Thread: pajero

pajero

a question to all pajero owners..

how hard - a - time have u given your pajero...

i have just got back from fraser and being a part of the team to haul the boats across indian head with two landcruisers hooked together with snatchem straps.
    could a pajero do the same..mine[nm] does not have the ladder sub frame under and wandering if the pulling & jerking would do any damage..
    the boys think if i had the pajero pulling "snappa"19 ft haines, i would still be there.....

what do u think would two pajero's tandem get the haines through

bloody hell u can't fit a deep freezer in the back....
    ????????????????????????????????????????????

landcruisers owners need not reply as i already know your comments ....
    Last edited by snappa; 05-06-2007 at 12:29 AM.
    "whats the time"

Re: pajero

Pajeros are tougher than a lot of people give them credit for. I have two Pajeros and am happy with both. For what you are asking of yours I'd like to ask what sort of motor is in it? I have a '93 model with a 3.0 litre with 5 speed manual gearbox and the other is a '95 model with the 3.5litre hooked up to an auto. Both I feel could do the job but it is amazing just how much extra grunt comes out of the 3.5 litre V6. Also my brother has a 2.8 litre turbo diesel '97 model with 5 speed manual and it would be great for all the low down torque needed for loose sand. Here is a pic of mine having a workout. I have posted it up a few times now but not everyone has seen it yet.

Hmmm you make a good point there Snappa, think your model hasn't got the full chasis like the early ones as Poddroo and I have got.

Think yours is monqoce or something, which means the tow bar is bolted in to the sheet metal of the floor pan, and use a few big fat washers to take the force.

Hmmm don't know theres a chance you could rip the tow bar clean out the under side of your NM Paj.

So I guess I could swap you mine for yours
    Last edited by Roughasguts; 05-06-2007 at 09:15 AM.

this is about the hardest thing i have done with the pajero..

reely nothing a holden couldn't do or maybe a nissan ...
    "whats the time"

I think a couple of Paj's could pull the "Snappa" no worries. On sand grunt is the main requirement as well as correct tyre pressures. Geez mate if it takes two land crabs (cruisers all shell no guts!) the Paj should have NO problems!

"Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

when it comes to a vehicles performance in sand thr thing that helps the most (as well as low tyre presures) is diff clearance. Your NM is potentialy the best sand truck u could own as it has all round independent suspension. Lift it up an inch or two from standard, stick a set of 265/75/16s on it and no other production 4x4 will come near it in the sand. As for the matter of pulling the tow bar off... its not gonna happen unless u try to snatch out a tree.

Quote Originally Posted by Roughasguts View Post
    Think yours is monqoce or something, which means the tow bar is bolted in to the sheet metal of the floor pan, and use a few big fat washers to take the force.
    the towbar is bolted to the monocoque chassis not the floor pan and am sure it and another pajero will pull the haines through the sand
    and as hellfish said it has independent suspension front and rear which give it more clearance aswell

Daniel

Cheers caloundra, that's good to know I have to up date sooner or later so maybe it will be another Paj.

The reason why I said it may rip the tow bar out the body is cause I done that on the farm contract driving.

The farmer thought it a good idea to tow the 60 foot boom weed spray behind the 4WD do less crop damage. Yeah it did less damage and faster than a tractor, but I did eventually rip the arse out the 4WD. But I guess 3 ton, and low ratio bouncing up a steep rocky ridge flat out will do that.

But all good welded back up and strenghened and back in to it.

Cruisers are at a disadvantage in the sand because they are so bloody heavy.
    One of the best sand 4wds are the little suzuki sierra....
    A Paj would have no harder a time pulling that then a cruiser would in the sand.

Unfortunately *some* cruiser owners think they are the be all and end all of 4wding but that is not the case. They are very capable but there are other vehicles just as capable or more capable in different conditions.

This is a 4x4 forum we dont talk about pajero's here!

Quote Originally Posted by snappa View Post
    a question to all pajero owners..

how hard - a - time have u given your pajero...

what do u think would two pajero's tandem get the haines through

landcruisers owners need not reply as i already know your comments ....
    Well i'm a nissan owner so to awnser the above questions!

I always give pajero's a hard time!!!!!

And yes they could get the haines through but weather they still would be straight at the end could be an issue
    Last edited by finding_time; 13-06-2007 at 04:45 PM.

If you put a nissan at the front it could tow both pajero's and the haines through
    Last edited by finding_time; 13-06-2007 at 04:11 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    . Here is a pic of mine having a workout. I have posted it up a few times now but not everyone has seen it yet.

Great photo that Poodroo!! Shows 2 of the big problems with pajero's 1/ no drop in the suspension 2/ no upward travel in the suspension.

Good suspension shouls keep the vehicle level and all wheels in contact with terra firma if possible.

Eg picture below

Hellfish, mtx, and others.

I realize you have probably have done a fair bit of beach work but how much of it has been towing 2+ tonne boats??? Lighter in not better when it comes to this, you need weight and the more the better otherwise your wheels are just going to spin pulling heavy loads!! Ive seen toyota utes fill the back of the ute with sand to provide weight to get that all important traction. Your trying to cut trough all the loose sand and get grip in the firm sand underneath, IMHO the best vehicles are heavier 4x4 that have been lifted abit with front and rear lockers, while the pajero's go well with normal beach driving ( light and good power) once a few tonne is added on the back they are shown up. If i was only towing boats up the beach i would own a V8 auto landcruiser that had had a 2 inch lift and front and rear lockers fitted( i would worry about the front CV's though) And this from a nissan man
    Last edited by finding_time; 13-06-2007 at 04:58 PM.

Hi Ian. I am not disputing that Nissans, Toyotas, Jeeps, or any other 4wd for that matter aren't good. I like them all but good suspension and wheel travel comes about from spending money on them. Whatever 4wd you end up with you need to just drive according to the limitations of the vehicle and also yourself. My suspension is stock standard and I quite enjoy doing the air hang thing. It makes things just a bit more challenging. Sometimes I think having lockers and highly modified suspension just takes the fun out of it at times because it makes some otherwise challenging tracks just too easy.

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    Hi Ian. I am not disputing that Nissans, Toyotas, Jeeps, or any other 4wd for that matter aren't good. I like them all but good suspension and wheel travel comes about from spending money on them. Whatever 4wd you end up with you need to just drive according to the limitations of the vehicle and also yourself. My suspension is stock standard and I quite enjoy doing the air hang thing. It makes things just a bit more challenging. Sometimes I think having lockers and highly modified suspension just takes the fun out of it at times because it makes some otherwise challenging tracks just too easy.

Is that why you have two Pajeros One for spares the footy is starting see ya !
    Last edited by Black_Rat; 13-06-2007 at 08:03 PM.

Smile Re: pajero

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post
    Great photo that Poodroo!! Shows 2 of the big problems with pajero's 1/ no drop in the suspension 2/ no upward travel in the suspension.

Good suspension shouls keep the vehicle level and all wheels in contact with terra firma if possible.

Eg picture below

Hellfish, mtx, and others.

I realize you have probably have done a fair bit of beach work but how much of it has been towing 2+ tonne boats??? Lighter in not better when it comes to this, you need weight and the more the better otherwise your wheels are just going to spin pulling heavy loads!! Ive seen toyota utes fill the back of the ute with sand to provide weight to get that all important traction. Your trying to cut trough all the loose sand and get grip in the firm sand underneath, IMHO the best vehicles are heavier 4x4 that have been lifted abit with front and rear lockers, while the pajero's go well with normal beach driving ( light and good power) once a few tonne is added on the back they are shown up. If i was only towing boats up the beach i would own a V8 auto landcruiser that had had a 2 inch lift and front and rear lockers fitted( i would worry about the front CV's though) And this from a nissan man
    Couldnt have written it better myself.