-
Re: Jigging takle
g'day i am a new member also looking to set up a jigging/deepwater bottom bashing outfit for 60-80m. work on the kingies and sambo's on the eyre peninsula of south oz. the lads have been getting some to 40 kilo so a solid rig will be needed. i have not jigged much but was looking at the tcurve 400 matched with the new high speed daiwa saltist 40 overhead reel. will be using 80 pound braid. any advice or other ideas for arond the same dollars ( 500 ish) would be much appreciated. cheers
-
Ausfish Gold Member
i reckon the higher speed would be a benifit for our standard sth east q. jigging, the 20,000 better for dog tooth and fishes upward of 30kg.
damon
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Guys I am over at 8 Mile plains if any of you guys are in the area i would be more than happy to show you my set up as I am sure others would be so you
know exactly what is out there.
-
I'm using the same as Flick Flack and can't fault it yet,while the T-Curves are not cheap they are a couple of hundred dollars cheaper than the Daiwa sticks and nearly a third the price of the top line stuff,Silstar and Berkley also make jigging rods priced at just over the hundred dollar mark but they don't put the action into the jigs nearly as well as the T-Curves do.As for reels,if it's going to be a dedicated jigging outfit and your going to do a lot of it,get something good and strong,or you could be replacing a lot of anti reverse mechanisms,my mate has been using a Tiburon overhead for a while now without any dramas,he imported it for around $450 from the U.S,I think Wilsons are looking into bringing some of these into the country,as for the Stellas,if you go the 10000 you will not be able to get a full 300 metres of 80 lbs colour coded braid onto the spool,you will have to get a spare 20000 spool to carry the line at a cost of over $200 or cut the braid short.My mate that has the Tiburon also has the 20000 and has no problems getting some speed into the jigs on the way up with it.
-
Hi All,
I've got both the 10000 and 20000 stella and find them much of a muchness. the 10000 is faster but as stated lcks the guts of the 20000. I use both for my deepwater bait fishing and hope to try them this weekend with Flickflack on the jigging scene.
Will report back with the results.
Rick
-
Rick,
How did the head to head on the 10000 and 20000 go? Did the 10000 stack up against the 20000?
SimonT