get me wrong, some days I just wish I could go by myself.Cheers and beers

Rip it up
13-10-2012, 11:21 PM
Are we talking mud crabs or sand crabs.

14-10-2012, 11:36 AM
Are we talking mud crabs or sand crabs.I'd put my next weeks pay sand crabs, you will get the odd muddie in there occasionally.

rosco1974
14-10-2012, 12:49 PM
sandies mate,got bout 10 muddies there as well but all throw backs....

Millsydude
14-10-2012, 04:42 PM
Rosco you are a weapon! There are knock shops around the world that wish they could clean up crabs the way you do :)
Just got back from the cape and the fishing was brilliant (I will post tomorrow) but the crabs ended up croc food everyday, so did my pots unfortunately. I am going to try and hit green tomorrow afternoon and soak them for the night. Are you using frames for bait?

Cheers millsy

Dignity
14-10-2012, 05:34 PM
Rosco, good feed although might pay not to quote such numbers as I suspect that if the current govt gets news of such good numbers and will decide to put a limit on the catch and start to police it for a while as a revenue raiser. 38 is not a bad haul compared to 20 years ago is still up there.

rosco1974
14-10-2012, 08:21 PM
ok mate i wont post any more crab reports or put up any more info for fellow ausfisho's to get onto the crabs,as 38 is a small number to what i normally catch... mate 20yrs ago we where gettin nearlly 10x that many this time of year...cheers for the heads up...

robsue
15-10-2012, 06:46 AM
Rosco, we ended up with 18 crabs, nothing at the sandhills and only 12 whiting
when we came back and checked the pots we got crabs out of the first lot we moved, but the ones we put on the inside were empty, whether they had been raided or not i dont know
Robin

rosco1974
15-10-2012, 05:36 PM
we where still gettin crabs in the dillies when we left mate so maybe raided...we left before 8

Dignity
15-10-2012, 06:06 PM
ok mate i wont post any more crab reports or put up any more info for fellow ausfisho's to get onto the crabs,as 38 is a small number to what i normally catch... mate 20yrs ago we where gettin nearlly 10x that many this time of year...cheers for the heads up...
Hey Rosco, it is small number compared to what we used to get or can still get and I don't want to cramp your efforts in giving ausfishers the heads up that the sandies are running, just starting to get gunshy as I watch the anything with "no limits" posted by the fisheries slowly disappearing with limits in place, not necessarily a bad thing but usually when limits are legislated for then they are fairly tight.

rosco1974
15-10-2012, 08:23 PM
mate fair enough but look at you aviator pic that limit has already been done reduced and well and tuely limited and yet people still have these pics on there aviator..prob worse than posting numbers.

Millsydude
15-10-2012, 08:44 PM
Don't worry about quoting numbers Rosco, if the government asks we can average out your trips with mine and that will bring the numbers down into single digits :(

rosco1974
15-10-2012, 09:04 PM
nah mate am sure i will have you in double digits if we team up....apparently word is out anyway.mate went to where i crabbed on the weekend counted 36 pots some just 3-5mts apart this was this arvo...if you crabbing green u wanna get out early as am sure a few pots will be sharefarmed

Dignity
16-10-2012, 11:55 AM
mate fair enough but look at you aviator pic that limit has already been done reduced and well and tuely limited and yet people still have these pics on there aviator..prob worse than posting numbers.

Rosco, thanks for the heads up, the photo is a couple of years old and I hadn't given it a thought.

bermo82
16-10-2012, 05:35 PM
Funny you mention the number of pots Rossco,

I was running along the wynnum foreshore and I reckon I could almost get to St Helena without getting wet!!!! word is definitely out!!!

Nice effort!

Bermo

Axl
16-10-2012, 05:46 PM
Hi rosco1974 well done with the crabs mate. Your right about Green I took dad out on Sunday we were in the usual spot buy 04:45 dropped the pots gave them an hour to soak checked them four had keepers in them the other four didnt.

Buy the time we had moved them around so all eight were together for the over night soak I had planned we decided to sit around and watch for a half hour or so. I reckon that bye 06:30 there would have been close to a hundred floats in and around the place. Every boat that came out seemed to drop some pots.

Got 20 keepers out of two hauls so we were nice and happy as was the missues.

rosco1974
16-10-2012, 06:37 PM
yeah i know u where there axl u dumped your pots right on mine around 6..maybe next time give me a bit more room..hard to get the cat around pots 5-10 mtrs away from my floats in a raging current

timddo
16-10-2012, 07:34 PM
Bugger, I have not even taken my pots out.

Axl
16-10-2012, 07:42 PM
yeah i know u where there axl u dumped your pots right on mine around 6..maybe next time give me a bit more room..hard to get the cat around pots 5-10 mtrs away from my floats in a raging current

Didnt see you out there mate although I did expcet too after reading this post, once I moved mine to where they would stay overnight there were no floats in that area bar my eight.

Axl
16-10-2012, 07:45 PM
Didnt see you out there mate although I did expcet too after reading this post, once I moved mine to where they would stay overnight there were no floats in that area bar my eight.

Hang on have you had the name removed from the cat?

rosco1974
16-10-2012, 08:26 PM
yep names gone...had to straddle one of your pots to pull mine your pot was inbetween my 2 hulls

Axl
16-10-2012, 08:39 PM
Mate I didnt realise that was you or I would have come over and said hi, she sure looks different without the name.

I didnt think I was that close to any other pots sorry pal I will keep a closer eye out next time, you should have come over and said something and I would have moved them.

As far as straddling one of my pots goes, all my ropes are 12m long and have six lead weights on them at 1.5m intervals so a boat should never pick one of them up, so far so good!!

I have been sitting watching my pots and boats have gone flying over them and the float simply goes down and pops back up.

Now I know that you have had a slight graphic change ill keep an eye out for you.

rosco1974
16-10-2012, 09:04 PM
all good mate