best esky - Page 2

Thread: best esky

Re: best esky

how long is a piece of string????
    it's a bit ford, holden, chrysler
    everyone thinks the one they own is the best one...
    truth is they are probably all equal.
    plastic are cheaper , take more rough treatment keep ice for a couple of days.
    fibreglass are prettier, will damage easier than plastic ( but how rough are you) more expensive & hold ice longer.

my opinion is if you are only in the boat a plastic one is heaps, how often do you spend up to 3 days in the boat without being able to get more ice??

i'm not rough on my gear so i went for fibreglass. i have a 'Downunder', cannot fault it. has held ice for 6 days.

I recently got one of the 110litre downunder 5 star coolers for $265 (price guarantee deal from the store that can't be named). Although made of plastic the blurb states it will hold ice for up to 10 days and I can personally confirm that it held a bag of drink ice from the servo for 3 days. Great design, marine grade fittings and has a basket (that doesn't slip down) to keep your lunch out of the ice slurry. Just as tough as the tropical but doesn't look as cheap.

If you wipe the inside of the box out with vinegar you will get rid of any fishy smell

Cheers for the replys, and clarification on a few points. At this stage though I may have to go with the $4.50 coolite box, as the only thing I seem to bring home is my lunch. LOL

Nick.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuie
    Charleville,
    On your esky that has the elastic loops for hold downs just half hitch a length of brown twine to them. Then you can just pull down on them one handed to release. Even easy in winter.

Thanks Stuie. I have just been talking to the Evakool rep at the Sundown Marine weekend sale today and he suggested bootlaces. Either way, it sounds like a good idea.

BTW, he said that Evakool are now using the latches off the Icemates for the fibreglass Evakools. In my experience, they are very good latches - very easy to use.

Regards............Charlie

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar

If you are chasing a cheap glass jobby, waeco have a factory outlet at their premises at burleigh heads on the goldy.

You can pay as little as half the normal retail on second's that have a scratch etc here and there

Steven

Try looking up Techniice.com.au
    For the price you carn't go past them I think.

For the pull down loop straps.

I put cable ties looped thru the pull down straps on the blue Icecool box. U can put your hand in the loop and pull on and off the straps. Easy on the fingers. cheers

Another idea I had with the bigger eskies is using a milk crate inside the esky. Take out 2 sides and trim it up to fit as a table or shelf at one end of your esky.
    It's good for keeping an ice slurry in the bottom and bait or other perishables on the shelf up out of the water. It works in my 100l anyway.