View Full Version : good sat at wide caloundra

Tassie JR
18-08-2007, 05:10 PM
we headed out to wide cal today, left spinaker at 5a.m this morning and and a hour later arrived at our spot, dropped a few pillies to the bottem and got a few decent pearlys in between alot of undersized pearlys, and then BANG the rod bent right over and line started to scream off, once we had the fish under control we started the long haul up with the snapper headshakes about 2 mins later had a 94cm or 10 kg snapper in the boat. after that things started to go quiet with a few under sized pearlys here and there, i thoght its time to try soft plastics for the first time i put a nuclear chicken and a camo out and managed a few nice size pearlys and a couple of squire. we also still had the pillies out and picked up 2 64cm flathead, we also managed 1 trag jew to top off our day. we had to work very hard for our fish today compaired to the last few times we have been to that spot. weather was avrege with a 1.5 to 2 meter seas. all up we managed 1 snapper, 2 sqire, 10 pearl perch, 2 flathead and 1 trag jew.

cheers tassie JR

wombie
18-08-2007, 05:22 PM
good fish tassie JR snapper is a ripper

BLOOEY
18-08-2007, 06:36 PM
Horse snap there mate.Fell for the dirty pillie ay.Always pays to have a bait out.Ben

reel scream
18-08-2007, 06:42 PM
well done Dan. Bloody beauty.He a PB? Good on you and dad for getting out today. I had a 1yo birthday do- Doh. Not really impressed with the weather since being on leave. Maybe a quick sneak out on monday morn. Ministaer for war and finance has given a leave pass for the 2 weeks 27th on. Rainbow with you guys?? C'mon Tas senior.

Cheers Scott.

Tassie JR
18-08-2007, 06:55 PM
hey scott tas senior has been waiting for you to call him about rainbow he even worked last monday on the public holiday so he could have a extra day off, weather has been pretty good the last 3 weeks whats wrong with ya, did you work today think we saw you driving a ambo but not sure.

thanks for your replies blooey and wombie.

cheers tassie JR

snapperbug
18-08-2007, 09:55 PM
Bloody nice snapper and I bet those flatties would have been a surprise.

backlash08
19-08-2007, 05:28 AM
that is a great snapp - well done

19-08-2007, 06:19 AM
She's a horse that snapper for sure
Good on ya mate

indy
19-08-2007, 07:36 AM
Great snapper there guys i umded and arded to head out there and should have just went

cheers pete...

Frank OO
19-08-2007, 08:11 AM
Hi Tassie Jr.

That is a massive Snapper. I am sure that it would have got the heart pumping for a while.

Frank OO

wadeo
19-08-2007, 09:03 AM
Thats a solid fish tassie jr. awesome catch welldone;D

Tassie JR
19-08-2007, 04:02 PM
hey snapper bug we caught a flatty out there a few weeks ago he was about 50 cm.

indy you should have went we had the whole place to ourselves but the weather wasnt to crash hot.

Frank OO it was very exiting but we dindnt think that he would fit in the net but we finaly got the net around his big knob.

thanks for your replies clee, jtpython and wadeo.

cheers tassie JR

20-08-2007, 06:21 AM
That's one ugly knobby....well done :D
I reckon I would have had either a heart attack or still be on cloud 9 if I hooked anything like that.
Good old stinky bait too eh ;)
Well done!!

ffejsmada
20-08-2007, 09:56 AM
That's a Balltearer:o!!!!

I reckon you'll be waiting a while before you get another like that!

Well done mate, excellent fish!

Jeff.

Rosco4x4
20-08-2007, 05:10 PM
Well done cobba, Thats super quality.

skipjack
21-08-2007, 10:42 AM
Brilliant fishing, a very tasty bag. :D

reef_king
21-08-2007, 07:22 PM
Nice fish mate well done

vertico
21-08-2007, 09:04 PM
nice snapper mate and that looks definately all of 10kg
i hope to see some pink stuff soon .... :P

Tassie JR
21-08-2007, 09:32 PM
hey finga its been 4 days and im still on cloud 9 and the hearts still beating rappidly.

gidday ffejsmada mate if get another snapper like that i will, well i dont know what ill do.

thanks for the reply rosco4x4

cheers tassie JR

Tassie JR
21-08-2007, 09:37 PM
hey skipjack had some pearly for dinner tonight bloody nice eating.

hey vertigo we didnt officially way him so he might of went a bit heavier, but defintly nothing under 10 kg the fisheries at the ramp measured him to 94 cm as i said.

thanks reefking nothing wrong with your snapper in the you snooze you looze report, all i need now is a nice 15 kg red emporer. then i would be jumping over the moon.

cheers tassie JR

bundy_dan
22-08-2007, 01:02 AM
Awesome nobby mate well done!!.

Snodger Sniper
23-08-2007, 09:21 PM
Mate while fishing is not all about catching big fish, thats mostly what its about. thats one hell of a fish! welll done!8-)

reel scream
24-08-2007, 10:34 AM
G'Day Dan,

Have been off last two weeks and the weather has been Shite. Will give your dad a call after No 1 daughters B'day party next weekend.

Cheers Scott.

Tassie JR
25-08-2007, 07:00 PM
hey scott dont worry the weather is looking allright for this week, but the the weather hasnt been that bad its only been 68 knots on the cape, nar seriously last week wasnt to bad.

thanks bundy_dan and snodger sniper.

cheers tassie JR