tica reels

Thread: tica reels

tica reels

hey guys i was just wandering if anyone has any feedback on tica reels im not talking about the cheap ones im talkin bout the more expensive ones wat do yas all reckon are they any good
    bakes

Re: tica reels

I have been useing a tica on my surf rod for a couple years and it seems to do a decent job, egg beater, smooth drag, doesnt get looked after to much, just a rinse off, cant remember model, its in the shed and to bloody cold to go there

I have a Sportera baitrunner and a Caiman baitcaster. The Caiman is a load of rubbish. I've had the frame corrode and the drag was useless, as for the Sportera I had some drag problems with it but have sorted that one out. The other thing with the Sportera is the amount of flex in the reel body under load and the small sized of the reel foot. I've got Okuma stuff and it's much better

bakes what models are you thinking of?

I have had an aries and loved it (then someone knocked it off).

just bought a camry for $80 and it seems to be fine so far. one thing though was the drag washers were full of grease making it quite sticky. washed them out and hopefully it will be better now.

Some people have had bad experiences (ie davo above) and others have had no problems with them at all. i think the jury is still out but try for yourself and see what you think. personally for the price i paid i reckon they are fine.

alex

i was just wandering about any models i got a libra and a camry and got a team tica one of the gold ones on the way now the libra and camry i reckon are awsome reels cuaght heaps of tuna with them i was just wandering what everyone else thought of em
    cheers bakes

aquarius

I own both a sportera and camry.......no problems so far......caught a 12kilo longtail on the camry a few months back.......fought it for 20 minutes and the reel was great.....smooth drag.
    Like any reel i reckon you need to look after them after each fishing trip.......neglect them and the problems start...........a mate of mine left his sportera in his boat for a month and when he went to use the thing had siezed up.
    For the price they are not too bad but Shimano is at the top of my list.......Shimano baitrunners rule!!!!!!!!
    Cheers Brent

anybody else got any feedback on these reels are they anygood or just a peice of junk

I own a libra 2500, a taurus 5000 and 6000( 13b/b) and a dolphin se 10000 for surf and LBG.
    Absolutely beautiful reels. You do get what you pay for.
    Yes there are some crap tica reels, as there are in shimano and diawa.

I own two Libra 2500's and reckon they're fantastic!
    Great drag and 10 or so ball bearings makes them pretty smoooooth!

Cheers, Slates

i recently got given a tica pisces 200, its a cheap one i think, but so far it has served me very well and i have no complaints, caught some nice fish on it and like i said no complaints....