View Full Version : A couple of fish, better than nothing.

beefaman
18-08-2007, 10:14 PM
Finally went for a flick with good mate Mike this morning. Tides were stuffed, but we gave it a burl anyway.
No fish where we thought we would find them, so headed back upriver and I landed a nice fat 58cm flatty, a 48cm squire from some nasty territory, and 2 nice bream over the 30 mark.
Not a good day. Not a bad day.
Nice on the water though 8-)

Aquarius
18-08-2007, 10:41 PM
G,Day Beefa, We went out in the southern bay this morning to chase a few squire.
You guys did ok we only managed 2 keepers and lost a reel screamer when the line broke at the hook.
Its been a quiet last few months with the clear water so good onya for getting out and catching a small feed.
Cheers Brent

beefaman
18-08-2007, 10:43 PM
We headed into the river mate, found heaps of bait, but not many fish hanging off them. Found some new spots when doing some exploring, so all is good. 8-)

chief
18-08-2007, 10:51 PM
We didn't get on the river till way after lunch due to the girls dragging themselves out of Carindale. Missed the tide but i did see the fruits of 5 very good squire around 60 cm caught when i was sitting home waiting ;D

beefaman
18-08-2007, 10:59 PM
Fresh squire....yum yum 8-) Thanks for the info mate.

OB1
19-08-2007, 08:23 AM
Heading out on the river tomorrow morning after a week fishing the surf. The river definitely seems to be a good option at the moment with the clear water in the bay. Like you we've found some good squire spots and have been brushing up on the flatty flicking techniques - there seems to be plenty of fish to keep us occupied. It's great when you can say it wasn't a good day and still pick up 2 lovely table fish that would feed at least 4 people - well done,

Ollie

T1
19-08-2007, 07:54 PM
Brissie river BEEFAMAN?! Bloody hell, soon they'll be crying that we've fished the river out too! No fish there, don't go there again man...

Take Care T

beefaman
20-08-2007, 12:10 PM
No fish in the river....move along 8-)

mickstar001
20-08-2007, 01:42 PM
Good work for getting a feed Beefaman well done mate

Mickstar