Thread: Penn Power Sticks

Penn Power Sticks

Penn are reputed to be a very good brand. But the power sticks I have seen in KMart seem real good value, but are they really worth it? How do they compare to more expensive rods?

I am basically after a 7ft, ideally 2 piece rod for trolling and some bait work around the GC broadwater from a kayak, targeting 3-5kg Tailor, Flattys, some macks as I venture farther outside.

Due to space restrictions I am limited to a single rod for the afore mentioned species. I am looking for a rod costing $100 or less. Thoughts.... Any assistance appreciated.
    Tight lines, Look Cool - Act Cool - Be Cool

Ocean Kayak Prowler Elite 4.5 meter

Re: Penn Power Sticks

Get them when they are 25% .... you really save alot.

Thanks - but I know they are inexpensive, what I mean is are the power sticks "up to the job" of bigger fish such as tailor, macks, tuna etc?
    Tight lines, Look Cool - Act Cool - Be Cool

Ocean Kayak Prowler Elite 4.5 meter

g'day Phoneix i have 2 penn powersticks and i love em, 1 is a 7'6 6-10kg stick that i use for the batirunner, best fish ive pulled up on it has been a 10kg LT it handles it no worries, and a 6ft 8-10kg stick that i use for the tss4 bottom bashing, it has alot of guts, certaintly recommend them and at half the price of a live fibre you can;t go wrong

another penn rod i like is the penn sports series, i have a 15-24 6ft stroker on the tld25 love the rod so much, has caught some nice fish, also used a lighter 6'6 10-12 overhead on a tld 15 and it was great as well, love it so much im going to get a 10-15 for the tld 20,

Penn rods gotta love em

Bring on the Marlin!!!

A lot of charter operators run these rods... Usually matched up with a big alvey (ignore that bit for what you want though)... They must be ok if they would use them all round...

be realistic, biggest fish you are LIKELY to catch trolling in the broadwater is around 2 kg. A matching outfit would be 3-5 kg spin stick and 2500 size reel with 4 kg line. Shorter rod is easier to use from a boat, so stick with 6 ft. Catch more fish and much easier to use lighter gear believe me.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

I agree with Jeremy. I would suggest in that price range you may want to consider a lightish (in weight) rod with a 2500 - 3000 reel. My favorite rod is a surecatch one piece graphite called Soverign that is rated 4 - 6kg. I think they are around $100.00. They are really light to use and you can fish with them all day, but can handle really big fish.

I use to always buy 2 piece rods, but doubt that I would buy 2 piece again. Do you really need 2 piece? would not have thought you would have had it disassembled when on the water, and a 6 or 6ft 6in one piece still fits in a car ok. They are just better.

My main bay island gear also consists of a 2500 reel. Get a good one and you would be surprised how much you can load them up. I am probably going to up my braid on my next reel for the times I want to use a heavier leader as I have never needed to max my drag even using 10lb braid.

I dont personally own a penn powerstick, but have used them offshore and they are more than capable of bringing up 6kg skippy and 7kg salmon, even +10kg pinkies in baitcaster mode (6 - 8kg rod) with a penn international 965.

Used to own 2 until my youngest deckie created the $450 splash with one ( he stiill cant live that one down ).
    It was one of my favourite rods.
    For bottom bashing, 15-24kg matches really well to a good overhead & 30lb braid,.

I bought a Penn outfit a couple of years ago... powerspin 2000 with a 3-5kg powerstick (6ft).. bit too small for chasing tailor etc but i'm more than happy with the rod/reel so I'd recommend them as a brand for your price range.

Nick

best bang for your bucks mate!

i got 2 of them.. one 4-6kg 7'0 for bream n whiting.. and a heavy 10-15kg 7'0 one for the hard hitting jacks.. they come with fuji guides so thats a plus.. i've had no probs with these rods before..

10% of people catch 90% of the fish

Got 2 of them for the boat, cant fault them. Leigh