Thread: Barra Set Up

Barra Set Up

im looking at doing a trip away in search of some barra action. i have no idea as to what i need in the way of a set up.

info im looking for is

rod: type, size, length
    reel: type, size
    line: braid or mono, size
    lures: brand, size, colour, shape.

any help will be appreciated

Cheers Phil
    Bring on the Marlin!!!

Re: Barra Set Up

Well as for rod/reel i think what you would use would be similar to something you'd use for jacks.

Maybe a 6ft 6-8kg graphite rod
    Calcutta 250 or similar size reel
    and some 14-20lb braid

I was chasing some info a while back on "Impoundment Tackle", some of the feedback may help a bit.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfis...m=1123206737/0

Regards Cameron.

I been wondering how you guys have your leader set up in a way that stops it getting caught on the guides when casting. I have enough problems casting 40lb jinkai let alone 70lb or 80lb.

Richard

Rod - I like about 5'6" or 6' graphite rods - generally 6-8kg so you can still cast lures

Reel - i gues you could go the calcutta but I've got ABU 6500c3's and they stand up to anything i throw at them. Serviced and maintained right they cast well and won't let you down.

Line - if you are going to be luring you can't go past braid for the feel. You can feel the action of the lure, get deeper on trolls and is easy casting. I use Bionic braid at the moment in 30lb. Just remember though, you have 30lb line (~13-14kg) and only a 6-8kg rod. Set you drag accordingly so you don't snap your rod and if it's a graphite rod, don't 'high-stick' a fish, sure way to snap it under load.

Lures - well thats really a personal preference. can't go past the gold bomber (saltwater edition), tilsan barra, even the classic nilsmaster. thats really up to you.

Jeremy - I use an improved albright on 60lb Penn 10x and it seems to go through fine. Make sure it's pulled in nice and snug and you can trim the mono tag end (which is usually what catches) away to almost nothing after a bit of super glue applied to the knot.. I don't have any problems..

Richard

un-lucky phill.
    if you are impoundment fishing 20lb is TOOOOO lite for the main line.
    ive just come back from a barra trip and 20 lb braid was grossly insufishent.
    30lb minimum to atleast 50lb shock leader.
    Wayne Kemp Jurno from QFM has said to me that a recent trip to mondurran 40lb leader was too lite to stay connected he lost far too many dew to gillraker cut offs.
    upped the anty and fished 50-80 lb and the cut offs stoped.
    that and the fact that Brra have very sand paper like mouth a long fight on lite line they have the ablity to wear through your learder if too lite.
    i fished awoonga last weekend and the wear on a 60lb leader from a 5 minite fight was quite noticeable.
    we fished 30lb braid through biminy twist double to Guderbrod wind on leader to 60lb leader.
    double to the wind on was viar a cats paw splice.
    sounds complicated but its very simple once you done it .
    it does rattle through the guides but it doesn't catch as it sometimes does with a allbrite .
    or you could try the biminy twist double to a cats paw splice to your leader?
    its a veriation to the allbrite connection to the leader.
    Cheers Cloud 9
    then it realy gets ughly

NeilD

Im interested in what rod length eveyone prefers. Most modern rods seem to be around 6' but Rod Harrison pointed out in this months B&B that 6' is far too long to work lures correctly. He recommends 5'6".

Phill,

I have settled into a standard set up for all impoundments.
    5'6" 8-10 kg graphite rod running a salt water Chronarch and 50lb bionic braid attached to 80lb leader.I use a wind on style leader that is connected via bimini-cats paw and then ends up at 80lb single strand,it uses no knots at all,is very strong and flys through guids.

Keep the rod under 6' ,this is very important for casting at barra and getting the right action from the lure,also the big girls will more often or

If you want the best.

Egrell B8-5
    Chronarch BVS
    50lb Bionic
    40lb Twisted leader to 80lb strait shot.

Birdy

You haven't specified if your chasing barra in the impoundments or the wild, salty variety?
    For impoundment fishing I'm currently using a custom 6' Samurai rod, blank has been designed expressly for targetting large barra, will handle heaps of drag but still has enough 'tip' to make casting comfortable. Sitting on that is a Daiwa CVZ-205 with Erskines drag kit which has bumped max drag up to 8kg. Spooled with 35lb Fireline XDS (rated knot strength, actual breaking strain 60lb, seeing as I tie in a bimini twist which holds nearly 100% of line strength, it's bloody strong!) leader is twisted 50lb. Even that isn't enough to stop the big girls, last trip to awoonga recently saw my maxed out drag being peeled off like it was in freespool and thumbs didn't really make a difference except get really sore. but at least it gives you every chance. Lures, well anything big, currently using big bombers, B52's, arafura barras etc all around 15cm/6" size, trebles beefed up with either 6X VMC's/4X Owners and naturally heavy splits/snaps as well. After all that, you still need a big dose of luck when you're in the timber and the fireworks go off!

For estuary work, similair setup just lighter. I use a lighter rod, again mated to a Millionaire but the smaller SP103. 25lb XDS/twisted 20-30lb leader plenty. Using lures ranging from Tilsan barras, C-lure barrapro's, Rapala x-raps and of course gold bombers.
    Hope that helps....

WHITTO

G'Day All, # #Use a Shimano Barra 5'6" #6-8kg Graphite Rod, ShimanoCorvalus CVL400 Reel with 50lb Fins PRT Braid finished off with 60lb Jinkai Leader, use a Double uniknot and a couple of drops of supaglue, I think anythink under that and you will be in trouble, Cheers Whitto

PG

From what I have read and my experience (limited as it is) You need to suit your outfit to the terrain you expect to fish. If you're looking at bashing snags for barra you'll need some stopping power like 50lb braid and a tuff rod rigged with a reel that can handle the drag tension. If you plan on fishing for Barra by trolling or in areas clear of snags, you don't need to load up so heavy and can afford to drop back to 20lb or even 12lb line with a lighter rod and reel. I have landed many Barra from the bank in areas reasonably clear of snags with 14lb fireline without any stress at all. I only own one baitcaster, an Abu 6500C3. Nowadays I use 30lb fireline with 60lb leader on a XX7 Wilson Live Fibre rod. 5'6" and I couldn't be happier with it.

Being keen barra fishermen in the Kimberley we use a 6' Interline with a Calcutta 250 depending on what country but a 6-8lb braid with bimini and albright. Favourite lure are Classics & F18. but it really depends on where you are fishing.

westie

Tell me why have a 6-8kg rod with 40+ braid is the rod not rated to 6-8kg do you wear gloves and hand line the fish when the rod snaps.

No I am not being a smart A?? but as Pauline Hanson says, PLEASE EXPLAIN

Westie
    I'm no expert on Impoundment Barra,but your not using 50lb for its breaking strain but for its diameter which equals more abrasion resistance in the timber.
    Glenn

Richard

yeah, I use a 6-8kg rod so i can still cast lures fine and the heavier braid for abrasion resistance.

Due to the thinner diameter of braid you can get away with heavier line class - get more abrasion resistance and still cast lures no worries..

that's what i think anyway..

Richard