Thread: Daiwa Millionaires

Daiwa Millionaires

How do they compare in quality/price to other baitcasting reels. I'm looking on spending some money on getting a good quality reel that will last me for the next 5-10 years. Was looking at the CV-X203A or CV-X253A for bass, yellows, jacks etc. Can anyone better explain the Magforce-V Anti-Backlash System to me, I've heard its a waste of time. Anyway any comments appreciated.

spinner

Re: Daiwa Millionaires

Hi Jeremy,
    The Daiwa millionaires are a top class reel which will last longer than a lot of others out there. They are not cheap,but
    are good value.(poor man pays twice)
    The magforce feature is definately not a waste of time if you don`t like backlashes.
    I`ve had a lot of baitcasters in my time and my ABU6500c3 mag (post on this page) is by far the easiest reel to cast that I`ve owned,with overuns a thing of the past.
    The only thing I`m not keen on is that the Daiwas have an internal adjustment for the mag control.This means you have to take off the side plate to adjust for a diff` weight lure.
    An external adjustment makes life easier.
    Cheers,Reggy

Thanks reggy, had a look at one today at work probably will pick one later this week. Just wondering what anyone has to say about similar shimano baitcasters between the $300 and $400 mark.

i own both a daiwa cvz and a shimano calcutta200 and they are both very good reels. the biggest differance i notice between the two is the amount of drag i can wind up on the cvz as opposed to the calcutta.(about 50% more)This is very handy when tackling the JACK
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

could u plz help me i.ve owned a millionaire 6rm for the past 15yrs and i.ve just stripped it for the first time in 10yrs to deep clean the gearage and i've come across a problem. my problem is i need to find out in which order the drag washers etc are re-asembled as i dont want to just guess and take the chance of damaging it

p.s this reel has served me really well and has minimal maintainence and quite frankly i would be gutted if it went belly up by any mistakes re-assembling it.......a diagram would be handy..thanks a "million" in advance!!!!!!

Another question guys, its a bit specific so i don't really expect an answer but what the hell. My new bass rod can easily cast lures as light as 6 or 7 grams, if i get the 253 size will it be to large and compromise this or am i better off going down to the 203. Also i will be wanting to swap between 10lb and 20lb braid (10lb for bass and yellas in the sticks and 20lb should i want to tackle some jacks). The spool in dads shimano baitcaster can be easily removed and swaped with another spool. Can I 1. do this with millionaires and 2. buy a seconds spool.

spinner

Sixer,
    You should be able to view a parts diagram at
    www.guffster.com/reelprts.htm
    for your 6rm

spinner

Jeremy,
    For casting lures that light, I would be looking at the new
    FEUGO or SOL models. The lighter the spool, the better for
    casting light weights. Hope I haven`t thrown a spanner in the works, but best to look at all options before you buy.
    Good luck. Reggy

that was a big help
    cheers reggy mate

Yeh reggy it did a little bit lol. The more I look the more options I see. Most of my lures are over the 10 gram mark, its just a case of keeping as many options open as possible should I want to through round some light poppers accurately instead of using a spin stick.

spinner

Jeremy,
    Keep in mind, you can throw both heavy and light lures with the lighter reel and spool, but you will find it difficult casting very light lures with a medium to larger reel.
    It may be just me, but I`ve also found a reel with magnets
    makes life easier, especially with lighter lures and braid.
    Reggy

Hi Jeremy87, in reguards to your first Quest. I would have to ask how often do you Fish? Both the CVX-253 and the similer shimano calcutta are both very nice reels, but the CVX's gears stand up to a lot more, while the calcutta is a bit smoother. I personal have a few of each. I use my cvx's for stopping larger barra where as, I prefer the calcutta when flicking lures. I think you should maybe look at either a calcutta 50 or 100. Hope that helps.

(P.S. a calcutta is a top little reel I've had one for years and it has coped a flogging and its still go'n) 8)

Wild Side [smiley=evil.gif]

Now schools nearly over and i have a car and a job i'm hoping to get out once every 1-2 weeks. Even if i'm not bass fishing it will get used for flathead and the like when i go to the pin. The main attraction in the daiwa millionaire is we stock them at work and i can get staff discount. Next reel i get after that will be a shimano so i can get a comparison. Thanks for the advice i'm getting guys its appreciated.

I have a CVX-100 and found it to be very durable and a good casting reel for 7 g lures and up. I fiited mine with a gigas spool so it can also throw lures down to about 4g http://www.plat.co.jp/english/bass/d...oods/gigas.htm, as well as an external brake adjustement plate http://www.plat.co.jp/english/bass/d...s/mag_dial.htm

The brake plate is a godsend when you are changing lure weights and/or casting in windy conditions. Wouldn't be without it.

Strewth

Glind

I would go for the CVZ or X in 203 size. I have been throght the same scenario and found the 253 too big to cast all day. Actually ended up buying a ABU4600C4 with beefed up Erskine drag etc. It is a honey at half the price and is as tough as. This size, 4600 or Diawa 203 holds heaps of braid for the intended work.