watch new inventor wed nite new concept spool

Thread: watch new inventor wed nite new concept spool

Ausfish New Member

watch new inventor wed nite new concept spool

Hey guys there is a new concept spooll on the new inventor abc wed nite 8 oclock.Would like some feedback to this idea If you watch it i would like some feedback to what you thought.
    Kane

CHRIS_aka_GWH

Re: watch new inventor wed nite new concept spool

welcome to the site kane,

thanks for the heads up, if its one thing we all specialise in its exspurt (sic) advice

i gather you are the inventor

Ausfish New Member

Gday Chris yeah i am the inventor and this concept will give any lure alot more action just on retrievial of the line it also gives choice on spool positions but looks like a normal spinning reel

Interesting

Ausfish New Member

Gday Tony no one has changed the spool for the last 50 years sorry they have put a 2 degree angle on the abs spool but this is a totally different approach,like to hear some feedback on the idea
    Kano

Hi Kane,

From a seasoned fishermans perspective it has limited application, from a marketers perspective it has potential. Best of luck with it.

I reckon sure-fire fishing gadgets are as easy to sell as sure-fire cures for golf swings - lots of us mugs out there who will try anything. So from a marketing perspective it should be a goer. Imagine if it actually improves catch rates as well - wohoo. But I will let someone else buy one first to test .

Ausfish New Member

Hi Straddie
    Thanks for the comments.What we are looking at is . choice where the spool is involved as there has not been one before and the beauty for the seasoned fisherman is you can leave it in the normal position if you do not want the line to pulsate Just like every other spinning reel on the market

whats the qulity or the reel like

like how many bearing what drag and all those type of things

Kane, I think you should be encouraged and as a show of faith, I volunteer to try it out for you at no cost.

Frankj

Seriously, good luck.
    I'm sure you've noticed, most fisherman take after fish, if it's flashy and shiny we'll bite, at least once anyway.

Hi Kane

That somewhat defeats the purpose, the pulsing retrieve is its most marketable property. At a price point of $99 (which is a big hurdle to start with) people are not going to not use something that they specifically paid to get.

If you really think about your market, your competition and what it offers you will find you will really have to wind it down to its lowest common denominator for price, percieved value, and appeal.

I think this is targeted at the casual/occassional fisher who does not "study the art" and does not know how to impart action or is not interested in putting in the time to learn what works and what doesnt. But still would like to have a play with lures.
    There should be heaps of them, good luck .
    Advertise heavily and you will succeed. Its a visual concept so use television to show the difference in action imparted to the lure( not the line, or rod tip, as shown on the inventers) you should be trying to illustrate a benefit not describe a mechanism.
    hope this helps
    rando

Ausfish Premium Member

Kane,

I missed the show. Any chanceyou could post a pic and give us a brief description?

Thanks,

Richard

Hey 2iar,

Just have a look at http://www.abc.net.au/newinventors/txt/s1446891.htm

richard

as a lure fisho (dont know much).. i kinda find it a funny device, you say it creates a pulsing retrieve.. well.. any decent hardbody lure already has the wiggle action.. then... if you work the lure properly.. a twisted spool isnt going to make much different, takes alot more then winding to catch fish, you need to wind super slow at times.. or.. wind fast... or.. stop winding all together.. then even with a spool like that, you'll need to give the rod tip a flick if you want to create a darting motion.... id like to try and give you support.. its a good idea and id like to see more people using lures.. but i just cant see how a spool setup like that is going to make a whole lot of difference..