Age Old Question WHAT TO BUY ???

Thread: Age Old Question WHAT TO BUY ???

Age Old Question WHAT TO BUY ???

Hi All, new to the forum and boating. I am in the final stages of retiring - just do a small amount of consulting - soon to stop and now going to buy my first boat. I have narrowed it down to a cuddy cab around 5.2 to 5.5 m. Budget around the $30K. the following is the list that I have come up with so far. The boat needs to be capable of going off shore (in the right weather) for some serious fishing. I would also prefer a 4 stroke or e-tec 2 stroke??

Coxcraft
    Rumrunner
    Tournement
    1750 Cuddy cab
    Savage
    Tasman
    Freedom
    Escape 520
    Yalta Craft
    535 Allrounder
    Southwind
    SR565
    Haines
    Signature 520
    Southern Star
    Classic 525
    Whitley
    Clearwater 1750

Help!!!

Re: Age Old Question WHAT TO BUY ???

Signature 520....but Im biased......have fun
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

The Savage Bluewater might just fit the bill maybe (if you want alloy)

Hi Dave, I once bought a beautiful 6.2m trailer boat with less than 40 hours on it's suzuki 4 stroke motor from a retiree. He bought it as his retirement present and then discovered that he wasn't as fit or as strong as he used to be, his wife didn't always want to go fishing and so he had to try and launch and retreive it himself from his local ramp with minimal facilities.

Are you a relatively young and fit retiree and are you likely to stay that way for a while? Are you looking for something on a trailer? Do you have a suitable tow vehicle? Are you going to be able to comfortably launch and retreive it solo in krap conditions from your favourite boat ramp? Where do you plan on doing most of your boating? Does your favourite boat ramp have good facilities or a pontoon/floating walkway? Your honest answers to all these questions could save a good chunk of your retirement money which we know can be hard to come by the way the stock market is going.

I don't mean to sound rude, but depending where you are planning on launching from, all of those boats are reasonably big/heavy and could become a handful for a newcomer when launching single handed from a basic ramp in windy or tidal flow conditions. They will all be great boats but i believe that you have to be able to launch/retreive a trailer boat single handed to get the most use out of it. If you think you might have problems getting it off and on the trailer by yourself, and obviously if it suits the conditions of where you want to go boating/fishing, maybe look at something a bit smaller and more manageable in the 4.5m to 5m bracket and take a fishing charter when you want to go offshore.

obviously if you live on a canal this is all a load of krap and you can get away with the queen mary ...........

Have you done a bit of boating Dave? Been a deckie on mates boats maybe?

We all here think boats are great and the best way to spend retirement but until you've done a bit of boating you can't be sure it's for you... And they are a hole in the water that you throw money into.

Don't think your purchase cost is the end... They suck money out of your wallet faster than kids!

I hope you enjoy it if and when you get one.

Hi Guys, some additional info in response to the replies.
    I am quite fit and expect to stay that way currently 61.
    I was brought up with boats as a youngster to about 14 years old and have also spent time on boats fishing etc since then.
    My tow vehicle is a new Diesel Challenger.
    Live in Rockingham WA, a number of good ramps with facilities, fairly sheltered by garden Island.
    Boating will be varied, Cockburn Sound, Mandurah Estuary, Swan Canning Rivers, Shark Bay from Denham, Busselton area. If weather ok will venture out further this would be with other boats, also trips to Rotto.
    The purchase was included in my retirement plan and budget.
    Thanks for the replies so far and hope this info helps with some more advise .

There's really only one that stands out from WA 2nd hand. Are you going to look at eastern states and pay for transport or bring it back yourself?

I'd be looking at all the little things like one that has hydraulic steering, not cable steering, twin batteries, a good bimini and clears setup, good electronics or a bit left over in your budget to get new stuff, a good trailer etc. Just having a quick look at 17'-19' boats in that price bracket there are a lot still with cable steering and dodgey clear/bimini setups etc. You've got to factor all that sort of stuff into the equation.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-fo...spx?R=12186051

I always like Signatures and Seafarers. Tournaments/Mustangs are good too. Not a fan of Coxcrafts. Savage ok. Not had anything to do with the Yaltas, Freedoms/Baysports, Clearwaters etc. but probably put them down the list a bit.

Too easy Dave, it sounds like you know a little about what you're doing and you've got access to good facilities. Any of those boats will be ok, but smithy has raised some good points, personally i reckon hydraulic steering is pretty much mandatory for anything over 5m and definitely you won't go wrong with any of the 'premium' aussie fibreglass builders like signature, haines hunter, seafarer, the next rung down are the budget builders like yalta and freedom/baysport.

Ausfish Platinum Member johncar's Avatar

The Signature 540F and Seafarer Viking 5.5 and CruiseCraft Outsider 550 would be good starter boats to look at. And yes all the things mentioned already trailer boat and motor well maintained.

And depending how often you are going to go boating and how fresh and good quality the ULP is where you are don't right off the old 2 strokes.

They appear to tolerate old ULP better than the new 4 strokes or the Etecs etc but I'm only going on my old 115s on my Seafarer Vagabond. They are over 550hrs and they may use a little more fuel but servicing is heaps cheaper on the old 2 stroke than the new stuff.

If you make sure your trailer is well set up with a good roller complement and a good electric winch powered directly off you truck battery (with the motor running) you will handle a decent sized boat with ease. Us GOM ret. can do better than most as we are lazier and use the bits between the ears more effectively IMHO.

Check out the older 5.9 or 6m Seafarers too as they have a good solid hull.

On all the older frp dont forget to get the motor tilted out and you and a mate hang off it to check the transom on the boats your view.

Good luck with the search and Smithy is on the ball with the issue of freight unless your going for drive any how.

PS Just had a look and you might need to go for a drive!

Have a look at the 5.9 with the 140 4 stroke or the Vagabond with the two Honda 90s for starters
    http://www.boatpoint.com.au/DesktopD...All&D=Seafarer
    What could go wrong.......................

Thanks for the replies so far, you guys in the East are spoilt for choice and price compared to the West, they have us by the short and curlies as they know what it will cost to do a return trip East or have a boat transported. I am not in an urgent hurry but really want to get the right rig for the right price.
    Going tomorrow to have a look at a 2009 Whitley Clearwater 1750 cuddy with a 90 hp Suzuky 4 stroke 120 hrs. Photo's look great but as usual the seeing is what is needed. Asking $33.5 K.

Ausfish Gold Member

Just dont buy a good boat with an undersized motor. There have been lots of packages with 70-90hp motors sold , but they don't pass the muster unless you go way down in prop size. They barely plod along. You will know all about it if you water ski, tow a donut or come home in shitty weather( lack of power can be dangerous in bad weather-from experience). Go and check out lots of boats: after about 5 -7 boats, you will know what is reasonable value and what is an exageration for a decent vessel

Quote Originally Posted by Chimo View Post
    And depending how often you are going to go boating and how fresh and good quality the ULP is where you are don't right off the old 2 strokes.

They appear to tolerate old ULP better than the new 4 strokes or the Etecs etc but I'm only going on my old 115s on my Seafarer Vagabond. They are over 550hrs and they may use a little more fuel but servicing is heaps cheaper on the old 2 stroke than the new stuff.

If you make sure your trailer is well set up with a good roller complement and a good electric winch powered directly off you truck battery (with the motor running) you will handle a decent sized boat with ease. Us GOM ret. can do better than most as we are lazier and use the bits between the ears more effectively IMHO.

Check out the older 5.9 or 6m Seafarers too as they have a good solid hull.

On all the older frp dont forget to get the motor tilted out and you and a mate hang off it to check the transom on the boats your view.

Good luck with the search and Smithy is on the ball with the issue of freight unless your going for drive any how.

PS Just had a look and you might need to go for a drive!

Have a look at the 5.9 with the 140 4 stroke or the Vagabond with the two Honda 90s for starters
    http://www.boatpoint.com.au/DesktopD...All&D=Seafarer
    Chimo, the modern 4 stroke has a multitude of sensors to adjust timing and fuel delivery, what does your engines have that will save it from detonation from poor fuel quality???

I fear you are somewhat confused over modern technology

Retired Honda Master Tech

Hi Garry

Probably a gentle foot, good filters and full fuel tanks do help I hope. So far so good and my marine tech continues to encourage me to keep them as he reckons that plastic bait bags may be the biggest concern. Time will tell.

PS I don't mind modern stuff at all.
    What could go wrong.......................

I can tell you that my Baysport is roomy and immensely stable at rest but bangs loudly in the chop..... So depending on your preference for comfort in bad weather or comfort at rest you should consider whether your preferred hull shape is good into chop.

Use the search on here for each of your boat types... Opinions differ but you can get a sense of their suitability that way.

Older glass hull with good motor is the best value buying I reckon. Glass will outlast us all if no woodrot. Pressed aluminum will be good or bad depending on luck and history...

Plate hulls are superbly robust but may be noisy at rest. Don't buy a Noble if it's after they went to china....

I wish I could retire.....