View Full Version : Slow and steady gets the Redcliffe Squire
ar-we-ther-yet
29-08-2007, 03:08 PM
After reading that a few blokes in kayaks have been doing quite well with hard bodies and me not having much success with s/p's lately, I thought I would give them a good go, and have been catching a few ( for the first time on H/B's that is ).;D
I think with stealth ability of the kayak and being able to troll dead slow -very slow helps a lot. plus by trolling you can cover a bigger area. Once I get a hit I go back to the same spot and often get another of the same size.;)
BTW most of these fish were caught in the proposed "Green Zone", because they are some of the best place to catch Redcliffe Squire.:'(
A 51 cm & 47 cm squire on flatrat2
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o170/navara-au/100_0450.jpg
another shot of the 47 cm as the sun goes down
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o170/navara-au/100_0441.jpg
a 45 cm on rapala cd7
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o170/navara-au/100_0436.jpg
oh, and by catch, a 35 cm tailor
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o170/navara-au/100_0434.jpg
and a 45 cm flatty on a ecogear sx40
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o170/navara-au/100_0431.jpg
B_E_N
29-08-2007, 03:24 PM
nice little catch you got yaself there mate, would have been a good arvo on the water
mickstar001
29-08-2007, 04:02 PM
Great catch there, great pics too well done!
Mickstar
29-08-2007, 04:24 PM
A very tidy haul.. where do you put your yak in at mate ?
bayfisher
29-08-2007, 04:45 PM
Great little catch.... Its good to see something a bit different, nice squire on the hard bodies.
Cheers Chris
ar-we-ther-yet
29-08-2007, 05:00 PM
Thanks guys
It was 2 sessions one arvo session last Sunday and a morning session the week before. I dont catch many, but hey one Squire at 50 cm is enough to feed the family.
Dirtysanchez one of the many good things about fishing from the kayak is I can put it in anywhere my trolly can get to, and if that fails I can carry it to the water.
marty+jojo
29-08-2007, 06:50 PM
Well done Paul,
I also live at Redcliffe, i am hoping to get out after work tomorrow(thursday).
I have a 4.2mtr Blue Fin (blue) with a yammy 40hp (ausfish stickers), if you see me out ther come say g'day.
Marty.
Foxy4
29-08-2007, 07:44 PM
Very nice fish indeed. I reckon you might be right about the stealth of the Kayaks.
White_Steenbras
30-08-2007, 11:40 AM
Mate, thats a great session you had there! Well done on the troll, a pleasant way to fish I bet!
30-08-2007, 04:53 PM
Hi mate
Thats why I asked you about where you put in, coz I fish from a canoe you see and am looking for user friendly areas
Thank you
Fish_gutz
30-08-2007, 06:16 PM
snapps on hard bodies! well done.
ar-we-ther-yet
30-08-2007, 06:51 PM
Hi mate
Thats why I asked you about where you put in, coz I fish from a canoe you see and am looking for user friendly areas
Thank you
Hey dirtysanchez
Any of the boat ramps are easy enough to put in if there not too crowded. I often put in at the one at Queens beach. Other than that the car park at Scarborough park is all right if you have a trolley, but my favorite place is the small car park at the end of Shield st only a 20 mtr walk to the water and never crowded. I also drop the kayak in at the end of Haysmouth st to get into Hays Inlet but you do need a trolley for that.
I'm planing on going out Saturday morning all going well, probably give Scarbie reef a go.
swano
31-08-2007, 06:54 AM
nice work paul ;) stop chewing ya nails and get back to werk;D ;D
cheers swano
31-08-2007, 11:00 AM
Thanks for the info matey
ffejsmada
31-08-2007, 03:00 PM
Well done Paul, that's a top effort mate. Would have been great fun!!!!
Like your photos too.
Jeff.
ar-we-ther-yet
31-08-2007, 06:59 PM
nice work paul ;) stop chewing ya nails and get back to werk;D ;D
cheers swano
G-day Swano you legend.
The only regret I have in life is that I didnt drop out of school and become a chippy.......no mum said "stay at school and get a real job"..... thanks mum.
Could be out during the week catching all the big snapper like Swano, instead of having to work and only catching a few dregs on weekends.:-[ .......;) ;D