Cash converters at capalabah $99 with spare spool. Knock them down to $80 as its been there a couple of weeks. Graham
Hi Guys, first time poster here. I'm looking at purchasing a TSS4 reel for rock fishing, and was wondering opinions on price. Fish Outta Water at Manly have it for $235.Searching on here I saw that people have seen these reels for around $160 but not sure where exactly. Also asking anyone's opinon of the TSS4 matched with a Snyder Glas 12 foot 7W as a rock fishing outfit as I'm buying a whole new rig. Hope you can help!
Thanks,
Nick
Cash converters at capalabah $99 with spare spool. Knock them down to $80 as its been there a couple of weeks. Graham
Hi Nick
Did you know that they are not making that reel anymore?
If I were you I would let your fingers do the walking in the yellow pages. Just ring and ask for their best price.
Ring them all and you will save heaps of money
Up here in cairns the reel is about $150.
Rose
I had no idea they didn't make it anymore, thanks for that. Has Shimano made a replacement for it? Would anyone be able to recommend a good spinning reel for rock fishing? Thanks very much for the replies guys, much appreciated.
Hi Mate,
I'm not sure if you're Brisbane based, but if you are pop in to see Sundown Marine. If you're not, give them a call.
They'll be able to sort you out on price, and also advice on whether the outfit suits your needs.
Good luck,
Originally Posted by grave41
I reckon you'd get them lower than that. I bought one second hand on ebay for $70. I only bought it as a spare spool was $36, so it's a cheap backup/spares reel, given they've ceased production.
Good luck,
Jason from SM was saying they are replacing it with a similar hi-speed retrieve but a different model.
NicZ, I'd be wondering if the TSS4 had enough torque for a surf/beach/rock situation? Check the Rovex BigBoss 7500...still good retrieve @ 4.9:1 , 4 ball bearings, carbontec drag washers 5 yr warranty and tough as nails for similar money.
rhys
><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)
Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel
I'll have a look at the Rovex, I also like the look of the Shimano Baitrunner 6500B, I saw them going for $229.
Originally Posted by nickz
I reckon you'd still be paying a bit too much for that - you'd probably get one for less than $200 by shopping around, or giving SM a call.
Good luck,
current retail price in brissie for a tss4 seems to be about $130 or less.
I have mine spooled with 6kg mono for casting distance and less pulled hooks than braid.
Not sure what exactly you mean when you refer to torque.... I'd get an Alvey for winching fish up ledges over a TSS4 or most threadlines. Dunno about grouper and drummer; never caught the former and the latter was only by catch.
6500 baitrunners are a favoured offshore reef reel for many; wife's 4500 is very nice.
Don't forget that spool diameter plays a part in line retreived per turn of handle, as does gear ratio
It may be worth checking out second hand as I purchased a TSS4 from the for sale section for $70 with a spare spool before the new price dropped heaps.
The tackle shop at carseldine caltex has them on sale @ $129.
Hey nickz,
Yeah the 6500B is a great reel. I've got the old 6500 before the 6500B came out. Just bought a 6500B for mum at christmas and it seems the spinning arms that come up round the spool have some issues. The material seems quite soft. Mum's actually bent on a recent trip out. The side arm would hit on the spool with every rotation. We just grabbed it with the mutigrips when we got home and bent it out by hand (very soft to do that). Not sure if they are that strong in that department. Time will tell though. Don't want to put you off them at all but just letting you know about this issue we had.
regards.
The tss4 is a good reel but and here is the but... Its balance is shocking. My dad has a tss4 that he uses from the beach I bought him a daiwa emblem pro 5500 and he has never looked back, after testing it I went got one for myself also. B*C*F have them at 190 now and thats an awesome price. I have never had a reel that casts the distance this one does. HST (casting guru) on this site recomends them and I think it may even hold an australian record. The secret with the emblem is the way it lays the line no other reel I have seen lays the line on the spool so smoothly and therefore lets the line leave the reel during cast smoothly. before buying a tss4 do yourself a favour and try the emblem pro I can guarantee you will not be disapointed.
Mate, I'm certainly no expert but I've got a couple of TSS4's, I'm sure there are better reels for the job, however the TSS4 is a good value reel for spinning and is pretty rugged though the balance is not the best. Plenty of reels may feel better out of the box but if they are still with you in a few years time is another issue all together.
Certainly don't pay too much for the reel though your price indication is too high.