PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Tld25 off the Urangan Pier ????
My Good Missus had booked a holiday at The Outrigger at Hervey Bay for a couple weeks, at the end of November ( just around the corner from the Urangan Pier ) . Last time I fished off the Urangan Pier I only took my 2 Okuma Azul Az60's filled with 30lb Braid. This time I am thinking about taking the Offshore Gear, mainly the Tld25 filled with 50lb Braid.
Is it worth me taking the Tld25 or would I be wasting my time? I would be fishing off the end of the Pier.
I live at Hervey Bay and spend most of my time on the end of the pier. You should definately take your 25 and use it for the big GT's that are there in the warmer months. I dont know if braid is the best option though, some of the other guys might be able to help with that.
Was up there couple of weekends ago - some of those guys on the pier have got some serious fishing trolleys decked out - live bait tanks with aerators etc
Heaps of herring around that jetty - take some ballons with you as well to float them out. Youll need some sort of grapple gaff as it is a fair haul from the water if you land one.
Plenty of guys there fishing with overheads so TLD25 wont look out of place but good luck getting a spot out there.
go for it mate, put out the biggest bait you can and then post up the results, ive been to that jetty twice and never had a rod with me, looks like a great spot, best of luck
Thanks for the help . I'll take the Tld 25 up with me but its going to be a long walk to the end of that Pier with 3 Rods & Reels . I guess it will be worth it in the end .
Buy yourself a sack trolley from supercheap or somewhere like that ( between $20 & $40 and its handy to have in the shed.) I am in the process of setting myself up for the pier, Ive seen little fellas (Pier Rats) fishing out there with overheads and roller tip stand up gear pulling in Tuna, GTs, Cod, Macks, Sharks. Some of these kids have better gear than I do. Watched one group of 3 pier rats all taking turns at carrying a big Tuna back to the Anglers Den for a photo to go on the wall there. Chris at Anglers Den is a good guy to get some advice about whats happening.
Sack trolley ( Sorry mate, thats my Farmer terminology ) also known as a Hand truck to the non farming community. Saves carrying everything, Ive even seen them fitted with bullbar type rod holders. At least you wont have to carry an esky with food & drink, tackle box, chair & so forth. A couple of occy straps keeps everything secure.
I thought thats what you meant . Just haven't heard it called a Sack Trolley before. Only problem is we are going up in a little Suzuki Vitara so it might be a bit big for the trip . I guess I have time on my side to work something out.
THe GT's have been absolutely smashing big big baits out the end of the pier at the moment. Schoolie mackerel are around in droves too... just get some of those pier rats out there to help you should you get a big one.. most of them have flying gaffs out there... no. 10 bait jigs are the go for herring... and they are finicky at the moment...
Ive been using whole squid with no lead, which is usually ok for most species out there. I am going to try some poppers, heard very good reports about them producing good fish. No good trying to cast lures though if its crowded, better off using baits.
im sure it'd be up to the task, if a threadline can handle em im sure the tld25 wouldnt have any problems...but then again, how big are these bloody trevors???
Theres sure to be some quality fishies around the end of the pier just watch your tides and do what the locals do! If all else fails will be a great trip away, can recomend fish and chips from the take away at the pier whilst enjoying the view !
Maybe a back pack for your gear instead of a trolley that way you could use it for your clothes on the way up?