Thread: Newbie to Soft Plastics - Help Required

fishingnottake

Re: Newbie to Soft Plastics - Help Required

we had bait and sp's last night and we were pulling in the everything from flatty's to octopus on the sp's and neither the dead baits and the livies were touched, if you're ever down this way ismail i'd be happy to show ou some shore based spots, but failing that just look at the ishing reports on here, or do wat i first did, just grab a refidex, find likely looking spots and just drive,

For somewhere to go and use sp's try any of the canals on the GC it is legal to walk along them (low tide is best) and all those pontoons and jetties and bridges are just made for fish! Check the street directory and have a drive around and sticky beak a bit and you will find some great spots.

thats it ismail, just get out there mate and fish as much as you can, try different spots and i think you'll be surprised

theres a lot of good accessable water around the tweed mate, andi think u will find the fish there are of better size and more of them ,.

ismail

Thanks everyone for the all the helpful advice and hints. I have already planned to spend all saturday on the Gold Coast flicking some SP around. Hopefull ill have the patience requried to persist with this and I will take the advice and leave the bait at home alltogether.

Just fish SP's in any location you would want to put a bait out. Look for any likely signs of fish holding structure and you certainly are putting yourself in with a chance. When you bait fish you put yourself in the most likely spot for the fish, not just any ol' place, same with SP's. You are targeting the fish so find where you think they will be in any particular spot and throw the SPs at the area. Get your SP in nice and close, float it down with the tide or current if you have to.

Good thing about SP's or any lures really is that you can cover a heck of a lot of water. And that is what you will need to do, cover plenty of water.
    So get ready for 100's of casts, changes of lure, colour, size and jig head.
    It is easy to plonk out a bait for 2 hours, but casting for 2 hours straight requires more effort so you naturallly expect more reward. This is when patience and persistence is a must! You can put an SP in the same area 6 times and on the 7th you get a hit. If you don't get a hit after a dozen or so casts in the one spot, move to the next spot which might just be a metre along.

To get in some practice without too much expecation put your rod and a few SP's in the boot of the car (if you drive to work) and just stop at any accessible creek on the way home (there is heaps in brisbane). Spend half an hour having a go and you never know you might just catch a feed!
    I used to do this when I drove to work, for half an hours effort it can be very rewarding!
    You say fish, I say yes please.

ismail

Just to let everyone know how I went on my first SP trip. Was down on the Commera River on Saturday afternoon for an hour and a bit. Fished using squidgy wrigglers and 3 inch berkley minnows. Got nailed by something but my bloody knot fromt he fireline to the leader didnt hold and was busted off.

Went out on Sunday to the Gold coast on the broadwater down by the spit. I fished around all the moored boats. I must have casted at least 100 times before i got a hit. I missed the hookup but kept persisting. I finnaly nailed a 64cm flathead on a wriggler. I let it go again. I changed to a 2 inch grub just to see what else i could get but I was starting to get frustrated because i could see decent size bream follow the grub but would not take it. I changed to a watermellon coloured minnow but had the same thing. The damn bream would follow the sp up until a meter or so but would not touch the thing.

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong, and how do I increase my chances of getting more hits. The techniques i was using was a lift and wind technique and also a slow steady troll back. Are there any others I should try with. On Monday i got the berkley soft plastics pack which came with a dvd, a bunch of sps, and braid scissors. I havent had a chance to watch it yet though.

hey ismail i know exactly what u mean mate, and it can be bloody frustrating, where abouts in Brissie do u live?

Well done mate.... just keep trying new things. I started with that retrieve, but now have incorporated little variations into my lift. Sometimes it just a plain lift and sometimes its a twitchy and erratic lift. Just try and imitate a baitfish. Dont worry about your lift and whether it was be "right" or not. If its slow, itll work, so include any little variations you can think of (to an extent ... dont over do it) and see what works. Well done on the flatty. Thats a GREAT fish.
    Jackash

ismail

Thanks for the advice,

Nemo84 I live in Loganholme. Its between Brissy and the Gold Coast, but for next 6 weeks until xmas will be in Sydney on a work Contract so I not sure how much fishing ill get done in sydney.

ismail, i was once landbased and starting out with soft plastics. It can be a very hard task without a boat, your spots are limited and your methods to how u use the soft plastic are also liimited. However in saying all that , its very doable and people catch lizards from the bank with plastics all the time. If it were me personally, i would strongly advice you to save the pennies for a small tinnie (dont have to be flash or expensive) and get yourself down to the logan river and make ur way up to the pin. Being at loganholme you have possibly the best flathead fishing location on ur doorstep with a small tinnie.

If that is not an option , then landbased the gold coast has my money. Plenty of locations from bridges to sandbanks around the labrador area to throw a plastic or two. I have heard of a few big lizards coming from the eastern rock wall at the biggera waters canal entrance.

As far as the use of plastics and the types, its getting out of control to be honest! There are so many available its too hard to keep up. I would have to say its hard to go past atomic fat grubs and for deeper water big squidgy shads. For jig action, that is a tough answer also .. it varies depending on location. Factors such as depth and current and structure can change the way u work the lure. For flathead, most important 2 factors i believe are the lure must always go back to the bottom and you need to leave a good pause between twitches to allow the big lizard to suck down the plastic. The flatties really love the small puff of sand the lure creates when it gets that first jig back up from the bottom. They must feel / sense it .

Anyways, i've crapped on enough but since its my 1000th post i figured it had better be a good one

Good luck with ur fishing, if u want any more info just send us a pm.

Jason

ismail

Thanks,
    I have been saving my pennies, and although i am insydney for the time being I am looking around for a boat. I want it big enought to fish of areas such as wellington point etc.

Ismail, might have what you looking for... 10 hp, 3.75 metre tinny, on a trailer... roughly 8 years old but still goes a treat. Around 2500 but thatd be negotiable. Pm me if you want details.
    Jackash

ismail

Thanks Jackash but i was after sometihing bigger than 4m ive been out at wellington point in a 3.75m tinny before and lets just say im not the strogest swimmer so I dont wanna risk it.

BTW i want to buy a rod/reel to fish for snapper etc. ANy recomendations. I dont think my rackraider is up for it, Is It?