View Full Version : jig combo
rosco1974
26-01-2012, 08:24 PM
looking at gettin a jig combo to hit the kings and aj's in the comming months,i have a saltist 6500h spin reel and was hoping to use that but just up the line to around 80lb any good ya recon or just get a new combo.got maybe $350 to spend not alot but hopefully will get me something,been told no more gear after the new motors on the cat by the missus so it will have to be a sneaky purchase.
cheers rosco
Rosco the Saltist will do the job just fine. Just spool it up with 80lb braid and run a 100lb wind on leader. If you have around $350 to spend on a rod i would look at a Shimano T curve Deep Jig 200 or 400 depending on the weight of the jigs you want to use.
I went out and bought a jigging combo a while back, used it once and sold it. It was a T curve Deep Jig 400 rod fitted with a Shimano Saragosa 18000F running 80lb braid and a 140lb wind on leader. I jigged a 300 gram knife jig at Square Patch in 90 metres for about 10 minutes and i was stuffed.
Thats why i have upgraded my plastic fishing combo to the Egrell Bear Essentials rod and the 4500 Saltiga S Extreme. Now i can fish plastics with jigheads from 1oz-4oz and do some light jigging with jigs up to 120 grams.
cheers tim :)
deepfried
26-01-2012, 09:38 PM
The saltist will do the job but is not ideal. The retrieve is too high and really they aren't built to stand up to 80lb and jigging kingies even though the Daiwa marketing says they can. I have seen them in action and used them and they just don't cope long term. Once in while fine but over time they fall to bits. As strange as it sounds I would prefer a penn 950 spin fisher over a saltist for a cheap jigging reel.
Yeah but his budget is only $350, so that wont get him a half decent jig rod plus a new reel. If the saltist falls to bits he could just send it back under warranty.
Rosco mostly bait fishes so i rekon if he only goes jigging now and then it should last a while. If he's got a deep jig rod and gets hooked on jigging he could always retire the saltist and upgrade to a saltiga/stella.
Just my opinion
deepfried
26-01-2012, 10:06 PM
Don't get me wrong tim. Use it if it's what he has and it means getting a decent rod but long term the saltist wont hold up to jigging. The handle just rips right out of them. Later on get something else when the missus is non the wiser and the budget allows it.
26-01-2012, 10:14 PM
50lb braid is all you need and about 80lb leader.
27-01-2012, 05:58 AM
I agree with the others in that the Saltist, while not ideal will do the job quite well. Spend your money on a rod that will do the job. A T-Curve 200 Jig with 50-65lb line or a T-Curve 400 Jig with 80lb will do the job. Also check out the Daiwa Monster Mesh Max range and the Fin-Nor Offshore rods. Livefibre Venoms are good but a bit more expensive. Another option is to look at something a little more versatile around the 7' mark that can be used for spinning, light jigging, livebaiting etc. I would look at a 50lb outfit along the lines of a LiveFibre 15-24, Daiwa Saltist Demon Blood in the 7' range and the Shimano Terez 7' 40-80lb. Jigging is hard work and most people try it and give it away pretty quickly. Others try it and are consumed as its a very exciting way to fish. I find a well presented livey or plastic works just as well for me though
rosco1974
27-01-2012, 06:28 AM
thanks fellas for the info,horse i hav 2 livefibre 15-24kg rods in 8 ft maybe i will just give one of those a go 1st with the saltist and put hide my play money a few weeks and get a 10000 stella.
27-01-2012, 07:03 AM
thanks fellas for the info,horse i hav 2 livefibre 15-24kg rods in 8 ft maybe i will just give one of those a go 1st with the saltist and put hide my play money a few weeks and get a 10000 stella.
I think you will struggle jigging with the 8' LiveFibre. They are long and have a softer action than what you are after. If you are already covered in that area a specific Jig stick would be better. The Stella would be nice but unless you are doing a lot of work with it a Gosa will put as many fish in the boat. It will be a few months before I start looking at that style of fishing so you have time to save the play money for a purpose built setup
Giveitacrack
27-01-2012, 01:55 PM
Rosco,
Sell the Saltist,go the Saragosa 18000 and Tcurve 200 with 50-80lb braid.Jig,troll,livebait,bottom bash you can do it all with a jig rod.The Tcurve 200 will work a 300 gram jig easily. I think the 400 is not as versatile as the 200.I have a Gosa with the old model Jigwrex similiar to the 200 and it fits the bill.
Rosco it certainly sounds like your turning to the dark side to catch fish. First your trolling barra spoons for macks, and now your thinking about buying a stella and jig rod.
You know you can't use ganged pilchards to jig with as they will fall off the hooks :P
If your after some decent jig's that wont break the bank let me know and i'll point you in the right direction.
rosco1974
27-01-2012, 04:23 PM
will do tim.will just be another option while out mate.most likely still use livies then if not working i will give the jigs a go.not real keen on the whole bottom bash at the moment would rather floatline pillies...hey tim i bought some of those squid vicous plastic the other day in you fav food nuc chicken.am sure i will get something on those they look impressive.will keep u posted.lol
Rosco i have no doubt now that your tempted to come to the "Dark Side". When i read your post i was like what the hell is rosco talking about, what is a squid vicious plastic. I had to google it to find out what it was.
They certainly look interesting, i might have to grab a packet in pink shine. I don't mind the look of the new 7" gulp turtleback worms, i reckon they might be a hit with the snapper in winter.
madmackrel
27-01-2012, 05:48 PM
Hi Rosco, mate ive got about four different jigging combos and your better off giving them a go before you decide on something. Its amazing how much easier it is with the right combo, after all its quite a physically demanding style but heaps of fun
Cheers Perry
rosco1974
27-01-2012, 07:03 PM
will do perry,let me know when u need a deckie mate.keen to give it a go.although i will more then likely knock up quick but am sure once i get 1 in the boat i will be hooked on doing it.
Is that your new years resolution rosco, to catch fish on lures ;D
rowanda
27-01-2012, 07:42 PM
mate not your standard jigging combo that gets talked about but have a look at the downrigger shop...they have awesome deals and Andy stands behind his products. Alot of people down here swear by his jigging combos
http://www.downriggershop.com.au/jigging-reels-and-rods.html
rosco1974
27-01-2012, 07:43 PM
nah tim i will always use bait to get a feed then try something different.will be this way till i get better results fishing other methods
Mate with a deck like your cats i would have a few rigs out :thumbsup:
Floatlined pilly
Dead sticked gulp wafting in the mid water column
Livie near the bottom
Livie on the surface under a balloon
Knife jigging
Just remember you can use the outriggers to keep the dead sticked plastic and the surface livie away from the other lines
rosco1974
27-01-2012, 08:22 PM
bloody hell tim,not sure if i want you to come out with me for a fish.i dont think i will have room to drop my line in
rosco1974
28-01-2012, 07:24 PM
well the missus bought me a pelagic jig combo not real sure how the rod will go its 6ft jig stick 15-25kg and the reel is a srx 10000which has 60lb of drag apparently,she said she got it for under $200 the reels seem to sell for what she paid for the combo so a guessin the reels might be ok.will be a good starter combo anyway.think it is a 4.4 to 1 retrieve or there abouts.
cheers rosco
Not sure how good the Pelagic brand stuff is, but after you hook a few decent kings or ambos you'll find out.
At least if you break that combo you can get a Stella / T Curve
Coodgee
28-01-2012, 08:39 PM
I'm keen to get into this jigging caPer as well. I bought a saragosa 8000 and daiwa monster mesh max rod (PE 5-6) about a year ago, mostly for drifting livies. It luckily for me this rig is perfect for jigging. I did a bit out with smithy before Xmas but they weren't biting. I was just borrowing a mate's knife jig. Since then I've bought about 6 jigs of various sorts. I can't wait to get out again on the charter to try again but conditions have been poor. I'm getting impatient to jig my first kingy!
28-01-2012, 10:13 PM
well the missus bought me a pelagic jig combo not real sure how the rod will go its 6ft jig stick 15-25kg and the reel is a srx 10000which has 60lb of drag apparently,she said she got it for under $200 the reels seem to sell for what she paid for the combo so a guessin the reels might be ok.will be a good starter combo anyway.think it is a 4.4 to 1 retrieve or there abouts.
cheers rosco
Let us know how it goes. Most of the cheaper options will still land you plenty of fish. As Perry said the better quality jigging gear is pretty important if you are going to get into that form of fishing.
cobiaman
28-01-2012, 10:57 PM
The better gear certainly is easier on your body!
rosco1974
29-01-2012, 07:43 AM
will let u know how it goes.any1 suggest what brand of jigs they find best .is it better to get the lumo jigs
Coodgee
29-01-2012, 07:59 AM
will let u know how it goes.any1 suggest what brand of jigs they find best .is it better to get the lumo jigs
I'm thinking of ordering a 10 pack of knife jigs from down rigger shop. They are cheap copies of a more expensive brand but the forum chatter and photos suggest they are catching plenty of Sydney kings. They are 10 for $70 inc delivery.
outwide1
29-01-2012, 10:00 AM
Hey rosco,i have a black magic wrap with 13 jigs in it for sale.There chaos jigs and popular japanese jigs also.I couldnt match the 10 for $70 cheapies:-? though as some of these were $25-$30 each.
Just pm me if your keen and make me an offer.;)
Cheers Mick
ranga7
29-01-2012, 04:32 PM
Hi mate, i have the same reel with 50pd braid. I matched it with a live fibre venom jig rod. it was about 300 i think. biggest 2 date is 12kgs and it handled it fine.
deepfried
29-01-2012, 04:47 PM
See how much outwide1 wants for that collection. There is a good variety of jigs and colours amongst them. Those zest super deeps work great but mo don't sell them anymore :(
The cheapies work just as well as the dear ones and some days I have been smashed by my mate using $10 cheapies and I am dropping $30++. I have been told by a mate that the price of some jigs is only to match the fishermans ego and gullibility ! They all work but I still have a mix of cheapies and my "nice" ones.
rosco1974
29-01-2012, 06:08 PM
thanks deepfried i have bought the ones from outwide1,pick them up next weekend so that should get me started
I have been told by a mate that the price of some jigs is only to match the fishermans ego and gullibility
How right is this statement, expensive jigs = wank factor http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/image/png;base64,iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAABcAAAAZCAIAAAB VQiKHAAAAfUlEQVQ4jd2TQQ7AIAgE+Wv/2y/Rg4khqywoxkMJBzeRkUUVuRmvPjar9TssuxuKF0Cwj0uGUNUm2 wJkDOqUHqNMUSwIuJIczXScnowpPAMKATE7I9470G0EijO+5gj iM54FIKr/TfL3F3bbcSWK7JkiL6JEOdzOchxA/Cg++fZvQNQ2KTsAAAAASUVORK5CYII=
You could use a $2 shifter from crazy clarks, like this bloke ;D
outta line
29-01-2012, 07:18 PM
the spin option is a bit easer to jig than overhead ......its a real work out and you wont need a gym membership after a while .....but when you get into the rhythm its gr8 fun .....i gave up on heavy jigging (300+grams) some days that is all they will hit and its hard work......i jig a lighter combo now saltiga 4500 on a monster mesh 63.. 80-150g....... i use my heavy jigs as weights now with no hooks on paternoster rigs... they work a treat as teasers....gave up on heavy jigs as lives do the work for you......but is always good to have another option when you are out there .......looks like mick has covered all bases with that lot well done.......enjoy...
outta line
29-01-2012, 07:36 PM
How right is this statement, expensive jigs = wank factor http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/image/png;base64,iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAABcAAAAZCAIAAAB VQiKHAAAAfUlEQVQ4jd2TQQ7AIAgE+Wv/2y/Rg4khqywoxkMJBzeRkUUVuRmvPjar9TssuxuKF0Cwj0uGUNUm2 wJkDOqUHqNMUSwIuJIczXScnowpPAMKATE7I9470G0EijO+5gj iM54FIKr/TfL3F3bbcSWK7JkiL6JEOdzOchxA/Cg++fZvQNQ2KTsAAAAASUVORK5CYII=
You could use a $2 shifter from crazy clarks, like this bloke ;D
hey tim ...gr8 pic......where was that taken from ....my guess is SA arno bay where they will hit anything .....but hey if its looks different the only way to find out is to bite it.....unlucky snapper.......never know if you never try.....well done to him ...... think id stick to jigs but u never know when u might need the shifter onboard ...........cheers mick
rosco1974
29-01-2012, 07:38 PM
will be wraped to get onto 1 fish i think,but i do like using livies for kings and aj's
Coodgee
29-01-2012, 08:33 PM
will be wraped to get onto 1 fish i think,but i do like using livies for kings and aj's
yeah that is the same dilemma I will find myself in... sitting on top of a big show of kings, looking like a spastic seagull on amphetamines trying to get the mechanical jigging technique right. It's a hard call not to switch to the livies pretty quickly if you are not catching fish and everyone else is getting them on the livies. I'm not even sure it's going to be possible to jig while others have livies in the water is it? Might be a good recipe for tangles.
I've been watching a few videos. I think the main thing to look out for is to not raise the rod tip so high that you have more than one rotation of the handle worth of slack to wind up. I actually went down to breaky creek yesterday for a bit of practice off the jetty there. it's only about 10 metres deep but allowed me to get a few cranks in before the jig hit the surface.
hey tim ...gr8 pic......where was that taken from ....
Found it on google, not sure where it was caught :thumbsup:
deepfried
29-01-2012, 09:27 PM
yeah that is the same dilemma I will find myself in... sitting on top of a big show of kings, looking like a spastic seagull on amphetamines trying to get the mechanical jigging technique right. It's a hard call not to switch to the livies pretty quickly if you are not catching fish and everyone else is getting them on the livies. I'm not even sure it's going to be possible to jig while others have livies in the water is it? Might be a good recipe for tangles.
If we have livies and jigs we will generally jig first before dropping any livies. Once they see a live bait they can switch off the jigs quickly. Sometimes fish can switch off livies as well so if we have landed a couple on jigs then switch over to livies it can increase our numbers for the day.
See how much outwide1 wants for that collection. There is a good variety of jigs and colours amongst them. Those zest super deeps work great but mo don't sell them anymore :(
The cheapies work just as well as the dear ones and some days I have been smashed by my mate using $10 cheapies and I am dropping $30++. I have been told by a mate that the price of some jigs is only to match the fishermans ego and gullibility ! They all work but I still have a mix of cheapies and my "nice" ones.
Plenty of the cheap jigs are soft & can be destroyed by a decent fish ........... otherwise !
for me .... have some cheapies but always carry better ones too
I'm trying to convince a mate from Sydney not to skimp on his jigs and poppers for when he comes up here to join me on a NQ safari
Blindfreddy
29-01-2012, 11:09 PM
I have a few jigs bought over the years, but always grab the goto jig (never fail) when the others aren't producing the goods. Surecatch jigs for me. Each brand of jigs has their own flutter pattern. Find out what works for you then experiment with the colours.
Regards.
Brent_P
31-01-2012, 11:30 PM
Rosco,
You've bought a great set of jigs there, I reckon. The pink, glow white, and chartreuse jig in the 5th pocket is a Daiwa Sacrifice Stick, one of the best jigs ever made in my opinion. I started using that particular jig and colour about five years ago, after I saw someone using one on a charter boat and it outfished other jigs 2 or 3 to 1. Since then, I've caught literally dozens of 8-15kg kingies off the Gold Coast on the 250g and 300g sizes, and some bigger fish at White Island, NZ, up to 21kg. That particular jig and colour seems to appeal to larger fish too - I've caught relatively few 'rats' on it (below 6kg) for some reason. They used to sell for around $28, but when I was told that Daiwa were not making them anymore, I asked someone if I could buy his for $50, but he wouldn't sell it. Later, I found another source.
The jigs in the 3rd and 4th pockets are Smith Nagamasa's (or maybe the Zest clones called "Metal Baitfish")- considered by many, both here and overseas, to be the best kingfish and amberjack jigs available. They sell here for $25-$30, but sell for half that overseas, of course.
Each year for the past six years, between August and the beginning of December, once every 1-2 weeks depending on weather, I jig from a charter boat off the Gold Coast for kingies and amberjacks. When you fish with a lot of different jig fishermen, over a long enough period of time, you get to see what works and what doesn't. Not all jigs are created equal. Sure, I might get a day or two in November, when the biggest fish have generally arrived, and when the fish are schooling in great numbers from 30 metres down to all the way to the bottom in 80 metres, and on these days you could drop down a gumboot and still draw a strike (but probably not as many strikes). I've seen a deckie catch a couple of 2kg kingies on a fluoro orange metal stanley knife with hooks attached, when the rats were really schooling up. But that doesn't mean that gumboots and stanley knives are as good as tried and proven jigs, whatever their cost. On the slower days, when you might jig for 4 or 5 hours for two 10kg fish, you'll be happy you tied on the right jig, or jigs. When the fish are more spread out and/or not actively feeding, the right jig might score you a strike or three, when no one else gets a hit. Competition within a large school of actively feeding fish can get you hits on anything that moves, but when the fish are swimming solo no such competition exists.
Jigging on these charters, very rarely do I get outfished by people exclusively fishing livebaits, whether they're using yakkas, slimies, or tailor. I jig mainly because it's very effective. Some days, particularly last year, the kingies don't seem to want to hit the livebaits at all. I don't think I've ever had a day when they would only hit livebaits and not jigs (unless we're talking about one isolated fish for the whole trip). One example from last year, was when I was jigging and the seven other customers were livebaiting (or maybe one or two were fishing dead-baits). From the flybridge, the skipper called that we were drifting through a really good show. I hooked and boated three 8kg kingfish in 15-20 minutes, while only one of the seven other customers hooked up. He lost his twenty metres down, if I remember right, and the school apparently dispersed.
I think the reason good jigs regularly outfish livebaits (at least here off the Gold Coast) is because fish are not always actively feeding. Once salmon leave the ocean and enter rivers to spawn, they stop feeding, but fishermen still catch them on chromed spinners in the rivers. I think jigs often draw a similar response from kingfish - a kind of instinctive "reaction bite" that has little to do with hunger. Jigs may also be visible from a greater distance than a little yakka livebait, lazily swimming in the current, at one fixed depth. So if your mates are getting plenty of hits on livebaits and you're getting none on a jig, you probably need to change your jig - or your jigging action.
In my opinion, one of the most important things to do before you start jigging for kingfish, is actually check your spinning reel's drag on dry land, so you know what 9-10kg of drag feels like. I believe most people are reefed because they were running less than 9kg of drag. I use a small lever drag reel for jigging, so I know exactly how much drag I run, because I set it with scales, and I haven't been reefed in years. The advantage of jigging over livebaiting is that you'll often hookup 30-40 metres off the bottom, which gives you plenty of time to stop the fish reaching the bottom, if you're running enough drag. Another important thing, which few people can be bothered doing, is testing the actual breaking strain of your joining knots. It's pretty risky running 10kg of drag if your knots will only hold 12kg, especially since drag pressure increases as spool diameter decreases, as is the case when your jig is near the bottom in 80 metres of water.
Last year I decided to try more 'slider' type jigs, which are popular in Asia and the US. One day the previous year, we'd had a day like I mentioned earlier, when the fish were big, schooling up in huge numbers, and spread through almost the entire water column. Although the Daiwa Sacrifice Stick caught many of the biggest fish, it didn't draw as many hits as the longer thinner Japanese jigs, which were also hooking fish halfway down on the drop. During that trip, I couldn't have actually handled any more fish, but I knew these sliding jigs would suit my jigging style better. I don't do the normal 'mechanical' jigging style, as I couldn't really get the rhthym right with an overhead, but I wasn't regularly getting outfished by people using that style, so I saw no reason to change. I do a kind of sped-up pump and wind - one sharp lift, two winds down (depending on the reel retrieve rate), dropping the rod on the wind-down at about the same rate as the jig is dropping back. This technique has worked very well for me, but doesn't look as cool as the 'proper' mechanical jigging style ;D. This is actually how you're meant to fish slider jigs - as tension comes off the line, the slider jig slides sideways instead of down, reflecting any available light as it flutters. Anyway, I did a lot of internet 'research' and one of the slider jigs I bought turned out to be the best jig I've tried (other than the Daiwa, maybe) - a 240g Shout Slide Actor. I bought these jigs from Asia and the US for around $30. They are not available in Australia, probably because there is a limited market for $60 jigs, though you can buy Hots Keitans for $60 in Australia if you want (or pay $20 elsewhere, like I did). By the way, the Hots Keitans were the jigs used by several people on that trip I mentioned, the jigs that were being hit halfway down.
I've heard a few good reports about the cheap Surecatch jigs now, even a report on 360Tuna about the same jig with a different name, but I've never seen one in action. But, Rosco, you probably don't have to buy any new jigs for a while now... Good luck with your jigging.
Sorry about the epic post, but hopefully you'll find some of this information useful. I've been putting off posting on this thread for days now, with good reason... ;D
Brent.
Coodgee
01-02-2012, 09:24 AM
Brent, that is a wealth of knowledge, thankyou. I went out with a charter yesterday. We saw some good shows of what was presumably quite a large school of kings in about 100 metres of water. We tried jigging them first. I was using a williamson 250gram knife jig. In a hundred metres I found it quite hard to do the mechanical action with any speed, just because the jig was so heavy to move through that much water. I could only keep it up for about 10 drops before I gave in and tried the livies. we had Yakkas and slimeys but they weren't interested in either. Even tried a plastic for no result.
Would you recommend trying different jigs in this situation?
also, I'm quite interested in you jigging technique because I am either not strong enough or too uncoordinated to use the mechanical jigging technique with any finesse. Are there any videos online of your technique?
rosco1974
01-02-2012, 05:35 PM
awsome post there brent,thanks heaps .hope to give this type of fising a real crack this year.hope to post a few good size kings and aj's
Brent_P
01-02-2012, 09:42 PM
Coodgee,
The Williamson Benthos jigs are almost exact copies of the Daiwa Sacrifice Sticks, and seem to be reasonably productive. The Daiwa jigs I use though are more successful, I believe, in the particular colour scheme of luminescent white, fluorescent yellow, and fluorescent pink. Fluorescent coloured jigs can be very effective, due to the way colours are filtered out at depth. The red end of the spectrum appears to turn grey first as depth increases, followed in order by the other colours in the spectrum. Fluorescent colours are different, though, in that those pigments actually change the wavelength of the available light to that of the colour you see, which is why fluorescent colours appear so bright, and should appear much brighter than other colours at depth. And of course luminescent pigments glow in the dark. Having said that, full lumo jigs with no shine or fluoro colours do seem to be less effective than many other jigs for some reason, from what I've seen.
Anyway, the Williamson Benthos isn't quite as tapered as the Daiwa at the nose, which does seem to make it 'heavier' to jig due to greater water resistance. The easiest to jig are the long streamlined jigs with very thin noses, like Shout Slide Actors, Hots Keitans, Mangrove Studio Wipeout Slides, FCL Labo VN230's, Smiths Nagamasas (to a lesser degree), and probably the Downrigger jigs, by the look of them. The River2Sea Turkey Slider jigs have very minimal resistance when jigged and look great, but I've only seen them catch smaller fish - there may be differences in success rate from location to location, though.
I tried to find a Youtube clip from the free DVD that came with 'Fishing World' magazine a few months ago, called 'Norfolk Island Kings' I think, because I remember the presenter was using a similar jigging technique to mine. Instead, I found another video about Norfolk Island jigging. At 1:04 the guy in the green shirt is using a similar style, but not lifting quite as high as I do, and at 3:52 the guy in the red shirt is doing something similar, only slower with an extra wind (I also jig with my rod gimbal in a gimbal belt, which makes fishing with an overhead much easier). You'll probably find jigging something like this much less of a struggle. I have to say that my jigging style requires no skill and very little coordination - and I can't say that any kind of heavy jigging requires any 'finesse'! 'Stamina' and 'brute force', yes, but 'finesse'? No... ;D
Here's the youtube clip. Unlike this guy, I don't drop my jig all the way to the bottom. If you're using multi-coloured braid, just flip the bail when you're 5-10 metres off it. There's no point risking snagging up, and you really don't want to hookup 2 metres off the reef if you can avoid it, anyway.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9w6hRFcZl4s&feature=related
Brent.
Coodgee
02-02-2012, 10:45 AM
brent, thanks very much for replying. that is a very informative post! I reckon I might give that technique a go. a fast pump-and-wind is a good way to describe it. I will have to look at getting some of those jigs.
when yo usay fluro, that is obviously different from the reflective material? I have a cuttlefish jig (forget the brand) which is the glow-in-the-dark colour on one side and pink on the other side, but the pink is more reflective like a bicycle reflector.
There is no better way to learn than to watch someone who is good at it, when are you going on a charter next? I don't own a boat so mostly do charters as well, usually with Smithy out of Maloolaba. If you're interested we should organise a booking - your guy or mine - and we can go and jig somes Kings. Only if you are interested of course! I'm always struggling to find other people to book the charter with. Smithy takes max 4. who do you normally charter with?
I don't really go jigging on charters, but i know Rodrick from RU4REEL Charters has heaps of experience in that style of fishing :thumbsup:
You should see him working a jig, he's an animal :o
Brent_P
02-02-2012, 08:00 PM
Coodgee,
It's mackerel season - so I'll only be fishing the inshore reefs for the next few months, in my mate's 17ft half cabin. I probably won't be doing any jigging until about August. I've read a few of Smithy's posts - it looks like he gets heaps of fish.
I'd like to take credit for being 'good at jigging', but using my style, there really isn't much to it. More important, is having the right gear (not necessarily super-expensive), tying good knots, and being in the right place at the right time.
Brent.
fishfeeder
03-02-2012, 04:50 PM
I have a question to all you Jigman ??
I am looking at getting a Jigging outfit to use for mainly AJ's out at Square Patch.
I have a heavy outfit setup to use 300g + so I am looking for an outfit to fish 200g - 300g, on a budget..
Do you think a Daiwa Saltist 4500H spooled with 40 braid on a T-Curve Revolution Vertical 150 - 250 Jig rod will be ok ???
I am looking at getting a Jigging outfit to use for mainly AJ's out at Square Patch.
I have a heavy outfit setup to use 300g + so I am looking for an outfit to fish 200g - 300g, on a budget..
Do you think a Daiwa Saltist 4500H spooled with 40 braid on a T-Curve Revolution Vertical 150 - 250 Jig rod will be ok ???
The combo you listed will set you back around $464 without braid, it will do the job but the saltist won't hold up to the pressure of jigging forever. If i was looking for a cheap light jigging set up i would look at a new Daiwa monster mesh 250 and i would switch the saltist for a saragosa 14000F. The combo i suggested is only slightly dearer at $498 but in my opinion it will be a much better combo.
Coodgee
03-02-2012, 08:27 PM
I have the monster mesh max 250. It's a pretty light rod really. I've had it bending right down to the reel seat on an aj (livies). Goes good with my gosa 8000
rosco1974
03-02-2012, 08:34 PM
well fella's i just picked up the bling from outwide1,just got to spool the reel and i am fully set to have a crack.nice meeting you mick and the jigs look great.will have to keep tim d away from them or the bugger will take them home for dinner,lol
cheers rosco
Coodgee
03-02-2012, 09:43 PM
Let us know how you go Rosco.
03-02-2012, 10:37 PM
Rosco, your all set now. I would be trying to drag out someone like Madmakrel on your first trip. It would make the transition a lot easier. when you watch the guys who know what they are doing get into it you can see why its so addictive
rosco1974
04-02-2012, 04:27 PM
yeah mate perry is on the top of my list..but i think we will be in his boat...will start hounding him to take me out now
cheers rosco
madmackrel
04-02-2012, 04:55 PM
monday is looking good mate
Coodgee
04-02-2012, 07:27 PM
You should start a jigging school mad mackerel. I'd pay to be a student :)
rosco1974
04-02-2012, 09:41 PM
yeah i know it is perry but i got to work mate otherwise i would of been there.will have to tee something up soon mate.
castamasta
04-02-2012, 10:37 PM
Hi Rosco,i just used the fin-nor offshore jigspins,very happy for $270 or so a great start i reckon.
Cheers,Gav.
madmackrel
05-02-2012, 06:01 AM
I'd like to take credit for being 'good at jigging', but using my style, there really isn't much to it. More important, is having the right gear (not necessarily super-expensive), tying good knots, and being in the right place at the right time.
Brent.[/QUOTE]
Well said Brent.
Cheers Perry
madmackrel
05-02-2012, 06:05 AM
You should start a jigging school mad mackerel. I'd pay to be a student :)
Mate a lot more people out there better than myself . I dont mind passing on what i know but i wont be charging for it, come out with me and ill let you use some of my gear which might also head you in the right direction regarding what outfit you will purchase.
Cheeers Perry
madmackrel
05-02-2012, 06:13 AM
Brett sorry for not responding to your pm mate, same goes mate youre welcome to come out and give it go anytime
Cheers Perry
Coodgee
05-02-2012, 07:51 AM
Mate a lot more people out there better than myself . I dont mind passing on what i know but i wont be charging for it, come out with me and ill let you use some of my gear which might also head you in the right direction regarding what outfit you will purchase.
Cheeers Perry
That would be awesome mate. I've actually got monster mesh max 250 rod and a saragosa 8000 reel. It's more the jigs and the technique that I am struggling with. Where do you normally go? And is it hard going at this time of year?
rosco1974
05-02-2012, 08:18 AM
perry normally jigs around square patch
I know where perry jig's at the patch, it's where Scalem and i tested Scalems deepwater jigheads a while back.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?178063-Well-that-worked-Finally-a-chance-to-look-for-Kingies!
We only got baby's compared to some of the fish Perry gets out there though, still good fun though.
Coodgee
05-02-2012, 10:12 AM
I know where perry jig's at the patch, it's where Scalem and i tested Scalems deepwater jigheads a while back.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?178063-Well-that-worked-Finally-a-chance-to-look-for-Kingies!
We only got baby's compared to some of the fish Perry gets out there though, still good fun though.
Wow Tim, that post gets me all excited :)
rosco1974
24-02-2012, 08:35 PM
i tried the new rod and reel combo last weekend hooked up to some solid aj's but got sharked on the way up...didn't use jigs just livebaited.the combo seemed to hold up well and the reel done the job easy..cannot wait to have a jig now with it..bring on the good weather