Thread: Making your'e own rod's

NeilD

Re: Making your'e own rod's

Hi Gary

Simple rod building is not very hard. The main problem is the inflated prices being charged for rod building components. Usually the bits cost more than a ready rolled rod from one of the large manufacturers. I would only look at building your own if there is nothing already available or if you are looking at the satisfaction of fishing with something you have crafted yourself. You can go as detailed and intricate as your patience and eyesite will allow.
    Ian Miller has a mag out called something like The Australian Rodcrafter with everything you will need. Alternatively some US sites like Mudhole have a lot of info.

gary1

Making your'e own rod's

Evening Everyone,
    I have been reading where a lot of people talk about making their own rod's and i was wondering is this a complicated thing to do.I realise the fancy scroll work that I have seen on some rod's would take a lot of practice and skill,but to build a rod with just simple plain binding's do you need a lot of equipment.The main problem I have is that I live a fair way out west from brisbane and I don't think there are any rod building club's and the like out my way.Put simply is it for a complete novice like myself possible to learn on my own.
    Thank's
    Gary

gary1

Neil,
    Thank's for the reply I suppose if you take into the cost factor it may not be as cheap as what I thought,especially if you want to use quality component's.Still i reckon it would be okay to catch a good fish on something you have built your'e self ,either rod or lure.
    Stay Safe,
    Gary

Hi Gary,

I've not long ago posted a report on a rod I've built myself, it's over on the next page....well it's more about the binding.

Neil is right up to a point, but I still don't think it's that expensive, I've usually kept to the cheaper end of the market and never had a problem, funny about that.. I've been let down by expensive blanks more than the add ons.

You can always do a bit at a time, but nothing beats catching a fish on a rod you've built yourself.

As for building the rod, you can do it Gary. Everyone has to start somewhere, you only need to do the most basic of binding, the fancy stuff can come a bit later on. It's not very hard, trust me.

There are quite a few people who would be more than happy to help, myself included, one of the members here, (Volvo) is a top rod builder, he gave me a huge amount of his time with my first good butt wrap. I would be more than happy to share what I know.

Just send me a PM if you want help.

Cheers Roz.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

gary1

Evening Roz,
    Thank's for the reply I appreciate the encouragement now you have got me thinking about doing it again.Think I'll check into it a bit more.
    Stafe Safe
    Gary

you won't be sorry!
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Hi, I've been making rods for fifteen years and have found that if you take your time and find the right advice making your own rods is the only way to go. Yes you can by rolled rods cheaper but if you consider that you can spend the same amount of money on components as you can on an average rolled rod and still get a better rodin the end because you are not paying labour. The hardest part of the whole thing is finding a shop that doesn't have a heap of silly ideas and actually has a member of staff that can build a rod. Deciding on blanks and components is difficult for the novice because of the huge range but it is still a better option if you want to give it a go.

I'm getting a rod made for me by a member of this site. Don't NEED one, but I just WANT one. The guy who's building it for me seems just about as excited as me.

From my point of view, I'm getting a rod that I believe will be built better than the factory job for roughly the same price in the store. Hope to collect it next weekend and I will direct wife to take photos of it and I'll put them up on the boards. (If I can.)

He doesn't do it full time, but I was lucky that he agreed to do it for me, and the best thing is that he seems very happy to do it.

When I put up the photos, he will see them and I'll leave it to him if he wants to identify himself.

Wife struggles to understand why one needs so many rods. One has tried to explain to wife that one needs different rods for different occasions. As you do.

Ausfish Platinum Member scuttlebutt's Avatar

I'm sitting in front of a rack with 17 rods on it and the girlie reckons that should be enough! I just shake my head and laugh. They really don't have a clue do they?

steve

Hi, can may be help with rod building, depending on where you are, I have built custom rods for clients at shop where I used to work, I have a great deal of information on blanks, specs and suppliers (wholesale to maybe help you decide what is right for you. I have something like 24 custom rods of my own. If you need any help give me a yell!

gary1

Thank's for the offer ancienttinnie,I live out west mate i'll more than likely be calling on a lot of people for advice.
    Thank's gary