Thread: Okuma Epix 80 reel

Okuma Epix 80 reel

Picked up a new Okuma Epix 80 reel during the week for $99. Didn't really need it, but they were $60 off the rrp of $159, so I thought I'd better get one. Got a spare spool of 300 metres of 20 lb Platypus Super 100 at home I thought I might throw on it.

Was wondering what people think of them as a reel?

Thanks,

count_baysea

Re: Okuma Epix 80 reel

hi tol
    look after it or else it will corrode doing nothing. i have used mine a couple of times sprayed with tackleguard every time and still she eats away. good price though i paid 150 2 years ago.
    good reel but will flex under load, maybe 5kg drag tops.
    have fun

Are there any more at that price? or just a one off.

Murray

they are in their specials catalogue good price & $99
    brian

im looking at getting one over a tss4 for my dad for spinning for tuna, macks, very high speed 6.3:1, good drag system, $100 can hardly go wrong i reckon, ill be wacking 8kg mono on there, had a play with one on friday matched it up to my btr rod seems like a very good quality reel.
    Bring on the Marlin!!!

I bought the 60 the other day and took it for a run on saturday... It winds nicely, winds VERY quickly, and is really comfortable to use. I've got it on a 8'0" Shimano rod, and it was a great match. The 80 would be good for chasing anything you could pick up around here...

Mate Iv got one and use it for casting to surfacing tuna nad mackeral and it is awesome. I paid 84 bucks on ebay for mine and it is way better than those tss4 unbalanced overpriced reels. As for the corrosion I have not had a problem at all. Very good reel

ive had 1 for a couple mths ,been doin tailor with it ,and just got another for $99 at that big sports store, they will beat or match price ,reel seems fast and smooth ,5 yr warr- no rust yet, dont know how tough they are over time ,spare spool ,i thaught good value,cheers.

I could not resist either. Picked one up from that other mart for $95.00. They had both types, The 6.3 to 1 and the 4.5 to 1 baitfeeder. I don't think they meant to have the baitfeeder at the same discount, but the normal price was similar to the high ratio so they said I could have either. As I do not want to spin macks or jig with it, and plan on using it for offshore, I went the baitfeeder.

even better buying cheech
    when you consider they were around $190 a year ago
    anything under a ton is very good
    ps couldn't help myself either had to get one
    cheers brian

# #hi well i have a GR60 and its beautiful smooth good gears and drag.If its anything like the GR's its Good i only get it from a local shop and the size 2 price is extraordinary 4 a 60 its $60,for a 80 its $80 i only get a 60 and it holds plenty of 17 lb and i looked at the 80's and there huge beach reels.Iv'e had many only of the same 1 and ill never change only if there is a better.Personally u made the right decision buying a okuma

i give it 2 thumbs up 4 sure

# #maximus

well mine got a work out tonight ,rod got dropped in saltwater reel fully under ,i was untangleing line wrapped around tip,used it for about another hour ,at home submerged it in a bucket of freshwater wound handle a few times under water,took spool off oiled and grease everywhere i could ,i think it will pull up ok.

G'Day fishos,

Wouldnt touch one with a 10ft clown pole!!!! Have a few mates that bought them and they have since converted back to the Shimano TSS4 or high speed daiwa reels. They found that the Epix corroded far to quickly, the drag was sloppy and they gave way when the big fish were putting it to the test. Another problem with a lot of high speed reels in the 6:1 ratio seem to be very sloppy and lack the smoothness of some of the other spinning reels on the market.

My advice is to stick with the Daiwa and Shimano gear.

Happy fishing
    Bazza-mundi

Mate landed over 20 tuna from 10kg right up to 20kg the other day in about 3 hour session Epix didnt miss a beat, for 99 bucks they are an awesome reel.

I have one have pulled in maybe 100+ tuna I have had it for 3yrs I want a daiwa emblem pro but the epix just wont die.