View Full Version : The Milky Condamine

Pages : 1 [2]

Outdoor Guy
06-01-2011, 05:41 AM
hkconc im sorry mate you were right i just heard from a ses person that there was a surge of water go through Cameron st wasnt a metre though more like 800mm and only 2 houses were really affected,came up to the garage doors,it only lasted about 3 hours went as quick as it came,it happened about 4 in the morning so no one really new about it,except your mate obviosly

Outdoor Guy
10-01-2011, 06:42 PM
rain rain go away come back another day
well i could get over the weir bridge on saturday (8th) got all geared up on sunday to do some much needed mowing on my block in Tara and the water came back up over the bridge again
ive been helpin with the cleanup in condamine as well and tomorrow (11th)im suppose to go and do some patchup work at the pub there but will have to see if i can get over the bridge before the water rises

Outdoor Guy
10-01-2011, 06:54 PM
The water came up to the hand rail in Sheiks Pic

Outdoor Guy
22-01-2011, 05:50 AM
Well they opened the road at the weir yesterday,it looks like a fire or something has gone through the place all the grass and small trees are brown or black with mud its all dead looking

Outdoor Guy
30-01-2011, 07:10 AM
well here are some pics of the condamine river at condamine
you can see the water and mud stain on the trees
the water level under the bridge is about 4metres
pics taken on the 29th jan

Chong
31-01-2011, 03:48 PM
Hi Guys,
here is a pic before and after the flood of our camp site:o :o :o

Outdoor Guy
15-02-2011, 07:23 PM
well been fishin a few times since the water went down and all im catchin is Carp, big ones to so at least some of the big breeders are out of the water
i think maybe the yellas are still tryin to get back upstream

Sheik
15-02-2011, 11:55 PM
Yeah mate, I''d say they're about at Narrabri going hard to get home before state of origin time.

hkconc
17-02-2011, 06:09 AM
I know a few kids camped out at the Yarramalong weir last weekend. They caught 30 carp and 1 yella. The camp ground out there is covered with 1.000 of sand. Only the tops of the concrete tables sticking out of the sand.

kevin jackson
18-02-2011, 08:26 PM
just for a update the Chinchilla Weir is very clear upstream of the weir, very nice to see i think that it was all the warwick water. have not caught any fish but that may change if i can get down there tomorrow morning on spinnerbaits

odes20
19-02-2011, 08:26 PM
Thats the best news since we started this thread last Jan. Kevin ! Did you catch any?

rossco
20-02-2011, 07:41 AM
Thats great news Kevin if i can find a spare day i will have to go there.
Sheik no not at Narrabri had a fish there last week for nil, altho the locals said they were catching a few.

Cheers rossco

kevin jackson
20-02-2011, 03:42 PM
no luck on the spinnerbaiting front but it was a great morning on the river, it seems so much more alive at the moment, alot of bug activity and seen a carp i think tailing in the shallows, so they are still there.

odes20
20-02-2011, 06:29 PM
no luck on the spinnerbaiting front but it was a great morning on the river, it seems so much more alive at the moment, alot of bug activity and seen a carp i think tailing in the shallows, so they are still there.

I would so love a pic of the river upstream as it clears

Outdoor Guy
06-03-2011, 04:58 PM
well we had some good rain in the last few days and the weir is running over again .but its a nice steady flow, no fish to report,although a few weeks ago did catch a couple yellas 37cm and 39cm nice fat fish so they are nice and healthy.
but caught about a dozen carp to get em and big ones to.sorry no pics the missus dropped me phone in a bucket of water and its all good but the camera dont work now " bugga"

Outdoor Guy
27-03-2011, 07:25 PM
water came up preity high last weekend but went down just as quick still havent had the chance to have a fish but soon i hope

Sheik
28-03-2011, 03:42 AM
Was at Condi ten days ago before the 6 inches in town during the footy game against Qld Police. River even then was still flowing but pretty much the same colour it's been since mid nineties after the big drought finished. Dogwood was flowing too very gently at Pine Hill.

odes20
13-04-2011, 09:27 PM
Still waiting for some yellowbelly pics?

rossco
14-04-2011, 07:12 AM
Hey guys is it still clear enough for lures above the weir at Chinchilla?

Cheers rossco

Chong
03-05-2011, 04:03 PM
Hi Fellas,
any update on the river's condition? we r thinking of going out in 6 weeks or so.

kevin jackson
03-05-2011, 07:36 PM
upstream of chinchilla weiris clear to about 6 inchs and has settled alot since easter, look great but i had no luck on saturday on spinnerbait for the two hour session.

Sheik
03-05-2011, 11:46 PM
Fished below Condamine over Easter Chong. WOuldn't say it was clear but it was clean and absol beautiful. The flood has scoured all the crap off the banks and river is just flowing through. We got heaps of little catfish, bobbies and the odd yella out of the dogwood and 150m yellas out of the Condie. Also took probably twenty or so carp out of the system from 100mil to 3kilo. Old goanna up on the bank couldn't believe his luck!

Chong
05-05-2011, 10:47 AM
we are confirmed, trip to condi, 9th -13th June;D taking a few AF's this time, should be interesting to say the least. Hope the river and weather play the game but should be right, hope for a frost too, bring on the cod;) .

odes20
06-05-2011, 07:32 AM
Hopin to get a trip below Condy at the end of May. I am so looking foward to see the old river scoured out.

maybe a couple of yellas?

I really hope so.

Chong AFs?? Whats that??

Excuse my ignorance

STUIE63
06-05-2011, 08:06 AM
ausfishers

Chong
06-05-2011, 08:46 AM
John,
leave some for us::) ;) look forward to report:) hope you get some fish.
Stuie got it.

odes20
06-05-2011, 06:48 PM
Ah yes!

Im a bit slow today. ha Ha!

Outdoor Guy
19-05-2011, 08:03 PM
took some pics of the chinchilla weir and the clear water running over and at the base of the wall
note the colour of the water not milky

Chong
20-05-2011, 10:06 AM
Outdoor,
That river looks friggn great, thats the best ive seen it in many a year.;D ;D We will be there in three weeks and counting, cant wait, thanks for the pics, got me pumped now, cant wait.

odes20
20-05-2011, 10:13 AM
This is great news!! We all have been discussing this issue on this thread for so long and now the old girl is finally clearing up after these awesome floods.

I will be down there at chinchilla from Cairns next week fishing the Condamine.
Hoping for a few yellas!

Sheik
20-05-2011, 12:58 PM
This is great news!! We all have been discussing this issue on this thread for so long and now the old girl is finally clearing up after these awesome floods.

I will be down there at chinchilla from Cairns next week fishing the Condamine.
Hoping for a few yellas!

Don't think there'll be too many problems if you're hoping for a frost. What is it again? First full moon after the first frost after Easter? Pretty cold out there this week. Down to 2 or so. Rellies from Newell visit out there so I know what I'm talking about when I say bring a jumper! That water looks soooo good. Look after the river boys, and good luck with the trip. Looking forward to a report.
regards jim

Outdoor Guy
20-05-2011, 07:17 PM
Your not wrong about the cold Sheik last monday morning ( 16th ) it was 2 degs at 6am in Chinchilla

Sheik
21-05-2011, 02:14 AM
Yeah mate, that's chilly. Especially on a four wheeler checking cattle!

flatzie
21-05-2011, 07:24 AM
Just been corresponding with a friend on Facebook and she said they are getting some great yellowbelly in the river, but not sure where. Sounds good!
Flatzie

Outdoor Guy
21-05-2011, 07:31 AM
Yeah mate, that's chilly. Especially on a four wheeler checking cattle!

ouch that would have brought it down to -2

BRRRRRRRRR

hope you had your trusty Ausfish beanie on that would have kept you warm

Crestcutter
21-05-2011, 08:12 AM
If you can get through the carp they are catching yellow belly at the Loudon bridge near the weir just outta Dalby.

odes20
21-05-2011, 04:32 PM
Still hangin out for some pics!

Little grey men
21-05-2011, 04:52 PM
I'm also hearing some good things from friends and family out there, I'll be taking my baitcaster and a fist full of lures when I head out next.

Sheik
22-05-2011, 12:16 AM
ouch that would have brought it down to -2

BRRRRRRRRR

hope you had your trusty Ausfish beanie on that would have kept you warm
No my old man never let us wear gloves or beanies on the bikes in the morning. He didn't so I don't. I've only got 4 fingers left.

odes20
22-05-2011, 10:13 PM
Well as long as its not raining, i will be fishing the Condamine on Tuesday. Hoping to post some pics of Yellowbelly.

Sheik
23-05-2011, 12:12 AM
Good on you mate. let us kn ow how you get on.

odes20
28-05-2011, 10:01 PM
Hi All

Well went and caught a few yellas at Chinchilla on the now not milky Condamine! This is my father in law holding up a freshly caught beautiful specimen. Sorry the pics are not so good they are off my Iphone and one is after dark. But great fun! 10 yellas in 3 hours!
And yes as others have said the river is clearing nicely, in fact i have never seen it so good in years.

http://i866.photobucket.com/albums/ab223/odes20/DadsYellowbelly.jpg
http://i866.photobucket.com/albums/ab223/odes20/photo.jpg

Outdoor Guy
29-05-2011, 07:01 AM
great looking fish John your FIL looks happy
and they have that green tinge to them as well not the albino look
( the fish not your FIL )

Chong
08-06-2011, 09:45 AM
Hey Lads,
heading out tomorrow for the weekend. Come on Cod....might be a bit wet too?

Sheik
08-06-2011, 10:07 AM
Might be some rain around Sunday Chong but River will be superb. Have a good one.

hkconc
26-06-2011, 05:54 PM
We spent a few hours down at Leslie Crossing this afternoon, just south of Pittsworth. We only had 4 blood worms, and we caught 5 fish. Four dirty old carp and one just under size yellar. The water looks real good and has recentlly had a fresh.

Outdoor Guy
23-07-2011, 09:16 AM
ok Chong so you should be back by now so how did you go get any cod or yellas
hows that water almost crystal clear hey ;D

hkconc
27-07-2011, 07:42 AM
attached is a pic of the yarramalong weir in the condermine river at brookstead.
Water is crystal clear. I only fished for a hour or so. 69731

odes20
26-08-2011, 08:14 AM
Hey Chong and Sheik

You fullas catch anything in your recent trips?

Chong
26-08-2011, 09:35 AM
Hey John,
sorry for the delay...been slack. Well we had a great trip, missed the rain just, it was cold and windy for the first couple days. The river was looking great, good flow and cleaish.
Fishing was good, some nice yella's out front of camp and one good cod for the weekend.
We all had a great time, cant wait to do it again, heres a couple of pics;D

odes20
26-08-2011, 10:56 PM
Thats great! And what a serious campfire. Love it

Sheik
26-08-2011, 11:08 PM
Hey Chong and Sheik

You fullas catch anything in your recent trips?

Mate haven't been back out to Condi but am keen to get out there with a kayak or something, as at the meoment it wouldbe fantastic. Fished out on the moonie a couple of times last fwe weeks but nothing much. Stuffer tells me Bobbo fished for a few days west of Condi and got more than a hundred carp i think. Sounds like a lot but I'm sure that's what he said. One of them weighed 9 KILOS. Not pound. Few yellas too. Might be some rain out there which would be good heading into spring. Keep the oats going for a week or two if we get more than half an inch and give some start to spring growth. Might muddy up the river a little though if charlies and a few of those wieambilla etc start to flow. ALthough charlies looked alright last time I went through chilla. Nice pics chong hey. Love teh camping trips.

darylive
27-08-2011, 10:20 PM
Where on the Condi are you fishin Chong.

Chong
27-08-2011, 11:06 PM
Where on the Condi are you fishin Chong.

Mate, between condi town and miles.

thedeckie
28-08-2011, 04:47 PM
Thats great! And what a serious campfire. Love it

That was just the kindling to get it going ;D

odes20
03-11-2011, 08:13 PM
Condamine milky again from storm runoff. Normal enough.
Great fishing thru Autumn to spring! in the clear water. Hopefully some good runs thru a predicted wet summer. My thoughts are I hope it clears again after summer as it traditionally does even if no big flood?

Sheik
05-11-2011, 10:07 AM
Was out there two weeks ago. Plenty clear enough to lure at the moment. Nothing much happening though. threw plastics, hardbods, plus shrimp, worms. No touches. But beautiful. Wouldn't nec believe all that stuff about wet summer. Love the work the BOM does but many people don't properly understand what BOM is trying to say, and don't start me nino nina and SOI's. There are so many caveats built into the whole system it makes any long range forecast very bland.

odes20
17-12-2012, 09:52 PM
How is the yellow belly fishin going? Im going to Chinchilla for Christmas and planning to get out for a fish. Anyone catching any?

Sheik
18-12-2012, 12:33 PM
RIver's pretty low out past condi Odes. There are some cod being caught, or there were. Have heard reports of people pulling 50 yb out of the balonne and keeping them all. No wonder there aren't any feckin fish. Couple of young fellas asked a mate of mine from condi whether they could fish on his place and he said fine, then they rang before they left and said they'd caught and kept 30. needless to say, next time they'll get a pretty firm no when they ask to camp.
but it is quite low. Chinchilla with the weir should still be fine but the waterholes are well and truly separated downstream.
I would think the cod have disappeared with this hotter weather into the cool.
let us know how you go mate.
regards jim

Outdoor Guy
23-12-2012, 04:45 PM
be out there meself first week in jan might get a chance to have a fish.
was there end of sept for the Tara fishin comp buggered if i could get any booglies very scarce had to use worms

rossco
15-01-2013, 09:52 PM
Hey guys I put some pics in the "show us your cod" in the photo section, caught in the last few months from the mighty Condamine river.

Sheik
17-01-2013, 06:52 AM
good stuff rossco, lures, bait?
there have been some good cod caught qand released recently out condi way. levels getting low.

rossco
17-01-2013, 08:11 PM
All lures, Yes good cod from being caught from Chinchilla right thru past StGeorge.

Cheers Rossco

Sheik
18-01-2013, 09:48 AM
hopefully m ost of them are going back into the water.

rossco
23-01-2013, 09:06 PM
from all reports the majorty of people are practicing C&R out here now days, know know I want to see my grandkids(when I have some that is) catch fish like I have been lately.

cheers Rossco

odes20
30-01-2013, 06:50 AM
Looks like a serious flow down the Condamine at present. 12 metres at Brigalow Brige. Its amazing that their was no major flood in this system for 13 years till the big floods of 2011 and now we have this great flow again. I fished Chinchilla over Christmas New year and the river was looking beautiful, full of fish. This will just keep that condition pristine.

Come May you will have to stand behind a tree to bait up!

Sheik
30-01-2013, 05:05 PM
My brother is slightly pinged off because he saved over twenty catfish, yellas and a couple of bobbies, transferring them from one hole in our local creek to the billabong off the Dogwood. Dogwood came up so high the creek flowed in so all his beautiful clear water from local runoff has been pushed out by the Dogwood flow (too thick to swim in, too thin to plough).
But he was whinging about the season two weeks ago! Five inches later...

odes20
30-01-2013, 09:34 PM
Ha yep! Good thing that cloud burst at Chinchilla happened a week before these floods hit. As always with floods it's a case of "who would have thought"?

rossco
01-02-2013, 09:13 PM
Disapointed to hear there has been a fish kill above the weir at Surat with the fresh ( cold water), hundreds of dead fish so I have heard with some big cod amongst them.

odes20
02-02-2013, 03:44 PM
Oh thats not good, keep us posted if you get any more info Rossco

Chong
03-02-2013, 11:36 AM
Big cod lost on our strech after the flow, dead on bank :(:(, but thats mother nature. Hoping to get out around May after everything calms down a bit.

Sheik
04-02-2013, 07:06 AM
thats terrible news, sorry to hear that.

odes20
11-03-2013, 07:34 AM
Two major flooods thru the system! The river will be pristine for the winter fishing.

rossco
12-03-2013, 07:33 PM
Rumour getting around they fished a big cod out at Surat bridge (still alive,just) in the fish kill about a meter and a half long, heard the pub is getting it mounted to put on the wall.

Cheers rossco

Sheik
28-03-2013, 09:26 AM
Out to Condamine to fish the creeks. Mainly consists of killing carp and throwing the yellas and catties back. River could be clean up toward Chinchilla way but dirty as at condi so I've heard. Anyone got further info on that? Supposed to be something about the gassies and the water they're using meaning the river cleans up between condi and jilla jilla.

Outdoor Guy
30-06-2013, 08:28 PM
bump bump bump

Outdoor Guy
30-06-2013, 08:32 PM
so has anyone got any reports ,whats happening at chinchilla and the condi any fish

rossco
01-07-2013, 01:00 PM
The fishing has been hit and miss from the reports that I have been hearing, mate was above the weir at Chinchilla last week for nil and nothing at Condamine on weekend, get the odd one around Surat on the right days.
Thinking when it warms up it will be better.

Cheers rossco

murrayfella
31-10-2013, 01:06 PM
what a great thread. how lucky are we to have such a might river like the Condamine, home to some great fishing. I am only 17 but i know how important the river is to all of you and too me. Lets hope it returns to its glory days soon so the next generation can enjoy as much as you can :)

odes20
12-11-2013, 05:18 AM
Good on you Murrayfella! wish I was 17 again. I have fished to Condi all my life, I live in Cairns now but grew up in Chinchilla. The river is in great condition again as compared to the last 15 years,
At Chinchilla the fishing above the weir is brilliant with lures, spinners, etc. especially now in the warm months while the water remains clear.
Its rotten with yellowbelly up there. Have a go at it. Read my post on the other yellowbelly thread on here at present and note my primary method.

Cheers!

Chong
12-11-2013, 09:55 AM
Had a message other day from ol mate on the property, river just stopped running since record flood...now lets see if it will do it again....

murrayfella
12-11-2013, 12:12 PM
yeah i have been to condamine on and off for last month with work, river is barely running if not at all. yella's have been on the chew though

Outdoor Guy
09-02-2014, 08:03 AM
100376100377100378100379Hey guys been a while since ive been on here was out at chinchilla over the new years week doing a job and thought id take some pics of the weir, well ive never seen it this low before, heres some pics taken on the 6th of january

Outdoor Guy
09-02-2014, 08:21 AM
100380100381100382heres some from august last year

murrayfella
04-03-2014, 12:29 PM
can anyone update the rivers situation between chinchilla and condamine?

randell
08-03-2014, 07:57 AM
More bad news , I saw this in the Bundy paper this morning..
http://www.news-mail.com.au/news/dreaded-cichlid-found-in-river/2192366/
randell

Sheik
08-03-2014, 09:58 AM
More bad news , I saw this in the Bundy paper this morning..
http://www.news-mail.com.au/news/dreaded-cichlid-found-in-river/2192366/
randell
fantastic...

murrayfella
10-03-2014, 10:16 AM
undulla hasnt cleared since the floods

odes20
10-03-2014, 08:33 PM
I don't think the Undulla ever clears does it?

Sheik
10-03-2014, 09:37 PM
Yeah that one waterhole south of Meandarra on the road...
actually, behind the town itself can get very clear, but I wouldn't call it gin clear, more like Bundy clear, with the tannin that leaches in from the leaves...

murrayfella
12-03-2014, 11:59 AM
have you been to the reserve on undulla south of meandarra odes? not the one on the road the one up further?

odes20
13-03-2014, 06:42 AM
The creek directly behind the town is full of yellas, ive caught them there spinning, but i dont think its called the Undulla. The creek I know as the Undulla never seems to clear, but I am happy to be wrong

murrayfella
21-07-2014, 10:51 AM
me and my mates are skipping schoolies on the gold coast and instead going somewhere on a river in qld. can anyone recommend a good camping sport, flat ground and good water to fish on. preferably the condamine or dumaresq.

Haji-Baba
21-07-2014, 08:25 PM
The true Undulla Creek usually has milky water and heads up towards Tara.

The Creek that come past Meandarra heading North to join The Undulla was known as The Brigalow Creek.

Or it was I my day.

The two creeks come together South of Condamine Township at a reserve and then head north west to the Balonne, I think.

Any way it is all good water.

Have fun Haji-Baba

Fitzy
21-07-2014, 10:50 PM
Here's the Chinchilla Weir when full & running
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fLF4icILrk

fishel
31-07-2014, 09:27 PM
You can camp on the Condamine at Yarramalong Weir at Tummerville which is between Pittsworth and Millmeran. Nice spot with lots of trees but dont know if there are any facilities. There would be plenty of other spots further West but I am not familiar with them.

Little grey men
07-11-2018, 03:55 PM
Check out the clarity, I snapped these pics quite a few years ago, Charleys and Nudley Creek. Never seen water that clear out there !

Sheik
08-11-2018, 05:39 AM
amazing water