Thread: Slow and steady gets the Redcliffe Squire

Slow and steady gets the Redcliffe Squire

After reading that a few blokes in kayaks have been doing quite well with hard bodies and me not having much success with s/p's lately, I thought I would give them a good go, and have been catching a few ( for the first time on H/B's that is ).

I think with stealth ability of the kayak and being able to troll dead slow -very slow helps a lot. plus by trolling you can cover a bigger area. Once I get a hit I go back to the same spot and often get another of the same size.

BTW most of these fish were caught in the proposed "Green Zone", because they are some of the best place to catch Redcliffe Squire.

A 51 cm & 47 cm squire on flatrat2

another shot of the 47 cm as the sun goes down

a 45 cm on rapala cd7

oh, and by catch, a 35 cm tailor

and a 45 cm flatty on a ecogear sx40
    Last edited by ar-we-ther-yet; 29-08-2007 at 03:36 PM.

Re: Slow and steady gets the Redcliffe Squire

nice little catch you got yaself there mate, would have been a good arvo on the water

Great catch there, great pics too well done!

Mickstar

A very tidy haul.. where do you put your yak in at mate ?
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Great little catch.... Its good to see something a bit different, nice squire on the hard bodies.

Cheers Chris

Thanks guys
    It was 2 sessions one arvo session last Sunday and a morning session the week before. I dont catch many, but hey one Squire at 50 cm is enough to feed the family.

Dirtysanchez one of the many good things about fishing from the kayak is I can put it in anywhere my trolly can get to, and if that fails I can carry it to the water.

Well done Paul,
    I also live at Redcliffe, i am hoping to get out after work tomorrow(thursday).
    I have a 4.2mtr Blue Fin (blue) with a yammy 40hp (ausfish stickers), if you see me out ther come say g'day.
    Marty.

Very nice fish indeed. I reckon you might be right about the stealth of the Kayaks.

Mate, thats a great session you had there! Well done on the troll, a pleasant way to fish I bet!

Hi mate
    Thats why I asked you about where you put in, coz I fish from a canoe you see and am looking for user friendly areas

Thank you
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

snapps on hard bodies! well done.

Quote Originally Posted by Dirtysanchez View Post
    Hi mate
    Thats why I asked you about where you put in, coz I fish from a canoe you see and am looking for user friendly areas

Thank you
    Hey dirtysanchez
    Any of the boat ramps are easy enough to put in if there not too crowded. I often put in at the one at Queens beach. Other than that the car park at Scarborough park is all right if you have a trolley, but my favorite place is the small car park at the end of Shield st only a 20 mtr walk to the water and never crowded. I also drop the kayak in at the end of Haysmouth st to get into Hays Inlet but you do need a trolley for that.

I'm planing on going out Saturday morning all going well, probably give Scarbie reef a go.

nice work paul stop chewing ya nails and get back to werk
    cheers swano

Thanks for the info matey

Well done Paul, that's a top effort mate. Would have been great fun!!!!

Like your photos too.

Jeff.