Thread: Abu 6500 C4 - Opinions

Abu 6500 C4 - Opinions

Hey Guys

I have been looking around for a midsized baitcaster for a barra rod of mine used for bay and river fishing, don't want to go overboard but want a good quality reel with a quality drag setup

whats your thoughts on these reels? Anyone have one care to comment?

Az

Re: Abu 6500 C4 - Opinions

Mate i have used one at Faust and have caught a couple of metre + barras with it!! Actually sorry, that is with my C3, I have a new C4 waiting to be spooled for the next trip only difference is the C4 has a slightly quicker wind rate than the C3. It may not have the drag of some of the more expencive reels but i think for the price you get a dam good reel as they are soo easy to cast!! Mine is spooled up with 50lb fins braid too and it has been put to use on a LOT of local Macs, Sharks and rays in the last year and it hasn't missed a beat!! Also I tended to use my thumb as "extra" drag on the big barra, even when i tried out my dads Millionare i had to do this to try and stop them!! some people on here may not agree with me on this but I do think it is somewhat a personal perference.

Brandon...

scott_b

Gday Az
    mate Iv'e got a 5600 c4 and a 5500 c3 pro rocket good reels, as Brandon said the c4 has 6.3:1 ratio and the c3's 5.3:1 and the c4 has the release button in between the spool, onlything !!! I think the 6500c4's don't. Might not worry you but after using the c4 the other one annoys me a bit.
    The 6500 are same reels as the 4600 and the 5600 only different widths. 5600 holds 130 - 150 mtrs of 50lb tuf line.
    Iv'e caught a few barra over a meter didn't worry them but I think if you were doing a lot of it they could get a bit stressed. Jack Erskine drag washers do make the drag a lot better.
    hope this helps wamjam

I've got 2 6500 C 4's. Love both. One has 5.3 and the other has 6.3 gears. Both have caught plenty of good fish without worries. Running 30lb braid on both.

I've got a C3 and a C4. I've been using them for years. Matched with the pistol grip ugly stik (which those dummies don't make anymore....not sure why since pistol grips are brilliant in my opinion), this combination is lethal to fish.

I've got a 6500 c4 and I will have to say they are one of the best baitcaster reels.

Jay Jay
    Go mighty Broncos

Go Wallabies

cheers for the replies guys, I'll have to take a better look at them but they sound like they should suit the requirement

I have a 6500 c matched to a pistol grip ugly.
    Both rod and reel have been used and abused over the last 18 yrs and they are both still going strong.
    If you want a good reel that will last you can't go past the 6500 series.

Cheers Dazza

I keep hearing they're long lasting and thats what I like about them, I went fishing with a guy who got given one on his 21st birthday, about 20 odd years ago and it was still silky smooth and in top condition

Abu bait casters as a whole are like that i think.. I have a 5000c also that would have to be 15+ years old! only ever had to pull it apart once for a clean and greese up too still running as smooth as the day i got it well actually better cause I couldn't cast it when i first got it Lol

Brandon...

Have had a 5600 C4 for 3 years now - bought it for my first trip to cape york. It went well on barra, GT's Queenies etc (even managed to bring a 12 foot croc to the side of the boat on it , didnt bother to retrieve the hook!)

These days I use it for jacks around the goldy and it performs well on that too. I reckon they have got to be the best value baitcaster around when you take into account their longevity

Az

I have to agree with all of the other positive comments and I have said it before ABU reels are just the best value for money around. Old design but just works well so why change a winner, with a little tweeking of the drags or fit the Smoothie washer kit they perform as smooth as. Thats not to say they arn't pretty slick straight out of the box.

You can also upgrade the bearings in them very easy, or add extra bearings (put a extra bearing in a C3 reel to effectively change it to a C4) the red 7000 in the picture has had the bushes replaced with stainless bearings and that added meters to its casting distance.

Reels in the picture are :- Ultra Cast 4600C, 5600C4 and the good old 7000 red (modified)

Howard
    All times wasted thats not spent fishing

Howard, love your dedication with the abu's they look like some pretty tidy setups

Az,

I love the ABUs but my favorite and most used reel would be a little 25 year old plus Shimano Bantam 10Xsg.

I have lost track of when I did buy it, this reel received the same upgrade with quality stainless bearings and a work over of the drag. Its a sweet little reel and casts like a dream.

I actually picked up another one the same on ebay about 2 months ago for $50.00 it cleaned up nearly as good as the one I bought new years ago.

These reels are very similar in design to the ABUs but a lot smaller and lower in profile, but strong as, I landed a 125cm cod not long ago with one (see thread in freshwater "Whats your biggest Murray cod") or something like that.

But when chasing or purposely targeting other species say Barra I reach for the ABUs, its a case of the right tool for the job.

Howard

Howard.
    All times wasted thats not spent fishing

hardb8

Hi AZ,
    # # # # The C4 is a sweet reel,mine has seen years of use and is still going strong,The drag washers were replaced with some I made myself from split leather which has increased the preassure tremendously and is silky smoooooth.Out of the box there O.K. but if you want to replace them get Jack Erskins Carbontex models or make your own.The only differences between the C3 and C4 is the retreive ratio the C4 is 6.3 :1 high speed.It has a bearing in the left hand side of the level wind instead of a bushing,And a trick handle.May be you could down size to say a 6000 or 5500 if you don't need the spool capacity to save on the weight,This will make a big difference if ya fish for long periods.
    # # # # # # # # # # # #
    # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # Cheers hardb8 #