View Full Version : Heaps Of Fish Mth Brisbane River (Oh for the Pro"s Anyway)
manta man
15-08-2012, 10:54 AM
Well boys just a seen a very impressive catch of Fish just out from the Mouth Brissie River. ( Heap of Jewies to about 15Kg and Threadfin as many as you like, also a lot of Large Tailor up to about 5kg. I ve been told the mth is on fire by someone in the know. Tight lines and good fishing cheers.
kingcray
15-08-2012, 12:11 PM
hopefully they left some there for the weekend!
15-08-2012, 03:08 PM
Why is this more special than last week, last month, the month before and probably the next 4 months too??
The pros know thier work and they get results, only they do not brag about it online.
My bet is there will be a floatilla of boats there this weekend as the word you spread on the net catches fire.
royslaven
15-08-2012, 08:26 PM
Why is this more special than last week, last month, the month before and probably the next 4 months too??
The pros know thier work and they get results, only they do not brag about it online.
My bet is there will be a floatilla of boats there this weekend as the word you spread on the net catches fire.
Has someone been into the grumpy pills?
Slider
16-08-2012, 05:48 AM
[QUOTE=tunaticer
And unfortunately none of these guys will catch anything there cause the fish have been spooked and left the area.
flatzie
16-08-2012, 06:44 AM
Thats funny, my mate caught 20 tailor there yesterday morning, and another friend fished there and sent me pics of 8 tailor, a nice estuary cod and some quality bream.
Flatzie
[QUOTE=tunaticer
And unfortunately none of these guys will catch anything there cause the fish have been spooked and left the area.
Slider
16-08-2012, 07:53 AM
Was that before or after the net was shot? And what proximity to the shot net?
manta man
16-08-2012, 08:42 AM
Im just trying to give some inside info on where the fish are biting . I seen with my own 2 eyes the quantity and quality of the fish. I think it was a good idea to try and put info about where the fish are . I hope there is a flotilla of boats their and some of them get some decent fish
Sheik
16-08-2012, 09:59 AM
Im just trying to give some inside info on where the fish are biting . I seen with my own 2 eyes the quantity and quality of the fish. I think it was a good idea to try and put info about where the fish are . I hope there is a flotilla of boats their and some of them get some decent fish
Fair enough too Manta. Thanks for that. It's not as if it will make a difference in the overall scheme given how many boats go out into the bay every day. Thanks for sharing and hopefully good karma will come your way as you were doing it for the right reasons.
manta man
16-08-2012, 02:51 PM
Cheers Sheik
flatzie
16-08-2012, 08:45 PM
Good call Manta, keep it coming! The Bay is full of fish at the moment. Good catches of tailor, snapper and bream, and yes for the people who know and apply themselves in the skill of catching. Some people spend more time whinging about things rather than learning how to fish, understanding their waters etc. Last night I met a couple who caught a 40cm snapper above the hiway bridge on the Pine, they were cleaning it along with a stonker flattie they caught as well.
Great catches of whiting in the Pine as well. The last two times I have got good catches there hasnt been another boat in sight. Where is everyone?
Be there early or late, with a good tide and a good moon phase with good fresh bait, and you will get good fish.
Flatzie
robersl
17-08-2012, 03:42 PM
river to mud this week so there will be a few boats in the area
kingcray
17-08-2012, 04:07 PM
shane what are you thinking weather wise. bit breezy here at reddy right now
krocspoon
17-08-2012, 04:34 PM
Was that before or after the net was shot? And what proximity to the shot net?
boo hoo slider!!!!!! great to get any info manta man, can save some looking when time is not on your side,keep it up.
MudRiverDan
17-08-2012, 05:12 PM
There have been some decent fat choppers coming right into the shallows around boggy at night, nothing like 5 kg, but you never know whats out deeper.
Had a few good runs and a bust off (mind you land-based river fishing for Tailor does have its drawbacks).
Slider
18-08-2012, 07:37 AM
Terribly sorry krokspoon - how dare I inform the general fishing public of how netting affects recreational catches. I mean, it's the most laughable situation imaginable - go to this spot, cause the pros just ripped a shitload of fish out of it. Surely you can see that this isn't a wise approach, or do you think that fish just hang around a netted area and are oblivious to the few tonne of their mates that were just killed? Even sea urchins know better and which is exhaustively scientifically documented in association with the Californian kelp forests.
Moonlighter
18-08-2012, 08:07 AM
Slider
I know a local professional net fisherman who has records from 40 years ago to now from that area, and he can show catch quantities from the same spot on the same moon at the same time of the year every year of those 40 years. His fathers records from the early days, and his more recently.
And guess what?
The catches have remained remarkably constant, varying as always with the cycles of weather, droughts and floods, and as predictable as the sun rising. In fact, he showed me records of one spot where he targets flathead and it is uncanny how consistently good the catches have been over a long period.
Strong evidence that it is sustainable over the long term.
Kind of puts your uninformed little spray into perspective, hey?
Cheers!
ML
manta man
18-08-2012, 08:14 AM
Yes we all know how netting effects oceans and estuaries, but all im trying to do is give an insight to where fish might be. What do you think im going to do follow a Beam Trawler around the mth WITH MY LINES OUT THE BACK. There are plenty of spots in around the mth where i would expect fish to be caught. That area is extensivly netted especially by beam trawlers and plenty of fishos show off their catch from that area. I think you should try fishing Ithaca Crk that way you wont have to worry about Fishos of any type
Slider
18-08-2012, 12:59 PM
Moonlighter, ask your mate if he nets the same location on consecutive days.
captain rednut
18-08-2012, 10:12 PM
he said the same spot on the same moon at the same time every year, i take it being once a year for those records??
Moonlighter
19-08-2012, 01:08 PM
Slider
Your spray inferred that all netting by the awful commercial fishermen is unsustainable. Well, clearly, that's just rubbish as I demonstrated in my post.
My point is that well managed recreational and commercial fishing can, and do, co-habitate together quite well, especially if people are sensible and take the time to understand the facts.
Both sectors have vested interests in seeing that things are kept sustainable long term. In fact, there could be a pretty decent argument that the commercial guys these days have even a stronger interest in a sustainable fishery than rec fishers, because, after all, their livelihoods depend on it.
So, what was the point you were trying to make?
If it was just that if a rec fisher tries to catch fish in the same place that a commercial fisher has just pulled a net then they will be lucky to catch anything, well, doh! Hardly any news in that little gem, is there.
Perhaps if you had another point I am missing, you might enlighten us all?
ML
ben_460
19-08-2012, 07:19 PM
I have no idea on the facts about how sustainable nettings is but I know it sucks when you take a week off work to go fishing up the beach or somewhere, you catch a few fish on the first day, the netters come through then next day and you then can't catch a fish there for the rest of the trip.
flatzie
19-08-2012, 08:31 PM
At the risk of being shot down in flames..It seems to me that there is a vast difference between the results of netting up Teewah area, compared to Moreton Bay. This fishery is not threatened because someone writes about where fish are!!
I tried my hardest last year to convince Slider that tho he has incredible insight re teewah nth shore area, you just cant transpose those paradigms into all areas. He seems to think that if a pro shoots a net "anywhere", then the fishing in that vicinity is automatically stuffed.
It just is not the case, no matter how scientifically explained, because even with netting occurring in the above Bay area mentioned by Manta, and in the Redcliffe area of the Bay, some great catches have been made during this period by rec fishos.
Whereas I appreciate that the dynamics of Teewah are very real and tragic, you just cant stubbornly impose that on other areas to make a non factual case.
Please dont try to tell us we cant catch fish, when we are actually catching fish!
I regularly see the pro boats in the Bay during winter, but as myself and others I know are taking good catches of tailor, bream and summer whiting and snapper, I am not particularly deterred or bothered.
A few of my friends and I regularly see pro boats anchored near Mud Island, and yet we go home with great catches of tailor form the same area.
One concern I have is when Rec fishos go fishing and dont do well, they want to blame Pro fishers etc as the reason. Seems that is very much the reason up North Shore, but its not the case in Moreton Bay.
You have to fish smart, be there on the best moon/tide phases, get out of bed early, or stay out late etc, with the right bait/technique etc, and you will catch a good feed in this Bay, netters or not.
Flatzie
Slider
20-08-2012, 08:22 AM
My 'spray' moonlighter, inferred nothing more than that fish will move away from a region after a successful netting haul. Doesn't matter where in the world the net is shot, the result is the same. If that is common knowledge, and you are actually agreeing with my post by stating what you have, then why is the rec sector not demanding net free regions and how is the current resource allocation fair to rec fishers? If everybody knows that nets spook fish, then it's not very fair on rec fishers who go fishing in a location, oblivious that it was netted overnight or the day before, or even several days before, but don't really have any prospect of the success that they are deserving of. The pro knows where he has netted and can adjust his fishing to suit, but the recs can't possibly know where nets have been shot.
There was no mention of sustainability with regard the Moreton Bay fishery and I have only spoken of sustainability issues re the Noosa North Shore fishery. That's not to say that I believe the Moreton Bay fishery would be sustainable, but I am hopeful that improved Brisbane River water quality, green zones and improved netting methods may enable some species to be fished sustainably.
I do have my doubts that the commercial sector are universally proactive in maintaining sustainable fisheries. It seems that they are universally stating that it's other factors that cause population depletions despite the universal evidence of the impact of commercial netting. However, I see netting as a necessary evil, and am on the record a number of times stating that there should be strategically located net free regions that can enhance commercial prospects in strategically located netted regions. We know that such an arrangement can allow for prosperous rec and commercial sectors, but no such arrangements exist in Qld and is why I bother to argue these points with the likes of yourself and Flatzie. Not necessarily to convince you guys, but to ensure that as many people as possible are made aware of this fact and the weight of public opinion will eventually cause appropriate changes to be made for the benefit of recs and pros alike. Unlike the current strategy of voluntary buy backs by gov which won't work for anybody other than the guys wanting something for a licence that is diminishing in value over time because of poor returns.
Flatzie, an anchored pro boat, does not spook fish. You should also be aware that I am in no way stating that manta man, by publicising this or any haul, is somehow threatening the fishery. That is just a poor attempt at putting a slant on my comments that were never even hinted at and would simply be stupid and incorrect to do so. The specific nature of my comments, is that nets spook fish and this is apparently common knowledge that you are obviously yet to attain.
Moonlighter
21-08-2012, 12:26 PM
I have no idea on the facts about how sustainable nettings is but I know it sucks when you take a week off work to go fishing up the beach or somewhere, you catch a few fish on the first day, the netters come through then next day and you then can't catch a fish there for the rest of the trip.
I understand what you are saying, Ben.
What some people don't understand is that "netting" is a pretty diverse and exact thing these days.
The commercial guys have nets designed around particular tasks and species, and size limits.
There was quite a big to-do recently about the increased whiting sizes, as the commercial guys pointed out to fisheries in Qld that all their whiting nets were instantly made obsolete, and they would need new ones with different mesh sizes so that undersized fish go through. T them, catching undersized tings is a waste of time, they would rather only catch legal ones so they don't have to spend valuable time sorting.
So a transitional arrangement was allowed until the normal net lifetime went by, and all new nets purchased were the right mesh for the new fish sizes.
Similarly, for example, commercial mullet nets as are often used off the beaches are very unlikely to catch other species such as whiting or flathead.
I would suspect that the mere fact of disturbing things by running any nets thru might put the whiting and flathead off the bite for a while, though I don't know for sure if this has been properly tested.
There is a separate initiative that I understand is in quite advanced state of preparation to remove as much commercial netting as feasible from popular SEQ fishing beaches, and this will no doubt help relationships between the 2 sectors.
But I suppose the point I am making is that commercial netting can't really be considered as one homogenous thing.
It can and no doubt does affect rec fishing, but you do need to look past the simple fact that nets have been worked in an area and understand exactly what kind of netting was done, and of what species, before you can draw any conclusions on the impact it might have on rec fishing in the same area in subsequent days.
I know one local commercial fisher who targets black trevalley on the close bay reefs, anyone looking at him work might easily think he is taking squie and bream, but the reality is he is only taking the happy moments, and frankly, as far as this little black duck is concerned, he's welcome to them!
Hope this adds to the understanding that this netting caper is not as straightforward as it might seem to some people.
ML
B_E_N
21-08-2012, 01:02 PM
if you honestly think fish stocks have not changed in 40 years your kidding yourself. take into account the advances in electronics and fish finding tools (including light planes for recon) you still might be able to fill the back of your ute or boat but its not the same as it used to be. and everyone from governments giving the green light for pollution to rec fishos doing the wrong thing has caused this so i think the time for finger pointing is over. i personally think large scale commercial fishing is not sustainable and alternatives need to be seriously researched and funded better, but our states broke, sooo...
Slider
22-08-2012, 06:21 AM
Agreed Moonlighter, netting and the affects on behaviour of fish within the vicinity is not completely universal. Fish will only abandon the area of the netting if they are of species that have a history of being netted - are of the 'same prey guild'. However, it tends to be the case that the species that are targeted by netting are also species that are targeted by recs. So, in this instance of threadies, jew and tailor at the mouth of the Brisbane, species affected would be the likes of threadies, jew, tailor, bream, flathead, snapper, whiting and mullet - and also include any bycatch species that incidentally get caught up in nets of any variety in the region. The fish aren't very good at discerning netting type, they just know that alarm signals from netted fish are a cue to flee.
There are often whiting, bream, tarwhine, dart and sometimes flathead caught up in mullet nets. And mullet netters will often target the other species plus golden trevally, snub-nosed dart, giant trevally, tailor, mac tuna. Even if a different style of net is used and especially for tailor, the fish don't recognise this fact and all species who have a history of being netted from the beach still react to 'the' net.
rob fish
22-08-2012, 02:17 PM
Manta Man,
What method of fishing were the commercial fisherman using? eg Tunnel netting or were they using mesh net? Never known a tunnelnetter to catch much in the way of threadfin or jew because they target the flats...too much run and they can't hold the wings of the net in place.This leaves mesh netting and the catch the fish your describing would mean a minimum of 6'' mesh and more than likely 7'' or 8'' bloody big net for down there!