soft plastics

Thread: soft plastics

soft plastics

Hi guys, I'm a new guy & also new to fishing, boating & camping, Just bought a 4.8m Allycraft cuddy cab 2003 model. I've watched my fair share of fishing dvd's etc and also buy the B&B mag, but I was wondering with all the talk about soft plastics catching snapper,bream,flatty etc. What about whiting? do they work and which ones do work. Keen for anyones thoughts. Cheers dinky!
    By the way cool site.

Re: soft plastics

G'day Dinky
    Well mate, welcome first of all and hope you learn stacks... as we all do. About sp's, i'd imagine whiting taking them, but i couldnt tell you much as I dont use them or for whiting. Try doing a search for the relevant info or just sit n wait for someone ele to give you some relevent info. What may help us help you is, where are you intending on fishing?
    PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au

Look in the Reports (Estuary) for Woody Point reefs. There's a bit of info in there that should be a good start.

I recently purchased the Storm Twitching Nipper on advice from a friend who has caught whiting with them. They are an amazing replica of the saltwater Yabbie, but I have not tried them yet.

TBA

They seem to be more of a bi-catch than sometihng you can actually target on SP's (eg ive caught a few whilst chasing flatties mostly foul hooked) . In saying that Berkly have some great little worm imitations i picked up a pack the other week...Havent tried them yet but in theroy whiting should take to them.

Quote Originally Posted by Archer
    ...Havent tried them yet but in theroy whiting should take to them.
    Oh NO, not in the Roy! - anything but the Roy!

Thanks for the info men.I'll give them a go,.The other day i came across some foodsource lures that look like blood worms.Time & a bit of patience will tell,intend to try southern bay

Quote Originally Posted by Tony_N
    [quote author=Archer link=1141605000/0#4 date=1141818060]...Havent tried them yet but in theroy whiting should take to them.
    Oh NO, not in the Roy! - anything but the Roy!
    [/quote]

Tony, now that is piss funny.. had some good chuckles from this site, that is gold medal material.

nabs12

hey
    I reckon the best lures for whiting would be the Berkley gulp 6inch sandworms...
    Just work em slowly along the flats,
    You can also cut em down to a bit smaller as 6inch is massive...
    Hope this helps

I've even had the odd whiting take a 1cm bit of gulp sandworm left on a hook sitting stationary under the boat.

hi,

i have caught a few whiting on the bloodworm gulp, i just cut it into about an inch and jig, sink, jig, sink, got a couple of whiting, moses and bream doing this

cheers matt

nabs12

Hey
    I have caught quite a few small whiting with the gulp minnows and grubs
    The gulp lures seem to be the best for whiting.. Just fish em slow on the bottom of sand banks and if they are there u should get em...

Whiting love sp's from what ive heard from mates on the coast. small bright coloured shad's they apparently like, and they dont mind the occasional gulp sandworm they tell me. Id be more inclined to use some gulp sandworm though, ive seen afew video's of guys pulling in big whiting on these with light very light tackle. anything that hovers on the ocean bottom they will have a crack at.
    TT