View Full Version : My first Jack
notsa
28-02-2007, 10:38 AM
Decided to go fishing Tuesday morning, got up at 0140 and went down to Diamond Head at Pimpama. Fished from 0400 till 1000 got a wet ass twice, stuffed my near new Minn Kota bow mount, auto pilot and left and right ok but motor won`t run, but all wasn`t lost I caught my first Jack and it hit like a train and it was the only hit I had all day. With the big tide and the rain we have had the water was still a bit dirty.
jpart10
28-02-2007, 10:54 AM
Nice work mate
I know how you feel when it hit like a train
hooknose
01-03-2007, 09:58 AM
Onya mate !!!, worth the wet wet arse for sure !!!
gregdeeth
01-03-2007, 12:28 PM
nice to land a jack for your trouble.
i had the same thing happen to my minn kota in the rain, was fine agian the next day. you'd think water wouldnt trouble them.
Fish Guts
01-03-2007, 06:56 PM
nice catch notsa. good things come to those who wait !
Good idea to try not to get motors wet, I was talking to a few fellas that own some really big boats at the gold coast and they reckon its best to just have your boat sit there unused, Sort of treat it like a painting, show it off to your mates but shi* DON'T get it wet!!!
richieboy
02-03-2007, 12:11 PM
Hmmmmm. Sounds like a draw back on the Minn Kota's and gives me some food for thought. Nice Jack. Worth the wet arse I reckon.
Richie
roydsy
02-03-2007, 12:33 PM
Nice fish, what lure was that in its mouth?
flat rat?
notsa
02-03-2007, 03:45 PM
It was a 80mm slick rig in technicolour yawn. I drilled holes in the lead weight because they are a bit heavy for shallow work I think and they work real well. I was after flathead in the shallows around weed when I picked him up.
Feral
02-03-2007, 04:20 PM
I've also heard the hooks (with weight) are easily interchangable, so if you want a lighter rig, a hook and weight from a 75mm body will fit in the 110 body no worries (probably got the sizes wrong but you get the general idea!)
Murph77
04-03-2007, 03:50 PM
nice fish mate, the commitment paid off