Thread: If you had to buy one Esky ?????

Re: If you had to buy one Esky ?????

Brett I've had both glass and plastic and for me its plastic all the way. My evakool got knocked around too much when in the back of the ute while traveling dirt roads. I've now got a 95lt icey tek and its by far a better esky and," It's long enough to get good size fish in!" Every year in september a few of my mates and I do a trip down the Burdickin river in conoe's and the icey tek's rule, they still have ice after 8 or so days on the water,( thats after a couple of hot cartons have gone through them ) and they pack in easly. The only draw back with them is the handles are not that great for moving them a long way when full.

Wild Side

Thanks very much for all the replys. I've looked at a few in the last week or so and I can see the benefits of both plastic and fibreglass.

I think in the end it will be fibreglass just because of the quality - and the fact that I'm not paying for it .

Just wondering on the size. The B125 is 1100 long which should take all the fish I catch except for the odd big cobe etc but then again I probably shouldn't budget on those what do you reckon.

Chris - shsss don't tell anyone but it's good to have friends in high places

There is a guy at the Caboolture markets on Sundays selling them,not sure how the prices compare. Tara Industries at Narangba sell them too

I have a 126 litre Tropical which (on my test) will hold 5x2 litre bottles of frozen water for 6 days. I've found that the longer the ice is kept in the freezer, prior to putting in the esky, the longer it will last. My mate told me that this was general knowledge to Aussies, but being a pomm I had no need for ice prior to coming here and was ignorant of this fact.

I've seen lots of Eva Cools with patches on 'em so.......'nuff said......I opted for the pretty flouro orange Tropical which takes all the knocks my mob can throw at it and doubles nicely as a bench seat and potential life raft :-)

I'm told the silly buggers at Tropical have now put a fixed partition in this model which rather defeats the object if you're trying to buy something to hold the biggies.

$250 bucks for 126 litres..........takes some beating though.