Tackle for baffle creek

Thread: Tackle for baffle creek

Ausfish Platinum Member Jeremy87's Avatar

Tackle for baffle creek

I do a bit of fishing for bass and bream etc down brissy way but sometime in feburary i'm going to baffle creek for a few days. How heavy do i need to go? I know i'll going to get blown away with 6lb line. Plan is basically to take one baitcasting stick and one spin stick for throughing lures and the occasional live bait around. Also if we head out to the mouth for queenfish whats the recomended rig. Was thinking 10lb braid on a strike 11 to throw plastics round and maybe going up to 20lb on my millionaire with a heavier stick?
    Any advice from people who have fished up that way would be appreciated

Jack_Lives_Here

Re: Tackle for baffle creek

20lb will get you fish but I'd go 30lb. Don't give them an inch - go the double thumb spool lock

Bundaberg_Bandit

If you out at the mouth after the queenies and trevally etc, the 10lb will do, but you may have to chase them sometimes.

I have used 20lb braid for my lure flicking and seem to be able to stop most things with that, there is the very occassional ugly that you can't stop but i reckon 20lb is a good trade off between casting ease and fishing stopping power,

but remember, in those rock bars and heavy timber, you only need to lose a metre of line and you could have lost them, get ready for burnt thumbs

Bundy Bandit

Jeremy take it easy in that system, have a good look around, keep an eye out. May even be an idea to take a spare prop. 20 lb is good but 30 is better, the heavier stuff give you a chance to motor away from structure when you hook up. Try to drag the buggers out

Cheers Zedjack33 [smiley=jester.gif] [smiley=jester.gif] [smiley=jester.gif]

20lb will do for luring, but if you intend to bait fish, go the 30!
    Think dirty fighting mangrove jack, with the advantage of rock bars and heavy snags.
    There should also be the chance of some big barra at that time of year.
    Let me know whenyou are going, may be able to join you for a session!

Regards, Tony

If you havn't been there before or not going with someone who knows the area well, be careful as zedjack says. There is not one marker in the whole system and there are plenty of bars and rocks (and trees) to find.
    If you go to Baffle Bobs and buy something, he will give you a home made mud map with chanels, rocks and places to fish.
    It is a real mixed bag up there, you can chase whiting , bream and flathead on fairly light gear.
    But you can also get Barra (if you know where and have a lot of luck) big cod and jew.
    I use 20 lb braid, sure the bream don't put up much of a fight , but the jacks usually don't bust you off either. 8)

Thanks for all the replies. Will spool my millionaire up with 20lb i like to fish a little bit lighter. If its to light i'll just learn the hard way. It looks like dads going to get a serious baitcasting rod made up after his run in on the coomera on bass gear. I'll take you up on that offer Tony theres enough room on the boat for one extra. Just got to wait until the extension is finished before we head up. Will be up for four days. I can let you know now from a selection of for blocks that it will be from now or just give you a definate date thurther down the track.

Bundaberg_Bandit

Jeremy have you got a GPS,

when zedjack and I were playing around there one time I marked a few of the rock bars in there.

Might save you a prop if you want them

bundy bandit

Got a mate who does, might borrow it for the trip. Those points would be muchly appreciated, ive got a spare prop but i'd like it to stay in the hold if you know what i mean.

Let me know just before you leave, we can organize it from there.

Regards, Tony

Looks like i'll be going from the 11th to the 14th of feb. Leaving on the friday morning as soon as dad gets back from his night shift and he'll sleep the way up so thinking we'll get there about 12ish. How does that go with the m&g up that way? I haven't been following the thread and suddenly 30 pages seems a little daunting?

Unlucky Jeremy,

The M&G is 14-18 Feb.

PK

Alright i just got a couple of 6' graphite baitcasting sticks rated up to 20lb for a pretty good deal. Anyway whats the logic behind using 30 pound, i'm guessing abraision resistance because i'm flat out holding that rod when its loaded up. Anyway grabed a few lures, bunch of rmg's and a manns stretch 10+ and a bomber, we'll see how long it takes me to lose them all. Anyway thanks for all the replies its been a big help and i hope to see a few of you up there.