View Full Version : pajero

snappa
05-06-2007, 12:25 AM
a question to all pajero owners..

how hard - a - time have u given your pajero...

i have just got back from fraser and being a part of the team to haul the boats across indian head with two landcruisers hooked together with snatchem straps.
could a pajero do the same..mine[nm] does not have the ladder sub frame under and wandering if the pulling & jerking would do any damage..
the boys think if i had the pajero pulling "snappa"19 ft haines, i would still be there..... >:(

what do u think would two pajero's tandem get the haines through

bloody hell u can't fit a deep freezer in the back....
????????????????????????????????????????????:-/

landcruisers owners need not reply as i already know your comments ....;D

05-06-2007, 07:04 AM
Pajeros are tougher than a lot of people give them credit for. I have two Pajeros and am happy with both. For what you are asking of yours I'd like to ask what sort of motor is in it? I have a '93 model with a 3.0 litre with 5 speed manual gearbox and the other is a '95 model with the 3.5litre hooked up to an auto. Both I feel could do the job but it is amazing just how much extra grunt comes out of the 3.5 litre V6. Also my brother has a 2.8 litre turbo diesel '97 model with 5 speed manual and it would be great for all the low down torque needed for loose sand. Here is a pic of mine having a workout. I have posted it up a few times now but not everyone has seen it yet. :P

Roughasguts
05-06-2007, 09:12 AM
Hmmm you make a good point there Snappa, think your model hasn't got the full chasis like the early ones as Poddroo and I have got.

Think yours is monqoce or something, which means the tow bar is bolted in to the sheet metal of the floor pan, and use a few big fat washers to take the force.

Hmmm don't know theres a chance you could rip the tow bar clean out the under side of your NM Paj.

So I guess I could swap you mine for yours:D

snappa
05-06-2007, 09:35 AM
this is about the hardest thing i have done with the pajero..

reely nothing a holden couldn't do or maybe a nissan ...::)

05-06-2007, 10:14 AM
I think a couple of Paj's could pull the "Snappa" no worries. On sand grunt is the main requirement as well as correct tyre pressures. Geez mate if it takes two land crabs (cruisers all shell no guts!) the Paj should have NO problems!

hellfish
08-06-2007, 10:31 PM
when it comes to a vehicles performance in sand thr thing that helps the most (as well as low tyre presures) is diff clearance. Your NM is potentialy the best sand truck u could own as it has all round independent suspension. Lift it up an inch or two from standard, stick a set of 265/75/16s on it and no other production 4x4 will come near it in the sand. As for the matter of pulling the tow bar off... its not gonna happen unless u try to snatch out a tree.

caloundra
12-06-2007, 07:58 PM
Think yours is monqoce or something, which means the tow bar is bolted in to the sheet metal of the floor pan, and use a few big fat washers to take the force.

the towbar is bolted to the monocoque chassis not the floor pan and am sure it and another pajero will pull the haines through the sand
and as hellfish said it has independent suspension front and rear which give it more clearance aswell

Daniel

Roughasguts
13-06-2007, 03:30 PM
Cheers caloundra, that's good to know I have to up date sooner or later so maybe it will be another Paj.

The reason why I said it may rip the tow bar out the body is cause I done that on the farm contract driving.

The farmer thought it a good idea to tow the 60 foot boom weed spray behind the 4WD do less crop damage. Yeah it did less damage and faster than a tractor, but I did eventually rip the arse out the 4WD. But I guess 3 ton, and low ratio bouncing up a steep rocky ridge flat out will do that.

But all good welded back up and strenghened and back in to it.

Mtx
13-06-2007, 03:49 PM
Cruisers are at a disadvantage in the sand because they are so bloody heavy.
One of the best sand 4wds are the little suzuki sierra....
A Paj would have no harder a time pulling that then a cruiser would in the sand.

Unfortunately *some* cruiser owners think they are the be all and end all of 4wding but that is not the case. They are very capable but there are other vehicles just as capable or more capable in different conditions.

13-06-2007, 04:07 PM

This is a 4x4 forum we dont talk about pajero's here!;) ;D

a question to all pajero owners..

how hard - a - time have u given your pajero...

what do u think would two pajero's tandem get the haines through

landcruisers owners need not reply as i already know your comments ....;D

Well i'm a nissan owner so to awnser the above questions!

I always give pajero's a hard time!!!!!:P

And yes they could get the haines through but weather they still would be straight at the end could be an issue8-)

13-06-2007, 04:09 PM
If you put a nissan at the front it could tow both pajero's and the haines through;D

13-06-2007, 04:18 PM
. Here is a pic of mine having a workout. I have posted it up a few times now but not everyone has seen it yet. :P

Great photo that Poodroo!! Shows 2 of the big problems with pajero's 1/ no drop in the suspension 2/ no upward travel in the suspension.

Good suspension shouls keep the vehicle level and all wheels in contact with terra firma if possible.

Eg picture below

Hellfish, mtx, and others.

I realize you have probably have done a fair bit of beach work but how much of it has been towing 2+ tonne boats??? Lighter in not better when it comes to this, you need weight and the more the better;) otherwise your wheels are just going to spin pulling heavy loads!! Ive seen toyota utes fill the back of the ute with sand to provide weight to get that all important traction. Your trying to cut trough all the loose sand and get grip in the firm sand underneath, IMHO the best vehicles are heavier 4x4 that have been lifted abit with front and rear lockers, while the pajero's go well with normal beach driving ( light and good power) once a few tonne is added on the back they are shown up. If i was only towing boats up the beach i would own a V8 auto landcruiser that had had a 2 inch lift and front and rear lockers fitted( i would worry about the front CV's though) And this from a nissan man:o

13-06-2007, 07:10 PM
Hi Ian. I am not disputing that Nissans, Toyotas, Jeeps, or any other 4wd for that matter aren't good. I like them all but good suspension and wheel travel comes about from spending money on them. Whatever 4wd you end up with you need to just drive according to the limitations of the vehicle and also yourself. My suspension is stock standard and I quite enjoy doing the air hang thing. It makes things just a bit more challenging. Sometimes I think having lockers and highly modified suspension just takes the fun out of it at times because it makes some otherwise challenging tracks just too easy.

13-06-2007, 08:02 PM
Hi Ian. I am not disputing that Nissans, Toyotas, Jeeps, or any other 4wd for that matter aren't good. I like them all but good suspension and wheel travel comes about from spending money on them. Whatever 4wd you end up with you need to just drive according to the limitations of the vehicle and also yourself. My suspension is stock standard and I quite enjoy doing the air hang thing. It makes things just a bit more challenging. Sometimes I think having lockers and highly modified suspension just takes the fun out of it at times because it makes some otherwise challenging tracks just too easy.

Is that why you have two Pajeros ;D One for spares :P :-X the footy is starting see ya ! ;D

bastard
13-06-2007, 08:07 PM
Great photo that Poodroo!! Shows 2 of the big problems with pajero's 1/ no drop in the suspension 2/ no upward travel in the suspension.

Good suspension shouls keep the vehicle level and all wheels in contact with terra firma if possible.

Eg picture below

Hellfish, mtx, and others.

I realize you have probably have done a fair bit of beach work but how much of it has been towing 2+ tonne boats??? Lighter in not better when it comes to this, you need weight and the more the better;) otherwise your wheels are just going to spin pulling heavy loads!! Ive seen toyota utes fill the back of the ute with sand to provide weight to get that all important traction. Your trying to cut trough all the loose sand and get grip in the firm sand underneath, IMHO the best vehicles are heavier 4x4 that have been lifted abit with front and rear lockers, while the pajero's go well with normal beach driving ( light and good power) once a few tonne is added on the back they are shown up. If i was only towing boats up the beach i would own a V8 auto landcruiser that had had a 2 inch lift and front and rear lockers fitted( i would worry about the front CV's though) And this from a nissan man:oCouldnt have written it better myself.

snappa
13-06-2007, 11:46 PM
check the weight of pajero's, their not light .....

no shit fights ..boys..

we all know the 4x4 u have ... is the best ...:-)

i think before next year's expo i will most likely install locking diffs ..thats if u can buy them for pajero's.. but then doent mine have some central locking diffs.
whats the different ....

its just all too bloody HARD....

Brett1907
14-06-2007, 08:17 AM
snappa, the central diff lock just locks the transfer case so you get the power split between the front and rear diffs. If you are drving in soft sand for instace, and you start to get hung up you will find that only one wheel at the front and one wheel at the back will spin. This will happen less in LSD's, but will still happen. What a diff lock does is lock the diff so both the left and right wheel are always travelling at the same speed, so you won't have one spinning and the other stationary. If you go one further and install front and rear diff locks like I have you get all four wheels turning at the same rate at all times, gives you tractor like traction.

And Poodroo, it's not cheating!! Although it does make the easier stuff even easier. The problem is it gives you the confidence to go places better left untravelled!!

As for the paj, it would be able to do the job. My Father-in-law tows a 2 tonne trailer behind his V6 NM Paj with stock suspension on North Straddy. No problems. The only thing I would reccomend with a mono-coque chassis is getting an equaliser strap for snatching. You thread it through the eye of your end of the snatch strap and then attach it to both sides of the chassis, thus sharing the load down both sides of the vehicle minimising any twisting that the weaker type of chassis can't cope with.

14-06-2007, 08:32 AM
Hey Brett, the equaliser is not really needed to snatch a Paj. Mitsubishi did a heap of tests bogging and repeatedly snatching an NM/NP model Paj to disprove the rumour. There was a lot of talk about windscreens popping out etc but Mitsi actually did the tests to prove the strength of the chassis. A lot of talk went around the Pajero Club site on this matter. The Newer Pajero's have traction control as standard now too Snappa, gets you most places you will need to go.

Cheers and Beers

Brett1907
14-06-2007, 08:58 AM
Thanks for the info Scott, my inlaw will be happy to hear that.

Just saw his new one, he bought it while we were away. The full tilt Exceed and it does go offroad!

caloundra
19-06-2007, 09:11 PM
hey pete
the new pajero's come out with optional factory locker's
might be time for an upgrade

Daniel

snappa
20-06-2007, 02:12 PM
dan....

did u ever come out fishing with me some time back... can't remember

dfox
20-06-2007, 03:31 PM
Scott ,traction control is hopeless in the sand while towing. We watched a pajero get hopelessly bogged trying to get over indian with his traction control on. As soon as one wheel started getting grip and the car begun to move the power went to another wheel and it lost all momentum and went down. ( it was also hooked upto a cruiser and still went down) They turnt off the TC and she got threw.
Look on the bright side pete, if you have heaps of drama's the tv crew wont be far away to capture it all on film.
The track this year was in much better condition then many of the previous years pete. So go expecting the condition of the crossing to be much worse.
Cars, boats and trailers can cop a real flogging getting to and from Waddy, its hard on all your gear and breakages are all to common.
The bigger vehicles like the cruisers and patrols deffently seem to handle the towing better over indian and lets face it, the pajero's struggle, but if you go prepared and use common sense (which many times seems to be lacking) im sure youll get threw and have a great holiday ...foxy

20-06-2007, 03:52 PM
Foxy, you cant turn off the traction control on the Pajero. Its actually the ASC (stability control) that does the damage in the sand and as you rightly pointed out they will bog themselves very quickly iff it is not turned off. Its a shame Mitsubishi dont bother to tell people that when they buy the cars. I couldnt agree more re the common sense factor, the best car in the world is useless with the worst driver at the wheel, use your brain not your ego!

Cheers and Beers

hellfish
21-06-2007, 11:52 PM
U can turn off the traction controll/ASC. Its all controled by the ABS computer. Just pull out the ABS fuse.