jig combo
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: jig combo

jig combo

looking at gettin a jig combo to hit the kings and aj's in the comming months,i have a saltist 6500h spin reel and was hoping to use that but just up the line to around 80lb any good ya recon or just get a new combo.got maybe $350 to spend not alot but hopefully will get me something,been told no more gear after the new motors on the cat by the missus so it will have to be a sneaky purchase.
    cheers rosco

Re: jig combo

Rosco the Saltist will do the job just fine. Just spool it up with 80lb braid and run a 100lb wind on leader. If you have around $350 to spend on a rod i would look at a Shimano T curve Deep Jig 200 or 400 depending on the weight of the jigs you want to use.

I went out and bought a jigging combo a while back, used it once and sold it. It was a T curve Deep Jig 400 rod fitted with a Shimano Saragosa 18000F running 80lb braid and a 140lb wind on leader. I jigged a 300 gram knife jig at Square Patch in 90 metres for about 10 minutes and i was stuffed.

Thats why i have upgraded my plastic fishing combo to the Egrell Bear Essentials rod and the 4500 Saltiga S Extreme. Now i can fish plastics with jigheads from 1oz-4oz and do some light jigging with jigs up to 120 grams.

cheers tim

The saltist will do the job but is not ideal. The retrieve is too high and really they aren't built to stand up to 80lb and jigging kingies even though the Daiwa marketing says they can. I have seen them in action and used them and they just don't cope long term. Once in while fine but over time they fall to bits. As strange as it sounds I would prefer a penn 950 spin fisher over a saltist for a cheap jigging reel.

Yeah but his budget is only $350, so that wont get him a half decent jig rod plus a new reel. If the saltist falls to bits he could just send it back under warranty.

Rosco mostly bait fishes so i rekon if he only goes jigging now and then it should last a while. If he's got a deep jig rod and gets hooked on jigging he could always retire the saltist and upgrade to a saltiga/stella.

Just my opinion

cheers tim

Don't get me wrong tim. Use it if it's what he has and it means getting a decent rod but long term the saltist wont hold up to jigging. The handle just rips right out of them. Later on get something else when the missus is non the wiser and the budget allows it.

50lb braid is all you need and about 80lb leader.

I agree with the others in that the Saltist, while not ideal will do the job quite well. Spend your money on a rod that will do the job. A T-Curve 200 Jig with 50-65lb line or a T-Curve 400 Jig with 80lb will do the job. Also check out the Daiwa Monster Mesh Max range and the Fin-Nor Offshore rods. Livefibre Venoms are good but a bit more expensive. Another option is to look at something a little more versatile around the 7' mark that can be used for spinning, light jigging, livebaiting etc. I would look at a 50lb outfit along the lines of a LiveFibre 15-24, Daiwa Saltist Demon Blood in the 7' range and the Shimano Terez 7' 40-80lb. Jigging is hard work and most people try it and give it away pretty quickly. Others try it and are consumed as its a very exciting way to fish. I find a well presented livey or plastic works just as well for me though

thanks fellas for the info,horse i hav 2 livefibre 15-24kg rods in 8 ft maybe i will just give one of those a go 1st with the saltist and put hide my play money a few weeks and get a 10000 stella.

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    thanks fellas for the info,horse i hav 2 livefibre 15-24kg rods in 8 ft maybe i will just give one of those a go 1st with the saltist and put hide my play money a few weeks and get a 10000 stella.
    I think you will struggle jigging with the 8' LiveFibre. They are long and have a softer action than what you are after. If you are already covered in that area a specific Jig stick would be better. The Stella would be nice but unless you are doing a lot of work with it a Gosa will put as many fish in the boat. It will be a few months before I start looking at that style of fishing so you have time to save the play money for a purpose built setup

Rosco,
    Sell the Saltist,go the Saragosa 18000 and Tcurve 200 with 50-80lb braid.Jig,troll,livebait,bottom bash you can do it all with a jig rod.The Tcurve 200 will work a 300 gram jig easily. I think the 400 is not as versatile as the 200.I have a Gosa with the old model Jigwrex similiar to the 200 and it fits the bill.

Rosco it certainly sounds like your turning to the dark side to catch fish. First your trolling barra spoons for macks, and now your thinking about buying a stella and jig rod.

You know you can't use ganged pilchards to jig with as they will fall off the hooks

If your after some decent jig's that wont break the bank let me know and i'll point you in the right direction.

cheers tim

will do tim.will just be another option while out mate.most likely still use livies then if not working i will give the jigs a go.not real keen on the whole bottom bash at the moment would rather floatline pillies...hey tim i bought some of those squid vicous plastic the other day in you fav food nuc chicken.am sure i will get something on those they look impressive.will keep u posted.lol

Rosco i have no doubt now that your tempted to come to the "Dark Side". When i read your post i was like what the hell is rosco talking about, what is a squid vicious plastic. I had to google it to find out what it was.

They certainly look interesting, i might have to grab a packet in pink shine. I don't mind the look of the new 7" gulp turtleback worms, i reckon they might be a hit with the snapper in winter.

cheers tim

Hi Rosco, mate ive got about four different jigging combos and your better off giving them a go before you decide on something. Its amazing how much easier it is with the right combo, after all its quite a physically demanding style but heaps of fun
    Cheers Perry

will do perry,let me know when u need a deckie mate.keen to give it a go.although i will more then likely knock up quick but am sure once i get 1 in the boat i will be hooked on doing it.