Flathead using plastic's ( gold coast ) - Page 2

Thread: Flathead using plastic's ( gold coast )

Re: Flathead using plastic's ( gold coast )

Any of the canal entrances on a runout tide, or the stretch of water between Ephraim and Sovereign islands.

No more excuses to stay at home so go fishing !!

Good Luck.

Thank you all i will give it a go on friday. thasnks again Bazz

ok i went out today and tried to use the soft plastic's. I cast that 3inch white thing out till my shoulder felt sore no fish after about 4 hr's. I change to a smelt and bingo 52cm, 48cm, 41,cm then all i got after that was fish smaller than the soft plastic had a great day, thanks for the info to all. Bazz

Bazz

The advice that Franco gave was spot on. With the flathead the most important thing is to get the lure to hit the bottom. If I fish the flats I dont fish lighter than 3/8 ounce jigheads and if there is a bit of current I will use the straight tail sps because they sink faster, less current then grubs.Lookks like all the advice the guys gave you worked, those were nice fish to get from the bank.Once you have got a few and got the technique right start up grading the size of the sps and hit the deeper water and you will start getting the bigger fish.
    Once you really get into it invest in an electric motor, it will increase your catch rate heaps.
    Good Luck Mate

Gidday Bazz

I will throw in my 2 cents worth, Squidgies I love em and reckon they work the best for flatties.

I stick to Gary Glitter or Black/Gold colour in the 65/70 mm, in the fish/shad I use this colour cos freshwater bass like it too. The silver colour work well in the same size. The new ranges have a green and pink tail which also work well. I have found pink works very well in the 50 mm fish.
    (wait till Kmart or BIG W have their 20% sales - u pick up squidgies at about $4.50 a pkt)

The smaller squidgies 50 mm are good, but u catch alot of small ones, and the big softies are good for a better class of fish but u catch less than the 3 inch/65/70mm.

Agree with everyone else it is the technique, up and down is the go, your rod needs to go from 9.00 o'clock to 12 o'clock. The softie swims on the way up and way down. If you just wind them in u cover less territory.

Cheers Budgebass

PS On a trip to Pin yesterday we scored an 80 cm, 76cm, 50 and a 46cm plus another dozen undersize all on gary glitter 65mm squidgie fish.
    (not a good time to leave the camera at home)

Yes we know about leaving home with out the camera but even worst when you leave the sun glasses behind as well. Not just me but my brother as well, but we had a good day so we will try again. Bazz

Hey Bazz

I generally only use 1/4 oz jig heads for flatties.

I like to use a Gamatsu, they make a jighead where the hook sits higher on the jig head, or slighty off centre.
    I find these have a better hook up rate than most others including the nitro heads or TTs.
    These also have raised rings which hold your squidgie/softie better.
    You will tend to find on some days that the flatties will grab and hold your softie, if they tear or give slightly flatties have a tendency to spit em out.
    The squidgies jig heads are Ok but a bit fine of a gauge for larger lizards

Budgebass

Hey Bazz,

Well done mate. Good to see you're off the mark. Good eating size those ones! Once you get onto the big Momma's (over 60 cm) I'd encourage you to let em go so next year they'll be there again along with all of Big Momma's babies!!

Sounds like you're mostly land based eh? Recently been too busy to take the boat out so have had to get my fix by land based fishing too. After scoring a 77 cm, 70, 63 and others (from the rocks) in the last few weeks I have some advice re letting these Momma's go. Make sure you take a net, towel and pliers with you when you fish from the bank, especially off the rocks.

After netting them gently, keep the rod tip up, keeping tension on your line as you lift the net and fish from the water. Then as you lower the fish to the ground, keep tension on your line so that the head stays up and hopefully clear of the net (while the body of the fish rests on the ground). You can now pull/slide the net out from under the fish. Maintaining tension on the line, grab the the leader to guide the fish out head first. This avoids the lure and the fish's spines tangling in the net.

You then wet the towel so when you handle the fish it takes less protective slime off, and helps you ease it back into the water. Handle the fish by using the towel to cover & protect your thumb as you hold it by the mouth, and support the underbelly at the same time. Don't rush or get too excited if it's your best ever fish!! Fish handled gently this way tend to buck and fight much less, resulting in less physiological stress and more chance of breeding despite being caught. Handling big flatties properly is an important skill to learn.

So well done and good luck with more!

HEY RODERICK .....

Caught up with Brad job today at work and He mentioned You. Said you were a good bloke, but is that because you take Bennie off his hands now n then!! Great to see you getting some good fish in the Tweed still. I haven't fished your parts for a while, but used to get some beauties there. Maybe we'll have to catch up for a fish with Brad one day?? I can't fish the classic this year and all these photo's & talk about flattie fishin is driving me to tears!!

Hi budgebass
    I will try the jigheads but what size hook do you use, i know you said 1/4 oz any preference to colour or brand of soft plastic. We let all the flathead go as non of my kid's will eat flathead. But its a diferent story when it come's to ?
    ( must be politcal corect) Ludrick or Bream. The only time i have to keep a flatti is when the inlaws arrive as it is the only fish that they eat, thank god not to offten.
    Thank's Bazz

Hi Glamourpussy
    Yes that is how i release the flathead, i have caught fish well over 90cm at the pin trolling for them on hard body lures but am only just starting to try on soft plastic. Only been the once for flathead but have tryed with limited sucess for beam a few times. Thanks for the info Bazz.

go the Squidgy bug with a weighted jig head, slow retreive.

Have had a bit of luck with them.