Thread: Tackle for Coral Trout

Tackle for Coral Trout

I'm new to reef fishing and am wondering what's the best outfit to use for bottom fishing for trout in around 30m of water. On the weekend I was using a 10-15kg Short Stroker with a Shimano Torium 16N and 30lb braid and was constantly getting bricked. I did manage to land a few but the boys using handlines were having more luck and not having to retie leaders all the time. Is there better ways to land them then handlines?

NeilD

Re: Tackle for Coral Trout

Commercial Trout fishers all use heavy handlines

I had been using 80lb handlines for years, rest of boat still does. I purchased some 80lb braid and a 15-24kg boat rod (stiffer the better) spooled up an old 330 GTI and crank up the drag. You have to be right on the ball all the time (no slack line).
    I out fished everyone else on the boat I think because with the braid you don't have to use as much lead (line dia. of 20lb) and no strech gives heaps of sensitivity.
    All I can give for advice is give em heaps staight up then just keep pumping and winding till you get him up.

Dicko, I'm also in Townsville. Mostly fish the reef out of Lucinda. I use 50lb braid on a 5'6" 15kg rod. 60 - 80lb Mono leader and 8/0 Tru turns. I use Paternoster rigs, lots of trout fishermen use running sinkers etc but I find the paternosters a bit easier to stay "in touch" with. Going out tomorrow actually . Lots of good fishermen use handlines but I find them very annoying, loose line on the deck,tangles etc. Reels are a personal choice. I use 3, 2 x Charter Special Shimanos (Different sizes) and a 320 GTI Penn. No need for big reels as they're tiring to use due to their weight and you don't need line capacity.

gday dicko, personally , i use a shimano tld 30 2 speed coupled to a live fibre 15 - 24 kg stick because of there great drag system ,also thay have the ultra low gear to winch up even the most big stubborn fish that you hook!!! Never let a chance go by for a pb!!!!!!

Ausfish Platinum Member whiteman's Avatar

I like circle hooks (7/0 is a good size) attached to a 60lb leader with a running ball sinker as small as necessary attached to 30lb braid attached to tld 15-25s attached to 5'6" stiff boat rod. This is Saturday's best CT. Perfect conditions, Palm Islands, still secret spot 20m of water.
    http://www.bbbalc.com/News_Events/Ph...ralTrout_w.jpg

Nice Trout
    caught up with a mate today who was a Pro Trouter and Skipper for years up and down the east coast. He reckons handlines are the only way to go when chasing trout. Need a selection from 40lb to 100lb and a heap of different bean sinkers. Running sinkers are the only rig you need and to fish for them on the pressure points. I've organised a trip with him in a few weeks if the weather sorts itself out so I'll see how I go.

Quote Originally Posted by dicko1980
    Nice Trout
    caught up with a mate today who was a Pro Trouter and Skipper for years up and down the east coast. He reckons handlines are the only way to go when chasing trout. Need a selection from 40lb to 100lb and a heap of different bean sinkers. Running sinkers are the only rig you need and to fish for them on the pressure points. I've organised a trip with him in a few weeks if the weather sorts itself out so I'll see how I go.
    Looks like you have it covered.

Gerry

FishOn

Guys thanks for your comments, you have given me the incentive to work on the rod approach again. I do like the idea of not having all the line and gear about the bottom of the boat inviting an accident.

Insideout - You are right the 30 is a great reel and may be the best option. Had you tried the TLD 20/25 at all before going to the 30?

Just_cruisin - any reason you do not use 50lb braid.

Is braid direct to the hook the best way to go? I was thinking this is the best option?
    Or do you use some mono up front?

A very stiff (and short) 24kg or possibly a 37kg rod - do you guys like a rod with a little give or none (almost) at all?

The other thing I am thinking about is I will be giving the crew good food for jokes if I bring this gear aboard. But if it works? Could be a great time.

Kind regards
    Trevor

Trevor2
    My thoughts are:
    -The price between 50 & 80lb was very minor
    -20lb diameter is still thin as. (300 meters + nylon backing)
    -Better knot strength with 80lb (can be lazy at times)
    -I would think 80lb has a little better abrasive resistance (handy when fishing reef)
    -Nothing rong with a bit of extra strength
    -I like to use a 60-80lb leader so that their is a good chance the leader will break before my braid. (sh*ts not cheap)

As for the rig, 10/0 mustad saltwater, running sinker as required and the 60-80lb leader. Not a fan of multi hook rigs.

Just my thoughts

Ausfish Platinum Member whiteman's Avatar

Ken Turner who is ex pro fisho and state/local govt pollie up this way gave me the exact same advice. He added that once you catch a couple of CTs from the same bombie, move on. If you have to wait more than 10 minutes for a strike, move on. If you see lots of Fusiliers, your getting warmer.

I hate handlines. I have taken a few old timers on my boat who use handlines and I reckon a well set up rod with braid loses nothing (except for the buy price, heh heh).

My gear is getting lighter, not heavier (no comments from the gallery about my fish getting smaller - thanks). I'd rather bottom bash with a TLD15 on a light rod than use the TLD25 with the heavy, stiff stroker. But with circle hooks, you can put the heavier stuff in the rod holder and you'll still get a good hook up rate.

Do yourself a favour and go buy yourself a spool of 70/80lb trilene or whatever your favourite brand may be..This line lays rather flat in the bottom of a boat and dont coil up like fencing wire all over the place..
    Small ball sinker only heavy enough to get to the bottm slow and on an angle, three hook gange rig of say 6/0-to 7/0 4200d's and a healthy looking pillie preferably and Aussie pillie and if there's a Trout in the neighbourhood he should latch on and say ta at the same time .....
    The bights with these fella's are ever so humble as to make you think there's little pickers at hand..So dont be shy of hauling and hauling continuosely tilll you feel the weight ...
    Unless specifically after trout i wouldnt move from a spot if its producing fish ey..
    Most our trout are caught whilst fishing for Lipper and ide trade or give ya a good trout for a good lipper anyday...
    And on the safety side, take care to use fingerstalls when using a handline ey..