Thread: what sort of multi-purpose rod should I be lookin

what sort of multi-purpose rod should I be lookin

I am a scot and used to fly fishing for trout I want to try for bream, whiting, squire, flathead from the beaches and boats I am looking for a multi purpose rod and reel set up that will cover most of these scenarios, any help would be much apprecaited as I am a complet novice to this type of fishing.

Cheers and tight lines

Re: what sort of multi-purpose rod should I be loo

How many piece rod are you looking for? If just a 2 piece, then one of the many graphite rods (There's dozens of them!) will suffice. 2-4kg would be perfect for all the species you've mentioned. Look at brands like Shimano Raider, Berkley Dropshot, Pflueger Trion/Medalist, Shakespeare Catera, Sik Stik, etc...

If you're looking for more pieces (As in you travel more), then Shimano do a 3 piece travel rod. I have one of these, and it's a great rod. There is also a 5 piece Catera which I am seriously thinking about....

Need a bit more info to give you a better answer....

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar

Dan,

I have one off the 5 piece Catera's and if you want to have a play let me know.

I use it for travelling and as a back up rod. Ok and does the job. Has only basic guides and was thinking of getting them up graded at a later date.

PM if you are interested.

Steven

Steven

hearney

Hey, i only just purchased a abu 6'6' graphite impact 66 combo to flick around some soft plastics in salt and fresh water, ive been told to have a backing line but the spool seems to be small enough to onli have the fireline and a leader. Im using the 125 yd 6lb fireline and will probably use 10lb vanish as the leader material, if i need a backing line any sugustions ??

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar

Hearney,

the backing is only something for the braid to dig into. Its slippery stuff and may no hold straight on the reel

Steven

Ausfish Premium Member

Welcome aboard mate.

First of all, it's good to see you can spell Whisky correctly, not that imitation Irish stuff

When I came to Australia from Scotland about 11 years ago, I asked exactly the same question. The common answer was an 8 foot Ugly Stik, which I've still got, and I'm very fond of 9they're still available and tough as nails). However, it's fair to say things have moved on a bit since then....

Dan's nailed it with his recommendations (you can grab a Shimano Raider for $99 at the moment, which is an excellent price) for boat and light estuary work, but if there's any chance you're budget allows it and you really want to do a bit of surf fishing, I'd suggest another (longer) rod with an Alvey on it. Anywhere from 10'6" to 13'.

Good luck,

nabs12

hey
    I'd reckon if your going to fishing beaches you mite need a longer rod maybe around 10ft with an alvey reel as previously stated...
    Thats what i use when im fishing beaches and esturies with bait, If you are going to be using lures u may need a different rod such as maybe a 7ft graphite rod, there are heaps of different types like the berkley dropshot and shimano raiders alo previously stated, I also use a daiwa procastor for using SPs and i love it, its an awesome rod around the $100 mark
    Hope this helps

Thanks for the welcome and all the information, there will be lots more questions to follow I am sure

I just noticed that he asked for a multi-PURPOSE rod, not a multi-PIECE rod....

In that case, ugly stik for the boat (Somewhere between 6'6" - 8') and a longer rod for the beach (Probably 12')