My first Jack

Thread: My first Jack

My first Jack

Decided to go fishing Tuesday morning, got up at 0140 and went down to Diamond Head at Pimpama. Fished from 0400 till 1000 got a wet ass twice, stuffed my near new Minn Kota bow mount, auto pilot and left and right ok but motor won`t run, but all wasn`t lost I caught my first Jack and it hit like a train and it was the only hit I had all day. With the big tide and the rain we have had the water was still a bit dirty.

Re: My first Jack

Nice work mate

I know how you feel when it hit like a train

Onya mate !!!, worth the wet wet arse for sure !!!

nice to land a jack for your trouble.

i had the same thing happen to my minn kota in the rain, was fine agian the next day. you'd think water wouldnt trouble them.

nice catch notsa. good things come to those who wait !

Good idea to try not to get motors wet, I was talking to a few fellas that own some really big boats at the gold coast and they reckon its best to just have your boat sit there unused, Sort of treat it like a painting, show it off to your mates but shi* DON'T get it wet!!!

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Hmmmmm. Sounds like a draw back on the Minn Kota's and gives me some food for thought. Nice Jack. Worth the wet arse I reckon.

Richie

Nice fish, what lure was that in its mouth?

flat rat?
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

It was a 80mm slick rig in technicolour yawn. I drilled holes in the lead weight because they are a bit heavy for shallow work I think and they work real well. I was after flathead in the shallows around weed when I picked him up.

I've also heard the hooks (with weight) are easily interchangable, so if you want a lighter rig, a hook and weight from a 75mm body will fit in the 110 body no worries (probably got the sizes wrong but you get the general idea!)

nice fish mate, the commitment paid off