Thread: Which, Wilson Livefibre Spin Stick?

Which, Wilson Livefibre Spin Stick?

Am after a Livefibre to suit a Shimano Big Baitrunner loaded with 30lb. Last season I had this on a RLF20 & it was a little under gunned. Not only with largish spaniards, but we also managed to hook a marlin on it & naturally had no lifting power or control what so ever.

So, I'm after a either the 10-15kg Spin or the 15-24kg Spin

Having a 24kg LF Overhead rod, I'm leaning towards the 24kg Spin model, purely on performance V rod rating of my overhead rod.

I prefer 8ft rods against the 7ft. Only for the fact you can cast further ( won't be casting too often, but gives me the option) & also the extra length gives you advantage of being able to lead the fish easier.

So, my choices are -

RLF8 - 7ft - 8-15kg Spin
    RLF13 - 8ft - 15-24kg Spin
    RLF19s - 7ft - 15-24kg Spin

Does any own one or more of these rods? If so how do you rate them.

I'd also be interested in the Texalium rods. But only if they are 1000% better than the current LF range.
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Re: Which, Wilson Livefibre Spin Stick?

At the start of last season I bought a ZWS80LJ which is the 8-10kg spin stick and stuck a 4500b Baitrunner on it.

Great for chucking slugs around. Caught macs, some decent cobes, rays and the occasional noah. Heaps of grunt but still light enough to use 20g lures. Can only take 2 rods to Vanuatu in Oct and it's the 1st one in.

Sounds like you might be looking at something a little stiffer. Can't go wrong with the Live Fibres though I'm not sure the Tex's can be too much better.

Hi Heath,

I have a 8-10kg Live fibre (8ft) matched with a Shimano Thunnus 1600f baitcaster. It is great for casting lures and for floating baits. I have caught Dolphin fish to 30lb, snapper up to 18lb and plenty of spotties and it handles them all really well. I reackon the next size up would give you plenty of power for large fish.

I opted for the 8-10kg to get the 8ft lenght for casting and it keeps the line further out the back so you can float a pillie out and use a bottom basher without any chance of tangles. If they had 8ft in 10-15kg that would have been better. ???

I dont reakon you can go wrong with the live fibres.

Check out ##################.com , they advertise a 8' 15-24kg spin stick zws80xj. Don't know if this is of any help?

Regards Andrew

hey heath
    i use a zws 70 xj 15-24 kg live fibre with a 950 spinnfisher and 15kg penn 10x.i use it for spaniards and it works very well.I fish buy myself alot,trolling,so i like to put a lot of hurt on the fish and get em in quick to save having to clear other lines.i dont use it for casting but it would prolly go OK if you had a spare spool with braid on it.
    i also have the same blank in an overhead form with a tld25 and 27kg 10x on it and ive had it locked up a few times and the rod is certainly a lot tuffer than me.
    they have a very nice taper and a surprisingly light in the tip for a heavy rod.
    cheers scott

Heath,

Like nofrills, I have a 15-24kg overhead live fibre as well. It has an Okuma T20l loaded with 50lb braid. It is a perfect match with the light tip helping to stop the hooks from pulling if you strike too hard with the braid. It can also deliver more power from the butt than 50lb line can handle.

Your choice really comes down to the line class you are planning to run. I have 10kg on my 8-10kg spin rod and 50lb on the 15-24kg overhead.

Gday Heath
    I use a 7' 15-24 spin with a penn spinfisher 8500, find it an awsome rod for the macks, has enough tip to absorb the shock of a mack hit on the trawl and heaps of gut for pumping them in. Also find it great for pumping up heavy duty bottom fish.
    I find the 8' to be just a little too sloppy in the tip, not as much lift power!

Regards, Tony

Thanks for the replies guys.

Especially Agnes_Jack & Nofrills. Thats exactly the info I was after. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

I am also interested in all the good imformation posted above.I have a 8ft Live Fibre 8 to 10klo spin rod with a 16000 Thunnus reel and am thinking of changing over to a 15to 24klo Live Fibre spin rod for this reel as I feel the 8/10klo rod is a little too light,but as mentioned above Wilson do not have a 8ft 10/15klo spin. Would the smaller 12000 Thunnus be a good match to the 8/10klo spin rod?
    These rods and reels are used for reef bottom fishing as well as casting lures etc especially when I go up north.Hope I haven`t made it sound too complicated

G'day Heath,

I have just bought a 6500B baitrunner loaded with 50lb braid and are in the same situation as you. Cant make my mind up between the livefibres and the uglystick. (too much range) have used both, but the only difference is the lighter weight of the livefibre.

Would love to hear what others have to say, and specific models too

Dominic
    "Reef Hustler" - Seafarer Victory 6.0m & 225hp Honda

BJ,

Wilson certainly do have a 15-24kg Spin rods. They are the RLF13 & RLF19s

The 8ft 10kg Spin rod you have is the RLF20. Just a tad light for them heavier lines & for leading bigger fish.

We have 3 x RLF20, that we use for spinning, snapper & mackerel. Fantastic rods they are.

I also happened to have a look at an Ugly Stik 1482-015, its from their blue water range. 2.2meters & rated to 15kg. They are nice rods also.

Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Sportfish_5

Heath - I have two 7ft 15-24kg Wilson live fibre rod and they are no doubt my favourite rod. With TSS4s and 30lb braid on both I use them for everything - bottom bashing, jigging, live baiting and mackeral slug casting in summer. You definitely can get the hurt on early with them as they have good power in the lower end of the rod and the tip although not too soft allows you a little give and take when setting hooks using braid. Use those combos all day as they are nice and light.

Just the thread I was looking for.
    I want to upgrade my 10-15kg penn power stick to a heavier rod. I have a penn GTi 330 loaded with 65lb braid,
    would this be a good match with the 7ft 15/24kg live fibre.
    & What is the wilson rods cost range.

Snap,

I have a 7ft 15-24kg Live Fibre overhead rod. I also run 65lb braid on it, though I use a Tiagra 20.

Would be a good match to the GTI330. I would think about removing the level wind on the reel, if you havn't done so already. Firstly because it is usually the first thing that fails on them. I replaced my worm drive & pawl twice while i owned a GTI320. Secondly, cause it will end up making your braid go all furry looking.

The rod should set you back about $220.00 or so I reckon.

You won't be dissapointed.
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

heres a loaded 15-24 live fibre