View Full Version : Age Old Question WHAT TO BUY ???
JollyDave
13-06-2012, 11:12 AM
Hi All, new to the forum and boating. I am in the final stages of retiring - just do a small amount of consulting - soon to stop and now going to buy my first boat. I have narrowed it down to a cuddy cab around 5.2 to 5.5 m. Budget around the $30K. the following is the list that I have come up with so far. The boat needs to be capable of going off shore (in the right weather) for some serious fishing. I would also prefer a 4 stroke or e-tec 2 stroke??
Coxcraft
Rumrunner
Tournement
1750 Cuddy cab
Savage
Tasman
Freedom
Escape 520
Yalta Craft
535 Allrounder
Southwind
SR565
Haines
Signature 520
Southern Star
Classic 525
Whitley
Clearwater 1750
Help!!!
:-?
13-06-2012, 12:01 PM
Signature 520....but Im biased......have fun
13-06-2012, 12:26 PM
The Savage Bluewater might just fit the bill maybe (if you want alloy)
13-06-2012, 12:27 PM
Hi Dave, I once bought a beautiful 6.2m trailer boat with less than 40 hours on it's suzuki 4 stroke motor from a retiree. He bought it as his retirement present and then discovered that he wasn't as fit or as strong as he used to be, his wife didn't always want to go fishing and so he had to try and launch and retreive it himself from his local ramp with minimal facilities.
Are you a relatively young and fit retiree and are you likely to stay that way for a while? Are you looking for something on a trailer? Do you have a suitable tow vehicle? Are you going to be able to comfortably launch and retreive it solo in krap conditions from your favourite boat ramp? Where do you plan on doing most of your boating? Does your favourite boat ramp have good facilities or a pontoon/floating walkway? Your honest answers to all these questions could save a good chunk of your retirement money which we know can be hard to come by the way the stock market is going.
I don't mean to sound rude, but depending where you are planning on launching from, all of those boats are reasonably big/heavy and could become a handful for a newcomer when launching single handed from a basic ramp in windy or tidal flow conditions. They will all be great boats but i believe that you have to be able to launch/retreive a trailer boat single handed to get the most use out of it. If you think you might have problems getting it off and on the trailer by yourself, and obviously if it suits the conditions of where you want to go boating/fishing, maybe look at something a bit smaller and more manageable in the 4.5m to 5m bracket and take a fishing charter when you want to go offshore.
obviously if you live on a canal this is all a load of krap and you can get away with the queen mary ...........
WalrusLike
13-06-2012, 12:38 PM
Have you done a bit of boating Dave? Been a deckie on mates boats maybe?
We all here think boats are great and the best way to spend retirement but until you've done a bit of boating you can't be sure it's for you... And they are a hole in the water that you throw money into.
Don't think your purchase cost is the end... They suck money out of your wallet faster than kids!
I hope you enjoy it if and when you get one.
JollyDave
13-06-2012, 01:14 PM
Hi Guys, some additional info in response to the replies.
I am quite fit and expect to stay that way currently 61.
I was brought up with boats as a youngster to about 14 years old and have also spent time on boats fishing etc since then.
My tow vehicle is a new Diesel Challenger.
Live in Rockingham WA, a number of good ramps with facilities, fairly sheltered by garden Island.
Boating will be varied, Cockburn Sound, Mandurah Estuary, Swan Canning Rivers, Shark Bay from Denham, Busselton area. If weather ok will venture out further this would be with other boats, also trips to Rotto.
The purchase was included in my retirement plan and budget.
Thanks for the replies so far and hope this info helps with some more advise .
13-06-2012, 01:58 PM
There's really only one that stands out from WA 2nd hand. Are you going to look at eastern states and pay for transport or bring it back yourself?
I'd be looking at all the little things like one that has hydraulic steering, not cable steering, twin batteries, a good bimini and clears setup, good electronics or a bit left over in your budget to get new stuff, a good trailer etc. Just having a quick look at 17'-19' boats in that price bracket there are a lot still with cable steering and dodgey clear/bimini setups etc. You've got to factor all that sort of stuff into the equation.
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12186051
I always like Signatures and Seafarers. Tournaments/Mustangs are good too. Not a fan of Coxcrafts. Savage ok. Not had anything to do with the Yaltas, Freedoms/Baysports, Clearwaters etc. but probably put them down the list a bit.
13-06-2012, 02:35 PM
Too easy Dave, it sounds like you know a little about what you're doing and you've got access to good facilities. Any of those boats will be ok, but smithy has raised some good points, personally i reckon hydraulic steering is pretty much mandatory for anything over 5m and definitely you won't go wrong with any of the 'premium' aussie fibreglass builders like signature, haines hunter, seafarer, the next rung down are the budget builders like yalta and freedom/baysport.
johncar
13-06-2012, 03:01 PM
The Signature 540F and Seafarer Viking 5.5 and CruiseCraft Outsider 550 would be good starter boats to look at. And yes all the things mentioned already trailer boat and motor well maintained.
13-06-2012, 04:00 PM
And depending how often you are going to go boating and how fresh and good quality the ULP is where you are don't right off the old 2 strokes.
They appear to tolerate old ULP better than the new 4 strokes or the Etecs etc but I'm only going on my old 115s on my Seafarer Vagabond. They are over 550hrs and they may use a little more fuel but servicing is heaps cheaper on the old 2 stroke than the new stuff.
If you make sure your trailer is well set up with a good roller complement and a good electric winch powered directly off you truck battery (with the motor running) you will handle a decent sized boat with ease. Us GOM ret. can do better than most as we are lazier and use the bits between the ears more effectively IMHO.
Check out the older 5.9 or 6m Seafarers too as they have a good solid hull.
On all the older frp dont forget to get the motor tilted out and you and a mate hang off it to check the transom on the boats your view.
Good luck with the search and Smithy is on the ball with the issue of freight unless your going for drive any how.
PS Just had a look and you might need to go for a drive!
Have a look at the 5.9 with the 140 4 stroke or the Vagabond with the two Honda 90s for starters
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?tabID=804585&No=0&Qpb=1&Ntt=Seafarer&SearchAction=N&N=604%20896%201587%201588%20606%20610%20620&sid=1376B3E75CA0&Dx=&Nne=15&Ntx=&Ntk=BoatAll&D=Seafarer
JollyDave
13-06-2012, 04:56 PM
Thanks for the replies so far, you guys in the East are spoilt for choice and price compared to the West, they have us by the short and curlies as they know what it will cost to do a return trip East or have a boat transported. I am not in an urgent hurry but really want to get the right rig for the right price.
Going tomorrow to have a look at a 2009 Whitley Clearwater 1750 cuddy with a 90 hp Suzuky 4 stroke 120 hrs. Photo's look great but as usual the seeing is what is needed. Asking $33.5 K.
:P
Andy56
13-06-2012, 06:02 PM
Just dont buy a good boat with an undersized motor. There have been lots of packages with 70-90hp motors sold , but they don't pass the muster unless you go way down in prop size. They barely plod along. You will know all about it if you water ski, tow a donut or come home in shitty weather( lack of power can be dangerous in bad weather-from experience). Go and check out lots of boats: after about 5 -7 boats, you will know what is reasonable value and what is an exageration for a decent vessel
13-06-2012, 06:07 PM
And depending how often you are going to go boating and how fresh and good quality the ULP is where you are don't right off the old 2 strokes.
They appear to tolerate old ULP better than the new 4 strokes or the Etecs etc but I'm only going on my old 115s on my Seafarer Vagabond. They are over 550hrs and they may use a little more fuel but servicing is heaps cheaper on the old 2 stroke than the new stuff.
If you make sure your trailer is well set up with a good roller complement and a good electric winch powered directly off you truck battery (with the motor running) you will handle a decent sized boat with ease. Us GOM ret. can do better than most as we are lazier and use the bits between the ears more effectively IMHO.
Check out the older 5.9 or 6m Seafarers too as they have a good solid hull.
On all the older frp dont forget to get the motor tilted out and you and a mate hang off it to check the transom on the boats your view.
Good luck with the search and Smithy is on the ball with the issue of freight unless your going for drive any how.
PS Just had a look and you might need to go for a drive!
Have a look at the 5.9 with the 140 4 stroke or the Vagabond with the two Honda 90s for starters
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?tabID=804585&No=0&Qpb=1&Ntt=Seafarer&SearchAction=N&N=604%20896%201587%201588%20606%20610%20620&sid=1376B3E75CA0&Dx=&Nne=15&Ntx=&Ntk=BoatAll&D=Seafarer
Chimo, the modern 4 stroke has a multitude of sensors to adjust timing and fuel delivery, what does your engines have that will save it from detonation from poor fuel quality???
I fear you are somewhat confused over modern technology
13-06-2012, 07:05 PM
Hi Garry
Probably a gentle foot, good filters and full fuel tanks do help I hope. So far so good and my marine tech continues to encourage me to keep them as he reckons that plastic bait bags may be the biggest concern. Time will tell.
PS I don't mind modern stuff at all.:)
WalrusLike
13-06-2012, 07:48 PM
I can tell you that my Baysport is roomy and immensely stable at rest but bangs loudly in the chop..... So depending on your preference for comfort in bad weather or comfort at rest you should consider whether your preferred hull shape is good into chop.
Use the search on here for each of your boat types... Opinions differ but you can get a sense of their suitability that way.
Older glass hull with good motor is the best value buying I reckon. Glass will outlast us all if no woodrot. Pressed aluminum will be good or bad depending on luck and history...
Plate hulls are superbly robust but may be noisy at rest. Don't buy a Noble if it's after they went to china....
I wish I could retire.....
13-06-2012, 07:50 PM
Chimo, the only thing that will save you is that foot, don't every loose it :)
fisho8
13-06-2012, 11:31 PM
This was my old boat. I have upgraded to the 2100WA. All I can say is this shape was based on a Savage Tasman ans is a great all round run about. I have had this boat out to the Cape Moreton and back on a good day with no drama's. You need to drive to the conditions. It is easy to load and an unload yorself having the walk through cabin. It did not have a drive on trailer and could load and unload it easy enough on my own. Easy to clean and I put good power on the back of it which cost me about 5900k to do as I upgraded it. I sold it for a alot less than what it owed me. Take your time mate there are alot of good buys out there.
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12126842
Every time I see $30K+ for a small trailer boat I fall off my chair.
FisHard
14-06-2012, 03:42 PM
Every time I see $30K+ for a small trailer boat I fall off my chair.
Maybe you should sit on the floor then? ;)
JollyDave
16-06-2012, 05:38 PM
Hi Guys, quick update, I spent the morning getting my WA Recreational Skippers Ticket, years since I have driven a boat and the practical was done in an early Bertrum with inboard - about 21'. Nice solid/heavy boat. Anyway now at least I will be legal when I find the boat. So far have looked at some at dealers and also the Clearwater 1750 cuddy (2008/2009 with 90 HP Suzy 4 stroke) really nice rig - but. Also missed out on a 2010 Tournament 1750 with 90 hp E-Tec only 20 hrs on both - great buy at $33K - was on the way to the dealer and he phoned and said it had just gone. Great thing is I am in no huge rush. I am also flying to Gove on Monday for 10 days so can't do much during that time - hopefully some more boats will come up in WA during that time.
Also there is a Freedom 5.2 cuddy 2006 model with a 75 HP honda 4 stroke - would welcome thoughts on this boat as I think it would maybe be under powered.
EX alias G1 for the Grumpy One - Now just relaxed and Smilin.
8astripey
16-06-2012, 06:12 PM
In my opinion Jollydave a freedom 5.2 cuddy powered with a 75hp would be underpowered if you are going offshore. as someone has already mentioned there are a lot of underpowered rigs out there. personally i would not go below a 115 for any boat over 5 meters. depending on max power of the hull. I have a yalta 2000 with a 140hp 4 stroke susy and running out to heron and back with 4 people on board loaded with fuel, bait, fish and everything else it is able to keep on top of a swell and chop with a following sea. i have been in other boats that run 115hp on 5.5 meter fibreglass hulls and they are just adequate out in the deep . as for aluminium hulls in my opinion plate or pressed they dont match any well set up fibreglass hull out in the deep. aluminium vs fibreglass materials, both have their problems but after having a pressed hull go bad i would only touch a plate hull.
I am 61 and now retired to hervey bay, i still get to use the big boat however for creeks etc i have 3.4 edgetracker with a 15hp on the back for nipping up the creeks or just off shore on a good day. the big boat is a bitch by myself to launch especially on a weekend when everyone wants to spend only 5 minutes waiting for someone to launch a boat, however being retired i now only go fishing on weekdays (weekends when my son comes up from brisbane). launching and retrieving by myself i use a 3000lb winch with remote control so i can hold the back of the boat with a rope and guide the front on the rollers, i still dont believe in dunking the whole trailer as there arnt too many ramps with washdown facilities on site.
whatever you buy they are all make holes in the wallet as well as the water.
tight lines for the future.
JollyDave
16-06-2012, 08:44 PM
Retirements great except it generally means your getting older, broken arms and legs when younger from bikes now remind me of the fun when young, but won't stop me from havin a lot more fun in retirement.
dave
johncar
16-06-2012, 08:55 PM
I think around the 90 - 115HP is medium power for the 5 - 5.5 metre range depending on the boat. Low power may be ok if just sticking to smooth waters and boats lightly loaded with people and gear.
Hope you find something good when you are ready..
Lancair
17-06-2012, 02:11 PM
Ive driven the Tournament 1750 with an Etec90, went well and handled OK for its size, a little tender at rest. I test drove at an on water test day they arranged. When we came back to shore in the 1750, I asked for a drive of the 1800 w/ Etec 115. The difference was chalk and cheese. The 1800 is slightly longer but much wider, huge reverse chines on the rear half make it very stable at rest. Through broadwater chop from cruisers etc, the ride difference was like short wheel base 4wd versus long wheel base, ie the 1800 was smoother. End result, I have an 1800 w/Etec115. I actually bought the test boat and got a GREAT deal. Some drama's with the new boat but all great now, excellant after sales service from Tournament too, they looked after me.
WalrusLike
17-06-2012, 10:21 PM
I could be wrong but I think the Freedom became Baysport. I have a Baysport 575 with a Yammie 115 2stroke.
The Baysport hull has a centreline concave tunnel about a foot wide from the base of the bow down to the stern to assist planning. Does the Freedom you are considering have that?
My boat is adequately powered but only just... It could do with more. The hull is very stable at rest and very dry because of the massive bow flare and hard chines. The deep V shape is only in the centre two thirds. This makes it great in smooth water and wonderfull at rest but a bit noisy in the chop.
I believe the foam filled chassis and glassed over topside join makes it a very strong boat but I don't have any experience offshore yet. The finish is ok but done to a price to make it an affordable package. The layout is great and works well. How much do they want for the Freedom?
JollyDave
17-06-2012, 10:41 PM
Thanks for the reply Walrus, fly out to Darwin tomorrow and then to Gove for 10 days and have not been to see this boat as I think it is probably under powered and due to the price overpriced to repower to more HP. The boats seem to have a good right up in earlier tests but I am now starting to lean towards the Tournament 1750, Clearwater 1750, Savage Tasman or the Revival 525's.
FREEDOM ESCAPE 520
Just Listed
Length: 17' 1" - 5.20m
Presented in as new condition and loaded with extras is this great all-rounder with roomy cuddy cabin with privacy screen. There is seating for 5-6 plus the bunk area and lots of storage with removable rear seat boxes. With the Bimini canopy, clears and storm sheet the interior is fully covered. The extras include CD?Stereo system, Gps/Sounder, 27Mhz radio, Dual batteries and more. There is also Full offshore safety equipment and a drive on style trailer for easy launching and retrieving. This package is fully optioned and ready to go so come and gab a bargain.
Price: AU $29,990
View at BOAT CITY 430 Wanneroo Rd Balcatta
Angryant
18-06-2012, 06:24 AM
I have the Southern Star (Southwind) Classic with a 100HP Yamaha on the back. It is extremely stable and good for power. It punches well above its weight and will get you just about anywhere on a good day. If you were to buy the 525 Classic I would suggest getting an electric anchor winch as it is a pain getting through the cabin the retrieve the anchor.
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12186051
Angry
20-06-2012, 12:30 PM
Hi again Dave, if you want to take a few people or a bit of overnighting or camping gear on it, I wouldn't go less than 115 on anything 5.2-5.5m and if your budget has you starting to look at some of the older/heavier hulls like seafarers and haines hunters (still fantastic boats, don't worry about how old they are) with newer motors i wouldn't have anything less than 140-150 if they are in the 5.5 to 6m range.
When you test drive anything, make sure you take a couple of friends and load it right up to simulate how many people and how much gear you will have on board for when you want to use it.
JollyDave
28-06-2012, 05:02 PM
Hi All, back home in WA from Gove and no work planned for the future so now more time to hunt for the boat. One that has just come up in WA is a Revival 525 Delux - full canopy etc, has 90 HP Merc 4 stroke. Has any one on the site had any thing to do with the Revival and what are they like in the open. All I have been able to find so far has been good reports, fairly sof riding and reasonably stable. Also thoughts on the 4 stroke 90 Merc.
G1
predator
29-06-2012, 12:00 PM
There are a few older boats (under 10 yrs) around on the east coast for good value. A bit of bargaining, someone to look at it for you(or a flight over), freight and it should come close to your budget, if not under in some cases.
Wayne
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12085109
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12004859
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12388816
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12679805
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12129304
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12204197