Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: How many do you have??

Re: How many do you have??

my father and i share each others so we dont need to buy as many well that was the thoery but betwen the 2 of us we have nearly 50 rods but some are older than me and are only for show

jeff

Yeah I think a new thread needs to be started on reels.

Got about 30 between me and the old man. Thats the new collection to. Made him get rid of the ancients he used to use and love.
    Again, alot of 'em dont get much use and ive got alot of favourites.

WHOLY S**T! Ive got to rods one the calcutta is on the other me little spin reel is on and thats all i need in the creeks when im fishing!!!!! I don't care how many rods i have i still have fun and dont really wanna catch everything in the ocean with 5 or more rods lol...
    And when im out the reef its the good old handlines for bottom fishing....been brought up using them and worked on trout boats and thats all your aloud to use so i find it easier! And alot cheaper lol! But when im out there trolling i use my bro's gear he has couple of tld's and ive got a charter special but dont see the need of so many rods....but hey as the saying goes
    "EACH TO THERE OWN"!!!!!!!!!
    Cheers fellas

I have about 8 or 9 I think...but no where near enough. Fortunately I live at home with me oldies who fully support my addictive ways (fishing) and have no probs with me leaving my fishing crap everywhere.

Wish I had more gear though. Need to find some work and buy more.

prolly about 50+ rods.. 70% are offshore reef rods with no reels, theyy were my old mans but since he's given up fishing cuz he cant compete with me j/k ive inherited them and taken on rod master dutys because my halfwit brother keeps borrowing them.. but personally ive got around 12 rods for lure flicking and 2 flyrods.. im only 22.. got time to expand my collection.... most of the reef rods are old wilsons and shimano short strokers and old fibreglass skull draggers

SNELLY

Too scared to count them but one thing I do know is that they breed if stored together

I only have 8 , and two of them I don't use, an old 13' wound fibreglass surf rod 25 years old , and an old solid Fibreglass Javis Walker 9 ft Mundoo , I bought when I was 14 , (32 years ago)..
    The one that has caught the most fish is a $29 special from Crazy Clarks, I grabbed it one day when we were short for a trip.

Quote Originally Posted by SeaSaw
    I thought I was doing all right with 11 rods, but am obviusly just a beginner. # #I'll be showing this thread to Mrs SeaSaw as proof of the need for more rods #[smiley=thumbsup.gif] #keep up the good work
    Just tried that one with the missus [smiley=angryfire.gif]. It certainly without a doubt DID NOT work [smiley=argue.gif]

Cheers zedjack33

37 rods, 39 reels. 10 of the rods and reels belong to the deckie and the kids.........Could swing 1 either way as I'm trying to buy the Okuma T30 reel off the eldest kid for 100 bucks. Will probably win out as he's recently started smoking :-)

8 & 8, need many more but keep tipping $$$$$$$$$ into boat.

I've only got 7 of my own but then I've also got 4 more if I include wife & kids. #Wife can't understand why I need more than one. #Don't get me started on why I need to change my line either. She is a wonderful wife though, just not a fisho.
    Any fishing is good fishing (should probably say Any fishing is...probably going to be illegal soon)

Lol, sounds like a few of you blokes cop the whip from the mrs.

Let's demonstrate the story. Old mate jumps on AusFish and sees a thread such as this one, which provokes a bit of chat with "the blokes" - [smiley=gossip.gif]. Old mate gets thinking about buying a few extra rods/reels, changing his line, upgrading his styles etc - [smiley=anxious.gif]. Old mate then thinks he's got it all worked out, and begins dreaming of how things will soon be after acquiring his new equipment - [smiley=smitten.gif]. Old mate thinks it's all too good to miss...BUT! the problem of the Minister of Finances and Entertainment ([smiley=hair2.gif]) looms near! So our old mate, he begins devising a way he'll convince that Mrs of his - [smiley=idea.gif]. He jumps back on AusFish to present the idea to "the blokes"! - #[smiley=gossip.gif]. All the other blokes are up in arms! They reckon it's a great idea! - #[smiley=laola.gif]. Old mate, full of prowess a cold day's shrinkage couldn't sour reckons he's got this one in the bag - #[smiley=2thumbsup.gif]. That evening...he presents his case the the Minister of Finances and Entertainment ([smiley=hair2.gif]) - #[smiley=love.gif]. Things soon turn rough! Because the Minister of Finances and Entertainment ([smiley=hair2.gif]) sees a different light. She reckons "you don't NEED any more fishing gear" and "the money could be used for..." etc etc. An ensuing argument is awoken! - #[smiley=argue.gif]. Old mate gets the shits....perplexed to her reasoning - #[smiley=wut.gif] while the Minister of Finances and Entertainment caaaaaaaaaaarries on swinging the whip - #[smiley=whip.gif].

Hahahahaha...pretty realistic scenario? Geeez I'm bored.

forgot to add:
    Minister for finances and entertainment puts on a forcefull guilt trip and tells you to go fishing in that tone that means "If you hang around your in the sh&*!! and if you go you're in the sh&*!!"
    Gotta love 'em
    (Hi darling, if you're reading this I really do love you heaps. Its just a chat site, nobody really tells the truth here. Ever known a fisherman to lie? )
    Any fishing is good fishing (should probably say Any fishing is...probably going to be illegal soon)

Lol...