Thread: Pimp my ride gympie style 4x4 Ground up Restoration

Pimp my ride gympie style 4x4 Ground up Restoration

Hey all you crazy fisho's! We'll it's not only boats that get full resto's see the link below. A while back I bought a little 1992 Subaru Brumby becaue I needed a second car and wanted something i could take up the beach that was cheap to run around town. The Brumby fitted that bill perfectly. Well to say the Brumby I had bought was neglected was an understatement as I stated a while back in a thread on here.

I have come across a great bunch of blokes in Gympie that have volunteered to rebuild my little Brumby from the ground up with a lot of cool modifications.

Whilst as far as 4x4's go you wouldn't think of a Brumby as a choice 4x4 but they do real good on the soft stuff. Below is a list of intended Modifications and the link at the bottom to the build thread on Ausubaru.com:

1- Replace old carbie ea81 1.8L Carbie engine with 2.5L fuel injected engine.
    2- Replace 4 Speed Dual Range front wheel 4 x 4 box with AWD dual range 5 speed box
    3- Replace rear end (4 stud drum brakes no lsd) with RX turbo clutch type LSD with rear disks.
    4- 2 inch body lift kit (already purchased)
    5- 14inch Scorpion Rims with 27" Nankang tyres (already done seen in photo's)
    6- Rear tray custom tyre well to keep 5th tyre below the rear screen height.
    7- Custom second battery carrier box
    8- Full rub back and respray with underside body deadener and paint in metalic gun metal grey.
    9- Guard modifications to stop tyre rub on 27" tryres
    10- Nice shiny ally roll bar/sports bar.
    11- new front bar
    12- New seats from later model Subaru
    13- Electronic dash with tacho
    14- thats all i can think of for now

At the time of posting it had just made it up onto the Chook Cooker rotiserie that the Subie boys in Gympie made up to make things easier when they are "pimping my Ride Gympie style"

Have fun following the build as I will be over the next few months.

http://www.ausubaru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12696

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Re: Pimp my ride gympie style 4x4 Ground up Restoration

I'm looking forward to update on this.

I went to buy a brumby a couple of years ago and the prices were crazy.
    Same went for the touring wagon.
    Are they still as popular??
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Finga, they are getting more popular by the day and the prices seem to keep going up. Its crazy i know but since buying it I have realised what a great car they are and how easy they are to modify and to work on. Everthing is is plug and play/bolt on bolt off. The newer model stuff fits the old stuff with only minor mods and the guys at Ausubaru have all the knowelege you will ever need to do anything. There are cheap ones that come up now and again. Shout me a PM and let me know what your willing to spend and ill keep an eye out for you.

thanks for the offer but I needed something as a everyday driver there and then.
    I ended up getting Wally the wagon
    I have enough projects around now. But....?
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Look forward to the outcome - good luck.

You can't tell me you weren't tempted to look at an ej20 t or tt though?

There was a clip on youtube years ago with a couple of lads from the NT doing crazy stuff in one that looked like it'd put most road bikes to shame -

GBC, while a EJ20 or 25 Turbo would be fun they are also a lot more expensive and there is a lot more involved to fit them. The turbo requires cutting and modifying beams to allow it to fit. I just wanted enough power to run the larger tyres off road and to be able to pull my boat. The EJ25 has more torque than them all so thats my choice if I can find a SOHC one in time.

Sorta guessed that'd be the reason and totally agree the 25 will be a heaps more tractable and reliable outcome - not to mention a great leap forward over standard.
    What's your timeframe for the donk?
    I'm a member of a couple of sube forums as well - could ask around if you like.

C.J.

GBC, the donk I don't think will be a problem and i'm happy to go a ej20 or ej22 if the right engine comes up. What will be hard to find is the L series AWD DR box and the RX turbo rear end. If you come accros one of either of those that would be great!

damn, front cuts are o.k. , but ar$e cuts??????

I'll ask though.

GBC,

yeh mate just looking for the rear diff axles and diskbrake/hubs. If you know of an RX turbo thats being wrecked let me know. I don't know if i want a whole front cut as these crackers are asking upwards of 2500-3500 dollars. Considering buying a N/A car that has been in an accident (tboned/rear-ended) would cost significantly less than that from the accident auctions I don't know how they justify it. With this reccession looming I can't see the front cut business doing too well as the amount of guys being able to afford expensive projects is going to dwindle real fast.

finding the L series AWD box could be real real hard they are like hens teeth but a second option is a AWD liberty boc with the D/R and centre diff loc button will do me real good too.

If you see any of this stuff in your travels let me know mate it could be a real stalling point in the project.

Series 2 lib. Near you. Might be worth a look.

http://www.ozliberty.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15388

You'll probably have to join up (free). There's a lot of tech on gen1 conversions which may well help when wiring the thing up.

I'll keep looking.

May be worth a ring?

Subarek on 0438275766

Gold!!!!!

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/SUBARU_W0QQit...1%7C240%3A1318

ends today though

Can't see from the photos but didn't all of those have the dual range tranny ?

Yeh mate they pretty much all had the DR tranny if it was a 4WD. That one is an MY touring wagon (same box as I already have). Im looking for the real late L series AWD DR box. Its AWD like the new ones but had the real good Low range selector and centre diff lock if I am not mistaken. There is one at pickles auctions but its going this thursday and I dont get home until Saturday. Lets hope it doesnt attract a bid and is there next week.

Good luck with that one.

You're right about thr Rx's - but i'll keep looking.