Fast retrieve overhead ?

Thread: Fast retrieve overhead ?

Fast retrieve overhead ?

I'd like to get an overhead for bottom bashing in 32-48 fathoms.
    6+/1 gearing ratio, pref holding 300 metres of 30lb fireline.
    light weight (< 600 grams) and with left hand wind.

I love my Charter Special - but it is too slow for deepish water. And it is RHW)

Looked at the left hand reels from the company in WA - but nothing seemed to fit. Is this an impossible ask?

Re: Fast retrieve overhead ?

Avet

Nice reels from the usa come in 4.1-1
    6.0-1
    8.0-1

I own a 6.0-1 reel and it's a nice unit but to be quite honest if i had my time again i would get the 4.1 to 1 as the 6.0 -1 reel can be awkward to wind and i think the 8.0-1 would be horrible. I think retrieve speed in a bottom basher is a little overated. Saying that the tynos 30 i have is 5-1 and is a bloody ripper very nice to use so these would be worth a look.

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

G'day tony,

I picked up an ABU 6500c3 LHW a couple of years ago...not sure of the retrieve rate, but its a nice reel. Use it for throwing poppers at pelagics etc.

I scored an ABU 7000 hi-speed with a 5+:1 retrieve...wondering if they may do them in a LHW series too...would certainly have the capacity to handle the line class you are talking about and they are a great reel.

good luck

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Thanks Ian

I will have another look at the Tyrnos (that's more my price bracket really) - they are just soooo heavy!

Yeh Rhys - I once owned a 6500 - lost it overboard - i did like it though. I'll look into the 7000 as well, but i suspect that these reels are really old technology now - though I'm aware of the tricked up drags that can be put on them.

Though it isnt LHW the shimano torium has 6.2-1 ratio and is rated for 350yds of 30lb they also arnt that heavy
    just a thought
    josh

Hi Tony,

I'm not sure that using an ABU 7000 would be that much of an energy saving, they dont have much of a spool diameter, especially if you have let go of 100mtrs or so of line. The handle turning circle is also fairly small.
    We use Diawa sealine 600s with of plenty of heavy mono underneath to bring the spool diameter up & put 30lb braid over the top. The bigger turning circle is also much more comfortable, especially if the handle is moved to the wider position.
    I had an older sealine which was very heavy, but the newer models are heaps lighter, no probs at all to stand up all day holding one.

Just a thought,

Thanks Muzz - I was having a look at those today....

Going to Townsville tomorrow for 3 weeks - handlines for trout -- casting/floatlining/trolling for mackerel. Don't have to make any decisions - fishing with my son who is now old/experienced enough for me to be asking HIM "what are we doing today?" Nice change in responsibility

Half your luck Tony, you should come home with a few good yarns.

Another one for Avet, i have just ordered myself a LEFT hand MXL6 which is 6.3:1, going to use it for bottom bashing, trolling and a bit of jigging. Should get about 300m of 50lb braid on it so i'd say about 420-450 metres of 30lb braid.

These reels are awesome and are 99.9% maintenance free as they say. You can get it for about $370 and it comes with 5 year warranty.

It only weighs an incredible 509grams as opposed to over a kilo for the tyrnos u are considering.

Avets are awesome reels. Super strong and super fast. They lacka bit of the finesse of other reels like Shimano Trinidads but Avets are also a bit cheaper.

Quote Originally Posted by mjc85
    Another one for Avet, i have just ordered myself a LEFT hand MXL6 which is 6.3:1, going to use it for bottom bashing, trolling and a bit of jigging. Should get about 300m of 50lb braid on it so i'd say about 420-450 metres of 30lb braid.

These reels are awesome and are 99.9% maintenance free as they say. You can get it for about $370
    Hello,

Can you let us know where you can purchase at that price and does it include freight and insurance to Australia?

Quote Originally Posted by nevd
    [quote author=mjc85 link=1149561797/0#8 date=1149761201]Another one for Avet, i have just ordered myself a LEFT hand MXL6 which is 6.3:1, going to use it for bottom bashing, trolling and a bit of jigging. Should get about 300m of 50lb braid on it so i'd say about 420-450 metres of 30lb braid.

These reels are awesome and are 99.9% maintenance free as they say. You can get it for about $370
    Hello,

Can you let us know where you can purchase at that price and does it include freight and insurance to Australia?

[/quote]

I am buying it from a mate who's dad owns a local fishing store, so i am getting a good deal. But campbells_pro_tackle has the MXL4.5 for $369, i'm sure they can source you a 6.3:1 if you contact them.

Tony,

I have and use a Shimano Sppedmaster overhead.
    It is my fav bottom bashing outfit coupled to an M10 Rod.

It holds 150m of 15kg nylon backing with 300m of 15kg braid over the top.

Can't recomend it highly enough and has never let me down.

Rich.

yeah the avets are awesome reels - I've got an EX4/0 wide 2speed for 24kg (500m of braid + 200m mono topshot)

and an avet MXJ 6.3:1 that I modified with rare earth magnets (to control the spool) that I use for HSS (300m of braid + 200m 10kg mono topshot)

produces about 4.5kgs of drag at strike and around 7kg at sunset....

In my opinion a reel With that sort of ratio is good for trolling and deep water jig i'm using a alutecnos albacore 20 with 6:1 they come in left hand and right hand drive around the $600 dollar mark they also do a 4:1 ratio which would be better for bottom bashing.
    punch alutecnos into google and that should get you onto their site.
    It's hard to find one in a shop over here so if you want to check one out give me a bell.
    cheers birdy.