View Full Version : Pimp my ride gympie style 4x4 Ground up Restoration

06-02-2009, 01:11 AM
Hey all you crazy fisho's! We'll it's not only boats that get full resto's see the link below. A while back I bought a little 1992 Subaru Brumby becaue I needed a second car and wanted something i could take up the beach that was cheap to run around town. The Brumby fitted that bill perfectly. Well to say the Brumby I had bought was neglected was an understatement as I stated a while back in a thread on here.

I have come across a great bunch of blokes in Gympie that have volunteered to rebuild my little Brumby from the ground up with a lot of cool modifications.

Whilst as far as 4x4's go you wouldn't think of a Brumby as a choice 4x4 but they do real good on the soft stuff. Below is a list of intended Modifications and the link at the bottom to the build thread on Ausubaru.com:

1- Replace old carbie ea81 1.8L Carbie engine with 2.5L fuel injected engine.
2- Replace 4 Speed Dual Range front wheel 4 x 4 box with AWD dual range 5 speed box
3- Replace rear end (4 stud drum brakes no lsd) with RX turbo clutch type LSD with rear disks.
4- 2 inch body lift kit (already purchased)
5- 14inch Scorpion Rims with 27" Nankang tyres (already done seen in photo's)
6- Rear tray custom tyre well to keep 5th tyre below the rear screen height.
7- Custom second battery carrier box
8- Full rub back and respray with underside body deadener and paint in metalic gun metal grey.
9- Guard modifications to stop tyre rub on 27" tryres
10- Nice shiny ally roll bar/sports bar.
11- new front bar
12- New seats from later model Subaru
13- Electronic dash with tacho
14- thats all i can think of for now

At the time of posting it had just made it up onto the Chook Cooker rotiserie that the Subie boys in Gympie made up to make things easier when they are "pimping my Ride Gympie style"

Have fun following the build as I will be over the next few months.

http://www.ausubaru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12696

06-02-2009, 07:15 AM
I'm looking forward to update on this.

I went to buy a brumby a couple of years ago and the prices were crazy.
Same went for the touring wagon.
Are they still as popular??

06-02-2009, 09:06 AM
Finga, they are getting more popular by the day and the prices seem to keep going up. Its crazy i know but since buying it I have realised what a great car they are and how easy they are to modify and to work on. Everthing is is plug and play/bolt on bolt off. The newer model stuff fits the old stuff with only minor mods and the guys at Ausubaru have all the knowelege you will ever need to do anything. There are cheap ones that come up now and again. Shout me a PM and let me know what your willing to spend and ill keep an eye out for you.

06-02-2009, 11:04 AM
thanks for the offer but I needed something as a everyday driver there and then.
I ended up getting Wally the wagon
I have enough projects around now. But....?

06-02-2009, 07:08 PM
Look forward to the outcome - good luck.

You can't tell me you weren't tempted to look at an ej20 t or tt though?

There was a clip on youtube years ago with a couple of lads from the NT doing crazy stuff in one that looked like it'd put most road bikes to shame -:P

06-02-2009, 10:42 PM
GBC, while a EJ20 or 25 Turbo would be fun they are also a lot more expensive and there is a lot more involved to fit them. The turbo requires cutting and modifying beams to allow it to fit. I just wanted enough power to run the larger tyres off road and to be able to pull my boat. The EJ25 has more torque than them all so thats my choice if I can find a SOHC one in time.

07-02-2009, 05:21 AM
Sorta guessed that'd be the reason and totally agree the 25 will be a heaps more tractable and reliable outcome - not to mention a great leap forward over standard.
What's your timeframe for the donk?
I'm a member of a couple of sube forums as well - could ask around if you like.

C.J.

07-02-2009, 05:28 PM
GBC, the donk I don't think will be a problem and i'm happy to go a ej20 or ej22 if the right engine comes up. What will be hard to find is the L series AWD DR box and the RX turbo rear end. If you come accros one of either of those that would be great!

08-02-2009, 08:41 PM
damn, front cuts are o.k. , but ar$e cuts??????::)

I'll ask though.

09-02-2009, 05:16 AM
GBC,

yeh mate just looking for the rear diff axles and diskbrake/hubs. If you know of an RX turbo thats being wrecked let me know. I don't know if i want a whole front cut as these crackers are asking upwards of 2500-3500 dollars. Considering buying a N/A car that has been in an accident (tboned/rear-ended) would cost significantly less than that from the accident auctions I don't know how they justify it. With this reccession looming I can't see the front cut business doing too well as the amount of guys being able to afford expensive projects is going to dwindle real fast.

finding the L series AWD box could be real real hard they are like hens teeth but a second option is a AWD liberty boc with the D/R and centre diff loc button will do me real good too.

If you see any of this stuff in your travels let me know mate it could be a real stalling point in the project.

09-02-2009, 09:05 AM
Series 2 lib. Near you. Might be worth a look.

http://www.ozliberty.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15388

You'll probably have to join up (free). There's a lot of tech on gen1 conversions which may well help when wiring the thing up.

I'll keep looking.

09-02-2009, 09:15 AM
May be worth a ring?

Subarek on 0438275766

09-02-2009, 09:23 AM
Gold!!!!!

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/SUBARU_W0QQitemZ180325503646QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_ Cars?hash=item180325503646&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A1%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

ends today though

Can't see from the photos but didn't all of those have the dual range tranny ?

10-02-2009, 12:57 AM
Yeh mate they pretty much all had the DR tranny if it was a 4WD. That one is an MY touring wagon (same box as I already have). Im looking for the real late L series AWD DR box. Its AWD like the new ones but had the real good Low range selector and centre diff lock if I am not mistaken. There is one at pickles auctions but its going this thursday and I dont get home until Saturday. Lets hope it doesnt attract a bid and is there next week.

10-02-2009, 09:06 PM
Good luck with that one.

You're right about thr Rx's - but i'll keep looking.

17-05-2009, 08:57 PM
The Subie boys at Gympie that are doing my restoration have had a million other things to do. They're hooking back into my Brumby now and its coming along nicely. If you go through the thread you will notice the attn to detail.

They have found me a EJ22 and AWD dual range gearbox with centre difflock thats being gutted and the internals put into a liberty box so it will mate strait up to the liberty engine.

You will notice they in the last few pages they have cut the sills and other parts out that always rust out in these to make sure everything is A OK. They certainly don't muck around.

18-05-2009, 07:17 PM
Just amazing - those guys don't do it for the money do they......

She's going to be a hot rod quality brumby.......

I'll give ya $5g for her when she's done;)

25-05-2009, 06:59 AM
I think she will owe me more than that just in the resto! I can't believe what these things are going for in good nick these days. If subaru made a 2009 brumby I would have bought one but figure this one should hold me in good stead for a few years as a second car/daily driver/ beach fishing car. Every square inch will have fishoil in it.

Rick one of the guys doing the rebuild keeps coming up with all these great little ideas for it that I hadnt even thought ofwhich is making it so much more pleasing watching it unfold from overseas.

They really are a great bunch of blokes!

09-08-2009, 08:40 AM
Update!

The boys are coming alond nicely! They are at the modification stage now and the quality of work is second to none. As I now have 27in tyres the spare wont fit into the engine bay so now there is a purpose built wheel well in the tray against the cab. Very nice fabrication done! Below is a link to the page.

http://www.ausubaru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12696&page=16

If you go back a couple of pages you'll see the extra supports they have put in and the shear amount of welding they have done to add strength to the car. We have rear disks to suit the 4 stud rims that I am very happy with.

Great thread to read from the start if you havent seen it yet.

shrunken pojie
09-08-2009, 10:41 AM
Those boys are doing an awesome job with her. Can't wait to see the finished product.

06-11-2009, 12:04 AM
Another update!

http://www.ausubaru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12696&page=21

Most of the mods are nearing completion. The rear wheel well had to be moved up a tad due to the rear suspension arm going to hit it. While it's far less discrete it is certainly a lot stronger now. The spare battery box in the tray will now be at the rear of the tray and the all weather 12v plugs installed in the side wall panel. The door to the box is near finished so now just the box to come.

The underbody and areas not ussually seen are getting the royal treatment while the battery box is being completed. Once done the resto should really pick up speed. On top of a million other things these guys get asked to do they are really doing a first class job.

Apollo
06-11-2009, 05:34 AM

I have been keeping an occasional eye on the subie site since you first posted it, for no other reason but they are located close to me. Those boys are lost artists of panelbeating. To see some of their fabrication work with fairly basic tools is truly impressive. No bolt off and replace for them. Some of the mods on your ute are very clever too. She will be a bit of art when she has finished and extremely strong. Kudos to those boys giving back to society.

16-05-2010, 01:59 AM
Another update!

http://www.ausubaru.com/forum/showthread.php?p=144647#post144647

I finally found an LSD for the Brumby. It is a clutch style made by Cusco and apparently for this model are one of the best money can buy. I was kissed on the proverbial as it was a female diff and it all fit into my original case.

Fuel system is next on the agenda and it should get fired up soon. Along with that is a custom steel front bull bar with Winch similar to an ARB bar. Once that is complete the final painting should begin before the interior and glass goes back in.

Not long now can't wait to get it up fraser for some tailor!

krazyfisher
16-05-2010, 06:17 AM
I have been watching it on and off great job.
when do you expect it to be finished?
have you done up a final spec sheet on it? would love to have a read of it.

thanks

19-05-2010, 06:13 AM
Not really KF but ill give it a rough go here. I'd have to reread the whole thread to remember everything..

All rust has been cut out and replaced with steel. Several areas like the chassis in the rear where the tow bar bolts on had to be straitened and has been welded and extra bracing has been put it. THe Engine bay and drivetrain well have been braced and stitch welded to give extra strength. The old spare wheel carrier has been removed and a brace made for the new engine.

Specs are now.

- EJ 2.2 Liberty Engine (twice power for 40% fuel saving)
- RX Turbo AWD 3.7 Ratio Gearbox with centre Diff lock. (All been put in a EJ case so no adapter plate required. The low range in the G-box has the lowest gearset (Lseries 1.57?)
3.7 Ratio New Cusco Rear LSD. This Engine G/box, diff combo is all I could really hope for in a Subaru.
- Spare tyre well tubbed into tray
- Twin spare battery box at rear of tray with spring loaded door opend from cab
- New front disks
- Rear drums converted to disk with all new parts
- Scorpion Subaru 5 spoke (4stud) rims in corect offset. With 27in tyres
- 2 inch body lift kit
- Mazda MX2 bucket seats (ready to go in)
- Custom rear steel bar
- Custom Front bar with winch (about to start)
- Imprezza power steering and EJ aircon
- All paint was removed to bare metal and started fromt scratch (going to be the new Toyota Gun Grey)
- All new CV, bearings rubbers where needed.

Thats all I can think of right now. I think the reco will cost about 10k all up but better than owning a proton ;)

krazyfisher
19-05-2010, 08:06 AM
Lovey

that will be a nice car... and cheap IMHO

griz066
21-05-2010, 11:03 AM
Looking good, 15 months so far................ you're a patient man:smiley:

sleepygreg
22-05-2010, 12:22 AM
LOL . Easy to be patient when you are overseas 'doing your duty', and the wheels are in motion back home.

Time flies when you are having fun.

Seriously though it looks like a great result for the time invested by the guys up there. And I know Chris is working his butt off doing things that most of us would soil our underwear even thinking about. I am hanging out to see the finished product.